If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

Si vous avez un filtre web, veuillez vous assurer que les domaines *. kastatic.org et *. kasandbox.org sont autorisés.

Contenu principal

Découverte de l’électron et du noyau

Expérience du tube cathodique de Thomson et expérience de la feuille d'or de Rutherford

Points clés

  • L'expérience de J.J. Thomson sur les tubes cathodiques démontra que tous les atomes contiennent de minuscules particules chargées négativement : les électrons.
  • Le modèle atomique de Thomson consistait en de multiples électrons chargés négativement baignant dans une "soupe" de charge positive.
  • L'expérience de la feuille d'or de Rutherford montra que les atomes sont principalement composés d'espace vide, avec en leur centre un minuscule noyau chargé positivement.
  • D'après ces résultats, Rutherford proposa le modèle nucléaire de l'atome.

Introduction : Le modèle atomique de Dalton

Dans un article précédent sur la théorie atomique de Dalton, nous avons discuté des postulats suivants :
  • Toute matière est faite de particules indivisibles appelées atomes, qui ne peuvent ni être créées ni être détruites.
  • Les atomes d'un même élément ont une masse et des propriétés physiques identiques.
  • Les composés chimiques sont des combinaisons d'atomes de 2 éléments différents ou plus.
  • Toute réaction chimique implique un réarrangement des atomes.
Les idées de Dalton ont été à la base de la théorie atomique moderne. Une de ses hypothèses s'est malgré tout avérée incorrecte. Dalton pensait que les atomes sont les plus petites unités de matièreminusde minuscules sphères que l'on ne pouvait pas briser en d'autres morceaux plus petits. Cette hypothèse persista jusqu'à ce que d'autres expériences de physique démontrent que les atomes étaient composés de particules encore plus petites. Ces expériences, qui ont conduit à la découverte des électrons et des noyaux, sont décrites dans cet article.

J.J. Thomson et la découverte de l'électron

Vers la fin du XIXstart superscript, start text, e, end text, end superscript siècle, le physiciens J.J. Thomson commença des expériences sur les tubes cathodiques. Un tube cathodique est un tube de verre étanche presque entièrement sous vide. En appliquant une haute tension entre deux électrodes à une extrémité du tube, on crée un faisceau de particules qui part de la cathode (l'électrode chargée négativement) vers l'anode (l'électrode chargée positivement). Ces tubes sont appelés cathodiques parce que le faisceau de particules, ou "faisceau cathodique", part de la cathode. Ce faisceau est détecté grâce à une couche de phosphore qui recouvre la partie du tube qui est à l'opposé des électrodes. Le phosphore émet de la lumière quand il est frappé par le flux cathodique.
Schéma d'un tube cathodique.
Schéma du tube cathodique de J.J. Thomson. Le faisceau est créé à la cathode et passe à travers une fente dans l'anode. Le faisceau cathodique est repoussé par la plaque chargée négativement, et attiré par la plaque chargée positivement. En mesurant la déviation causée par un champ magnétique appliqué au tube, Thomson détermina le rapport masse sur charge des particules. Image issue de Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
Pour tester les propriétés des particules, Thomson plaça deux plaques portant des charges électriques opposées de chaque coté du faisceau cathodique. Le flux de particules fut alors dévié vers la plaque chargée positivement. Il en déduisit que le faisceau cathodique était composé de particules de charge négative.
Thomson plaça également deux aimants de part et d'autre du tube, et observa que le champ magnétique ainsi créé faisait également dévier le faisceau. Les résultats de ces expériences lui permirent de déterminer le rapport masse sur charge des particules du faisceau cathodique, ce qui entraîna une découverte fascinanteminusla masse de chacune de ces particules était beaucoup plus petite que celle de n'importe quel atome connu. Thomson essaya de répéter l'expérience en utilisant différents métaux pour les électrodes, et à chaque fois les propriétés du faisceau cathodique restaient les mêmes, quel que soit le métal formant la cathode dont il était issu. Thomson en tira les conclusions suivantes :
  • Le faisceau cathodique est composé de particules chargées négativement.
  • Ces particules font partie de l'atome, puisque leur masse n'est que de \simstart fraction, 1, divided by, 2000, end fraction de la masse de l'atome d'hydrogène.
  • Ces particules subatomiques se trouvent dans tous les atomes, quel que soit l'élément chimique.
Bien qu'initialement controversées, les découvertes de Thomson furent progressivement acceptées par la communauté scientifique. Les particules composant le faisceau cathodique ont reçu le nom d'électrons. La découverte des électrons réfuta la partie de la théorie atomique de Dalton qui supposait que les atomes sont des entités indivisibles. Il fallait à présent penser à un tout nouveau modèle atomique afin d'inclure l'existence des électrons.
Application : Comment Thomson a-t-il pu conclure que les électrons se trouvaient dans tous les atomes, quel que soit l'élément ?

Le modèle du pudding aux raisins

Thomson savait que les atomes étaient électriquement neutres. Comme les électrons sont chargés négativement, il déduisit qu'il devait y avoir une source positive à l'intérieur de l'atome pour compenser ces charges négatives. Il proposa donc un modèle dans lequel les électrons, chargés négativement, "flottent" dans une soupe diffuse de charge positive. Ce modèle est souvent appelé le modèle en pudding aux raisins de l'atome, en référence au pudding aux raisins ou pudding de Noël, qui est un célèbre gâteau anglais (voir figure ci-dessous).
Modèle du pudding aux raisins (droite), image d'un vrai pudding aux raisins (gauche).
Le modèle du pudding aux raisins représente les électrons comme des particules chargées négativement flottant dans une mer de charge positive. La structure de l'atome de Thomson est similaire à celle du pudding de Noël, célèbre gâteau anglais (image de gauche). Image issue de Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
Ce modèle était encore assez grossier, mais fort heureusement les scientifiques ont continué leurs recherches sur la structure de l'atome, et ont notamment testé la validité du modèle de pudding aux raisins de Thomson.
Application : Thomson proposa un modèle de l'atome avec des charges négatives distinctes flottant dans une "mer" de charge positive. Quel autre modèle atomique pourrait expliquer les résultats expérimentaux de Thomson ?

Ernest Rutherford et l'expérience de la feuille d'or

Quelque temps après, une autre expérience significative dans le domaine de l'atome fut réalisée par Ernest Rutherford, un physicien néo-zélandais ayant effectué une grande partie de sa carrière en Angleterre et au Canada. Dans sa célèbre expérience de la feuille d'or, Rutherford projeta un rayon de particules alpha (que l'on prononce particules alpha) sur une fine couche d'or pur. Les particules alpha sont des noyaux d'hélium left parenthesis, start subscript, 2, end subscript, start superscript, 4, end superscript, start text, H, e, end text, start superscript, 2, plus, end superscript, right parenthesis, et sont des produits de certaines réactions de radioactivité. Pour cette expérience, Rutherford plaça un échantillon de radium (un métal radioactif) dans une boite en plomb avec un minuscule trou. La plupart des radiations sont absorbées par le plomb, mais un fin rayon de particules alpha passe par le petit trou, en direction de la feuille d'or. Tout autour de la feuille d'or se trouve un écran détecteur qui produit une lumière en cas de contact avec une particule alpha.
Le matériel utilisé pour l'expérience de Rutherford.
Dans l'expérience de la feuille d'or de Rutherford, un faisceau de particules alpha est dirigé sur une fine couche de feuille d'or. La plupart des particules alpha passent tout droit à travers la feuille d'or, mais un petit nombre de particules est légèrement dévié et un nombre encore plus faible de particules est déviée de plus de 90, degrees par rapport à leur trajectoire initiale. Image issue de Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
En se basant sur le modèle de pudding aux raisins de Thomson, Rutherford prédit que la plupart des particules alpha passeraient à travers la feuille d'or. La raison est que la charge positive, selon le modèle du pudding, est supposée être dispersée à travers tout le volume de l'atome. Par conséquent, le champ électrique créé par la "soupe" chargée positivement serait trop faible pour entraver significativement la trajectoire des particules alpha, relativement lourdes et rapides.
Les résultats de l'expérience furent pourtant bien plus surprenants. Bien que la plupart des particules alpha soient passées directement à travers la feuille d'or comme prévu, un certain nombre de particules alpha (environ 1 sur 20 000) avaient été déviées de plus de 90, degrees de leur trajectoire ! Rutherford lui-même décrivit ces résultats avec l'analogie suivante : "C'était la chose la plus incroyable qui me soit jamais arrivée. Imaginez que vous tiriez un obus de 15 pouces sur un mouchoir en papier tendu au milieu de la pièce et que l'obus rebondisse et revienne vers vous."
Expérience de la feuille d'or de Rutherford : résultats attendus selon le modèle de Thomson (gauche), résultats expérimentaux obtenus (droite).
En se basant sur le modèle atomique de pudding aux raisins de Thomson, on supposait que rien à l'intérieur des atomes d'or n'était assez dense ou lourd pour dévier les massives particules alpha de leur trajectoire (image de gauche). Mais Rutherford n'observa pas du tout le même résultat lors de ses expériences (image de droite)minusun nouveau modèle atomique était nécessaire.

Le modèle nucléaire de l'atome

À partir des résultats de ses expériences, Rutherford arriva aux conclusions suivantes concernant la structure de l'atome :
  • La charge positive doit être située dans un très petit volume dans l'atome, volume qui contiendrait également la plupart de la masse de l'atome. Cela expliquerait pourquoi seul un très petit nombre de particules alpha a été significativement dévié, probablement suite à une collision avec un noyau d'or.
  • Comme la plupart des particules alpha sont passées tout droit à travers la feuille d'or, l'atome doit être presque entièrement constitué d'espace vide !
Image représentant des électrons (en rouge) en orbite autour d'un noyau (petite sphère noire).
Modèle nucléaire de l'atome. Image de l'atome de Rutherford issue de Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY-SA-3,0.
À partir de ces conclusions, Rutherford proposa le modèle nucléaire de l'atome, dans lequel l'atome est constitué d'un minuscule noyau chargé positivement, autour duquel gravitent les électrons chargés négativement. Étant donné que le nombre de particules alpha significativement déviées était très faible, Rutherford estima que le noyau n'occupait qu'une minuscule fraction du volume de l'atome.
Le modèle nucléaire permit d'expliquer les résultats expérimentaux de Rutherford, mais il souleva aussi d'autres questions. Par exemple, que font les électrons dans l'atome ? Comment les électrons font-ils pour ne pas s'écraser dans le noyau, étant donné que les charges opposées s'attirent ? Heureusement, des physiciens tels que Niels Bohr continuèrent à imaginer de nouvelles expériences pour tester les limites de ce modèle, qui évoluerait plus tard pour devenir le modèle quantique de l'atome.

À retenir

  • L'expérience de J.J. Thomson sur les tubes cathodiques démontra que tous les atomes contiennent de minuscules particules chargées négativement : les électrons.
  • Thomson proposa le modèle atomique du pudding aux raisins, dans lequel les électrons chargés négativement flottent dans une "soupe" chargée positivement.
  • L'expérience de la feuille d'or de Rutherford montra que les atomes sont principalement composés d'espace vide, avec en leur centre un minuscule noyau chargé positivement.
  • D'après ces résultats, Rutherford proposa le modèle nucléaire de l'atome.

Vous souhaitez rejoindre la discussion ?

  • blobby green style l'avatar de l’utilisateur Kimberly Pomposelli
    les protons et les électrons sont elles des particules indivisibles
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar l'avatar de l’utilisateur
    • blobby green style l'avatar de l’utilisateur Arnaud Picard
      En l'état actuel des connaissances, les protons et les neutrons sont des particules subatomiques sont composés de particules élémentaires, les électrons eux sont considérés comme des particules élémentaires.
      Maintenant dans la pratique, protons et neutrons peuvent être divisés, mais c'est une autre histoire!
      (2 votes)
  • blobby green style l'avatar de l’utilisateur sarahbellalay
    Bonjour, dans l'explication avec le tube cathodique, vous avez expliqué que la cathode était la borne négative. Toutefois, il me semble que c'est l'inverse et qu'elle est la borne positive.
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar l'avatar de l’utilisateur
Vous comprenez l'anglais ? Cliquez ici pour participer à d'autres discussions sur Khan Academy en anglais.

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Discovery of the electron and nucleus

Thomson's cathode ray experiment and Rutherford's gold foil experiment

Key points

  • J.J. Thomson's experiments with cathode ray tubes showed that all atoms contain tiny negatively charged subatomic particles or electrons.
  • Thomson's plum pudding model of the atom had negatively-charged electrons embedded within a positively-charged "soup."
  • Rutherford's gold foil experiment showed that the atom is mostly empty space with a tiny, dense, positively-charged nucleus.
  • Based on these results, Rutherford proposed the nuclear model of the atom.

Introduction: Building on Dalton's atomic theory

In a previous article on Dalton's atomic theory, we discussed the following postulates:
  • All matter is made of indivisible particles called atoms, which cannot be created or destroyed.
  • Atoms of the same element have identical mass and physical properties.
  • Compounds are combinations of atoms of 2 or more elements.
  • All chemical reactions involve the rearrangement of atoms.
Dalton's ideas proved foundational to modern atomic theory. However, one of his underlying assumptions was later shown to be incorrect. Dalton thought that atoms were the smallest units of matterminustiny, hard spheres that could not be broken down any further. This assumption persisted until experiments in physics showed that the atom was composed of even smaller particles. In this article, we will discuss some of the key experiments that led to the discovery of the electron and the nucleus.

J.J. Thomson and the discovery of the electron

In the late 19, start superscript, start text, t, h, end text, end superscript century, physicist J.J. Thomson began experimenting with cathode ray tubes. Cathode ray tubes are sealed glass tubes from which most of the air has been evacuated. A high voltage is applied across two electrodes at one end of the tube, which causes a beam of particles to flow from the cathode (the negatively-charged electrode) to the anode (the positively-charged electrode). The tubes are called cathode ray tubes because the particle beam or "cathode ray" originates at the cathode. The ray can be detected by painting a material known as phosphors onto the far end of the tube beyond the anode. The phosphors spark, or emit light, when impacted by the cathode ray.
A diagram of a cathode ray tube.
A diagram of J.J. Thomson's cathode ray tube. The ray originates at the cathode and passes through a slit in the anode. The cathode ray is deflected away from the negatively-charged electric plate, and towards the positively-charged electric plate. The amount by which the ray was deflected by a magnetic field helped Thomson determine the mass-to-charge ratio of the particles. Image from Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
To test the properties of the particles, Thomson placed two oppositely-charged electric plates around the cathode ray. The cathode ray was deflected away from the negatively-charged electric plate and towards the positively-charged plate. This indicated that the cathode ray was composed of negatively-charged particles.
Thomson also placed two magnets on either side of the tube, and observed that this magnetic field also deflected the cathode ray. The results of these experiments helped Thomson determine the mass-to-charge ratio of the cathode ray particles, which led to a fascinating discoveryminusthe mass of each particle was much, much smaller than that of any known atom. Thomson repeated his experiments using different metals as electrode materials, and found that the properties of the cathode ray remained constant no matter what cathode material they originated from. From this evidence, Thomson made the following conclusions:
  • The cathode ray is composed of negatively-charged particles.
  • The particles must exist as part of the atom, since the mass of each particle is only \simstart fraction, 1, divided by, 2000, end fraction the mass of a hydrogen atom.
  • These subatomic particles can be found within atoms of all elements.
While controversial at first, Thomson's discoveries were gradually accepted by scientists. Eventually, his cathode ray particles were given a more familiar name: electrons. The discovery of the electron disproved the part of Dalton's atomic theory that assumed atoms were indivisible. In order to account for the existence of the electrons, an entirely new atomic model was needed.
Concept check: Why did Thomson conclude that electrons could be found in atoms of all elements?

The plum pudding model

Thomson knew that atoms had an overall neutral charge. Therefore, he reasoned that there must be a source of positive charge within the atom to counterbalance the negative charge on the electrons. This led Thomson to propose that atoms could be described as negative particles floating within a soup of diffuse positive charge. This model is often called the plum pudding model of the atom, due to the fact that its description is very similar to plum pudding, a popular English dessert (see image below).
The plum pudding model of the atom on the right, and a picture of plum pudding dessert on the left.
The plum pudding model depicts the electrons as negatively-charged particles embedded in a sea of positive charge. The structure of Thomson's atom is analogous to plum pudding, an English dessert (left). Image from Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
Given what we know now about the actual structure of atoms, this model might sound a little far-fetched. Luckily, scientists continued to investigate the structure of the atom, including testing the validity of Thomson's plum pudding model.
Concept check: Thomson proposed an atomic model with distinct negative charges floating within a "sea" of positive charge. Can you think of another model of the atom that would explain Thomson's experimental results?

Ernest Rutherford and the gold foil experiment

The next groundbreaking experiment in the history of the atom was performed by Ernest Rutherford, a physicist from New Zealand who spent most of his career in England and Canada. In his famous gold foil experiment, Rutherford fired a thin beam of alpha particles (pronounced alpha particles) at a very thin sheet of pure gold. Alpha particles are helium nuclei left parenthesis, start subscript, 2, end subscript, start superscript, 4, end superscript, start text, H, e, end text, start superscript, 2, plus, end superscript, right parenthesis, and they are given off in various radioactive decay processes. In this case, Rutherford placed a sample of radium (a radioactive metal) inside a lead box with a small pinhole in it. Most of the radiation was absorbed by the lead, but a thin beam of alpha particles escaped out of the pinhole in the direction of the gold foil. The gold foil was surrounded by a detector screen that would flash when hit with an alpha particle.
The apparatus used in Rutherford's gold foil experiment.
In Rutherford's gold foil experiment, a beam of alpha particles that was shot at a thin sheet of gold foil. Most of the alpha particles passed straight through the gold foil, but a small number were deflected slightly, and an even smaller fraction were deflected more than 90, degrees from their path. Image from Openstax, CC BY 4.0.
Based on Thomson's plum pudding model, Rutherford predicted that most of the alpha particles would pass straight through the gold foil. This is because the positive charge in the plum pudding model was assumed to be spread out throughout the entire volume of the atom. Therefore, the electric field from the positively charged "soup" would be too weak to significantly affect the path of the relatively massive and fast-moving alpha particles.
The results of the experiment, however, were striking. While almost all of the alpha particles passed straight through the gold foil, a few alpha particles (about 1 in 20,000) were deflected more than 90, degrees from their path! Rutherford himself described the results with the following analogy: "It was quite the most incredible event that has ever happened to me in my life. It was almost as incredible as if you fired a 15-start text, i, n, c, h, end text shell at a piece of tissue paper and it came back and hit you."
The expected results of Rutherford's gold foil experiment according to the Thomson model (left), and the actual results of his experiment (right).
Based on the plum pudding model of the atom, it was assumed that there was nothing dense or heavy enough inside the gold atoms to deflect the massive alpha particles from their paths (see left image). However, what Rutherford actually observed did not match his prediction (see image on right)minusa new atomic model was needed!

The nuclear model of the atom

Based on his experimental results, Rutherford made the following conclusions about the structure of the atom:
  • The positive charge must be localized over a very tiny volume of the atom, which also contains most of the atom's mass. This explained how a very small fraction of the alpha particles were deflected drastically, presumably due to the rare collision with a gold nucleus.
  • Since most of the alpha particles passed straight through the gold foil, the atom must be made up of mostly empty space!
Picture of red electrons orbiting a small black sphere representing the nucleus.
The nuclear model of the atom. Image of Rutherford atom from Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY-SA-3.0.
This led Rutherford to propose the nuclear model, in which an atom consists of a very small, positively charged nucleus surrounded by the negatively charged electrons. Based on the number of alpha particles deflected in his experiment, Rutherford calculated that the nucleus took up a tiny fraction of the volume of the atom.
The nuclear model explained Rutherford's experimental results, but it also raised further questions. For example, what were the electrons doing in the atom? How did the electrons keep themselves from collapsing into the nucleus, since opposite charges attract? Luckily, science was ready for the challenge! Physicists such as Niels Bohr continued to design experiments to test the nuclear model of the atom, which eventually evolved into the modern quantum mechanical model.

Summary

  • J.J. Thomson's experiments with cathode ray tubes showed that all atoms contain tiny negatively charged subatomic particles or electrons.
  • Thomson proposed the plum pudding model of the atom, which had negatively-charged electrons embedded within a positively-charged "soup."
  • Rutherford's gold foil experiment showed that the atom is mostly empty space with a tiny, dense, positively-charged nucleus.
  • Based on these results, Rutherford proposed the nuclear model of the atom.

Want to join the conversation?

  • blobby green style avatar for user rajaharis294
    How can we calculate e/m value of elactron?
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user afeefdk.07
    comparing thomsons exp. and rutherford's exp. why does the rays deflect in rutherford's model due to presence of nucleus but travel straight in thomson's exp.
    (5 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • primosaur seed style avatar for user sri shakthi
    is anode rays consist of proton ?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leafers tree style avatar for user raghuwanshiparth
      You are right, both kinds of rays are emitted simultaneously. the cathode rays consist of electrons, while the anode/canal rays are the positively charged gaseous ions.
      The experiment for canal rays was carried out in modified cathode ray tube, by E. Goldstein.

      :: some properties of anode rays:
      1. The positively charged particles depend upon the nature of gas present in the cathode ray tube. Those are simply the positively charged gaseous ions.
      2. The charge to mass ratio of particles depends on the gas from which it originates.
      3. Some positively charged particles carry a multiple of a fundamental unit of electric charge.
      4. The behavior of these particles in a magnetic or electric field is opposite to that of electrons or cathode rays.

      THE SMALLEST AND LIGHTEST POSITIVE ION WAS OBTAINED FROM HYDROGEN AND WAS CALLED PROTON.

      Image of a canal ray experiment:-

      https://www.google.co.in/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwi41_ra0tTVAhXCOY8KHZJNC7kQjRwIBw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fchem-guide.blogspot.com%2F2010%2F04%2Fdiscovery-of-proton.html&psig=AFQjCNEUcp3n61_aLrSJ5u4dzti4Ozepvg&ust=1502728671172162

      Hope it's helpful.
      (9 votes)
  • mr pink red style avatar for user Thiziri Mnlight
    In th Rutherford experiment, why did he use alpha particles ( He2+) ? wouldn't it have been better if he had used ( H+) particles ( which we now know are protons ) because these are smaller ?
    (4 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • old spice man green style avatar for user Matt B
      Rutherford was interested in radio-chemistry (radioactivity) and what it might reveal about the atom. is focus was on alpha particles (from alpha rays, type of radioactivity), which he then discovered consisted of two protons and two neutrons: the equivalent of a helium nucleus (He2+)
      (3 votes)
  • leafers seed style avatar for user Ali shair Awan
    How Rutherford told that atom is like a solar system?on which base ?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • duskpin ultimate style avatar for user Davide Ghazal
      Because he used classical physics (although he quantized the angular momentum) to conceive his model....and classical physics is based on intuitive thinking and empirical observations....thinking of subatomic particles as if they were planets is therefore, in line with the way we perceive reality....(a wrong way according to quantum mechanics).....
      (6 votes)
  • scuttlebug green style avatar for user Tzviofen ✡
    2 questions:
    1. How did Rutherford know that the atom was net neutral?
    2. Why did he decide that the nucleus was in the -middle- of the atom?
    (4 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • leaf green style avatar for user dyoffis
    why did we have to name positive ions cations and not anions, since most of the naming in science seems to be such that the names are easy and a lot telling, why didnt we call positively charged ions anions since a positively charged electrode is called an anode, which leads to a whole bunch of confusion for me atleast.
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leaf red style avatar for user Richard
      The negatively charged electrode is the anode, this is where the electrons in a current originate. The positively charged electrode is the cathode and is where the electrons finish their journey at. Electrons are negatively charged and are pushed away from the negative charge of the anode towards the positive charge of the cathode which they find an attraction to.

      As for the anions and cations part, the names originate from William Whewell who worked with famous scientist Michael Faraday and his work in electricity. Whewell actually coined a lot of famous words including anode, cathode, ion, and probably most famously; scientist. Whewell suggested using anions for the ions that were attracted to the negatively charged anode and cations for the ions that were attracted to the positively charged cathode.

      Hope that helps.
      (5 votes)
  • marcimus pink style avatar for user Sagnik Sarkar
    Why only alpha-particles were fired? Why not beta or why not gamma-particles?
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • female robot amelia style avatar for user Nikitha A
      alpha-particles are nuclie of Helium atoms and thus +ve charged and thus when it hit the nucleus of the gold atoms the alpha-particles reflected back.

      beta-particles are -ve charged and gamma-particles are neutral charged. To carry out his experiment he needed rays with +ve charge thus he chose alpha-particles, also they have the least penetrating power among all the 3 rays so that they hit the fluorescent screen and not prenetrate thought it. I think this is the reason why but i am not entirely sure.
      (1 vote)
  • piceratops tree style avatar for user Lakshmi.manda07
    How did Rutherford make the alpha particles of helium and how did he concentrate those particles so as to make them travel out of a pinhole of the lead box to bombard the gold foil?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • starky ultimate style avatar for user Akash Jaiswal
    How Rutherford was able to made that much of thin foil which is few atoms thin?
    (0 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user