如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

什么是动能?

学习动能是什么以及它与功的关系。

什么是动能?

动能是一个物体因为运动而拥有的能量。
如果我们想改变一个物体的速度, 那么我们需要对它施力。施力的过程又被称为做功。当外力对一个物体做了功后,这个物体将从中获得动能,并且其恒速移动的速度会发生改变。所以,做功即是能量转为动能的过程。它获得的动能大小取决于这个物体的质量和它的速度上的变化。
动能可以在物体之间传递, 同时也可以被转化为其他形式的能量。例如, 一只松鼠可能会与一只花栗鼠相撞。产生碰撞后, 松鼠原先拥有的动能有一部分会被转移到花栗鼠上,或被转化为例如声波的某种其他形式的能量。

我们如何计算动能?

我们可以通过以上的逻辑来计算出一个物体拥有的动能。我们先需要找出某外力, F, 对物体做的功, W。假设一个物体重量为 m, 并且被一个与移动平面平行的力移动的距离为 d
W=Fd=m·a·d
回想一下动力学的基本公式。我们知道我们可以用初始与最终速度,也就是 vivf,以及移动距离,来替代加速度。
W=mdvf2vi22d=mvf2vi22=12mvf212mvi2
所以,当对某个物体做功时,动能的量,12mv2, 或 K,会产生改变。
动能: K=12mv2
同样,物质/系统的动能变化也等于受到的功的量。
Wnet=ΔK
这也叫做功能定理。功能定理可以被很普遍的使用,并且在力与能量守恒的研究中发挥着重要的意义。

动能有什么特殊的地方?

从以上的公式中我们可以看到有趣的几点:
  • 物体的动能与物体的速度平方成正比。这意味着如果物体的速度翻倍,它的动能将翻四倍。一辆以时速 60 公里行驶的轿车将会拥有它以时速 30 公里行驶时四倍的动能。同理,出现事故时,以 60 公里每小时行驶的轿车发生事故也会产生四倍的伤害。
  • 动能不能为负。 虽然速度可以有正负,但是任何数字的平方都将是正的。
    • 动能不是矢量。一个 向右,以 5 米/秒 移动的网球与一个 向下,以 5 米/秒 移动的网球拥有的动能是一样的。
练习 1a: 如果被一头正以 10 米/秒移动的,6000 千克重的大象撞到结果会很糟糕。为什么呢?计算一下一颗 1 千克重的炮弹需要什么样的速度才能持有与大象一样的动能。
练习 1b: 习题 1a 中,如果拥有同样动能的大象与炮弹分别撞到了一堵墙上,哪个造成的破坏会更大?
练习 2: 肼是一种火箭推进器燃料。它的能量密度 Ed1.6MJkg。假设一个 100 千克的火箭 (mr) 中装载了 1000 千克的肼 (mp)。它可以达到什么速度? 假设所有的燃料在很短的时间内同时燃烧,并且火箭自身没有受任何的外力的影响。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

What is kinetic energy?

Learn what kinetic energy means and how it relates to work.

What is kinetic energy?

Kinetic energy is the energy an object has because of its motion.
If we want to accelerate an object, then we must apply a force. Applying a force requires us to do work. After work has been done, energy has been transferred to the object, and the object will be moving with a new constant speed. The energy transferred is known as kinetic energy, and it depends on the mass and speed achieved.
Kinetic energy can be transferred between objects and transformed into other kinds of energy. For example, a flying squirrel might collide with a stationary chipmunk. Following the collision, some of the initial kinetic energy of the squirrel might have been transferred into the chipmunk or transformed to some other form of energy.

How can we calculate kinetic energy?

To calculate kinetic energy, we follow the reasoning outlined above and begin by finding the work done, WW, by a force, FF, in a simple example. Consider a box of mass mm being pushed through a distance dd along a surface by a force parallel to that surface. As we learned earlier
W=Fd=mad\begin{aligned} W &= F \cdot d \\ &= m · a · d\end{aligned}
Work is defined to be W=Fd cosθW=Fd \text{ cos}\theta. If the force is parallel to the direction of motion, the angle is θ=0\theta=0, which makes cos 0=1\text{ cos } 0=1 and W=FdW=Fd.
Also, Newton's second law tells us that Fnet=maF_{net}=ma, so substituting into the previous formula we get W=madW=mad.
If we recall our kinematic equations of motion, we know that we can substitute the acceleration if we know the initial and final velocity—viv_\mathrm{i} and vfv_\mathrm{f}—as well as the distance.
Rearranging the kinematic formula v2=v02+2adv^2=v_0^2+2ad gives us a=v2v022da=\dfrac{v^2-v_{0}^2}{2d}.
W=mdvf2vi22d=mvf2vi22=12mvf212mvi2\begin{aligned} W &= m\cdot d\cdot \frac{v_\mathrm{f}^2-v_\mathrm{i}^2}{2d} \\ &= m\cdot \frac{v_\mathrm{f}^2-v_\mathrm{i}^2}{2} \\ &= \frac{1}{2}\cdot m \cdot v_\mathrm{f}^2 - \frac{1}{2}\cdot m \cdot v_\mathrm{i}^2 \end{aligned}
So, when a net amount of work is done on an object, the quantity 12mv2\dfrac{1}{2}mv^2—which we call kinetic energy KK—changes.
Kinetic Energy: K=12mv2\text{Kinetic Energy: } K=\frac{1}{2}\cdot m\cdot v^2
Alternatively, one can say that the change in kinetic energy is equal to the net work done on an object or system.
Wnet=ΔKW_{net}=\Delta K
This result is known as the work-energy theorem and applies quite generally, even with forces that vary in direction and magnitude. It is important in the study of conservation of energy and conservative forces.

What is interesting about kinetic energy?

There are a couple of interesting things about kinetic energy that we can see from the equation.
  • Kinetic energy depends on the velocity of the object squared. This means that when the velocity of an object doubles, its kinetic energy quadruples. A car traveling at 60 mph has four times the kinetic energy of an identical car traveling at 30 mph, and hence the potential for four times more death and destruction in the event of a crash.
  • Kinetic energy must always be either zero or a positive value. While velocity can have a positive or negative value, velocity squared is always positive.
    • Kinetic energy is not a vector. So a tennis ball thrown to the right with a velocity of 5 m/s, has the exact same kinetic energy as a tennis ball thrown down with a velocity of 5 m/s.
Exercise 1a: Being in the wrong place when an African elephant—mass = 6000 kg, velocity = 10 m/s—is charging can really ruin your day. How fast would a 1 kg cannon ball travel if it had the same kinetic energy as the elephant?
Kcannon ball=KelephantK_{\text{cannon ball}}=K_{\text{elephant}}
12mballv2=12melephantvelephant2\dfrac{1}{2}m_\mathrm{ball}\cdot v^2=\dfrac{1}{2}m_\mathrm{elephant}\cdot v_\mathrm{elephant}^2
vball=melephantvelephant2/mball=775 m/s(2790 km/hrv_{\text{ball}}=\sqrt{m_\mathrm{elephant}\cdot v_\mathrm{elephant}^2/m_\mathrm{ball}}=775~\mathrm{m/s} \quad (\sim 2790~\text{km/hr} or 1730 mi/hr)1730~\text{mi/hr})
Which is more than twice the speed of sound at sea level.
Exercise 1b: How would you expect the damage done to a brick wall to differ in the event of separate collisions with the elephant and cannonball?
Although both objects have the same kinetic energy, the damage done to an object is generally proportional to the energy transferred during the collision. The force due to collision with a cannonball is concentrated in a very small area. The ball might be expected to pass straight through the wall, making a neat hole and emerging from the other side with most of its velocity—and therefore kinetic energy—remaining. On the other hand, the collision with the elephant might result in force spread over a large area, and the whole wall might be knocked down.
Exercise 2: Hydrazine rocket propellant has an energy density EdE_d of 1.6MJkg1.6 \dfrac{\text{MJ}}{\text{kg}}. Suppose a 100 kg (mrm_r) rocket is loaded with 1000 kg (mpm_p) of hydrazine. What velocity could it achieve? To keep things simple, let’s assume that the propellant is burned up very quickly and that the rocket is not subject to any external forces.
The total chemical potential energy stored in the propellant is EdmpE_\mathrm{d} \cdot m_\mathrm{p}. If we equate this to the kinetic energy, we get
12mrv2=Edmp\frac{1}{2} m_\mathrm{r} \cdot v^2 = E_\mathrm{d} \cdot m_\mathrm{p}
We can rearrange the equation to find the velocity vv:
v=2Edmpmr=5657 m/sv = \sqrt{\frac{2\cdot E_\mathrm{d} m_\mathrm{p}}{m_\mathrm{r}}} = 5657 ~\mathrm{m/s}
Given that the velocity a spacecraft orbiting the earth is about 7 km/s, it would seem that we have gotten quite close to achieving orbit with this rocket. However, it turns out that in reality things are not quite so simple. One difference is that a real rocket does not burn all its propellant instantly, but at a given rate. It takes energy to lift the unburned fuel. Another factor is that a real rocket in the atmosphere loses energy to drag.
Nevertheless, the energy density of propellants and the ratio of the mass of the propellant to the mass of the vehicle are critical in rocketry. The practical limitations to these values is what makes orbit very difficult to achieve. Real rockets must use multiple stages which are discarded in flight to achieve orbital velocity. Discarding the mass of a lower stage allows the remaining stages to accelerate more easily to the final velocity.
Loading