If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

凯恩斯主义分析的组成部分

凯恩斯主义的观点到底是什么?

关键点

  • 凯恩斯主义经济学基于两个主要思想。 首先,总需求比总供应更有可能成为像衰退这样的短期经济活动的主要原因,其次,工资和价格是可以粘贴的,因此在经济衰退中,可能导致失业。
  • 协调论点认为工资的下降和价格的灵活性要求充分了解其他劳动者和市场参与者可以接受的较低薪酬水平。
  • 支出乘数是凯恩斯主义的一种概念,它认为自主支出的变化导致实际GDP的变化超过比例。
  • 宏观经济外部性是指宏观层面上发生的事情与微观层面上发生的事情不同或低于微观层面上发生的事情。
  • 菜单成本是费用公司在改变价格时面临的。
  • 粘性工资和价格是指工资和价格不会因需求减少而下降,也不会因需求增加而上升。

凯恩斯主义分析的组成部分

凯恩斯主义经济学侧重于解释为什么经济衰退和萧条的发生,并为尽量减少其影响提供政策解决办法。 凯恩斯主义对衰退对看法基于两个关键的基本构成要素:
  • 总需求,AD,并不总是自动的高到足以激励公司雇佣足够的工人来实现充分就业。
  • 由于粘性工资和价格—对需求的减少或增加没有反应对工资和价格,宏观经济可能只会对总需求的变化作出缓慢的调整。
让我们更仔细地看看这两种说法。凯恩斯主义诊断的第一个基石是,当家庭和企业部门对商品和服务的需求低于劳动力充分就业时的产出水平时,衰退就会发生。换句话说,总供给和总需求的交集发生在产出水平低于与充分就业相一致的GDP水平的情况下。
如1929年发生的那样,预计股票市场崩溃,家庭财富下降,消费支出随之下降。 企业认为消费支出正在下降,从而降低投资利润的预期,从而减少投资支出。
这似乎是大萧条期间发生的情况,因为经济的实物供应能力变化不大。1929年或1930年没有洪水、地震或其他自然灾害摧毁工厂。没有爆发疾病,大批工人失业。世界市场上没有像石油价格那样的关键投入价格飙升。1933年美国经济的工厂、工人和技术状况与4年前1929年差不多,但经济却大幅萎缩。
凯恩斯认识到,大萧条时期发生的事件与塞伊定律相矛盾。塞伊定律认为,供给创造了自身的需求。虽然有生产能力,但市场无法销售他们的产品。结果,实际GDP低于潜在GDP。

工资和价格粘性

凯恩斯还注意到,当AD波动时,价格和工资不会像经济学家预期的那样立即做出反应。相反,价格和工资具有粘性,使经济难以恢复到充分就业和潜在GDP水平。
凯恩斯强调了工资具有粘性的一个特殊原因:协调论。这个论点指出,即使大多数人愿意至少假设看到自己的工资在经济困难时期的下降,只要别人也经历了同样的下降,市场经济没有明显的方式来实施协同减薪计划。工资可能难以降低的原因有很多,其中大部分集中在企业避免减薪的论点上,因为它们可能以某种方式抑制士气,损害现有工人的生产力。
一些现代经济学家本着凯恩斯主义的精神提出,与工资一样,其他价格也可能具有粘性。许多公司不会每天甚至每月都改变价格。当一个公司考虑改变价格时,它必须考虑两组成本。首先,不断变化的价格使公司的资源经理必须分析竞争和市场需求,并决定新的价格将是什么,销售资料必须更新,帐单记录将改变,产品标签和价格标签必须重新做。其次,频繁的价格变化可能会让消费者感到困惑或愤怒,特别是如果他们发现现在的产品比预期的要贵。
这些价格变化的成本称为菜单成本,因为它们类似于在餐馆打印一组不同价格的新菜单的成本。价格的确会对供求关系作出反应,但从宏观经济角度来看,改变整个经济中所有价格的过程是需要时间的。
要理解粘性工资和价格对经济的影响,请考虑下面说明了整个劳动力市场的图A,和说明了特定商品或服务的市场的图B。
每个市场中的原始均衡E0发生在需求曲线D0和供给曲线S0的交点。当总需求下降时,对劳动力的需求向左移动到图A中的D1,对商品的需求向左移动到图B中的D1。然而,由于粘性工资和价格,工资在一段时间内保持其原始水平W0,而价格在一段时间内保持其原始水平P0
因此,劳动力和商品市场都存在以现有工资或价格供大于求的情况,图A和图B中Q1都小于Q0。当经济中很多劳动力市场和商品市场都处于这种状态时,经济就陷入衰退;也就是说,企业不能以现有的市场价格出售他们希望生产的产品,也不希望雇佣所有愿意以现有市场工资工作的人。
图片来源: Figure 1 in "The Confusion Over Inflation " by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

AD/AS模型中的两个凯恩斯主义假设

这两种凯恩斯主义假设—总需求在导致衰退中的重要性以及工资和价格的粘性—可以用总需求/总供给,或AD/AS的图来表示,像下面那个。注意,由于工资和价格的粘性,总供给曲线比图A和图B中的供给曲线平坦。事实上,如果工资和价格具有如此高的粘性,以至于根本没有下降,那么总供给曲线将完全低于潜在GDP。
这一结果是宏观经济外部性的一个重要例子,即宏观层面上发生的事情与微观层面上发生的事情不同,也不如后者。例如,一个公司应该通过降低价格来增加销售来应对其产品需求的下降。但如果所有公司的产品需求都在下降,总体上的粘性价格会阻止总需求反弹,这将表现为对较低价格水平的响应沿广告曲线的移动。
这种经济的原始均衡发生在总需求AD0与总供给交点处。由于这一交叉发生在潜在的GDP, Yp,经济运行在充分就业。当总需求向左移动时,所有的调整都是通过实际GDP的下降进行的。价格方面没有下降。由于均衡发生在Y1,经济将经历大量的失业。
凯恩斯主义角度的衰退
图片来源: Figure 3 in "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

支出乘数

凯恩斯经济学的另一个关键概念是支出乘数。支出乘数的概念是,支出不仅影响GDP的均衡水平,而且支出是强大的。更准确地说,这意味着支出的变化导致GDP的变化超过比例。
ΔYΔSpending>1
支出乘数的原因是,一个人的支出变成了另一个人的收入,这导致了额外的支出和额外的收入,等等,所以对GDP的累积影响大于最初支出的增加。乘数对于理解财政政策的有效性很重要,但只要支出出现任何自发增长,乘数就会出现。此外,乘数的作用既有积极的一面,也有消极的一面。
因此,当投资支出在大萧条期间大幅下降时,实际GDP的降幅要大得多。乘数的大小至关重要,也是最近讨论奥巴马政府财政刺激方案有效性的一个关键因素。奥巴马政府的财政刺激方案的官方名称是《2009年美国复苏与再投资法案》(American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009)。

总结

  • 凯恩斯主义经济学基于两个主要思想。 首先,总需求比总供应更有可能成为像衰退这样的短期经济活动的主要原因,其次,工资和价格是可以粘贴的,因此在经济衰退中,可能导致失业。
  • 协调论点认为工资的下降和价格的灵活性要求充分了解其他劳动者和市场参与者可以接受的较低薪酬水平。
  • 支出乘数是凯恩斯主义的一种概念,它认为自主支出的变化导致实际GDP的变化超过比例。
  • 宏观经济外部性是指宏观层面上发生的事情与微观层面上发生的事情不同或低于微观层面上发生的事情。
  • 菜单成本是企业在改变价格时所面临的成本。
  • 粘性工资和价格是指工资和价格不会因需求减少而下降,也不会因需求增加而上升。

自测题

用AD/AS模型解释通胀缺口是如何发生的,从下图中的初始平衡开始。
凯恩斯主义角度的衰退
图片来源: Figure 1 in "The Confusion Over Inflation " by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
假设美国国会为了平衡联邦预算而削减联邦政府支出。使用 ad/as 模型分析可能对产出和就业产生的影响。提示:看看上面的图。

复习问题

  • 从凯恩斯主义的角度来看, 哪种可能性更有可能导致衰退: 总需求还是总供给?为什么?
  • 为什么粘性工资和价格会增加经济衰退对失业和衰退的影响?
  • 解释经济学家对菜单成本的含义。

思考题

  • 工资粘性向下而不是向上有意义吗?为什么或为什么不呢?
  • 假设在出口需求增加时,经济在潜在GDP水平运行。在经济已经处于充分就业的情况下,经济如何增加出口生产以满足这一需求?

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

What is the Keynesian perspective anyway?

Key points

  • Keynesian economics is based on two main ideas. First, aggregate demand is more likely than aggregate supply to be the primary cause of a short-run economic event like a recession. Second, wages and prices can be sticky, and so, in an economic downturn, unemployment can result.
  • The coordination argument states that downward wage and price flexibility requires perfect information about the level of lower compensation acceptable to other laborers and market participants.
  • The expenditure multiplier is a Keynesian concept that asserts that a change in autonomous spending causes a more than proportionate change in real GDP.
  • A macroeconomic externality occurs when what happens at the macro level is different from and inferior to what happens at the micro level.
  • Menu costs are costs firms face when changing prices.
  • Sticky wages and prices are wages and prices that do not fall in response to a decrease in demand or do not rise in response to an increase in demand.

The building blocks of Keynesian analysis

Keynesian economics focuses on explaining why recessions and depressions occur and offering a policy prescription for minimizing their effects. The Keynesian view of recession is based on two key building blocks:
  • Aggregate demand, AD, is not always automatically high enough to provide firms with an incentive to hire enough workers to reach full employment.
  • The macroeconomy may adjust only slowly to shifts in aggregate demand because of sticky wages and prices—wages and prices that do not respond to decreases or increases in demand.
Let's look at each of these two claims more closely. The first building block of the Keynesian diagnosis is that recessions occur when the level of household and business sector demand for goods and services is less than what is produced when labor is fully employed. In other words, the intersection of aggregate supply and aggregate demand occurs at a level of output less than the level of GDP consistent with full employment.
Suppose the stock market crashes, as occurred in 1929. Household wealth declines, and consumption expenditure follows. Businesses see that consumer spending is falling, which reduces expectations of the profitability of investment, so they decrease investment expenditure.
This seems to be what happened during the Great Depression since the physical capacity of the economy to supply goods did not alter much. No flood or earthquake or other natural disaster ruined factories in 1929 or 1930. No outbreak of disease decimated the ranks of workers. No key input price, like the price of oil, soared on world markets. The US economy in 1933 had just about the same factories, workers, and state of technology as it had had four years earlier in 1929—and yet the economy shrank dramatically.
Keynes recognized that the events of the Great Depression contradicted Say’s law, which states that supply creates its own demand. Although production capacity existed, the markets were not able to sell their products. As a result, real GDP was less than potential GDP.

Wage and price stickiness

Keynes also noticed that when AD fluctuated, prices and wages did not immediately respond as economists expected. Instead, prices and wages were “sticky,” making it difficult to restore the economy to full employment and potential GDP.
Keynes emphasized one particular reason why wages are sticky: the coordination argument. This argument points out that, even if most people would be willing—at least hypothetically—to see a decline in their own wages in bad economic times as long as everyone else also experienced such a decline, a market-oriented economy has no obvious way to implement a plan of coordinated wage reductions. There are a number of reasons why wages might be sticky downward, most of which center on the argument that businesses avoid wage cuts because they may in one way or another depress morale and hurt the productivity of the existing workers.
Some modern economists have argued in a Keynesian spirit that, along with wages, other prices may be sticky, too. Many firms do not change their prices every day or even every month. When a firm considers changing prices, it must consider two sets of costs. First, changing prices uses company resources—managers must analyze the competition and market demand and decide what the new prices will be, sales materials must be updated, billing records will change, and product labels and price labels must be redone. Second, frequent price changes may leave customers confused or angry—especially if they find out that a product now costs more than expected.
These costs of changing prices are called menu costs—because they are similar to the costs of printing up a new set of menus with different prices in a restaurant. Prices do respond to forces of supply and demand, but from a macroeconomic perspective, the process of changing all prices throughout the economy takes time.
To understand the effect of sticky wages and prices in the economy, consider Diagram A below, illustrating the overall labor market, and Diagram B, illustrating a market for a specific good or service.
The original equilibrium E0\text{E0} in each market occurs at the intersection of the demand curve D0\text{D0} and supply curve S0\text{S0}. When aggregate demand declines, the demand for labor shifts to the left—to D1\text{D1} in diagram A—and the demand for goods shifts to the left—to D1\text{D1} in diagram B. Because of sticky wages and prices, however, the wage remains at its original level, W0\text{W0}, for a period of time and the price remains at its original level, P0\text{P0}.
As a result, a situation of excess supply—where the quantity supplied exceeds the quantity demanded at the existing wage or price—exists in markets for both labor and goods, and Q1\text{Q1} is less than Q0\text{Q0} in both diagram A and diagram B. When many labor markets and many goods markets all across the economy find themselves in this position, the economy is in a recession; that is, firms cannot sell what they wish to produce at the existing market price and do not wish to hire all who are willing to work at the existing market wage.
Two graphs show how sticky wages have varying effects based on whether the market is a labor market or a goods market.
Image credit: Figure 1 in "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
The recovery after the Great Recession in the United States has been slow, with wages stagnant, if not declining. In fact, many low-wage workers at McDonalds, Dominos, and Walmart have threatened to strike for higher wages. Their plight is part of a larger trend in job growth and pay in the post-recession recovery.
Jobs lost/gained in the recession/recovery
The chart on the left shows that the majority of jobs lost during the recession were from people working mid-wage occupations—60%. The chart on the right shows that the majority of jobs gained during the recovery were from people working lower-wage occupations—58%.
Image credit: Figure 2 in "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
The National Employment Law Project compiled data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics and found that, during the Great Recession, 60% of job losses were in medium-wage occupations. Most of them were replaced during the recovery period with lower-wage jobs in the service, retail, and food industries. You can see this data in the graphs above.
Wages in the service, retail, and food industries are at or near minimum wage and tend to be both downwardly and upwardly sticky. Wages are downwardly sticky due to minimum wage laws; they may be upwardly sticky if insufficient competition in low-skilled labor markets enables employers to avoid raising wages that would reduce their profits. At the same time, however, the Consumer Price Index increased 11% between 2007 and 2012, pushing real wages down.

The two Keynesian assumptions in the AD/AS Model

The two Keynesian assumptions—the importance of aggregate demand in causing recession and the stickiness of wages and prices—can be illustrated using an aggregate demand/aggregate supply, or AD/AS, diagram like the one below. Note that because of the stickiness of wages and prices, the aggregate supply curve is flatter than the supply curves in diagrams A and B above. In fact, if wages and prices were so sticky that they did not fall at all, the aggregate supply curve would be completely flat below potential GDP.
This outcome is an important example of a macroeconomic externality, meaning that what happens at the macro level is different from and inferior to what happens at the micro level. For example, a firm should respond to a decrease in demand for its product by cutting its price to increase sales. But if all firms experience a decrease in demand for their products, sticky prices in the aggregate prevent aggregate demand from rebounding—which would be shown as a movement along the AD curve in response to a lower price level.
The original equilibrium of this economy occurs where the aggregate demand AD0\text{AD0} intersects with aggregate supply. Since this intersection occurs at potential GDP, Yp\text{Yp}, the economy is operating at full employment. When aggregate demand shifts to the left, all the adjustment occurs through decreased real GDP. There is no decrease in the price level. Since the equilibrium occurs at Y1\text{Y1}, the economy experiences substantial unemployment.
A Keynesian perspective of recession
The graph shows three aggregate demand curves and one aggregate supply curve. The aggregate curve farthest to the left represents an economy in a recession.
Image credit: Figure 3 in "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0

The expenditure multiplier

Another key concept in Keynesian economics is the expenditure multiplier. The expenditure multiplier is the idea that not only does spending affect the equilibrium level of GDP but that spending is powerful. More precisely, it means that a change in spending causes a more than proportionate change in GDP.
ΔYΔSpending>1\frac{\mathrm{\Delta Y}}{\mathrm{\Delta Spending}}>1
The reason for the expenditure multiplier is that one person’s spending becomes another person’s income, which leads to additional spending and additional income, and so forth, so the cumulative impact on GDP is larger than the initial increase in spending. The multiplier is important for understanding the effectiveness of fiscal policy, but it occurs whenever any autonomous increase in spending occurs. Additionally, the multiplier operates in a negative as well as a positive direction.
Thus, when investment spending collapsed during the Great Depression, it caused a much larger decrease in real GDP. The size of the multiplier is critical and was a key element in recent discussions of the effectiveness of the Obama administration’s fiscal stimulus package, officially titled the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

Summary

  • Keynesian economics is based on two main ideas. First, aggregate demand is more likely than aggregate supply to be the primary cause of a short-run economic event like a recession. Second, wages and prices can be sticky, and so, in an economic downturn, unemployment can result.
  • The coordination argument states that downward wage and price flexibility requires perfect information about the level of lower compensation acceptable to other laborers and market participants.
  • The expenditure multiplier is a Keynesian concept that asserts that a change in autonomous spending causes a more than proportionate change in real GDP.
  • A macroeconomic externality occurs when what happens at the macro level is different from and inferior to what happens at the micro level.
  • Menu costs are costs firms face when changing prices.
  • Sticky wages and prices are wages and prices that do not fall in response to a decrease in demand or do not rise in response to an increase in demand.

Self-check questions

Use the AD/AS model to explain how an inflationary gap occurs, beginning from the initial equilibrium in the diagram below.
A Keynesian Perspective of Recession
The graph shows three aggregate demand curves and one aggregate supply curve. The aggregate curve farthest to the left represents an economy in a recession.
Image credit: Figure 1 in "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0
An inflationary gap is the result of an increase in aggregate demand when the economy is at potential output. Since the aggregate supply curve is vertical at potential GDP, any increase in aggregate demand will lead to a higher price level—in other words, inflation—but no higher real GDP. You'll be able to see this if you draw AD1\text{AD1} to the right of AD0\text{AD0}.
Suppose the US Congress cuts federal government spending in order to balance the federal budget. Use the AD/AS model to analyze the likely impact on output and employment. Hint: Take a look at the figure above.
A decrease in government spending will shift AD to the left.

Review questions

  • From a Keynesian point of view, which is more likely to cause a recession: aggregate demand or aggregate supply? Why?
  • Why do sticky wages and prices increase the impact of an economic downturn on unemployment and recession?
  • Explain what economists mean by menu costs.

Critical-thinking questions

  • Does it make sense that wages would be sticky downwards but not upwards? Why or why not?
  • Suppose the economy is operating at potential GDP when it experiences an increase in export demand. How might the economy increase production of exports to meet this demand, given that the economy is already at full employment?

Attribution

This article is a modified derivative of "The Building Blocks of Keynesian Analysis" by OpenStaxCollege, CC BY 4.0.
The modified article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

References

“Job Creation and Economic Recovery.” National Employment Law Project. http://www.nelp.org/index.php/content/content_issues/category/job_creation_and_economic_recovery/.
Loading