If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

什么是能量守恒?

学习能量守恒的含义,以及它如何使解决问题变得更容易。

能量守恒定律是什么?

在物理学中,守恒 一词指不会改变的东西。这意味着在等式中代表守恒量的变量是不会改变的。它在事件之前和之后都具有相同的值。
物理学中有很多守恒的量。他们对于预测原本非常复杂的情况通常非常有用。在力学中,有三个基本量是守恒的。 分别是 能量动量角动量.
如果你看过其他文章中的例子——例如,冲刺的大象——那么你可能会惊讶于能量原来是一个守恒的量。毕竟,能量往往会在碰撞中发生变化。原来,我们需要添加几个关键的限定条件:
  • 能量,正如我们将在本文中讨论的那样,代表一个系统的总能量。在物体移动的过程中,与它们相关的能量——例如 动能——可能会转换,但如果能量守恒,那么它们的总和应该保持不变。
  • 能量守恒仅适用于 不受外界影响的系统。一个在粗糙平面上滚动的小球不遵从能量守恒定律,因为它与平面互相作用。实际上,平面通过摩擦力向小球做功。但是,如果我们把小球和平面放在一起考虑,那么它们适用能量守恒定律。我们一般把这个组合叫做 球-平面 系统.
在力学问题中,我们很有可能会遇到包含 动能 (EK),重力势能 (Ug),弹性势能(Us),和 热 (热能) (EH) 的系统。这些问题通常是通过在系统中寻找初始时刻(下标 i )和某个时刻(下标 f)之间的能量守恒来解决。
EKi+Ugi+Usi=EKf+Ugf+Usf+EHf
它可以被展开为:
12mvi2+mghi+12kxi2=12mvf2+mghf+12kxf2+EHf

这里的系统 是什么意思?

在物理学中,系统 是我们给出的选定对象集合的后缀,我们将用方程寻找它们之间的关系。如果我们要用能量守恒定律描述一个物体的运动,那么这个系统应该包含我们关注的物体和其他 所有 与它互相作用的物体。
在实际情况中,我们永远需要忽视一些作用。在建立一个系统时,我们在选出我们关心的物体和我们不关心的物体。我们不选择的物体被统称为 环境。忽视一些环境会不可避免地降低我们计算的准确性。然而,这样做并不是错误的。成为一个好的物理学家就往往既需要描述需要理解的影响,也需要知道哪些影响可以被安全地忽视。
试想一个人从大桥上跳蹦极的问题。在最简单的情况下,该系统应包含人、绳索和地球。更精确的计算则应该包括空气。空气会通过 空气阻力 对蹦极者产生作用。我们可以更深入一点并包括大桥本身和桥墩,但由于我们知道桥相比人重太多,所以我们可以忽略人对桥的影响。我们知道蹦极者对桥的力不会对桥产生任何重要影响,尤其是如果桥的设计是为了承载重型车辆的情况。
即使是遥远的物体之间也总会有微弱的联系,所以我们需要明智地选择我们这个系统的边界。

什么是机械能?

机械能 EM 是一个系统中势能和动能的总和。
EM=EP+EK
只有 保守力(比如重力和弹力)有与之相关的势能。非保守力(比如摩擦力和拉力)则没有。我们总是可以取回通过保守力向一个系统中做的功。然而通过非保守力做的功则很难恢复。它们通常最终以热或者其他的形式逸散到系统外——换句话说,转移到环境中去了。
这意味着在实践中,机械能守恒 的特殊情况比一般的能量守恒更适合用来计算。机械能守恒只有在当所有力都是保守力的时候才适用。幸运的是,在很多情况下非保守力都可以忽略不计,或者至少在忽略它们的时候也可以做出一个合理的估计。

能量守恒如何描述物体怎么移动?

当能量守恒时,我们可以创立方程,将系统中不同形式的能量的总和等同起来。然后我们就可以用方程求解速度,距离或者其他与能量有关的参数。如果我们不知道足够的变量来找到确定的解,它仍旧可以帮助我们找到解决的大概方向。
设想一名在月球上的高尔夫球手(重力加速度 1.625 m/s2)击出高尔夫球。顺便一提,宇航员 艾伦·谢泼德 做过这件事。球以于月球表面呈 45 角的方向飞离球杆。球在水平方向和竖直方向的速度分别是20 m/s ——总速度是 28.28 m/s。高尔夫球最高会飞多高?
我们首先从机械能入手:
EM=12mv2+mgh
应用机械能守恒定律,我们可以求解 h——注意质量可以被抵消。
12mvi2=mghf+12mvf2
h=12vi212vf2g=12(28.28 m/s)212(20 m/s)21.625 m/s2=123 m
正如你所看到的,应用能量守恒定律可以让我们快速地解决这些原本使用 运动学方程 会特别复杂的问题。
练习 1: 假设球与附近悬挂在 2米处的美国国旗发生了意外碰撞,碰撞时球的运动速度有多快?
练习 2: 下图显示了一个小模型火箭飞行过过程中随着时间推移的动能、引力势能和机械能的示意图。图上注明了最大高度(远地点)和引擎停止时间(燃料燃尽)。火箭在飞行过程中受到多个保守力和非保守力的作用。在飞行过程中火箭是否有只受保守力影响的时候?为什么?
小型火箭飞行期间的能量转换[1]。

为什么永动机是不存在的?

永动机的概念是一个机器它将永远运动下去,而速度不会有任何和减慢。多年来,人们描述了各种各样的奇怪而奇妙的机器。其中包括宣称依靠自己的落水头带动自己的水泵,通过不平衡的质量推动自己的车轮,以及各种不同的自我排斥的磁铁。
尽管经常有有趣的好奇心,但这些机器没有一个被证明是永恒的,也永远不可能是永恒的。实际上,就算这样的机器存在,也不会很有用。它将没有工作的能力。注意这与效率大于一的机器不同。效率大于一的机器是输出的能量超过投入其中的能量的 100%,这显然违反了能量守恒定律。
从力学的最基本原则上看,没有什么能使永动机成为不可能。如果一个系统能够完全与环境隔离,只服从保守力,那么能量就会被转化,它就会永远运行。问题是,在现实中没有办法完全隔离一个系统,机器内的能量永远不会完全守恒。
现在人们可以制造在真空中旋转的、阻力极低的飞轮来储存能量。但是,它们仍旧耗散能量并且在不被带动时最终会停下(有的可以转超过一年时间 [2])。地球本身在宇宙中绕地轴旋转也许是这样的一个特别的例子。但是,因为与月球以及其他天体互相作用,它也在逐渐的减速。实际上,每隔一段时间,科学家就需要添加 闰秒 来让我们的计时准确的记录一天的长度变化。

参考文献

[1] 图表来源 OpenRocket 15.03。根据在 openrocket 注释 中的说明而创建的 自定义表达式
[2] Abbasi, Tasneem. Renewable Energy Sources: Their Impact On Global Warming And Pollution. A.S.A., 2010. ISBN: 9788120339941

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

What is conservation of energy?

Learn what conservation of energy means, and how it can make solving problems easier.

What is the principle of conservation of energy?

In physics, the term conservation refers to something which doesn't change. This means that the variable in an equation which represents a conserved quantity is constant over time. It has the same value both before and after an event.
There are many conserved quantities in physics. They are often remarkably useful for making predictions in what would otherwise be very complicated situations. In mechanics, there are three fundamental quantities which are conserved. These are energy, momentum and angular momentum.
If you have looked at examples in other articles—for example, the kinetic energy of charging elephants—then it may surprise you that energy is a conserved quantity. After all, energy often changes in collisions. It turns out that there are a couple of key qualifying statements we need to add:
  • Energy, as we'll be discussing it in this article, refers to the total energy of a system. As objects move around over time, the energy associated with them—e.g., kinetic, gravitational potential, heat—might change forms, but if energy is conserved, then the total will remain the same.
  • Conservation of energy applies only to isolated systems. A ball rolling across a rough floor will not obey the law of conservation of energy because it is not isolated from the floor. The floor is, in fact, doing work on the ball through friction. However, if we consider the ball and floor together, then conservation of energy will apply. We would normally call this combination the ball-floor system.
In mechanics problems, we are likely to encounter systems containing kinetic energy (E, start subscript, K, end subscript), gravitational potential energy (U, start subscript, g, end subscript), elastic—spring—potential energy (U, start subscript, s, end subscript), and heat (thermal energy) (E, start subscript, H, end subscript). Solving such problems often begins by establishing conservation of energy in a system between some initial time—subscript i—and at some later time—subscript f.
E, start subscript, K, i, end subscript, plus, U, start subscript, g, i, end subscript, plus, U, start subscript, s, i, end subscript, equals, E, start subscript, K, f, end subscript, plus, U, start subscript, g, f, end subscript, plus, U, start subscript, s, f, end subscript, plus, E, start subscript, H, f, end subscript
Which could be expanded out as:
start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, m, v, start subscript, i, end subscript, squared, plus, m, g, h, start subscript, i, end subscript, plus, start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, k, x, start subscript, i, end subscript, squared, equals, start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, m, v, start subscript, f, end subscript, squared, plus, m, g, h, start subscript, f, end subscript, plus, start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, k, x, start subscript, f, end subscript, squared, plus, E, start subscript, H, f, end subscript

What do we mean by system here?

In physics, system is the suffix we give to a collection of objects that we choose to model with our equations. If we are to describe the motion of an object using conservation of energy, then the system should include the object of interest and all other objects that it interacts with.
In practice, we always have to choose to ignore some interactions. When defining a system, we are drawing a line around things we care about and things we don't. The things we don't include are usually collectively termed the environment. Ignoring some of the environment will inevitably make our calculations less accurate. There is no indignity in doing this however. In fact, being a good physicist is often as much about understanding the effects you need to describe as it is about knowing which effects can be safely ignored.
Consider the problem of a person making a bungee jump from a bridge. At a minimum, the system should include the jumper, bungee, and the Earth. A more accurate calculation might include the air, which does work on the jumper via drag, or air resistance. We could go further and include the bridge and its foundation, but since we know that the bridge is much heavier than the jumper, we can safely ignore this. We wouldn't expect the force of a decelerating bungee jumper to have any significant effect on the bridge, especially if the bridge is designed to bear the load of heavy vehicles.
There is always some tenuous level of interaction between even distant objects, so we need to choose the boundary of our system intelligently.
There is always some tenuous level of interaction between even distant objects, so we need to choose the boundary of our system intelligently.

What is mechanical energy?

Mechanical energy, E, start subscript, M, end subscript, is the sum of the potential energy and kinetic energy in a system.
start box, E, start subscript, M, end subscript, equals, E, start subscript, P, end subscript, plus, E, start subscript, K, end subscript, end box
Only conservative forces like gravity and the spring force that have potential energy associated with them. Nonconservative forces like friction and drag do not. We can always get back the energy that we put into a system via a conservative force. Energy transferred by nonconservative forces however is difficult to recover. It often ends up as heat or some other form which is typically outside the system—in other words, lost to the environment.
What this means in practice is that the special case of conservation of mechanical energy is often more useful for making calculations than conservation of energy in general. Conservation of mechanical energy only applies when all forces are conservative. Luckily, there are many situations where nonconservative forces are negligible, or at least a good approximation can still be made when neglecting them.

How can conservation of energy describe how objects move?

When energy is conserved, we can set up equations which equate the sum of the different forms of energy in a system. We then may be able to solve the equations for velocity, distance, or some other parameter on which the energy depends. If we don't know enough of the variables to find a unique solution, then it may still be useful to plot related variables to see where solutions lie.
Consider a golfer on the moon—gravitational acceleration 1.625 m/ssquared—striking a golf ball. By the way, Astronaut Alan Shepard actually did this. The ball leaves the club at an angle of 45degrees to the lunar surface traveling at 20 m/s both horizontally and vertically—total velocity 28.28 m/s. How high would the golf ball go?
We begin by writing down the mechanical energy:
E, start subscript, M, end subscript, equals, start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, m, v, squared, plus, m, g, h
Applying the principle of conservation of mechanical energy, we can solve for the height h—note that the mass cancels out.
start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, m, v, start subscript, i, end subscript, squared, equals, m, g, h, start subscript, f, end subscript, plus, start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction, m, v, start subscript, f, end subscript, squared
h=12vi212vf2g=12(28.28 m/s)212(20 m/s)21.625 m/s2=123 m\begin{aligned} h &= \frac{\frac{1}{2}v_i^2-\frac{1}{2}v_f^2}{g} \\ &=\frac{\frac{1}{2}(28.28~\mathrm{m/s})^2-\frac{1}{2}(20~\mathrm{m/s})^2}{1.625~\mathrm{m/s^2}} \\ &= 123~\mathrm{m}\end{aligned}
As you can see, applying the principle of conservation of energy allows us to quickly solve problems like this which would be more difficult if done only with the kinematic equations.
Exercise 1: Suppose the ball had an unexpected collision with a nearby american flag hoisted to a height of 2 m. How fast would it be traveling at the time of collision?
Exercise 2: The image below shows a plot of the kinetic, gravitational potential and mechanical energy over time during the flight of a small model rocket. Points of interest such as maximum height, apogee, and the time of motor stop, burnout, are noted on the plot. The rocket is subject to several conservative and nonconservative forces over the course of the flight. Is there a time during the flight when the rocket is subject to only conservative forces? Why?
Energy transfer during the flight of a small model rocket [1].
Energy transfer during the flight of a small model rocket [1].

Why can perpetual motion machines never work?

The perpetual motion machine is a concept for a machine which continues its motion forever, without any reduction in speed. An endless variety of weird and wonderful machines have been described over the years. They include pumps said to run themselves via their own head of falling water, wheels which are said to push themselves around by means of unbalanced masses, and many variations of self-repelling magnets.
Though often interesting curiosities, such a machine has never been shown to be perpetual, nor could it ever be. In fact, even if such a machine were to exist, it wouldn't be very useful. It would have no ability to do work. Note that this differs from the concept of the over-unity machine, which is said to output more than 100% of the energy put into it, in clear violation of the principle of conservation of energy.
From the most basic principles of mechanics, there is nothing that strictly makes the perpetual motion machine impossible. If a system could be fully isolated from the environment and subject to only conservative forces, then energy would be conserved and it would run forever. The problem is that in reality, there is no way to completely isolate a system and energy is never completely conserved within the machine.
It is possible today to make extremely low friction flywheels which rotate in a vacuum for storing energy. Yet, they still lose energy and eventually spin down when unloaded, some over a period of years [2]. The earth itself, rotating on its axis in space is perhaps an extreme example of such a machine. Yet, because of interactions with the moon, tidal friction, and other celestial bodies, it too is gradually slowing. In fact, every couple of years, scientists have to add a leap second to our record of time to account for variation in the length of day.

Attributions

[1] Figure made using OpenRocket 15.03. Custom expressions for calculating energy detailed in openrocket documentation.
[2] Abbasi, Tasneem. Renewable Energy Sources: Their Impact On Global Warming And Pollution. A.S.A., 2010. ISBN: 9788120339941

Want to join the conversation?

  • blobby green style avatar for user S26Patel
    In the golfer problem why is Em (Mechanical Energy) = 0 in the equation Em = Ep + Ek? In general What does Em = 0 mean in relation to PE and KE? I understand how the algebra works but I don't understand the general relationship of Em to the other terms in the equation. Does Em = 0 generally mean that Em is constant? And, when Em is constant, does that always mean Ek = 0 and Ep will be at its maximum positive value?
    (14 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leaf yellow style avatar for user joshua wallace
      The mechanical energy does not equal zero. Think of it this way. The conservation of energy formula goes Ki+Ui=Kf+Uf. U is potential energy and K is kinetic energy. In this case the golf ball at the start has zero potential energy. We are considering the surface of the moon to be the height h. The height is zero therefore, we have no initial potential energy(mgh). We are left with Ki=Kf+Uf=>1/2m(vi)^2=1/2m(vf)^2+mgh.

      Also Em is a measure of energy at a certain time. We can rewrite the conservation of energy formula as Em(i)=Em(f). If Em equals zero that means U+K=0 . I hope this helps.
      (24 votes)
  • purple pi teal style avatar for user Yasin Aksit
    If an object hits another but if friction force doesn't allow the second object to move then where is the energy of the first object gone ? Heat ? How ?
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • female robot ada style avatar for user Rodrigo Campos
      The collision's kinetic energy vibrates both body and nearby air's molecules, increasing their quadratic average speed, which is directly related to temperature. Small but quick compression/expansion processes from the impact also dissipate energy as sound waves. The latter is usually a neglectible amount, though. Like Andrew said, missing energy usually turns out to be heat.
      (11 votes)
  • blobby green style avatar for user Aliya Dunbar
    How did you get 28.16m/s as your answer for Problem 1? I am very confused and I need help
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • starky tree style avatar for user Jonathan Morales
      I can help you with this.
      For get 28.16m/s you have to do the next equation:
      Vf = sqrt[(28.28^2) - (2·2·1.625)]*

      Take care about:
      - "g" is 1.625 (*one coma six hundred and tweenty-five
      ) & not 1625 (one thousand six hundred and tweenty-five)
      - "Vi" is 28.28 squared.
      - Remeber to do the square root to the result.

      I hope I help you & sorry if my english isn't the best.
      (6 votes)
  • piceratops ultimate style avatar for user David Ninan Kurien
    isnt mass also conserved? howcome it isnt a fundamental ?
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • piceratops ultimate style avatar for user Anujith Krishnan
      mass can be destroyed when an antimatter and matter collide with each other and also annihilate energy in the form light energy.Antimatter posses the properties just opposite to matter , like antimatter have positively charged electrons called positron . Though mass can be destroyed energy remains constant. This process involves the conversion of mass into energy. The law of conservation of mass-energy states the same
      (2 votes)
  • male robot hal style avatar for user jjain654
    Would friction be an example of a non-conservative force because it releases thermal energy?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user Anwesha Donna
    In the model rocket question, I have understood the problem in terms of the graph (mechanical energy is flat, so energy is conserved). But can someone explain what actually happens in reality? Is the energy conserved because the rocket went past the atmosphere and gravitational force? Could someone explain how is the energy conserved practically at this stage - "During this time, the rocket is coasting upwards—motor has stopped burning—but going slow enough that the work being done by drag on the rocket is mostly negligible."
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user weyapaca
    In Ex. 1 above, I used the conservation of energy equation in the vertical direction. I got a final velocity of 19.84 m/s then divided by sin 45 and got close to the same answer (28.05 m/s instead of 28.16 m/s). Why is the direction not considered?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • blobby green style avatar for user Pete Sillifant
      Because the calculation is for energy, which is not a vector quantity.
      I also tried to calculate in the vertical direction after reading this post. I was curious as to why the difference between the two answers. It's because the angle also shifts slightly from 45 degrees as the vertical velocity drops slightly. Using the pythagorean theorem on the vertical and horizontal directions gives the correct diagonal velocity, and taking the inverse tan of the horizontal and vertical velocities gives the new angle of 44.77 degrees. :)
      (2 votes)
  • aqualine seed style avatar for user TamaRanda
    In Exercise 1 of How can conservation of energy describe how objects move, how did you get 28.16m/s for the final velocity? I practiced the problem before I saw the answer, and I used the same formula, but I got 6.2m/s for the final velocity.
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • leaf green style avatar for user Annling Wang
    In the golfer question, why is Mechanical Energy = m*vi^2/2?
    (0 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • aqualine ultimate style avatar for user jeffrey.deleon113
    So is conservation of energy the same as conservatives forces?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user