If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

道尔顿(Dalton)的原子理论

道尔顿'原子理论的假设:我们今天仍然使用哪些观点,以及自道尔顿以来我们学到了什么?

要点

  • 道尔顿的原子理论 是第一次完整的用原子及其性质来描述所有物质的尝试。
  • 道尔顿的理论基于 质量守恒定律定比定律
  • 他的理论的第一部分指出 所有物质都是由不可分割的原子组成的
  • 理论的第二部分阐述 给定元素的所有原子在质量上和性质上都是相同的
  • 第三部分讲的是 化合物是两种或多种不同类型原子的组合
  • 理论的第四部分指出 化学反应是原子的重新排列
  • 基于亚原子粒子和同位素的发现,部分理论必须要进行修改。

化学家提出的问题。

化学充满了令人无法回答的问题。自古以来人们都在问的一个问题是 世界是由什么构成的?
也就是说,如果我们要把指尖的皮肤放大~1000亿次 - 即11个零!我们会看到什么呢?这看起来与放大的苹果有什么不同吗?如果我们用一把假想的小刀将苹果切成更细小的碎片,是否会达到某种程度,以至于这些碎片不再能被切割得更小?那些碎片会是什么样的,它们还会有苹果的属性吗?
这些问题的答案是现代化学的基础,化学家们直到几百年前才对答案达成一致。感谢像约翰·道尔顿这样的科学家,这位现代化学家用原子来思考世界。尽管我们用肉眼看不到原子,但是物质的特性比如颜色,状态(例如,固体,液体,气体),甚至气味都是来自于原子级别上的相互反应。本文将讨论约翰·道尔顿的原子理论,这是第一次完整的用原子及其性质来描述所有物质的尝试。

道尔顿理论的基础

道尔顿的理论基于两个定律:质量守恒定律和定比定律。
质量守恒定律说的是,在封闭系统中物质不会产生也不会被消除。这意味着如果发生化学反应,原料和产品中每种元素的含量必须相等。我们每次配平平衡方程时都会使用质量守恒定律!
氯化钠的晶格以显示钠离子和氯离子的比列是1:1。
化学家认为食盐是以晶格结构排列的钠离子和氯离子。图片来源:"Image of salt" by OpenStax Anatomy and Physiology,CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0
定比定律 表明纯净的化合物,其组成元素总是具有相同的比列。例如,分子式为 start text, N, a, C, l, end text 的食盐,无论有多少食盐也无论这些盐是如何形成的,它都含有相同比例的钠元素和氯元素。如果我们要合成一些钠金属和氯气 - 我不建议在家里这么做 - 我们可以制作出更多的食盐,而且它们的成分是相同的。
概念检查: 一位来自18世纪初的时间旅行科学家决定进行以下实验:他取用了10克乙醇样本 (start text, C, H, end text, start subscript, 3, end subscript, start text, C, H, end text, start subscript, 2, end subscript, start text, O, H, end text) 令它在开口的烧杯中在氧气的参与下燃烧。反应完成后,烧杯是空的。这个结果是否违反了质量守恒定律?

道尔顿的原子理论

第1部分:所有物质都是由原子组成的。

道尔顿假设质量守恒定律和定比定律可以用原子的概念来解释。他提出所有物质都是由被称为原子的微小不可分割的粒子构成的,他认为这些粒子是“坚固的,有质地的,坚硬的,不可穿透的,可移动的粒子”。
值得注意的是,由于道尔顿没有必要的工具来观察或对单个原子进行实验,因此他无法了解原子是否具有任何内部结构。我们或许可以将道尔顿的原子看作分子模型中的一块,其中不同的元素是大小和颜色不同的球体。虽然对于某些应用来说这是一个方便的模型,但我们现在已经知道原子远非固态球体。

第2部分:同种元素的所有原子具有相同的质量和性质。

道尔顿提出元素的每个原子,比如金元素,都与该元素的每个其他原子相同。他还指出,一种元素的原子与所有其他元素的原子都不同。今天,我们仍然知道这一理论基本上是正确的。钠原子与碳原子不同。不同元素可能有近似的沸点,熔点和电负性,但没有两个元素具有完全相同的性质。
这是分子模型套件的图片,其中包括代表元素的多种不同颜色的塑料球,和棒状的塑料“键”。
这是一个基本的分子模型工具盒,里面包括可以被代表化学键的连接棒连接起来的不同大小和颜色的球形原子。 图片来源:"Photo of modeling kit" by Sonia on Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY 3.0

第3部分:化合物是由两种或多种不同类型的原子组成的。

在道尔顿原子理论的第三部分中,他提出了化合物是由两种或多种不同类型的原子组成的。比如食盐就是这种化合物的一个例子。食盐是由两种具有独特物理性质和化学性质的不同元素组成的。第一种是钠,是一种高活性金属。第二种是氯,是一种有毒气体。 当它们发生反应时,原子以1:1的比例结合形成白色的 start text, N, a, C, l, end text 晶体,我们才可以将它们撒在我们的食物上。
由于原子是不可分割的,它们总是以简单的整数比进行组合。因此,把公式写成类似 start text, N, a, end text, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript, start text, C, l, end text, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript 这样是没有意义的,因为我们不可能只有半个原子!

第4部分:化学反应是原子的重新排列。

在道尔顿原子理论的第四部分也是最后部分,他提出化学反应不会毁灭或产生原子。他们只是重新排列了原子。我们再次以食盐为例,当钠与氯结合形成食盐时,钠原子和氯原子仍然存在。它们只是重新排列形成了一种新的化合物。

自从道尔顿提出他的理论以来我们还知道了什么?

简短的说:很多!例如,我们现在知道原子并不是如第一部分所述是不可分割的 - 因为它们是由质子,中子和电子组成。原子的现代图像与道尔顿所说的的 “坚硬的,有质地的” 粒子非常不同。事实上,欧内斯特·卢瑟福,汉斯·盖格和欧内斯特·马斯登的实验表明,原子内大部分空间都是空的。
钨二硒化合物的图像,start text, W, S, e, end text, start subscript, 2, end subscript
扫描透射电子显微镜 (STEM) 使我们能够看到硒化钨 WSestart subscript, 2, end subscript 的原子结构。 图片来源t: "STEM image" by Kazu Suenaga et al. on Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 4.0
在质谱实验证明相同元素的原子可以具有不同质量之后,道尔顿理论的第二部分必须进行修改。说相同元素的原子可以具有不同质量这是因为中子的数量可以因同一元素的不同 同位素 而变化。有关同位素的更多知识,您可以观看有关原子序数,质量数和同位素的视频。
尽管存在这些局限性,道尔顿原子理论的大部分仍然都是正确的,并且它构成了现代化学的框架。科学家们甚至还开发出了在原子水平上看世界的技术!

总结

  • 道尔顿的原子理论** 是第一次尝试完整的用原子及其性质来描述所有物质。
  • 道尔顿的理论基于质量守恒定律和 定比定律
  • 他的理论的第一部分指出所有物质都是由不可分割的原子组成的。
  • 理论的第二部分阐述给定元素的所有原子在质量上和性质上都是相同的。
  • 第三部分讲的是化合物是两种或多种不同类型原子的组合。
    • 理论的第四部分指出化学反应是原子的重新排列。
  • 基于亚原子粒子和同位素的发现,部分理论必须要进行修改。

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Dalton's atomic theory

The postulates of Dalton's atomic theory: which points do we still use today, and what have we learned since Dalton?

Key Points

  • Dalton's atomic theory was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.
  • Dalton based his theory on the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
  • The first part of his theory states that all matter is made of atoms, which are indivisible.
  • The second part of the theory says all atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.
  • The third part says compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.
  • The fourth part of the theory states that a chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.
  • Parts of the theory had to be modified based on the discovery of subatomic particles and isotopes.

Chemists ask questions.

Chemistry is full of unanswered questions. One of the first questions people have been asking since ancient times is What is the world made of?
That is, if we were to zoom in ~100000000000 times—that is 11 zeros!—on the skin of your fingertip, what would we see? Would that look any different from zooming in on, say, an apple? If we then cut up the apple into tinier and tinier pieces using an imaginary tiny knife, would we reach a point where the pieces could no longer be cut any smaller? What would those pieces look like, and would they still have apple properties?
The answers to these questions are fundamental to modern chemistry, and chemists didn't agree on the answer until a few hundred years ago. Thanks to scientists such as John Dalton, modern chemists think of the world in terms of atoms. Even if we can't see atoms with our naked eye, properties of matter such as color, phase (e.g., solid, liquid, gas), and even smell come from interactions on an atomic level. This article will discuss John Dalton's atomic theory, which was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.

Basis for Dalton's theory

Dalton based his theory on two laws: the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
The law of conservation of mass says that matter is not created or destroyed in a closed system. That means if we have a chemical reaction, the amount of each element must be the same in the starting materials and the products. We use the law of conservation of mass every time we balance equations!
The crystal lattice of sodium chloride shows the sodium and chloride ions in a 1:1 ratio.
A chemist thinks of table salt as sodium and chloride ions arranged in a crystal lattice structure. Image credit: "Image of salt" by OpenStax Anatomy and Physiology, CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0.
The law of constant composition says that a pure compound will always have the same proportion of the same elements. For example, table salt, which has the molecular formula start text, N, a, C, l, end text, contains the same proportions of the elements sodium and chlorine no matter how much salt you have or where the salt came from. If we were to combine some sodium metal and chlorine gas—which I wouldn't recommend doing at home—we could make more table salt which will have the same composition.
Concept check: A time-travelling scientist from the early 1700s decides to run the following experiment: he takes a 10 gram sample of ethanol (start text, C, H, end text, start subscript, 3, end subscript, start text, C, H, end text, start subscript, 2, end subscript, start text, O, H, end text) and burns it in the presence of oxygen in an open beaker. After the reaction is done, the beaker is empty. Does this result violate the law of conservation of mass?

Dalton's atomic theory

Part 1: All matter is made of atoms.

Dalton hypothesized that the law of conservation of mass and the law of definite proportions could be explained using the idea of atoms. He proposed that all matter is made of tiny indivisible particles called atoms, which he imagined as "solid, massy, hard, impenetrable, movable particle(s)".
It is important to note that since Dalton did not have the necessary instruments to see or otherwise experiment on individual atoms, he did not have any insight into whether they might have any internal structure. We might visualize Dalton's atom as a piece in a molecular modeling kit, where different elements are spheres of different sizes and colors. While this is a handy model for some applications, we now know that atoms are far from being solid spheres.

Part 2: All atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.

Dalton proposed that every single atom of an element, such as gold, is the same as every other atom of that element. He also noted that the atoms of one element differ from the atoms of all other elements. Today, we still know this to be mostly true. A sodium atom is different from a carbon atom. Elements may share some similar boiling points, melting points, and electronegativities, but no two elements have the same exact set of properties.
Picture of a molecular modeling kit including multiple types of plastic spheres in different colors that represent elements and stick-like plastic "bonds".
A basic molecular modeling kit, including spherical atoms of different size and color that can be connected by sticks to represent chemical bonds. Image credit: "Photo of modeling kit" by Sonia on Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY 3.0

Part 3: Compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.

In the third part of Dalton's atomic theory, he proposed that compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms. An example of such a compound is table salt. Table salt is a combination of two separate elements with unique physical and chemical properties. The first, sodium, is a highly reactive metal. The second, chlorine, is a toxic gas. When they react, the atoms combine in a 1:1 ratio to form white crystals of start text, N, a, C, l, end text, which we can sprinkle on our food.
Since atoms are indivisible, they will always combine in simple whole number ratios. Therefore, it would not make sense to write a formula such as start text, N, a, end text, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript, start text, C, l, end text, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript because you can't have half of an atom!

Part 4: A chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.

In the fourth and final part of Dalton's atomic theory, he suggested that chemical reactions don't destroy or create atoms. They merely rearranged the atoms. Using our salt example again, when sodium combines with chlorine to make salt, both the sodium and chlorine atoms still exist. They simply rearrange to form a new compound.

What have we learned since Dalton proposed his theory?

The short answer: a lot! For instance, we now know that atoms are not indivisible—as stated in part one—because they are made up of protons, neutrons, and electrons. The modern picture of an atom is very different from Dalton's "solid, massy" particle. In fact, experiments by Ernest Rutherford, Hans Geiger, and Ernest Marsden showed that atoms are mostly made up of empty space.
Image of tungsten diselenide, start text, W, S, e, end text, start subscript, 2, end subscript.
Scanning transmission electron microscopy (STEM) allows us to see the atomic level structure of tungsten selenide, WSestart subscript, 2, end subscript. Image credit: "STEM image" by Kazu Suenaga et al. on Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 4.0
Part two of Dalton's theory had to be modified after mass spectrometry experiments demonstrated that atoms of the same element can have different masses because the number of neutrons can vary for different isotopes of the same element. For more on isotopes, you can watch this video on atomic number, mass number, and isotopes.
Despite these caveats, Dalton's atomic theory is still mostly true, and it forms the framework of modern chemistry. Scientists have even developed the technology to see the world on an atomic level!

Summary

  • Dalton's atomic theory was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.
  • Dalton based his theory on the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
  • The first part of his theory states that all matter is made of atoms, which are indivisible.
  • The second part of the theory says all atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.
  • The third part says compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.
  • The fourth part of the theory states that a chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.
  • Parts of the theory had to be modified based on the existence of subatomic particles and isotopes.

Want to join the conversation?

  • piceratops seed style avatar for user Hridanshu Ruparel
    Why is not possible to further separate atoms??
    (40 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leaf blue style avatar for user Esther Dickey
      Actually, it is. Atoms are made up of protons, neutrons, and electrons. However, if you remove any of these particles the atom will have different properties. An atom is the smallest particle of an element that has all the properties of the element. For example, sodium in its pure form reacts violently with water. When you take away one of its electrons, it becomes part of table salt and no longer reacts with water.
      (144 votes)
  • duskpin sapling style avatar for user Eryquin-Mor
    In part 3 of the article,(Compounds are combinations of 2 or more different atoms) how is it possible that we don't get affected by the different properties of the elements and get sick if chlorine is a TOXIC gas and sodium is a highly REACTIVE metal?
    (20 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • old spice man green style avatar for user Matt B
      Sodium and chlorine are toxic/explosive because they are unstable and therefore very reactive. If you look at the electrons in the shells, they want to react to fill their outer shell of electrons. Once they react, they exist as ions and then lose their property of being super-reactive because they then become stable.
      (53 votes)
  • piceratops tree style avatar for user Danny
    Why can't there be half an atom? And why are chemists so sure?
    (17 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • blobby green style avatar for user brettjsnyder
      We say that an atom can't be cut in half, not because it can't actually be split (aka nuclear fission - reactor, bomb) but rather because the resulting parts would no longer be atoms the elements the you started with. Ex: you can't split a Helium atom because to do so would result in 1 or 2 Hydrogen atoms and some leftover bits - but it would no longer BE Helium.
      (54 votes)
  • starky tree style avatar for user garrettjmoore14
    Why is Daltons theory still taught if it is not 100% accurate?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user Pooja Goyal
    cant we put protons (h+) into a nucleus of he (he+) to get nucleus of an new element
    (8 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • stelly blue style avatar for user sedspqr
      To do this would require nuclear fusion (combining smaller atomic nuclei to form a larger one), a process which is not yet quite possible in the lab. It would produce more energy than an atomic bomb would.
      It is not nonexistent, however. This process occurs constantly in the core of the sun - basically, what you asked about is what gives Earth the energy necessary to support human life!
      (16 votes)
  • leafers seedling style avatar for user Thadd Hudson
    Did Dalton make up another theory that we can use instead of the one that was originally created?
    (7 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • hopper jumping style avatar for user Sam D
    Didn't Antoine Lavoisier propose the law of conservation of mass?
    (7 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • old spice man green style avatar for user Matt B
      A peer reviewed journal, ERIC, published "A Historical Note on the Conservation of Mass." This states in their abstract that this is not entirely true:

      "Although most historians of science attribute the formulation of the law of conservation of matter in chemical reactions to Antoine Lavoisier at the end of the eighteenth century, several earlier researchers had already assumed this law in their work. These researchers include Joseph Black, Henry Cavendish, M. V. Lomonosov, and Jean Rey."
      (8 votes)
  • duskpin seedling style avatar for user Vijeya Patel
    well as far as I understand this concept,atoms cannot bee further divided but we know that atoms are further divided into fundamental particles as protons,electrons and neutrons.So why does this conclusion given by dalton sir still hold true??
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • spunky sam blue style avatar for user Ernest Zinck
      Many of Dalton's original postulates of an atomic theory have had to be modified in the light of later discoveries.
      As far as chemical reactions go, the essential concept that chemical reactions involve atoms and molecules still remains.
      In many other cases, chemists have to use the concept of electrons, protons, etc.
      Dalton's atomic formed the basis of chemistry, but modern chemists have long since adapted their understanding to include later discoveries.
      (7 votes)
  • piceratops tree style avatar for user Erin Boyle
    Why can you not add protons/neutrons/electrons to an atom?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • old spice man green style avatar for user Matt B
      You cannot add protons and neutrons because they are in the center of an atom and held tighly by the strong nuclear force. However, you can add electrons to atoms and this happens all the time: the gaining and losing of electrons is precisely what chemical reactions are!
      (13 votes)
  • blobby green style avatar for user Rohan Jaswal
    What is the difference between an element and molecule?
    (4 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user