If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

什么是能量和功?

在这里,我们学习功和能量在物理学中的意义以及它们之间的关系。

能量和功是什么?

能量 是一个我们在日常生活中经常会用到的词. 虽然大多数时候这个词被使用的并不严谨, 但它确实是有一个非常具体的物理含义的.
能量是用来衡量一个东西做功的能力的. 它不是一个物质. 能量可以以很多形式被储存和测量.
尽管我们经常听人们说起能量消耗, 但是能量却从未真正的被销毁. 它只是从一种形式转化成了另一种形式, 并在过程中做功. 一些形式的能量就不如另一些形式的能量对我们来说有用—比如说, 低级的热能. 所以讨论能源的消耗和提取, 比如煤, 石油, 或风能, 比讨论消耗能量本身更合适.
  • 一枚高速飞行的子弹有一定可以被测量的能量; 这种能量被称为 动能. 这枚子弹获得了这样的能量是因为一定量的火药在失去化学势能的过程中对这枚子弹做了功.
  • 一杯热咖啡有一定可以被测量的 热能 , 它通过微波炉做的功获得了这些能量, 而微波炉又是从电网中获得了电能.
现实中, 任何时候只要做功将一种形式的能量转换成另一种形式的能量, 总会有一些能量转化成了比如热能和声能而产生损失. 比如说, 一枚传统的电灯泡能将电能转化为可见光的效率大概只有 3%, 而人类将食物中的化学能转化为有用的能量的效率大概是 25%.

我们怎么衡量能量和功?

物理中用来测量能量和做的功的标准单位是 焦耳, 符号是 J. 在机械中, 1 焦的能量是用 1 牛顿的力推动一个物体前进了 1 米.
另一个你可能见过的用来描述能量的单位是 千卡路里. 一样食物里的能量含量通常被写在包装背后并且使用的单位是千卡路里. 比如一块常见的 60 克的巧克力大概含有 280 千卡路里的能量. 一千卡路里是将 1 千克水升高 1 摄氏度所需要的能量.
这相当于每千卡路里是 4184 焦耳, 所以一块巧克力含有 1.17 百万焦耳或 1.17 兆焦耳的能量. 这可是很多能量!

我需要推一个重箱子多远才能完全消耗一块巧克力?

假设我们因为吃巧克力而感到内疚; 我们想知道我们需要做多少运动才能完全消耗那多余的 280 千卡路里. 让我们考虑一个简单的练习: 在房间里来回推动一个沉重的箱子, 如下图 1 所示.
图 1: 一个人向右推动一个箱子.
将一个体重秤放在我们和箱子中间, 我们发现我们可以用 500 牛顿的力推动这个箱子. 同时, 我们使用一个秒表和卷尺来测量我们的速度. 测出来速度是 0.25 米每秒.
那么我们需要对箱子做多少功才能完全消耗那块巧克力? 功的定义, W, 如下:
W=FΔx
我们要消耗那块巧克力需要做的功的量是 E=280cal4184J/cal=1.17MJ.
因此, 我们需要移动箱子的距离, Δx, 是:
W=FΔx1.17 MJ=(500 N)Δx1.17×106 J500 N=Δx2,340 m=Δx
然而, 请记住, 我们的身体在转换食物到做功的效率只有 25%. 我们实际消耗的食物能量是对箱子做功的四倍. 所以, 我们只需要推动箱子 585 米, 这仍然是超过五个足球场的长度. 已知速度是 0.25 米/秒 那么我们需要:
585m0.25m/s=2340s
练习: 假设我们施加在箱子上的力, 见上图 1, 开始时很小但随着我们热身而增加. 比如说, 如下图中我们可以看到随着箱子被推动的更远—也就是, x 更大—力, F, 在前 30 米的时候不停的增加, 如下图 2 所示. 我们如何才能求出力在变化的时候所做的功?
图 2: 推动盒子的力在变化.
如果力不是固定的, 一个解决的办法是把整个问题分成更小的部分, 每一部分的变化可以忽略不计, 最后我们再把每部分加起来. 就像我们在看速度时间图的时候学习的一样, 这可以通过计算几何的 曲线下面积 来完成.
一个力所做的功等于力与位置曲线下面积. 在图 2 中, 它是:
(200 N30 m)+12((500 N200 N)30 m)=10500J 对于最前面的 30 米 位移.
相似的, 最后 40 米所做的功为:
500 N40 m=20,000J

如果我们并不是直线推动箱子?

在做这种问题的时候我们需要注意一点. 前面的公式, W=FΔx, 并没有考虑到我们施加的力与运动方向并不一致的情况.
举个例子, 想象我们用一根绳子拉动盒子. 在这个情况下绳子和地面之间有一个角度. 为了解决这种情况, 我们首先画一个三角形来对力进行水平和垂直方向上的分解.
这里的关键点在于只有力的分量, F||, 也就是与移动方向平行的力才对物体做了功. 在上图显示的例子里, 只有力的水平分量, Fcos(θ), 在对箱子做功因为箱子只在水平方向上进行了运动. 这意味着对于一个以角度 θ 作用在箱子上的力所做的功有一个更通用的公式:
W=F||Δx
W=(Fcosθ)Δx
被经常写作,
W=FΔxcosθ
练习: 假设我们用一根绳子拉动盒子, 并且绳子和地面之间的夹角是 30º. 这次我们沿着绳子用 500 牛顿的力拉动. 如果我们这次仍然拉动箱子 585 米我们可以吃多少巧克力?

那如果是举起重物呢?

在之前的例子中, 我们通过推动盒子来对盒子做了功. 在这样的情况下, 我们做的功是用来抵抗摩擦力的.
另一种常见的锻炼方式是举起重物. 这种情况下我们抵抗的是重力而不是摩擦力. 使用牛顿定律我们就可以求出需要的力, F, 来举起一个重为 m 的物质, 并把它放在一个高度为 h 的架子上:
F=mg
位置的变化—之前的 Δx—就是高度, 所以我们在举起重物的时候所做的功, W, 就是
W=mgh
我们所做的举起重物的练习会使能量以重力势能的形式被储存起来. 这个能量被称为势能是因为它具有在任何时刻被释放都会摔向地面的潜在能量.
因为我们所施加的力与重物的位移方向一致所以我们做的是正功, 在这里是向上. 而在举起重物的时候重力对物体所做的功是负的因为重力的方向与位移方向相反. 同时, 因为重物被举起来之后处于静止状态, 我们就知道我们所做的功与重力所做的功完全抵消. 我们所做的功是 mgh, 重力所做的功是 mgh. 当我们研究动能的时候会再来讨论这个.
好的, 现在让我们加上一些数字来求出我们可以通过举起一个重 50 千克的物体 0.5 米能消耗掉多少巧克力. 对重物所做的功是
W=(50kg)(9.81m/s2)(0.5m)=245.25J
好, 那么这相当于多少块 280 千卡路里—也就是 1.17×106 焦耳—的巧克力? 245.25 J 大概 14770 块巧克力. 但是记住, 我们的身体大概只有 25% 的效率, 所以这个人所做的功实际上是四倍, 大约为 981.8 J, 也就是 11190 块巧克力. 所以, 如果我们每 2 秒可以举起这个重物一次, 我们大概需要 2380 秒或 40 分钟的运动才能消耗掉这块巧克力!

那如果只是单纯的拿着一个重物不动呢?

当人们思考关于功的概念的时候一个经常出现的疑惑是如果只是单纯的拿着一个重物并保持静止, 抗衡重力. 我们并没有将重物移动任何距离, 所以我们没有对重物做功. 我们也可以通过把它放在桌子上来实现这一点; 很明显桌子也没有做任何功来保持重物的位置. 但是, 我们通过经验知道保持做同一件事的时候我们会累. 所以这是为什么?
原来这里实际发生的事情是这样: 我们的身体对我们的肌肉做功来保持我们提起重物所需要的肌肉张力. 身体通过向每块肌肉发送神经冲动来做到这一点. 每个神经冲动会导致肌肉暂时收缩然后舒展. 这一切都发生的太快了以至于我们最多只会在最开始的时候感到轻微的抽搐. 不过最后, 肌肉中的化学能不够了所以我们没有办法继续了. 我们就会开始颤抖然后必须休息上一会. 所以其实做了功, 只是没有做在重物上.

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

What are energy and work?

Here we learn what work and energy mean in physics and how they are related.

What does energy and work mean?

Energy is a word which tends to be used a lot in everyday life. Though it is often used quite loosely, it does have a very specific physical meaning.
Energy is a measurement of the ability of something to do work. It is not a material substance. Energy can be stored and measured in many forms.
Although we often hear people talking about energy consumption, energy is never really destroyed. It is just transferred from one form to another, doing work in the process. Some forms of energy are less useful to us than others—for example, low level heat energy. It is better to talk about the consumption or extraction of energy resources, for example coal, oil, or wind, than consumption of energy itself.
  • A speeding bullet has a measurable amount of energy associated with it; this is known as kinetic energy. The bullet gained this energy because work was done on it by a charge of gunpowder which lost some chemical potential energy in the process.
  • A hot cup of coffee has a measurable amount of thermal energy which it acquired via work done by a microwave oven, which in turn took electrical energy from the electrical grid.
In practice, whenever work is done to move energy from one form to another, there is always some loss to other forms of energy such as heat and sound. For example, a traditional light bulb is only about 3% efficient at converting electrical energy to visible light, while a human being is about 25% efficient at converting chemical energy from food into work.

How do we measure energy and work?

The standard unit used to measure energy and work done in physics is the joule, which has the symbol J. In mechanics, 1 joule is the energy transferred when a force of 1 Newton is applied to an object and moves it through a distance of 1 meter.
Another unit of energy you may have come across is the Calorie. The amount of energy in an item of food is often written in Calories on the back of the packet. A typical 60 gram chocolate bar for example contains about 280 Calories of energy. One Calorie is the amount of energy required to raise 1 kg of water by 1^{\circ} Celsius.
The calorie, written with a lowercase c, is the amount of energy required to raise 1 gram of water by 1^{\circ} Celsius.
The Calorie, written with a capital C, is the amount of energy required to raise 1 kilogram of water by 1^{\circ} Celsius.
So, it takes one thousand "little c" calories to equal one "big C" Calorie.
This is equal to 4184 joules per Calorie, so one chocolate bar has 1.17 million joules or 1.17 MJ of stored energy. That's a lot of joules!

How long do I have to push a heavy box around to burn off one chocolate bar?

Suppose we're feeling guilty about eating a chocolate bar; we want to find how much exercise we need to do to offset those extra 280 Calories. Let's consider a simple form of exercise: pushing a heavy box around a room, see Figure 1 below.
Figure 1: A person pushes a box to the right.
Using a bathroom scale between ourselves and the box, we find that we can push with a force of 500 N. Meanwhile, we use a stopwatch and measuring tape to measure our speed. This comes out to be 0.25 meters per second.
So how much work do we need to do to the box to burn off the candy bar? The definition of work, WW, is below:
W=FΔx\Large W = F\cdot \Delta x
The work we need to do to burn the energy in the candy bar is E=280cal4184J/cal=1.17MJE=280 \mathrm{cal} \cdot 4184 \mathrm{J/cal}=1.17 \mathrm{MJ}.
Therefore, the distance, ΔxΔx, we need to move the box through is:
W=FΔx1.17 MJ=(500 N)Δx1.17×106 J500 N=Δx2,340 m=Δx\begin{aligned} W &= F\cdot \Delta x \\ 1.17 \text{ MJ} &= (500 \text{ N})\cdot \Delta x \\ \dfrac{1.17\times 10^6 \text{ J}}{500 \text{ N}} &= \Delta x \\ 2,340 \text{ m}&= \Delta x \end{aligned}
Remember, however, that our bodies are about 25% efficient at transferring stored energy from food into work. The actual energy we will offset is then four times as high as the work done to the box. So, we only need to push the box through a distance of 585 m, which is still over five football fields long. Given the known speed of 0.25 m/s that will take us:
585m0.25m/s=2340s\frac{585 \mathrm{m}}{0.25 \mathrm{m/s}}=2340 \mathrm{s}
Exercise: Suppose that the force that we apply to the box, see Figure 1 above, is initially reduced but increases to a constant value as we warm up. For instance, in the graph below we see that as the box is displaced further—i.e., xx gets larger—the force, FF, increases for the first 30 m, see Figure 2 below. How could we find the work done during the period where the force is changing?
Figure 2: A varying force on the box.
If the force is not constant, one way to determine the work done is to divide the problem up into small sections over which the change is negligible and sum up the work done in each section. Just as we have learned when looking at velocity time graphs, this can be done by calculating the area under the curve using geometry.
The work done by a force is equal to the area under a force vs. position graph. In the case of Figure 2, it would be:
(200 N30 m)+12((500 N200 N)30 m)=10500J(200\text{ N} \cdot 30 \text{ m})+ \frac{1}{2}\left((500\text{ N}-200\text{ N})\cdot 30 \text{ m}\right)=10500 \mathrm{J} for the initial 30 m30 \text{ m} of displacement.
Similarly, the work done for the final 40 m of displacement would be:
500 N40 m=20,000J500\text{ N} \cdot 40 \text{ m}=20,000 \mathrm{J}

What if we aren't pushing straight on?

There is one thing we need to watch out for when doing these problems. The previous equation, W=FΔxW = F \cdot \Delta x, doesn't take into account situations where the force we are applying is not in the same direction as the motion.
For instance, imagine we use a rope to pull on the box. In that case there will be an angle between the rope and the ground. To untangle this situation, we begin by drawing a triangle to separate out the horizontal and vertical components of the applied force.
The key point here is that it is only the component of the force, FF_{||}, that lies parallel to the displacement that does work on an object. In the case of the box shown above, only the horizontal component of the applied force, Fcos(θ)F \text{cos}(\theta), is doing work on the box since the box is being displaced horizontally. This means that a more general equation for the work done on the box by a force at an angle θ could be written as:
W=FΔxW=F_{||}\cdot\Delta x
W=(Fcosθ)ΔxW=(F \cos{\theta})\cdot\Delta x
Which is more often written as,
W=FΔxcosθ\Large W=F \Delta x\cos{\theta}
Exercise: Suppose we use a rope to pull the box, and the angle between the rope and the ground is 30º. This time we pull along the rope with a force of 500 N. How much of a chocolate bar can we eat this time if we pull the box through the same 585 m?
We can find the work done on the box using the following formula:
Won box=FΔx cosθ=(500 N)(585 m)cos30W_{\text{on box}}=F\Delta x\text{ cos}\theta=(500\text{ N})(585 \text{ m})\text{cos}30^{\circ}
Won box=253,312 JW_{\text{on box}}=253,312 \text{ J}
And since we claimed earlier that humans are about 25% efficient at transferring stored energy from food into work. The actual energy we will use is then four times as high as the work done to the box. So, the total work done by our bodies will be about
Wby body=4×Won box=4×253,312 JW_{\text{by body}}=4 \times W_{\text{on box}}=4\times 253,312 \text{ J}
Wby body=1,013,248 JW_{\text{by body}}=1,013,248 \text{ J}
Earlier in the article, we found that the amount of energy stored in a 280 Calorie candy bar is equal to 1.17×1061.17 \times 10^6 Joules.
So, we can find the fraction of a candy bar that was burned by taking the ratio of the work done by the person to the energy in the candy bar. In other words:
 fraction of candy bar=Wby bodyEcandy bar=1,013,248 J1.17×106 J=0.87\text{ fraction of candy bar}=\dfrac{W_{\text{by body}}}{E_{\text{candy bar}}}=\dfrac{1,013,248 \text{ J}}{1.17 \times 10^6 \text{ J}}=0.87
So, the work you did on the box would burn about 87% of the calories from a candy bar.
Warning: To be honest, the amount of calories the body actually burns in any process will depend on many factors—e.g. metabolism, kinesiology—so our result should be thought of as more of a rough estimate than an exact value.

What about lifting weights instead?

In the previous example, we were doing work on a box which we were pushing around a floor. In doing so, we were working against a frictional force.
Another common form of exercise is lifting weights. In this case we are working against the force of gravity rather than friction. Using Newton's laws we can find the force, FF, required to lift a weight with mass mm straight up, placing it on a rack which is at a height hh above us:
F=mgF=mg
The change in position—previously Δx\Delta x—is simply the height, so the work, WW, that we have done in lifting the weight is then
W=mghW=m g h
The exercise we have done in lifting the weight has resulted in energy being stored in the form of gravitational potential energy. It is called potential energy because it has the potential to be released at any moment with a crash as the weight falls back to the ground.
We did positive work on the weight since we exerted our force in the same direction as the displacement of the weight, i.e., upward. The work done by gravity on the weight while it was lifted was negative since the force of gravity is directed in the opposite direction to the displacement. Also, since the weight is stationary after the lift, we know that the work that we have done is exactly canceled out by the work done by gravity. The work done by us is mghmgh, and the work done by gravity is mgh-mgh. We will talk more about this when we look into kinetic energy.
OK, let's put some numbers in and find how much of that chocolate bar we would offset by lifting a weight of 50 kg up to a height of 0.5 m. The work done to the weight is
W=(50kg)(9.81m/s2)(0.5m)=245.25JW=(50\mathrm{kg})(9.81\mathrm{m/s^2})(0.5\mathrm{m}) = 245.25 \mathrm{J}
OK, so how many 280 Calorie—i.e., 1.17×1061.17 \times 10^6 joule—chocolate bars is this? Well, 245.25 J is about 14770\dfrac{1}{4770} of a chocolate bar. But remember, our bodies are only about 25% efficient, so the work done by the person is actually four times larger, about 981.8 J, which is 11190\dfrac{1}{1190} chocolate bars. So, if we can lift this weight once every 2 seconds, it will take us about 2380 seconds or 40 minutes of hard work to burn off this chocolate bar!
Tip: When working on equations like this, it is always a good idea to make sure that the units work out. All the units on the left hand side must be equal to the units on the right. Remember that 1 J is just another way of writing 1 N·m. And because F=maF=ma, we know that 1 N is just another way of writing 1 kgms2 \text{kg} \dfrac{\text{m}}{\text{s}^2}. So putting all that together, the unit of energy J is the same as
1 Joule=1 Nm1 \text{ Joule}=1 \text{ N}\cdot\text{}m
1 Joule=1 kgms2m=1 kgm2s21 \text{ Joule}=1 \text{ kg} \dfrac{\text{m}}{\text{s}^2}\cdot m=1 \text{ kg} \dfrac{\text{m}^2}{\text{s}^2}
So when someone says 1 joule, that is just shorthand for 1 kgm2s2 \text{ kg} \dfrac{\text{m}^2}{\text{s}^2}.

What about simply holding a weight stationary?

One frequent source of confusion people have with the concept of work comes about when thinking about holding a heavy weight stationary above our heads, against the force of gravity. We are not moving the weight through any distance, so no work is being done to the weight. We could also achieve this by placing the weight on a table; it is clear that the table is not doing any work to keep the weight in position. Yet, we know from our experience that we get tired when doing the same job. So what is going on here?
It turns out that what is actually happening here is that our bodies are doing work on our muscles to maintain the necessary tension to hold the weight up. The body does this by sending a cascade of nerve impulses to each muscle. Each impulse causes the muscle to momentarily contract and release. This all happens so fast that we might only notice a slight twitching at first. Eventually though, not enough chemical energy is available in the muscle and it can no longer keep up. We then begin to shake and eventually must rest for a while. So work is being done, it is just not being done on the weight.
Loading