If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

进化的证据

进化证据:解剖、分子生物学、生物地理学、化石 & 直接观察。

要点:

  • 进化的证据来自许多不同的生物学领域:
    • 解剖学 物种可能具有类似的物理特征,因为该特征存在于一个共同的祖先(同源结构)。
    • 分子生物学 DNA和遗传代码反映了共同祖先。DNA对比能够显示物种间的亲缘关系有多近。
    • 生物地理学 物种的全球分布和岛屿物种的独特特征反映了物种演变和地质变化。
    • 化石 化石记录了与当今物种有关但已经灭绝的物种的存在。
    • 直接观察 我们可以直接观察生命周期短的生物体(例:抗杀虫剂的昆虫)的小规模演变。

介绍

进化是生物学中一个关键的统一原则。正如费奥多西·多布然斯基曾经说,“除非放在演化的光芒之下,生物学的一切都没有道理。”1
但是,究竟什么生物学特征是通过进化的视角看才更有意义?换句话说,哪些迹象表明进化在过去已经发生,且在今天仍在发生?

进化在大规模和小规模上发生

在查看证据之前,让我们确定我们关于进化的理解相同。广义地说,进化是一个群体基因构成(通常还有遗传特征)随时间的变化。生物学家有时根据规模定义两种类型的进化:
  • 宏进化,指长时间内发生的大规模变化,如新物种和新群组的形成。
  • 微进化,指在较短时间内在种群中发生的,影响一种或几种基因的小规模变化。
微观进化和宏观进化实际上不是两个不同的过程。它们是发生在不同的时间尺度上的同一过程——进化。数千年或数百万年发生的微进化过程可以累积成定义新物种或群组的大规模变化。

进化的证据

在这篇文章中,我们在宏观和微观两个尺度查看进化的证据。
首先,我们将研究几种证据类型(包括形体和分子特征、地理信息、还有化石),这些证据为宏观进化事件提供了证据,并使我们能够重建它们。
在文章的末尾,我们将以了解如何直接观察到微进化,如在抗农药昆虫的出现,来结束。

解剖和胚胎学

达尔文认为进化是"有变化的遗传"的过程。在这个过程中,物种会改变,并在几世代后产生新的物种。他提出,生命的进化史形成一种具有许多层次的分支树,所有物种都可以追溯到一个古老的共同祖先。
图片来源:“达尔文生命树, 1859”,作者是查尔斯 达尔文(公有领域)。
在这个树状模型中,更密切相关的物种们有较新的共同祖先,并且每个物种将倾向于共享其最后共同祖先中存在的特征。我们可以利用这个想法来"反向研究",根据生物体的共享特征找出它们是如何相关的。

同源特征

如果两个或两个以上物种共享一个独特的物理特征,如复杂的骨骼结构或身体规划,它们可能都从共同的祖先继承了这个特征。由于进化史(共同祖先)而共享的物理特征被称为同源的。
举一个典型的例子,鲸鱼、人类、鸟类和狗的前肢在外表上看起来非常不同。这是因为它们是适应不同的环境的结果。然而,如果你观察前肢的骨骼结构,你会发现骨骼结构在物种之间非常相似。这种类似的结构不可能在每个物种中独立进化;更可能的情况是,骨骼的基本布局已经存在于鲸鱼、人类、狗和鸟类的共同祖先中。
图片来源: "理解进化:图7," 由 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0.
一些同源结构只能在胚胎中看到。例如,所有脊椎动物胚胎(包括人类)在早期发育期间都有腮裂和尾巴。这些物种的发育模式在以后变得更加不同(这就是为什么你的胚胎尾巴现在是你的尾骨,你的腮裂已经变成了你的下巴和内耳)2。同源的胚胎结构反映了脊椎动物的发育模式是在其最后共同祖先中存在的类似模式的变种。
图片修改自 "蟒蛇的原始后腿," 由 Stefan3345, CC BY-SA 4.0. 修改后的图片在 CC BY-SA 4.0 许可证下获得许可。
有时,生物体的结构与其他生物体中的重要结构同源,但已失去其主要祖先功能。 这些通常尺寸更小的结构被称为痕迹结构。 痕迹结构的例子包括人的尾骨(残留的尾巴)、鲸鱼的后腿骨、以及在某些蛇中发现的未发育的腿(见右图)3

同功特征

实际上事情更有趣和复杂一点:并非所有看起来一样的物理特征都是共同祖先的标志。相反,一些物理上的相似性是同功的:它们在不同的生物体中独立进化出来的,因为生物体生活在相似的环境中或经历类似的选择性压力。此过程称为趋同进化。( 趋同 意味着变得相似,就像两条线在一个点上相遇一样。)
例如,生活在北极的两个亲缘关系很远的物种,北极狐和雷鸟,都有从暗白到雪白的季节性颜色变化。这个共享的特征并不反映共同的祖先,即,狐狸和雷鸟的最后共同祖先不太可能随季节而改变颜色4。相反,由于类似的选择性压力,这一特性在两个物种中分别受到青睐。由基因决定的在冬季变为较浅的毛色的能力帮助狐狸和雷鸟在下雪的冬天和敏锐的食肉动物眼下更好地生存和繁殖。
图片来源: "理解进化:图6," 由 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0.

由类似功能确定亲缘关系

一般来说,生物学家不会根据他们认为是同源特征的任何单一特征来直接得出物种关系的结论。相反,他们研究大量的特征集合(通常包括物理特征和DNA序列),并将这些特征作为一个群体得出关于相关性的结论。当我们研究系统发生树时,我们将进一步探讨这个概念。

分子生物学

与同源结构一样,生物分子之间的相似性可以反映共同的进化祖先。在最基本的层面上,所有生物体共享:
  • 相同的遗传材料 (DNA)
  • 相同或高度类似的遗传代码
  • 相同的基因表达的基本过程(转录和翻译)
  • 相同的分子组成部分,如氨基酸。
这些共同的特征表明,所有生物都是一个共同祖先的后裔,并且这个祖先用DNA作为其遗传物质,使用遗传代码,并通过转录和翻译来表达其基因。当今的生物体都共享这些特征,因为它们是从祖先那里"继承下来的"(而且,这个基本机制的任何重大改变都会破坏细胞的基本功能)。
虽然它们对于确定生命的共同起源非常有益,但诸如DNA或进行转录和翻译等特征对于搞清楚特定生物体间是 如何 相关的没有太大用处。如果我们想要确定一个群体中哪些生物体关系最密切,我们需要使用不同类型的分子特征,如基因的核苷酸序列。

同源基因

生物学家经常比较不同物种的相关基因序列(通常称为同源直向同源基因),以找出这些物种在进化上是如何相互关联的。
这种方法背后的基本思想是,两个物种有"相同的"基因,因为它们从共同的祖先继承了它。例如,人类、奶牛、鸡和黑猩猩都有编码胰岛素激素的基因,因为这个基因已经存在于他们最近的共同祖先中。
一般来说,两个物种之间同源基因的DNA(或它们编码的蛋白中的氨基酸)差异越多,物种的关系就越远。例如,人类和黑猩猩的胰岛素蛋白(约98%相同)比人类和鸡胰岛素蛋白(约64%相同)更相似,反映了人类和黑猩猩比人类和鸡有更密切的亲缘关系5

生物地理学

地球上生物体的地理分布遵循进化模式以及构造板块在地质时间上的移动。 例如,在泛大陆解体(大约2亿年前)之前已经进化的有机体的广泛群体往往分布在世界各地。相反,在分裂后进化的群体往往在地球较小的区域独特地出现。例如,在南或北大陆特有的植物和动物群,可以追溯到泛大陆分裂成两个超级大陆(北部的劳亚古大陆,南部的冈瓦纳古大陆)之后。
图片来源:“有袋动物拼贴画”,作者Aushulz, CC BY-SA 3.0.。
岛屿上独特物种的进化是进化学和地理学相交叉的又一个例子。例如,澳大利亚的大多数哺乳动物物种是有袋动物(在袋中携带幼崽),而世界其他地方的大多数哺乳动物物种是胎盘动物(通过胎盘养育幼崽)。澳大利亚的有袋物种非常多样化,并填补了广泛的生态作用。由于澳大利亚被水隔绝了数百万年,这些物种能够在没有与世界其他地方的哺乳动物物种竞争(或交换)的情况下进化。
澳大利亚的有袋动物、加拉帕戈斯群岛的达尔文地雀以及夏威夷群岛上的许多物种都是岛上独有的,但与大陆的祖先物种有着遥远的关系。这种特征的组合反映了岛屿物种进化的过程。它们通常来自大陆的祖先——例如,当陆地断裂或少数个体在暴风雨中被吹离路径——并随着他们孤立地适应岛屿环境而趋异演化(变得越来越不同)。

化石记录

化石是保存下来的以前生物或其痕迹的遗留,可以追溯到遥远的过去。化石记录不是完整的或不间断的:大多数生物从未化石化,甚至人类很少发现化石化的生物。尽管如此,人类收集的化石为长期进化提供了独特的见解。
图片来源:“岩石层,加里什的E山脊”,作者 Chris Eilbeck, CC BY- SA 2.0
如何确认化石的年龄呢?首先,化石通常包含在岩石中,这些岩石堆积在称为地层的层中。地层提供了一种时间线,其顶部附近的层较新,底部附近的层较旧。在同一地点的不同地层中发现的化石可以按其位置排序,而具有独特特征的"参考"地层可用于比较不同地点的化石年龄。 另外,科学家可以通过 放射断代法,一种测量某些元素的放射性衰变的过程,来粗略地判断化石的年代。
化石证明了现已灭绝的物种的存在,展示了在地球历史的不同时期在地球上生活的不同生物。它们还可以帮助科学家重建当今物种的进化史。例如,一些研究得最完善的化石是马类的。利用这些化石,科学家们已经能够为马和他们现在灭绝的亲戚重建一个大型的、有分支的"家谱"6。导致现代马匹出现的谱系变化,如从脚趾到蹄子的简化,可能反映了对环境变化的适应。
图片来源:“马类进化”,作者 H. Zell, CC BY-SA 3.0

微进化的直接观察

在某些情况下,进化的证据是,我们可以看到它发生在我们周围!进化的重要现代例子包括耐药细菌和抗农药昆虫的出现。
例如,在1950年代,全世界努力通过消除疟疾的携带者(某些类型的蚊子)来根除疟疾。杀虫剂DDT在蚊子居住的地区广泛喷洒,起初,DDT对杀死蚊子非常有效。然而,随着时间的推移,DDT越来越不有效,越来越多的蚊子存活下来。这是因为蚊子种群对杀虫剂产生抗药性。
DDT抗药性的出现是一种通过自然选择进化的例子7。在这个情况下,自然选择是如何发挥作用呢?
  1. 在应用DDT之前,种群中一小部分蚊子会具有自然产生的基因版本(等位基因)使它们对DDT具有抗药性。这些版本会通过随机突变,即DNA序列的变化,出现。如果没有DDT,抗药性等位基因不会帮助蚊子生存或繁殖(甚至可能有害),因此它们会很少见。
  2. 当开始喷洒DDT时,大多数蚊子会被杀虫剂杀死。而哪些蚊子能存活下来?在大多数情况下,只有那些极少数碰巧有抗DDT等位基因(因此能在喷洒DDT后存活下来)。这些幸存的蚊子可以繁殖并留下后代。
  3. 几世代过去,越来越多的抗DDT蚊子会诞生在种群中。这是因为有抗药性的双亲比无抗药性的双亲更可能存活和繁殖,并且会将他们的抗DDT等位基因(以及在DDT下生存的能力)传给他们的后代。最终,蚊子数量会反弹到高数量,但主要由耐DDT的个体组成。
在世界上过去曾广泛使用DDT的地区,许多蚊子现在都具有抗药性。DDT不能再用于控制这些地区的蚊子数量(和减少疟疾)。
为什么蚊子种群能够迅速进化出对DDT的抵抗力?两个重要因素是其种群规模大(使得种群中的某些个体更有可能随机出现具有产生抵抗力的突变)和短生命周期。细菌和病毒,其种群规模更大,生命周期更短,可以迅速进化出对药物的抗药性,如耐抗生素细菌抗药性HIV

总结

多种类型的证据支持进化理论:
  • 同源结构为共同的祖先提供了证据,而类似的结构表明,类似的选择性压力可以产生相似的适应(有益的特征)。
  • 生物分子之间的相似和差异(如DNA基因序列中的相同和不同之处)可用来确定物种的亲缘关系。
  • 生物地理模式为解释物种是如何相互关联的提供了线索。
  • 化石记录虽然不完整,但提供了关于地球历史上特定时期存在哪些物种的信息。
  • 一些种群,如微生物和某些昆虫,可在较短的时间内进化并可以被直接观察到。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Evidence for evolution: anatomy, molecular biology, biogeography, fossils, & direct observation.

Key points:

  • Evidence for evolution comes from many different areas of biology:
    • Anatomy. Species may share similar physical features because the feature was present in a common ancestor (homologous structures).
    • Molecular biology. DNA and the genetic code reflect the shared ancestry of life. DNA comparisons can show how related species are.
    • Biogeography. The global distribution of organisms and the unique features of island species reflect evolution and geological change.
    • Fossils. Fossils document the existence of now-extinct past species that are related to present-day species.
    • Direct observation. We can directly observe small-scale evolution in organisms with short lifecycles (e.g., pesticide-resistant insects).

Introduction

Evolution is a key unifying principle in biology. As Theodosius Dobzhansky once said, “Nothing in biology makes sense except in the light of evolution.”1^1
But what, exactly, are the features of biology that make more sense through the lens of evolution? To put it another way, what are the indications or traces that show evolution has taken place in the past and is still happening today?

Evolution happens on large and small scales

Before we look at the evidence, let's make sure we are on the same page about what evolution is. Broadly speaking, evolution is a change in the genetic makeup (and often, the heritable features) of a population over time. Biologists sometimes define two types of evolution based on scale:
  • Macroevolution, which refers to large-scale changes that occur over extended time periods, such as the formation of new species and groups.
  • Microevolution, which refers to small-scale changes that affect just one or a few genes and happen in populations over shorter timescales.
Microevolution and macroevolution aren’t really two different processes. They’re the same process – evolution – occurring on different timescales. Microevolutionary processes occurring over thousands or millions of years can add up to large-scale changes that define new species or groups.

The evidence for evolution

In this article, we'll examine the evidence for evolution on both macro and micro scales.
First, we'll look at several types of evidence (including physical and molecular features, geographical information, and fossils) that provide evidence for, and can allow us to reconstruct, macroevolutionary events.
At the end of the article, we'll finish by seeing how microevolution can be directly observed, as in the emergence of pesticide-resistant insects.

Anatomy and embryology

Darwin thought of evolution as "descent with modification," a process in which species change and give rise to new species over many generations. He proposed that the evolutionary history of life forms a branching tree with many levels, in which all species can be traced back to an ancient common ancestor.
In this tree model, more closely related groups of species have more recent common ancestors, and each group will tend to share features that were present in its last common ancestor. We can use this idea to "work backwards" and figure out how organisms are related based on their shared features.

Homologous features

If two or more species share a unique physical feature, such as a complex bone structure or a body plan, they may all have inherited this feature from a common ancestor. Physical features shared due to evolutionary history (a common ancestor) are said to be homologous.
To give one classic example, the forelimbs of whales, humans, birds, and dogs look pretty different on the outside. That's because they're adapted to function in different environments. However, if you look at the bone structure of the forelimbs, you'll find that the pattern of bones is very similar across species. It's unlikely that such similar structures would have evolved independently in each species, and more likely that the basic layout of bones was already present in a common ancestor of whales, humans, dogs, and birds.
Some homologous structures can be seen only in embryos. For instance, all vertebrate embryos (including humans) have gill slits and a tail during early development. The developmental patterns of these species become more different later on (which is why your embryonic tail is now your tailbone, and your gill slits have turned into your jaw and inner ear)2^2. Homologous embryonic structures reflect that the developmental programs of vertebrates are variations on a similar plan that existed in their last common ancestor.
Sometimes, organisms have structures that serve no apparent function but are homologous to useful structures in other organisms. These reduced or nonfunctional structures, which appear to be evolutionary “leftovers," are called vestigial structures. Examples of vestigial structures include the tailbone of humans (a vestigial tail), the hind leg bones of whales, and the underdeveloped legs found in some snakes (see picture at right)3^3.

Analogous features

To make things a little more interesting and complicated, not all physical features that look alike are marks of common ancestry. Instead, some physical similarities are analogous: they evolved independently in different organisms because the organisms lived in similar environments or experienced similar selective pressures. This process is called convergent evolution. (To converge means to come together, like two lines meeting at a point.)
For example, two distantly related species that live in the Arctic, the arctic fox and the ptarmigan (a bird), both undergo seasonal changes of color from dark to snowy white. This shared feature doesn’t reflect common ancestry – i.e., it's unlikely that the last common ancestor of the fox and ptarmigan changed color with the seasons4^4. Instead, this feature was favored separately in both species due to similar selective pressures. That is, the genetically determined ability to switch to light coloration in winter helped both foxes and ptarmigans survive and reproduce in a place with snowy winters and sharp-eyed predators.

Determining relationships from similar features

In general, biologists don't draw conclusions about how species are related on the basis of any single feature they think is homologous. Instead, they study a large collection of features (often, both physical features and DNA sequences) and draw conclusions about relatedness based on these features as a group. We will explore this idea further when we examine phylogenetic trees.

Molecular biology

Like structural homologies, similarities between biological molecules can reflect shared evolutionary ancestry. At the most basic level, all living organisms share:
  • The same genetic material (DNA)
  • The same, or highly similar, genetic codes
  • The same basic process of gene expression (transcription and translation)
  • The same molecular building blocks, such as amino acids
These shared features suggest that all living things are descended from a common ancestor, and that this ancestor had DNA as its genetic material, used the genetic code, and expressed its genes by transcription and translation. Present-day organisms all share these features because they were "inherited" from the ancestor (and because any big changes in this basic machinery would have broken the basic functionality of cells).
Although they're great for establishing the common origins of life, features like having DNA or carrying out transcription and translation are not so useful for figuring out how related particular organisms are. If we want to determine which organisms in a group are most closely related, we need to use different types of molecular features, such as the nucleotide sequences of genes.

Homologous genes

Biologists often compare the sequences of related genes found in different species (often called homologous or orthologous genes) to figure out how those species are evolutionarily related to one another.
The basic idea behind this approach is that two species have the "same" gene because they inherited it from a common ancestor. For instance, humans, cows, chickens, and chimpanzees all have a gene that encodes the hormone insulin, because this gene was already present in their last common ancestor.
In general, the more DNA differences in homologous genes (or amino acid differences in the proteins they encode) between two species, the more distantly the species are related. For instance, human and chimpanzee insulin proteins are much more similar (about 98% identical) than human and chicken insulin proteins (about 64% identical), reflecting that humans and chimpanzees are more closely related than humans and chickens5^5.

Biogeography

The geographic distribution of organisms on Earth follows patterns that are best explained by evolution, in combination with the movement of tectonic plates over geological time. For example, broad groupings of organisms that had already evolved before the breakup of the supercontinent Pangaea (about 200200 million years ago) tend to be distributed worldwide. In contrast, broad groupings that evolved after the breakup tend to appear uniquely in smaller regions of Earth. For instance, there are unique groups of plants and animals on northern and southern continents that can be traced to the split of Pangaea into two supercontinents (Laurasia in the north, Gondwana in the south).
The evolution of unique species on islands is another example of how evolution and geography intersect. For instance, most of the mammal species in Australia are marsupials (carry young in a pouch), while most mammal species elsewhere in the world are placental (nourish young through a placenta). Australia’s marsupial species are very diverse and fill a wide range of ecological roles. Because Australia was isolated by water for millions of years, these species were able to evolve without competition from (or exchange with) mammal species elsewhere in the world.
The marsupials of Australia, Darwin's finches in the Galápagos, and many species on the Hawaiian Islands are unique to their island settings, but have distant relationships to ancestral species on mainlands. This combination of features reflects the processes by which island species evolve. They often arise from mainland ancestors – for example, when a landmass breaks off or a few individuals are blown off course during a storm – and diverge (become increasingly different) as they adapt in isolation to the island environment.

Fossil record

Fossils are the preserved remains of previously living organisms or their traces, dating from the distant past. The fossil record is not, alas, complete or unbroken: most organisms never fossilize, and even the organisms that do fossilize are rarely found by humans. Nonetheless, the fossils that humans have collected offer unique insights into evolution over long timescales.
How can the age of fossils be determined? First, fossils are often contained in rocks that build up in layers called strata. The strata provide a sort of timeline, with layers near the top being newer and layers near the bottom being older. Fossils found in different strata at the same site can be ordered by their positions, and "reference" strata with unique features can be used to compare the ages of fossils across locations. In addition, scientists can roughly date fossils using radiometric dating, a process that measures the radioactive decay of certain elements.
Fossils document the existence of now-extinct species, showing that different organisms have lived on Earth during different periods of the planet's history. They can also help scientists reconstruct the evolutionary histories of present-day species. For instance, some of the best-studied fossils are of the horse lineage. Using these fossils, scientists have been able to reconstruct a large, branching "family tree" for horses and their now-extinct relatives6^6. Changes in the lineage leading to modern-day horses, such as the reduction of toed feet to hooves, may reflect adaptation to changes in the environment.

Direct observation of microevolution

In some cases, the evidence for evolution is that we can see it taking place around us! Important modern-day examples of evolution include the emergence of drug-resistant bacteria and pesticide-resistant insects.
For example, in the 1950s, there was a worldwide effort to eradicate malaria by eliminating its carriers (certain types of mosquitos). The pesticide DDT was sprayed broadly in areas where the mosquitoes lived, and at first, the DDT was highly effective at killing the mosquitos. However, over time, the DDT became less and less effective, and more and more mosquitoes survived. This was because the mosquito population evolved resistance to the pesticide.
Emergence of DDT resistance is an example of evolution by natural selection7^7. How would natural selection have worked in this case?
  1. Before DDT was applied, a tiny fraction of mosquitos in the population would have had naturally occurring gene versions (alleles) that made them resistant to DDT. These versions would have appeared through random mutation, or changes in DNA sequence. Without DDT around, the resistant alleles would not have helped mosquitoes survive or reproduce (and might even have been harmful), so they would have remained rare.
  2. When DDT spraying began, most of the mosquitos would have been killed by the pesticide. Which mosquitos would have survived? For the most part, only the rare individuals that happened to have DDT resistance alleles (and thus survived being sprayed with DDT). These surviving mosquitoes would have been able to reproduce and leave offspring.
  3. Over generations, more and more DDT-resistant mosquitoes would have been born into the population. That's because resistant parents would have been consistently more likely to survive and reproduce than non-resistant parents, and would have passed their DDT resistance alleles (and thus, the capacity to survive DDT) on to their offspring. Eventually, the mosquito populations would have bounced back to high numbers, but would have been composed largely of DDT-resistant individuals.
In parts of the world where DDT has been used extensively in the past, many of the mosquitoes are now resistant. DDT can no longer be used to control the mosquito populations (and reduce malaria) in these regions.
Why are mosquito populations able to evolve rapid resistance to DDT? Two important factors are large population size (making it more likely that some individuals in the population will, by random chance, have mutations that provide resistance) and short lifecycle. Bacteria and viruses, which have even larger population sizes and shorter lifecycles, can evolve resistance to drugs very rapidly, as in antibiotic-resistant bacteria and drug-resistant HIV.

Summary

Multiple types of evidence support the theory of evolution:
  • Homologous structures provide evidence for common ancestry, while analogous structures show that similar selective pressures can produce similar adaptations (beneficial features).
  • Similarities and differences among biological molecules (e.g., in the DNA sequence of genes) can be used to determine species' relatedness.
  • Biogeographical patterns provide clues about how species are related to each other.
  • The fossil record, though incomplete, provides information about what species existed at particular times of Earth’s history.
  • Some populations, like those of microbes and some insects, evolve over relatively short time periods and can observed directly.
Loading