如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

双重置换反应

双重置换反应的定义和实例。预测和平衡中和及沉淀反应。

什么是复分解反应?

复分解反应,也被称为 双置换反应 发生在当两种离子化合物的一部分被交换时,产生两种新的化合物。复分解反应的总体规律如下:
A+B+C+DA+D+C+B
你可以将反应视为阳离子或阴离子的交换,但不能是两者同时交换,因为这样最终会得到与开始时相同的物质。 复分解反应的溶剂通常是水,反应物和产物通常都是离子化合物,但它们也可以是酸或碱。
下面是一个复分解反应的例子:
BaCl2(aq)+Na2SO4(aq)BaSO4(s)+2NaCl(aq)
在这个例子里,阳离子为 Ba2+Na+,阴离子为 ClSO42。如果我们将阳离子或者阴离子交换,就得到了生成物 BaSO4NaCl.

沉淀和中和反应

当你掌握了规律之后,认出复分解反应是相当简单的。预测反应是否会发生是更棘手的事情;认识一些常见的复分解反应的类型将更有帮助。在本文我们将讨论沉淀反应和中和反应。
沉淀反应是当两个离子化合物的水溶液生成了新的不溶于水的离子化合物。比如,硝酸铅和碘化钾之间的反应。两种化合物都是白色固体,并且可溶于水,形成透明无色的溶液。当两种溶液混合起来时,将发生下面的化学反应:
Pb(NO3)2(aq)+2KI(aq)2KNO3(aq)+PbI2(s)
我们从两种透明的溶液中得到了美丽的金色固体!在现实生活,你的反应容器会大概像下图这样:
将硝酸铅和碘化钾的水溶液结合会得到不可溶的金色固体碘化铅。图片来源:PRHaney on Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY-SA 3.0
我们将不可溶的生成化合物成为沉淀。反应中的溶剂和可溶的部分被称为上清液 。我们可以通过沉淀的规则来预测沉淀反应是否会发生。形成固体沉淀物是使反应往正向进行的驱动力。
概念检查:上清液中有什么?
中和反应 是一种在酸和碱之间发生的复分解反应。下面是一个中和反应的例子:
HF(aq)+NaOH(aq)H2O+NaF(aq)
acid+baseH2O+salt
在水溶液中的中和反应通常生成水和一个新的离子化合物——也称为盐。识别中和反应的难点在于认出反应物中有酸和碱。一旦确定了该反应是中和反应,你就可以预测反应会在往正向发生,只要反应物是强酸和/或强碱。
你可能已经尝试过一个有趣的中和反应:小苏打——碳酸氢钠 NaHCO3和醋——大部分是水和醋酸 CH3COOH(aq)) 来产生碳酸 H2CO3——和醋酸钠 NaCH3COO。如果你在家里尝试过这个实验,你应该记得有很多嘶嘶声,因为这个中和反应伴随着 气体生成反应,因为碳酸分解成了二氧化碳气体——也就是气泡——和水。
复分解反应可以用分子方程式、离子方程式或者净离子方程式来表示。在本文中我们将只使用分子方程式,但你也应该熟悉如何写另外两种形式的方程式。

示例:复分解反应的预测和配平

我们来看一个我们不知道反应产物的例子。
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)
首先,我们找出被置换的阳离子和阴离子。阳离子是 H+Ba2+,阴离子是 SO42OH。通过将离子对换得到生成物 H2OBaSO4
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)H2O+BaSO4
可以看出我们的复分解反应也是一个中和反应,因为我们的反应物是一个强酸硫酸和一个强碱氢氧化钡。生成物硫酸钡是什么状态呢?通过查阅溶解度规则我们知道氢氧化钡不溶于水,因此会在溶液中形成沉淀。也就是说这个反应也是一个沉淀反应!我们可以通过在 BaSO4 之后加上 (s) 来在方程式中体现这一信息。
但我们还没有结束:我们的反应还没有配平,因为氢和氧在箭头的两边数量不相等。我们将 H2O 乘以 2 来得到最终的、配平的分子方程式:
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)2H2O+BaSO4(s)

总结

复分解反应是两个离子化合物交换阳离子或者阴离子。沉淀反应和中和反应是两种常见的复分解反应类型沉淀反应从两种水溶反应物中产生不溶的生成物,可以使用溶解度规则来认出沉淀反应。中和反应发生在当反应物是酸和碱时,并且只要反应涉及强酸和/或强碱,中和反应通常是会发生的。

尝试一下!

练习 1

由下列反应物的复分解反应产生的生成物是什么?
FeCl3(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)
选出正确答案:

练习 2

上面反应的类型是什么?
选择所有正确的答案:

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Definition and examples of double replacement reactions. Predicting and balancing neutralization and precipitation reactions. 

What is a double replacement reaction?

Double replacement reactions—also called double displacement, exchange, or metathesis reactions—occur when parts of two ionic compounds are exchanged, making two new compounds. The overall pattern of a double replacement reaction looks like this:
A+B+C+DA+D+C+B\greenD{\text {A}^+\text{B}^-} + \maroonD{\text{C}^+\text{D}^-} \rightarrow \greenD{\text {A}^+}\maroonD{\text {D}^- }+ \maroonD{\text{C}^+}\greenD{\text{B}^-}
You can think of the reaction as swapping the cations or the anions, but not swapping both since you would end up with the same substances you started with. The solvent for a double replacement reaction is usually water, and the reactants and products are usually ionic compounds—but they can also be acids or bases.
Here is an example of a double replacement reaction:
BaCl2(aq)+Na2SO4(aq)BaSO4(s)+2NaCl(aq)\greenD{\text{BaCl}_2} (aq) +\maroonD{ \text{Na}_2 \text{SO}_4} (aq)\rightarrow \greenD{\text{Ba}}\maroonD{\text{SO}_4} (s)+ 2\maroonD{\text{Na}}\greenD{\text{Cl} }(aq)
In this example, the cations are Ba2+\greenD{\text{Ba}^{2+}} and Na+\maroonD{\text{Na}^+}, and the anions are Cl\greenD{\text{Cl}^-} and SO42\maroonD{\text{SO}_4^{2-}}. If we swap the anions, or cations, we get as our products BaSO4\text{BaSO}_4 and NaCl\text{NaCl}.
Once we swap the anion/cation partners to get the products, we also need to make sure that the product compounds are neutral since the reactant compounds are neutral. This means checking that the charges for the anion(s) and cation(s) cancel out within a compound. In BaSO4\text{BaSO}_4, the 2+ charge on the cation Ba2+\text{Ba}^{2+} cancels out the 2- charge on the SO42\text{SO}_4^{2-} to give an overall neutral compound.
Also, we have to check that the subscripts in the products are the lowest possible integer value. For example, in the above reaction we know that one of the products is 2NaCl2\text{NaCl} and not Na2Cl2\text{Na}_2 \text{Cl}_2 because even though both compounds are neutral, we can divide both subscripts in Na2Cl2\text{Na}_2 \text{Cl}_2by two to get NaCl\text{NaCl}.
If you are having trouble remembering the charges on different ions, you can review by watching the video on common polyatomic ions.

Precipitation and neutralization reactions

Identifying double replacement reactions is usually fairly straightforward once you can recognize the pattern. Predicting whether the reaction will occur can be trickier; it helps to be able to recognize some common types of double replacement reactions. In this article we will be discussing precipitation reactions and neutralization reactions.
A precipitation reaction is when two aqueous ionic compounds form a new ionic compound that is not soluble in water. One example is the reaction between lead (II) nitrate and potassium iodide. Both compounds are white solids that can be dissolved in water to make clear, colorless solutions. When you combine the two clear solutions, you get the following reaction:
Pb(NO3)2(aq)+2KI(aq)2KNO3(aq)+PbI2(s)\text{Pb(NO}_3)_2 (aq) + 2\text{KI} (aq)\rightarrow 2\text{KNO}_3 (aq)+ \goldE{\text{PbI}_2}(s)
We made a beautiful golden solid from two clear solutions! In real life, your reaction flask might look something like the picture below.
A cloud of solid yellow lead (II) iodide forms when clear solutions of lead (II) nitrate and potassium iodide are combined.
Combining aqueous solutions of lead (II) nitrate and potassium iodide results in the formation of insoluble lead (II) iodide, a yellow solid. Image credit: PRHaney on Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY-SA 3.0
The insoluble product compound is called the precipitate. The solvent and soluble components of the reaction are called the supernatant or supernate. We can use solubility rules to predict whether a precipitation reaction will take place. The formation of a solid precipitate is the driving force that makes the reaction proceed in the forward direction.
The formation of the precipitate lowers the concentration of the insoluble product in solution, which drives the reaction further in the forward direction. This can be understood in more detail using Le Châtelier’s principle.
Concept check: What is in our supernatant?
Our supernatant is everything that is not the precipitate, so it is made up of our solvent H2O\text{H}_2 \text O and KNO3(aq)\text{KNO}_3 (aq), which can also be written as the dissociated ions K+(aq)\text K^+ (aq) and NO3(aq)\text {NO}_3^-(aq).
Neutralization reactions are a type of double replacement reaction that occurs between an acid and a base. The following is an example of a neutralization reaction:
HF(aq)+NaOH(aq)H2O+NaF(aq)\blueD{\text H} \text F (aq)+\text{Na}\blueD{\text{OH}} (aq)\rightarrow \blueD{\text H_2 \text O} + \text{NaF}(aq)
acid+baseH2O+saltacid + base \rightarrow \text H_2 \text O + salt
An aqueous neutralization reaction generally produces water and a new ionic compound, also called a salt. The hardest part of identifying a neutralization reaction is recognizing that you have an acid and a base for the reactants. Once you know you have a neutralization reaction, you can generally predict the reaction will occur in the forward direction as long as you have a strong acid and/or a strong base as a reactant.
If you would like to know more about acid-base reactions, you can watch this video on the acid-base properties of salts.
A fun neutralization reaction that you may have tried is the combination of baking soda—sodium bicarbonate, NaHCO3\text{NaHCO}_3—and vinegar—mostly water with acetic acid, CH3COOH(aq)\text {CH}_3 \text{COOH} (aq))—which produces carbonic acid—H2CO3\text {H}_2 \text{CO}_3—and sodium acetate—NaCH3COO\text{NaCH}_3 \text{COO}. If you have tried this reaction at home, you probably remember a lot of fizzing because the neutralization reaction is accompanied by a gas-producing reaction, where the carbonic acid decomposes into carbon dioxide gas—bubbles!—and water.
Note that double replacement reactions can be written as molecular, complete ionic, or net ionic equations. In this article we are only writing out the molecular equation, but you probably want to be familiar with writing the other forms of the equation as well.

Example: predicting and balancing a double replacement reaction

Let’s take a look at an example where we don't know the products:
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq){\text{H}_2 \text{SO}_4} (aq) +{\text{Ba} \text{(OH)}_2} (aq) \rightarrow
First, we can identify the cations and anions that will get swapped. The cations are H+\text{H}^+ and Ba2+\text{Ba}^{2+}, and the anions are SO42\text{SO}_4^{2-} and OH\text{OH}^-. Swapping anions gives the products H2O\text{H}_2 \text O and BaSO4\text{BaSO}_4:
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)H2O+BaSO4{\text{H}_2 \text{SO}_4} (aq) + {\text{Ba} \text{(OH)}_2} (aq) \rightarrow \text{H}_2 \text O + \text{BaSO}_4
We can see that our double replacement reaction is also a neutralization reaction since we are reacting sulfuric acid, a strong acid, with barium hydroxide, a strong base. What is the state of the product barium sulfate? If we check our solubility rules, we see that barium sulfate is insoluble and should precipitate out of solution. That means our reaction is a precipitation reaction, too! We can also include that information in our equation by adding the symbol (s)\blueD{(s)} after the BaSO4 \text{BaSO}_4.
We aren’t quite done yet, though. Our reaction is not balanced since we have unequal numbers of hydrogens and oxygens on both sides of the arrow. We can fix this by multiplying H2O\text{H}_2 \text O by 2\redD{2} to give our final, balanced molecular equation:
H2SO4(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)2H2O+BaSO4(s)\text{H}_2 \text{SO}_4 (aq) + \text{Ba} \text{(OH)}_2 (aq) \rightarrow \redD{2}\text{H}_2 \text O + \text{BaSO}_4 \blueD{(s)}

Summary

Double replacement reactions have two ionic compounds that are exchanging anions or cations. Precipitation reactions and neutralization reactions are two common types of double replacement reactions. Precipitation reactions produce an insoluble product from two aqueous reactants, and you can identify a precipitation reaction using solubility rules. Neutralization reactions occur when the reactants are an acid and a base, and neutralization reactions are usually favorable as long as the reaction involves a strong acid and/or a strong base.

Attributions

This article was adapted from the following article:
The modified article is licensed under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

Additional References:

Kotz, J. C., P. M. Treichel, J. R. Townsend, and D. A. Treichel. "Precipitation Reactions." In Chemistry and Chemical Reactivity Instructor's Edition, 110-11. 9th ed. Stamford, CT: Cengage Learning, 2015.

Try it!

Problem 1

For the following reactants, what are the products of the double displacement reaction?
FeCl3(aq)+Ba(OH)2(aq)\text{FeCl}_3(aq) + \text{Ba(OH)}_2(aq) \rightarrow
Choose 1 answer:
Choose 1 answer:
We have the cations Fe3+\text{Fe}^{3+} and Ba2+\text{Ba}^{2+}, and the anions are Cl\text{Cl}^- and OH\text{OH}^-.
If we swap the anions, we get the products Fe(OH)3\text{Fe(OH)}_3 and BaCl2\text{BaCl}_2. Based on solubility rules, Fe(OH)3\text{Fe(OH)}_3 is going to precipitate since most metal hydroxides are insoluble.
Therefore, Fe(OH)3(s)+BaCl2(aq)\text{Fe(OH)}_3 (s) + \text{BaCl}_2 (aq) is the correct answer.

Problem 2

What type of reaction is the above reaction?
Choose all answers that apply:
Choose all answers that apply:
We are forming an insoluble product from aqueous reactants, so this is a precipitation reaction.
Precipitation reactions are a type of double replacement reaction, so this reaction is also a double replacement reaction.
Loading