If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

凯恩斯主义视角下的菲利普斯曲线

阅读我们如何利用凯恩斯主义的观点来思考低通胀和低失业率之间的共同权衡。

关键点

  • 菲利普斯曲线显示了一个经济体中失业和通货膨胀之间的取舍。
  • 凯恩斯宏观经济学认为, 解决衰退的办法是将总需求曲线向右移动的扩张性财政政策。
  • 凯恩斯政策的另一方面发生在经济运行超过潜在GDP的情况下。在这种情况下, 失业率很低, 但物价水平的通胀上升值得关注。凯恩斯主义的反应将是使总需求转向左移的紧缩财政政策。
  • 紧缩财政政策包括增加税收或削减政府开支, 以减少总需求和通胀压力。
  • 扩张性财政政策包括减税或增加政府开支, 以刺激总需求, 使经济摆脱衰退。

菲利普斯曲线的发现

20世纪50年代, 伦敦经济学院的经济学家菲利普斯正在研究凯恩斯主义分析框架。凯恩斯理论表明, 在衰退期间, 通胀压力很低, 但当产出水平达到甚至超过潜在的国内生产总值 (GDP) 时, 经济面临的通胀风险更大。
菲利普斯分析了60年的英国数据, 发现了凯恩斯理论中描述的失业和通货膨胀之间的取舍, 后来被称为菲利普斯曲线
该图提供了菲利普斯曲线的视觉表示, 并显示了向下倾斜的曲线。
Image credit: Figure 2 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

菲利普斯曲线从何而来?

到目前为止, 我们在本教程中使用的简化总需求/总供应 (AD/AS) 模型与凯恩斯的原始模型完全一致。不过, 最近的研究表明, 在现实世界中, AS曲线比我们到现在使用的直角更弯曲。实际的AS曲线在远低于潜力输出水平上(凯恩斯地带)非常平坦,在高于潜力的产出水平上(新古典主义区域)非常陡峭,并且在中间区域之间弯曲。您可以在下图中看到这些区域。
典型的总供应曲线推导出了菲利普斯曲线的概念。
该图显示了三条总需求曲线, 以表示不同的区域: 凯恩斯区、中间区域和新古典主义区域。凯恩斯地带是最低、最左的;中间区域是三条曲线的中心;新古典主义是最高、最右的。
Image credit: Figure 1 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

菲利普斯曲线的不稳定性

上世纪60年代, 菲利普斯曲线被视为政策菜单。一个国家可以选择低通胀和高失业率, 或者高通胀和低失业率, 或者介于两者之间。财政和货币政策可以根据需要在菲利普斯曲线上向上或向下移动。
然后一件奇怪的事情发生了。当决策者试图利用通胀与失业之间的取舍时, 其结果是通货膨胀和失业都在增加。发生什么事了?菲利普斯曲线移动了。
美国经济在1973年至1975年的深度衰退中经历了这一模式, 在1980年至1982年的连续衰退中再次经历了这一模式。世界上许多国家的失业率和通货膨胀也出现了类似的增长。这种模式被称为滞胀--高失业率和高通胀的不健康结合。也许最重要的是, 滞胀是一种传统凯恩斯经济学无法解释的现象。
经济学家的结论是, 有两个因素导致菲利普斯曲线发生移动。首先是供应冲击, 比如上世纪70年代中期的石油危机, 它最先带来了滞胀。其次是人们对通胀预期的变化。
换句话说, 当人们预计没有通胀时, 通胀和失业之间可能会有取舍, 但当他们意识到通胀正在发生时, 这种取舍就消失了。这两个因素--供给冲击和通胀预期的变化--导致总供给曲线, 从而导致菲利普斯曲线发生移动。
简而言之,下行的菲利普斯曲线在几年的短期内有效,但在较长的时期,当总供应转移时,下行的菲利普斯曲线可以改变,比如1970年代和1980年代初发生的或如2000年代初或头十年发生的那样,使失业和通货膨胀都更高。

凯恩斯主义的解决失业和通货膨胀的政策

凯恩斯宏观经济学认为, 解决衰退的办法是扩张性财政政策, 例如减税以刺激消费和投资, 或直接增加政府支出, 从而将总需求曲线转向正确。
例如,在下面的图表中,如果总需求最初为 start text, A, D, r, end text, 显示经济处于衰退状态, 那么适当的政策是:政府将总需求从start text, A, D, r, end text转到start text, A, D, f, end text,经济处于潜在GDP和充分就业状态。
该图显示了三条可能的向下倾斜的AD曲线、一条向上倾斜的AS曲线和一条垂直、直线的潜在GDP线。
Image credit: Figure 5 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
凯恩斯认为, 如果政府能在住房、道路和其他设施上投入更多资金, 那就再好不过了, 如果政府不能就如何实际花钱达成一致, 那么它就可以以不切实际的方式花钱。例如, 凯恩斯建议建造纪念碑, 就像现代相当于埃及金字塔的纪念碑。他提议, 政府可以把钱埋在地下, 让矿业公司再挖钱。
这些建议略显直言不讳, 但其目的是强调大萧条不是在政府支出计划和减税的细节问题上争论不休的时候, 而目标应该是将总需求增加足够的资金来提振经济对潜在的GDP的影响。
凯恩斯政策的另一面发生在经济运行超过潜在GDP的时候。在这种情况下, 失业率很低, 但物价水平的通胀上升是一个值得关注的问题。凯恩斯主义的反应将是紧缩财政政策, 利用增税或政府削减开支向左移。其结果将是价格水平的下行压力, 但产出几乎没有减少, 失业也很少上升。
例如, 在上图中, 如果总需求最初为start text, A, D, i, end text, 显示经济正在经历物价水平的通货膨胀上升, 则适当的政策是政府将总需求从start text, A, D, i, end textstart text, A, D, f, end text左移, 这将减少压力, 以达到更高的价格水平, 而经济仍然处于充分就业。
在凯恩斯经济模式中, 总需求过少带来失业, 过多带来通胀。因此, 你可以把凯恩斯主义经济学看作是追求总需求的黄金点: 不多不少刚刚好。

总结

  • 菲利普斯曲线显示了一个经济体中失业和通货膨胀之间的取舍。
  • 凯恩斯宏观经济学认为, 解决衰退的办法是将总需求曲线向右移动的扩张性财政政策。
  • 凯恩斯政策的另一方面发生在经济运行超过潜在GDP的情况下。在这种情况下, 失业率很低, 但物价水平的通胀上升值得关注。凯恩斯主义的反应将是使总需求转向左移的紧缩财政政策。
  • 紧缩财政政策 包括增税或削减政府开支, 以减少总需求和通胀压力。
  • 扩张性财政政策 包括减税或增加政府开支, 以刺激总需求, 使经济摆脱衰退。

自检问题

能源价格的下跌会对菲利普斯曲线产生怎样的影响?

复习问题

  • 菲利普斯曲线显示了什么取舍?
  • 长期而言,菲利普斯曲线会呈现稳定下行趋势吗?
  • 凯恩斯主义对于衰退的解决方法是什么?对于通货膨胀的解决方法又是 什么?

思考题

你认为菲利普斯曲线是分析当今经济的有用工具吗?为什么?

Read about how we can use the Keynesian perspective to think about the common tradeoff between low inflation and low unemployment.

Key points

  • A Phillips curve shows the tradeoff between unemployment and inflation in an economy.
  • Keynesian macroeconomics argues that the solution to a recession is expansionary fiscal policy that shifts the aggregate demand curve to the right.
  • The other side of Keynesian policy occurs when the economy is operating above potential GDP. In this situation, unemployment is low, but inflationary rises in the price level are a concern. The Keynesian response would be contractionary fiscal policy that shifts aggregate demand to the left.
  • Contractionary fiscal policy consists of tax increases or cuts in government spending designed to decrease aggregate demand and reduce inflationary pressures.
  • Expansionary fiscal policy consists of tax cuts or increases in government spending designed to stimulate aggregate demand and move the economy out of recession.

The discovery of the Phillips curve

In the 1950s, A.W. Phillips, an economist at the London School of Economics, was studying the Keynesian analytical framework. The Keynesian theory implied that during a recession inflationary pressures are low, but when the level of output is at or even pushing beyond potential gross domestic product, or GDP, the economy is at greater risk for inflation.
Phillips analyzed 60 years of British data and found the tradeoff between unemployment and inflation described in Keynesian theory, which became known as a Phillips curve.
The graph provides a visual representation of the Phillips curve with a downward-sloping curve.
Image credit: Figure 2 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

Where does the Phillips curve come from?

The simplified aggregate demand/aggregate supply, or AD/AS, model that we have used so far in this tutorial is fully consistent with Keynes’s original model. More recent research, though, has indicated that in the real world, an AS curve is more curved than the right angle we've used up until this point. The real-world AS curve is very flat at levels of output far below potential—the Keynesian zone—very steep at levels of output above potential—the neoclassical zone—and curved in between—the intermediate zone. You can see these zones indicated in the diagram below.
The typical aggregate supply curve leads to the concept of the Phillips curve.
The graph shows three aggregate demand curves to represent different zones: the Keynesian zone, the intermediate zone, and the neoclassical zone. The Keynesian zone is farthest to the left as well as the lowest; the intermediate zone is the center of the three curves; the neoclassical is farthest to the right as well as the highest.
Image credit: Figure 1 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

The instability of the Phillips curve

During the 1960s, the Phillips curve was seen as a policy menu. A nation could choose low inflation and high unemployment, or high inflation and low unemployment, or anywhere in between. Fiscal and monetary policy could be used to move up or down the Phillips curve as desired.
Then a curious thing happened. When policymakers tried to exploit the tradeoff between inflation and unemployment, the result was an increase in both inflation and unemployment. What had happened? The Phillips curve shifted.
The US economy experienced this pattern in the deep recession from 1973 to 1975 and again in back-to-back recessions from 1980 to 1982. Many nations around the world saw similar increases in unemployment and inflation. This pattern became known as stagflation—an unhealthy combination of high unemployment and high inflation. Perhaps most important, stagflation was a phenomenon that could not be explained by traditional Keynesian economics.
Economists have concluded that two factors cause the Phillips curve to shift. The first is supply shocks, like the oil crisis of the mid-1970s, which first brought stagflation into our vocabulary. The second is changes in people’s expectations about inflation.
In other words, there may be a tradeoff between inflation and unemployment when people expect no inflation, but when they realize inflation is occurring, the tradeoff disappears. Both factors—supply shocks and changes in inflationary expectations—cause the aggregate supply curve, and thus the Phillips curve, to shift.
In short, a downward-sloping Phillips curve should be interpreted as valid for short-run periods of several years, but over longer periods—when aggregate supply shifts—the downward-sloping Phillips curve can shift so that unemployment and inflation are both higher—as happened in the 1970s and early 1980s—or both lower—as happened in the early 1990s or first decade of the 2000s.

Keynesian policy for fighting unemployment and inflation

Keynesian macroeconomics argues that the solution to a recession is expansionary fiscal policy, such as tax cuts to stimulate consumption and investment or direct increases in government spending that would shift the aggregate demand curve to the right.
For example, in the diagram below, if aggregate demand were originally at ADr\text{ADr}, showing that the economy was in recession, the appropriate policy would be for government to shift aggregate demand to the right from ADr\text{ADr} to ADf\text{ADf}, where the economy would be at potential GDP and full employment.
The graph shows three possible downward-sloping AD curves, an upward-sloping AS curve, and a vertical, straight potential GDP line.
Image credit: Figure 5 in "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
Keynes argued that while it would be nice if the government could spend additional money on housing, roads, and other amenities, if the government could not agree on how to spend money in practical ways, then it could spend in impractical ways. For example, Keynes suggested building monuments, like a modern equivalent of the Egyptian pyramids. He proposed that the government could bury money underground and let mining companies dig the money up again.
These suggestions were slightly tongue-in-cheek, but their purpose was to emphasize that a Great Depression is no time to quibble over the specifics of government spending programs and tax cuts when the goal should be to pump up aggregate demand by enough to lift the economy to potential GDP.
The other side of Keynesian policy occurs when the economy is operating above potential GDP. In this situation, unemployment is low, but inflationary rises in the price level are a concern. The Keynesian response would be contractionary fiscal policy, using tax increases or government spending cuts to shift AD to the left. The result would be downward pressure on the price level, but very little reduction in output or very little rise in unemployment.
For example, in the diagram above, If aggregate demand were originally at ADi\text{ADi}, showing that the economy was experiencing inflationary rises in the price level, the appropriate policy would be for government to shift aggregate demand to the left, from ADi\text{ADi} toward ADf\text{ADf}, which would reduce the pressure for a higher price level while the economy remains at full employment.
In the Keynesian economic model, too little aggregate demand brings unemployment and too much brings inflation. Thus, you can think of Keynesian economics as pursuing a “Goldilocks” level of aggregate demand: not too much, not too little, but what is just right.

Summary

  • A Phillips curve shows the tradeoff between unemployment and inflation in an economy.
  • Keynesian macroeconomics argues that the solution to a recession is expansionary fiscal policy that shifts the aggregate demand curve to the right.
  • The other side of Keynesian policy occurs when the economy is operating above potential GDP. In this situation, unemployment is low, but inflationary rises in the price level are a concern. The Keynesian response would be contractionary fiscal policy that shifts aggregate demand to the left.
  • Contractionary fiscal policy consists of tax increases or cuts in government spending designed to decrease aggregate demand and reduce inflationary pressures.
  • Expansionary fiscal policy consists of tax cuts or increases in government spending designed to stimulate aggregate demand and move the economy out of recession.

Self-check question

How would a decrease in energy prices affect the Phillips curve?
A decrease in energy prices—a positive supply shock—would cause the AS curve to shift out to the right, yielding more real GDP at a lower price level. This would shift the Phillips curve down toward the origin, meaning the economy would experience lower unemployment and a lower rate of inflation.

Review questions

  • What tradeoff is shown by a Phillips curve?
  • Would you expect to see long-run data trace out a stable downward-sloping Phillips curve?
  • What is the Keynesian prescription for recession? For inflation?

Critical-thinking question

Do you think the Phillips curve is a useful tool for analyzing the economy today? Why or why not?

Attribution

This article is a modified derivative of "The Phillips Curve" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0.
The modified article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

References

Hoover, Kevin. “Phillips Curve.” The Concise Encyclopedia of Economics. http://www.econlib.org/library/Enc/PhillipsCurve.html.
“Economic Report of the President.” US Government Printing Office. http://1.usa.gov/1c3psdL.
Loading