If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

凯恩斯主义分析中的总需求

关键点

  • 总需求是四个组成部分的总和:消费、投资、政府支出和净出口。
  • 消费的变化有很多原因, 包括收入的变动、税收、对未来收入的预期以及财富水平的变化。
  • 投资可以根据预期的盈利能力而改变, 而预期的盈利能力又取决于对未来经济增长的预期、新技术的创造、关键投入的价格以及对投资的税收优惠。当利率上升或下降时, 投资也会发生变化。
  • 政府开支和税收由政治考虑决定。
  • 出口和进口根据两个经济体之间的相对增长率和价格而变化。
  • 可支配收入是指税后收入。
  • 当均衡处在高于潜在GDP的产出水平时, 就会产生 通货膨胀差距
  • 当均衡处在低于潜在GDP的产出水平时, 就产生衰退差距

凯恩斯主义分析中的总需求

凯恩斯主义的观点侧重于总需求。一般的想法是, 企业只有在期望产出出售的情况下才会生产产出。
因此,虽然生产因素的可用性决定了一个国家的潜在国内生产总值或GDP,但实际上销售的货物和服务数量——称为实际GDP——取决于整体经济存在多少需求。下图以图形体现这一概念。
凯恩斯主义AD/AS模型
凯恩斯主义观点的AD/AS 模型显示是,随着横向的总供应变化,需求下降,产出减少,但价格没有下降。
图片来源: 图 1 in "凯恩斯主义分析中的总需求" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
凯恩斯认为,出于我们很快会解释的原因,总需求并不稳定——它可能会意外改变。
在上图中, 假设经济开始于 start text, A, D, 0, end textstart text, S, R, A, S, end text 的相交点 start text, P, 0, end textstart text, Y, p, end text。 因为 start text, Y, p, end text是潜在的产出, 经济是处在充分就业的情况下。 但由于总需求波动较大, 很容易下降。 因此, 即使我们在 start text, Y, p, end text 开始, 如果总需求下降, 我们就会发现自己处在凯恩斯所谓的 衰退差距的情况下。 经济处于平衡状态, 但就业不足, 如图所示start text, Y, 1, end text点。凯恩斯认为, 经济往往会在相当长的一段时间内处于衰退差距以及随之而来的失业中。
同样--尽管没有在图中显示--如果总需求增加, 经济可能会出现通胀差距, 即需求试图推动经济超过潜在产出。因此, 经济将经历通货膨胀。
这两种情况的关键政策建议都是, 政府需要介入以缩小差距, 在衰退期间增加支出, 在繁荣时期减少支出, 让总需求恢复到与潜在产出匹配。
由于总需求是整个经济范围内对国内商品和服务的总支出, 经济学家也将其称为计划总支出。我们可以通过将总需求加起来的四个组成部分来计算总需求: 消费支出、投资支出、政府支出和净出口支出即出口减去进口。
在本文中,我们将从凯恩斯主义的角度审查每一个组成部分。

是什么决定了消费支出?

消费支出是家庭和个人在耐用品、非耐用品和服务方面的支出。耐用品是持久的东西, 随着时间的推移提供价值, 如汽车。非耐用品就像日用品一样--一旦你消费了它们, 它们就消失了。服务是消费者购买的无形物品, 比如医疗或娱乐。
凯恩斯指出影响消费的三个因素:
  • 可支配收入: 对大多数人来说, 他们消费多少的最有力的决定因素是他们在实得工资中拥有多少收入。这种剩余收入也被称为 可支配收入, 即税后收入。
  • 预期未来收入: 消费者对未来收入的预期在决定消费方面也很重要。如果消费者对未来感到乐观, 他们就更有可能消费, 增加整体总需求。经济衰退和经济困难的消息将使他们减少消费。
  • 财富或信贷: 当家庭的财富增加时, 他们愿意消费的收入比例会更高, 减少储蓄。例如, 当美国股市在上世纪 9 0 年代末大幅上涨时, 美国的储蓄率有所下降, 部分原因可能是人们觉得自己的财富增加了, 储蓄的需求也减少了。当人们感觉到自己的财富在增加时, 他们的消费是如何超过收入的?答案是借贷。另一方面, 当美国股市在2008年3月至2009年3月期间下跌约40% 时, 人们会觉得其经济未来有更高的不确定性, 因此储蓄率上升, 而消费下降。
最后, 凯恩斯指出, 各种其他因素结合在一起, 共同确定人们储蓄和消费的多少。如果家庭对储蓄的偏好以鼓励消费而不是储蓄的方式变化, 那么总需求就会向右移动。

是什么决定投资支出?

在新的资本货物上的支出被称为投资支出。投资分为四类: 生产者的耐用设备和软件、新的非住宅建设、库存变化和住宅建设。前三类投资由企业实行, 最后一种由家庭实行。
凯恩斯对投资的解释侧重于对未来的预期在影响商业决策方面所起的关键作用。
当企业决定投资于有形资产--如工厂或设备--或无形资产--如技能或研发项目--时, 该公司既考虑投资的预期效益, 也考虑未来利润, 以及投资成本, 如利率。
投资收益最明显的驱动因素是对未来利润的预期。当一个经济体有望增长时, 企业就会感觉到自己产品的市场在不断增长。他们较高的商业信心将鼓励新的投资。比如, 上世纪 9 0年代后半期, 美国投资水平从 1 9 9 4年占 gdp 的 1 8% 飙升到 2 0 0 0年的 2 1%。然而, 当2001年开始衰退时, 到 2002年, 美国的投资水平迅速回落到 gdp 的18%。
利率在决定企业将进行多少投资方面也发挥着重要作用。就像个人需要借钱购房一样, 企业在购买大票物品时也需要融资。因此, 投资成本包括利率。即使公司有资金, 利率也是衡量购买企业资本的机会成本的因素。较低的利率刺激投资支出, 较高的利率降低投资支出。
许多因素影响投资的预期利润,例如,如果能源价格下降,将会给利用能源作为投入的投资带来更高的利润,如果政府提供投资的特别奖励——例如通过税收法——那么投资看起来更有吸引力;相反,如果政府取消税收法的特殊投资奖励,或者增加其他商业税,那么投资就会变得不太有吸引力。
凯恩斯认为, 企业投资是总需求中最多变的组成部分。

是什么觉得政府开支?

总需求的第三个组成部分是联邦、州和地方政府的支出。尽管美国通常被认为是市场经济, 但政府在经济中仍然发挥着重要作用。政府提供国防、交通基础设施和教育等重要公共服务。
凯恩斯认识到, 政府预算为影响总需求提供了有力的工具。不仅总需求可以通过更多的政府支出来刺激--或者通过减少政府支出来减少--而且消费和投资支出也可能受到降低或提高税率的影响。
凯恩斯的结论是, 在深度衰退等极端时期, 只有政府才有权力和资源推动总需求。

是什么决定了净出口?

出口是国内生产并在国外销售的产品, 进口产品是在国外生产但在国内购买的。由于总需求被界定为国内商品和服务支出, 出口支出增加了总需求, 而进口支出减去总需求。
两组因素可能导致进出口需求的变化: 国家之间相对增长率的变化和国家之间相对价格的变化。
对一个国家的出口需求水平影响最严重的往往是将购买这些出口的国家的经济运行情况。例如, 如果加拿大、日本和德国等美国制造产品的主要进口国出现衰退, 美国对这些国家的产品出口可能会下降, 因为一个国家的进口数量直接受到国内收入的影响。更多的收入将带来更高的进口水平。
进出口也可能受到国内和国际市场商品相对价格的影响。如果与其他地方的商品相比, 美国商品相对便宜--也许是因为一群美国生产商已经掌握了某些生产率突破--那么美国的出口可能会上升。如果美国商品变得相对较贵--也许是因为美元和其他货币之间汇率的变化推高了美国生产投入的价格--那么美国生产商的出口可能会下降。

快速概述驱动总需求的因素

以上我们已经研究了总需求的所有组成部分以及促使它们变化的原因, 请参阅下面概述这一信息的表格。
总需求决定因素
总需求减少的原因总需求增加的原因
消费收入下降, 利息上升, 希望储蓄更多, 财富减少, 未来预期收入下降消费税收减少, 收入增加, 利率下降, 希望储蓄更少, 财富增加, 未来预期收入增长
投资预期回报率下降, 利率上升, 商业信心下降投资预期回报率上升, 利率下降, 商业信心上升
政府减少政府开支, 增加税收政府政府开支增加, 减少税收
净出口外国需求减少, 美国商品的相对价格上涨净出口外国需求增加, 美国商品的相对价格下降

总结

  • 总需求是四个组成部分的总和:消费、投资、政府支出和净出口。
  • 消费的变化有很多原因, 包括收入的变动、税收、对未来收入的预期以及财富水平的变化。
  • 投资可以根据预期的盈利能力而改变, 而预期的盈利能力又取决于对未来经济增长的预期、新技术的创造、关键投入的价格以及对投资的税收优惠。当利率上升或下降时, 投资也会发生变化。
  • 政府开支和税收由政治考虑决定。
  • 出口和进口根据两个经济体之间的相对增长率和价格而变化。
  • 可支配收入是指税后收入。
  • 当均衡处在高于潜在GDP的产出水平时, 就会产生 通货膨胀差距
  • 当均衡处在低于潜在GDP的产出水平时, 就产生衰退差距

自测题

在凯恩斯主义框架中, 以下哪些事件可能导致衰退?哪些事件可能导致通货膨胀?用AD/AS图表来说明你的答案。
  • 拥有的房子的价格大幅度增加
  • 主要贸易伙伴经济的迅速增长
  • 一个为商业提供可盈利机会的主要新技术的发展
  • 利率的提高
  • 主要贸易伙伴进口的商品价格下跌
在凯恩斯框架中, 请使用 AD/AS 图说明, 以下哪种政府政策选择为经济衰退提供了一个可能的解决方案?哪一个为通胀提供了可能的解决方案?
  • 对消费者收入增税
  • 军费开支激增
  • 对增加投资的企业减税
  • 美国政府在医疗支出上的大幅增加

复习问题

  • 列出一些与政府政策无关的可能导致总需求变化的经济事件。
  • 列出一些可能导致总需求变化的政府政策。

思考题

  • 美国经济咨商局的 2015年全球经济展望 预测中国2015年至2019年的增长率约为5.5%。 国际商业时报报道称,中国是美国的第三大出口市场,过去10年对中国的出口增长了294%。这解释了中国对美国经济的影响。
  • 如果中国的增长继续, 或者缩减, 会发生什么?

Key points

  • Aggregate demand is the sum of four components: consumption, investment, government spending, and net exports.
  • Consumption can change for a number of reasons, including movements in income, taxes, expectations about future income, and changes in wealth levels.
  • Investment can change in response to its expected profitability, which in turn is shaped by expectations about future economic growth, the creation of new technologies, the price of key inputs, and tax incentives for investment. Investment can also change when interest rates rise or fall.
  • Government spending and taxes are determined by political considerations.
  • Exports and imports change according to relative growth rates and prices between two economies.
  • Disposable income is income after taxes.
  • An inflationary gap exists when equilibrium is at a level of output above potential GDP.
  • A recessionary gap exists when equilibrium is at a level of output below potential GDP.

Aggregate demand in Keynesian analysis

The Keynesian perspective focuses on aggregate demand. The general idea being that firms produce output only if they expect it to sell.
Thus, while the availability of the factors of production determines a nation’s potential gross domestic product, or GDP, the amount of goods and services actually being sold—known as real GDP—depends on how much demand exists across the economy. You can see this concept represented graphically in the diagram below.
This Keynesian view of the AD/AS model shows that with a horizontal aggregate supply, a decrease in demand leads to a decrease in output but no decrease in prices.
The Keynesian AD/AS model. Image credit: Figure 1 in "Aggregate Demand in Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
Keynes argued that, for reasons we'll explain shortly, aggregate demand is not stable—it can change unexpectedly.
Suppose the economy starts where AD0\text{AD0} intersects SRAS\text{SRAS} at P0\text{P0} and Yp\text{Yp} in the diagram above. Because Yp\text{Yp} is potential output, the economy is at full employment. But because aggregate demand is volatile, it can easily fall. Thus, even if we start at Yp\text{Yp}, if aggregate demand falls, we find ourselves in what Keynes termed a recessionary gap. The economy is in equilibrium but with less than full employment, as shown at Y1\text{Y1}. Keynes believed that the economy would tend to stay in a recessionary gap, with its attendant unemployment, for a significant period of time.
Similarly—though not shown in the figure—if aggregate demand increases, the economy could experience an inflationary gap, where demand is attempting to push the economy past potential output. As a consequence, the economy would experience inflation.
The key policy implication for either situation is that government needs to step in and close the gap, increasing spending during recessions and decreasing spending during booms, to return aggregate demand to match potential output.
Since aggregate demand is total spending, economy-wide, on domestic goods and services, economists also refer to it as total planned expenditure. We can calculate aggregate demand by adding up its four components: consumption expenditure, investment expenditure, government spending, and spending on net exports—exports minus imports.
In this article, we'll examine each component from the Keynesian perspective.

What determines consumption expenditure?

Consumption expenditure is spending by households and individuals on durable goods, nondurable goods, and services. Durable goods are things that last and provide value over time, such as automobiles. Nondurable goods are things like groceries—once you consume them, they are gone. Services are intangible things consumers buy, like healthcare or entertainment.
Keynes identified three factors that affect consumption:
  • Disposable income: For most people, the single most powerful determinant of how much they consume is how much income they have in their take-home pay. This left-over income is also also known as disposable income, which is income after taxes.
  • Expected future income: Consumer expectations about future income also are important in determining consumption. If consumers feel optimistic about the future, they are more likely to spend and increase overall aggregate demand. News of recession and troubles in the economy will make them pull back on consumption.
  • Wealth or credit: When households experience a rise in wealth, they may be willing to consume a higher share of their income and to save less. When the US stock market rose dramatically in the late 1990s, for example, US rates of saving declined, probably in part because people felt that their wealth had increased and there was less need to save. How do people spend beyond their income when they perceive their wealth increasing? The answer is borrowing. On the other side, when the US stock market declined about 40% from March 2008 to March 2009, people felt far greater uncertainty about their economic future, so rates of saving increased while consumption declined.
Finally, Keynes noted that a variety of other factors combine to determine how much people save and spend. If household preferences about saving shift in a way that encourages consumption rather than saving, then aggregate demand will shift out to the right.

What determines investment expenditure?

Spending on new capital goods is called investment expenditure. Investment falls into four categories: producer’s durable equipment and software, new nonresidential structures, changes in inventories, and residential structures. The first three types of investment are conducted by businesses, while the last is conducted by households.
Keynes’s treatment of investment focuses on the key role of expectations about the future in influencing business decisions.
When a business decides to make an investment in physical assets—like plants or equipment—or in intangible assets—like skills or a research and development project—that firm considers both the expected benefits of the investment, like future profits, and the costs of the investment, such as interest rates.
The clearest driver of the benefits of an investment is expectations for future profits. When an economy is expected to grow, businesses perceive a growing market for their products. Their higher degree of business confidence will encourage new investment. For example, in the second half of the 1990s, US investment levels surged from 18% of GDP in 1994 to 21% in 2000. However, when a recession started in 2001, US investment levels quickly sank back to 18% of GDP by 2002.
Interest rates also play a significant role in determining how much investment a firm will make. Just as individuals need to borrow money to purchase homes, businesses need financing when they purchase big ticket items. The cost of investment thus includes the interest rate. Even if the firm has the funds, the interest rate measures the opportunity cost of purchasing business capital. Lower interest rates stimulate investment spending and higher interest rates reduce it.
Many factors can affect the expected profitability on investment. For example, if the price of energy declines, then investments that use energy as an input will yield higher profits. If the government offers special incentives for investment—for example, through the tax code—then investment will look more attractive; conversely, if government removes special investment incentives from the tax code or increases other business taxes, then investment will look less attractive.
Keynes believed that business investment is the most variable of all the components of aggregate demand.

What determines government spending?

The third component of aggregate demand is spending by federal, state, and local governments. Although the United States is usually thought of as a market economy, government still plays a significant role in the economy. Government provides important public services such as national defense, transportation infrastructure, and education.
Keynes recognized that the government budget offered a powerful tool for influencing aggregate demand. Not only could aggregate demand be stimulated by more government spending—or reduced by less government spending—but consumption and investment spending could be influenced by lowering or raising tax rates.
Keynes concluded that during extreme times like deep recessions, only the government had the power and resources to move aggregate demand.

What determines net exports?

Exports are products produced domestically and sold abroad, and imports are products produced abroad but purchased domestically. Since aggregate demand is defined as spending on domestic goods and services, export expenditures add to aggregate demand, while import expenditures subtract from aggregate demand.
Two sets of factors can cause shifts in export and import demand: changes in relative growth rates between countries and changes in relative prices between countries.
The level of demand for a nation’s exports tends to be most heavily affected by what is happening in the economies of the countries that would be purchasing those exports. For example, if major importers of US-made products like Canada, Japan, and Germany have recessions, exports of US products to those countries are likely to decline since quantity of a nation’s imports is directly affected by the amount of income in the domestic economy. More income will bring a higher level of imports.
Exports and imports can also be affected by relative prices of goods in domestic and international markets. If US goods are relatively cheaper compared with goods made in other places—perhaps because a group of US producers has mastered certain productivity breakthroughs—then US exports are likely to rise. If US goods become relatively more expensive—perhaps because a change in the exchange rate between the US dollar and other currencies has pushed up the price of inputs to production in the United States—then exports from US producers are likely to decline.

A quick overview of what drives aggregate demand

We've gone over all the components of aggregate demand and what drives them to change above, but you may find it useful to refer to the table below that summarizes this information.
Determinants of aggregate demand
Reasons for a decrease in aggregate demandReasons for an increase in aggregate demand
ConsumptionRise in taxes, fall in income, rise in interest, desire to save more, decrease in wealth, fall in future expected incomeConsumptionDecrease in taxes, increase in income, fall in interest rates, desire to save less, rise in wealth, rise in future expected income
InvestmentFall in expected rate of return, rise in interest rates, drop in business confidenceInvestmentRise in expected rate of return, drop in interest rates, rise in business confidence
GovernmentReduction in government spending, increase in taxesGovernmentIncrease in government spending, decrease in taxes
Net exportsDecrease in foreign demand, relative price increase of US goodsNet exportsIncrease in foreign demand, relative price drop of S. goods

Summary

  • Aggregate demand is the sum of four components: consumption, investment, government spending, and net exports.
  • Consumption can change for a number of reasons, including movements in income, taxes, expectations about future income, and changes in wealth levels.
  • Investment can change in response to its expected profitability, which in turn is shaped by expectations about future economic growth, the creation of new technologies, the price of key inputs, and tax incentives for investment. Investment can also change when interest rates rise or fall.
  • Government spending and taxes are determined by political considerations.
  • Exports and imports change according to relative growth rates and prices between two economies.
  • Disposable income is income after taxes.
  • An inflationary gap exists when equilibrium is at a level of output above potential GDP.
  • A recessionary gap exists when equilibrium is at a level of output below potential GDP.

Self-check questions

In the Keynesian framework, which of the following events might cause a recession? Which might cause inflation? Sketch AD/AS diagrams to illustrate your answers.
  • A large increase in the price of the homes people own
  • Rapid growth in the economy of a major trading partner
  • The development of a major new technology offering profitable opportunities for business
  • An increase in interest rates
  • A decrease in the price of a good imported from a major trading partner
An increase in home values will increase consumption spending due to increased wealth. Aggregate demand will shift to the right and may cause inflation if it goes beyond potential GDP.
Rapid growth by a major trading partner will increase demand for exports. Aggregate demand will shift to the right and may cause inflation if it goes beyond potential GDP.
Increased profit opportunities will increase business investment. Aggregate demand will shift to the right and may cause inflation if it goes beyond potential GDP.
Higher interest rates reduce investment spending. Aggregate demand will shift to the left and may cause recession if it falls below potential GDP.
Demand for cheaper imports increases, reducing demand for domestic products. Aggregate demand will shift to the left and may be recessionary.
In a Keynesian framework, using an AD/AS diagram, which of the following government policy choices offer a possible solution to recession? Which offer a possible solution to inflation?
  • A tax increase on consumer income
  • A surge in military spending
  • A reduction in taxes for businesses that increase investment
  • A major increase in what the US government spends on healthcare
A tax increase on consumer income will cause consumption to fall, pushing the aggregate demand curve left. It is a possible solution to inflation.
A surge in military spending is an increase in government spending. This will cause the aggregate demand curve to shift to the right. If real GDP is less than potential GDP, then this spending will pull the economy out of a recession. If real GDP is to the right of potential GDP, then the aggregate curve will shift farther to the right and military spending will be inflationary.
A tax cut focused on business investment will shift aggregate demand to the right. If the original macroeconomic equilibrium is below potential GDP, then this policy can help move an economy out of a recession.
Government spending on healthcare will cause the aggregate demand curve to shift to the right. If real GDP is less than potential GDP, then this spending will pull the economy out of a recession. If real GDP is to the right of potential GDP, then the aggregate demand curve will shift farther to the right and healthcare spending will be inflationary.

Review questions

  • Name some economic events not related to government policy that could cause aggregate demand to shift.
  • Name some government policies that could cause aggregate demand to shift.

Critical-thinking questions

  • The Conference Board’s Global Economic Outlook 2015 projects China’s growth between 2015 and 2019 to be about 5.5%. TheInternational Business Times reports that China is the United States’ third largest export market, with exports to China growing 294% over the last 10 years. Explain what impact China has on the US economy.
  • What may happen if growth in China continues or contracts?

Attribution

This article is a modified derivative of "Aggregate Demand in Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0.
The modified article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

References

Mahapatra, Lisa. “US Exports To China Have Grown 294% Over The Past Decade.” International Business Times. Last modified July 09, 2013. http://www.ibtimes.com/us-exports-china-have-grown-294-over-past-decade-1338693.
“Global Economic Outlook 2014, November 2013.” The Conference Board, Inc. http://www.conference-board.org/data/globaloutlook.cfm.
Thomas, G. Scott. “Recession claimed 170,000 small businesses in two years.” The Business Journals. Last modified July 24, 2012. http://www.bizjournals.com/bizjournals/on-numbers/scott-thomas/2012/07/recession-claimed-170000-small.html.
“Top Picks.” United States Department of Labor: Bureau of Labor Statistics. http://data.bls.gov/cgi-bin/surveymost?bls.
Joyner, James. “Public Financing of Private Sports Stadiums.” Outside the Beltway. Last modified May 23, 2012. http://www.outsidethebeltway.com/public-financing-of-private-sports-stadiums/.
Siegfried, John J., and Andrew Zimbalist. “The Economics of Sports Facilities and Their Communities.” Journal of Economic Perspectives. no. 3 (2000): 95-114. http://pubs.aeaweb.org/doi/pdfplus/10.1257/jep.14.3.95.
Loading