If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

遗传连锁与对应

基因连锁的意义。如何确定一对基因的重组频率。

要点:

  • 当基因位于不同的染色体,或位于同一条染色体且距离很远时,它们会自由分配组合,被称为不连锁的。
  • 当基因在位于同一条染色体且距离很近时,他们被称为连锁的。这意味着同一条染色体上在一起的几个等位基因会更经常作为一个整体被遗传。
  • 我们可以通过基因交叉的数据并计算重组率,看出两个基因是否连锁并连锁得有多紧。
  • 通过计算许多基因对的重组率,我们可以制作出连锁图谱来展示基因在染色体上的顺序和相对距离。

介绍

一般来说,生物体的基因比染色体数目多很多。例如,我们人类有大约19,000个基因位于23条染色体(存在两组)上1。类似的,卑微的果蝇——遗传学家最喜欢的实验对象——大概有13,000个基因位于4条染色体(同样存在两组)上2
所以呢?每个基因并不会拥有它们自己的染色体。事实上,差远了!相当多的基因将在每个染色体上排成一排,且其中一些会被挤得很近。
但这会影响基因是如何被遗传的吗?在一些情况下,答案是肯定的。在染色体上离得足够近的基因会倾向于“粘在一起”,且在染色体上的这些基因版本(等位基因)往往会一起被继承。
这个现象被称为基因连锁。当基因是连锁时,涉及这些基因的基因交叉会导致配子和后代类型的比例与我们由孟德尔的自由组合定律推测出的不一样。让我们仔细看看为什么会出现这种情况。

什么是基因连锁?

当基因位于不同的染色体或在同一条染色体距离很远,它们会自由组合。这代表着当基因进入配子时,其收到的一个基因的等位基因不会影响到其接受另一个基因的等位基因。在一个双杂合生物体(AaBb)中,这会导致所有4种可能的配子类型都有相等的,或25%的,几率被产生。
这是为什么呢?在不同染色体上的基因可以自由组合,因为同源染色体对在减数分裂中的随机取向。同源染色体是携带相同基因,不同等位基因的成对染色体。每对同源染色体都有一条染色体来自生物体的母亲,另一条来自父亲。
正如下图所示,每对同源染色体会在减数分裂的第一阶段分离。在这个过程中,“父”与“母”染色体的去向是随机的。当我们研究两个基因时,这导致四种配子有相等的概率被产生。
当基因位于同一条染色体但距离很远时,它们因为交叉重组同源重组)而可以被自由分配。这个过程发生在减数分裂的早期,其中同源染色体随机交换匹配的片段。交叉重组可以在染色体上产生新的等位基因组合,并导致它们进入同一个配子。但基因相距很远时,交叉重组会发生得足够频繁以至于所有的配子都有25%的几率被产生。
当基因在同一条染色体上并距离很近时,交叉重组仍会发生,但其结果(就产生的配子类型而言)是不同的。与自由组合不同,这些基因倾向于在减数分裂中“粘在一起”。即,已经在染色体上在一起的等位基因往往会作为一个整体传递给配子。在这种情况下,这些基因是连锁的。例如,两个连锁基因可能会产生这样的结果:
现在,我们看到出现的配子的类型是十分不均匀的。其中常见的配子类型含有亲本的等位基因配置——即那些在减数分裂前就已在染色体上在一起的等位基因(在从双亲处得到的染色体上)。少见的配子含有重组的等位基因配置,即只有在基因之间发生(交叉)重组时才能形成的。
为什么重组的配子类型很少?根本原因是两个离得近的基因之间通常不发生交叉重组。在减数分裂中的交叉重组或多或少随机发生在整条染色体上,所以在两个基因之间发生交叉重组的概率取决于他们之间的距离。实际上,一段很短的距离对交叉重组事件来讲是一个很小的“目标”。这意味着这类交叉事件会极少发生(与两个离得远的基因之间的事件数量相比)。
由于这种关系,我们可以用两个基因间的重组事件频率(即它们的基因连锁程度)去估计它们在染色体上的相对距离。两个离得近的基因间会有极少的重组事件,且被紧密连锁。两个稍微离远一点的基因间则会有更多的重组事件,且连锁得没那么紧密。在下一节中,我们将看到如何使用遗传交叉的信息来计算两个基因间的重组率

计算重组频率

现在假设我们想看果蝇(Drosophila)里的两个基因是否连锁,以及如果是,它们连锁得有多紧。在我们的例子里,这些基因是3
  • 紫色 基因,其显性的 pr+ 等位基因产生正常的红眼,隐性的 pr 等位基因产生紫眼。
  • 残翅 基因,其显性的 vg+ 等位基因产生正常的长翅,隐性的 vg 等位基因产生短的残翅
如果我们想要测量这些基因间的重组率,我们首先需要构造一个可以供我们观察重组的果蝇。即,我们要一个不仅两个基因都是杂合的果蝇,我们还要知道等位基因是怎么在两条染色体上分布的。所以,我们可以从让下图中的两个杂合果蝇交配开始:
_图片修改自 "Drosophila melanogaster," 由 Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
这个杂交带给我们观察重组需要的东西:一个有 紫色残翅 杂合基因的果蝇,且我们知道每条染色体上都有哪些等位基因。
现在,我们需要“看到”重组事件的发生。最直接的方法是看看杂合果蝇产生的配子里面的染色体上都有哪些等位基因。但实际上,更简单的方法是用这些配子进行交配,看看后代是什么样的!
为此,我们可以用双杂合的果蝇与一个 测交种交配。测交种是一个对所有被研究基因都是隐性纯合的果蝇(在这种情况下,有两个 prvg 等位基因)。使用测交种的目的是确保后代的表型,即外观,完全取决于非测交种双亲提供的等位基因。当我们把一个被研究的果蝇与测交种交配时,我们可以直接从后代的外观“读出”配子的基因型。
_图片修改自 "Drosophila melanogaster," 由 Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
在下图中,我们可以看到一个修改过的旁氏表里展示了双杂合果蝇与测交种交配的结果。双杂合的雌性果蝇可以产生四种类型的卵子,每种都与来自雄性测交种的精子结合。这个测交产生的后代有四种不同的表型(取决于外观)类型,每类都对应着母本的一种配子。
_图片修改自 "Drosophila melanogaster," 由 Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
这四类后代的数量各不相同,这告诉我们 紫色残翅 基因是连锁的。正如我们对于连锁基因所预测的,亲本染色体构型在后代中的比例很高,而重组染色体构型的比例低。为了定量地测量它们的连锁,我们可以计算 紫色残翅 基因的 连锁率 RF ):
重组率 (RF)=重组数后代总数×100%
在我们的情况下,重组的后代类型是红眼残翅和紫眼长翅。我们可以把这些果蝇归为重组类型,因为:首先,从我们所做的一系列测交中,我们知道它们从母亲那里继承的染色体一定从经历过重组事件;其二,它们是出现得较少的类型(与较多的亲本类型相比)。
所以,对于上述杂交,我们可以写出以下等式:
RF=151+1541339+1195+151+154×100%=10.7%
所以 紫色残翅 基因的重组率是10.7%

重组率和连锁图谱

计算重组率的意义是什么?历史上使用重组率的一种方法是去构建连锁图谱,一种基于重组率的染色体图谱。实际上,研究连锁帮助早期的遗传学家确定染色体实际上是线型的,以及每个基因在染色体上都有自己的特定位置。
重组频率并不能直接衡量基因在染色体上的物理距离。然而,它提供了物理距离的估计或近似。因此,我们可以说一对重组频率高的基因可能相距更远,而一对重组频率低的基因可能相距更近。
重要的是,重组率“透支”于50%(对应不连锁或自由组合的基因)。这意味着,50%是我们直接测量基因间重组率时能得到的最大值。因此,如果我们想找出比这更远的基因间图谱距离。我们必须通过添加多对基因的重组频率来做到这一点,逐步“搭建”两个基因间延伸的图谱。
对比重组率也可以用来找出基因在染色体上的次序。例如,假设我们有三个基因, AB,和 C,而我们想知道他们在染色体上的顺序( ABC? ACB? CAB?)如果我们观察三种可能的基因对( AC, AB, BC)之间的重组频率,我们可以推出哪两个基因离得最远,以及哪个基因在中间。特别地,有最大重组率的两个基因必定位于第三个基因的两侧:
基于D. C Bergmann提供的果蝇 vcv,和 ct 基因的重组率4
通过对更多的基因进行这种分析(例:加入基因 DE ,和 F 并找出它们和 AB ,和 C 的关系)我们可以构建整条染色体的连锁图谱。在连锁图谱中,你可能会看到距离用厘摩或图距单位,而不是重组率表示。幸运的是,这些值之间有直接的联系:1%的重组率等价于1 厘摩1 图距单位
图谱上的距离永远和重组率一样吗?有时,两个基因间直接测得的重组率并不是衡量其图谱距离的最准确指标。这是因为,除了我们已在文中讨论过的单交叉重组,双交叉(两个基因间两次分别的交叉重组)也同样可能出现。
如果我们只观察两个基因,双交叉是“隐形”的,因为它们将两个基因放回它们在原来染色体上的初始位置(但中间有一部分被交换了)。例如,如果我们只观察基因 AC 的话,上图中的双交叉不会被检测到,因为这些基因回到了它们的初始构型。
因此,双交叉不被计算在直接测量的重组率中,导致重组事件的实际数量被稍微低估了。这也是为什么在下面的例子里, AC 之间直接测量的重组率略小于 A-BB-C 重组率的和。而包含 B 后, AC 之间的双交叉便可以被发现并涵盖。
通过测量距离紧密的基因对的重组频率并将其加起来,我们可以最小化“隐形”的双交叉,并得到更准确的图谱距离。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

What it means for genes to be linked. How to determine recombination frequency for a pair of genes.

Key points:

  • When genes are found on different chromosomes or far apart on the same chromosome, they assort independently and are said to be unlinked.
  • When genes are close together on the same chromosome, they are said to be linked. That means the alleles, or gene versions, already together on one chromosome will be inherited as a unit more frequently than not.
  • We can see if two genes are linked, and how tightly, by using data from genetic crosses to calculate the recombination frequency.
  • By finding recombination frequencies for many gene pairs, we can make linkage maps that show the order and relative distances of the genes on the chromosome.

Introduction

In general, organisms have a lot more genes than chromosomes. For instance, we humans have roughly 19,19,000000 genes on 2323 chromosomes (present in two sets)1^1. Similarly, the humble fruit fly—a favorite subject of study for geneticists—has around 13,13,000000 genes on 44 chromosomes (also present in two sets)2^2.
The consequence? Each gene isn't going to get its own chromosome. In fact, not even close! Quite a few genes are going to be lined up in a row on each chromosome, and some of them are going to be squished very close together.
Does this affect how genes are inherited? In some cases, the answer is yes. Genes that are sufficiently close together on a chromosome will tend to "stick together," and the versions (alleles) of those genes that are together on a chromosome will tend to be inherited as a pair more often than not.
This phenomenon is called genetic linkage. When genes are linked, genetic crosses involving those genes will lead to ratios of gametes (egg and sperm) and offspring types that are not what we'd predict from Mendel's law of independent assortment. Let's take a closer look at why this is the case.

What is genetic linkage?

When genes are on separate chromosomes, or very far apart on the same chromosomes, they assort independently. That is, when the genes go into gametes, the allele received for one gene doesn't affect the allele received for the other. In a double heterozygous organism (AaBb), this results in the formation of all 44 possible types of gametes with equal, or 25%25\%, frequency.
Why is this the case? Genes on separate chromosomes assort independently because of the random orientation of homologous chromosome pairs during meiosis. Homologous chromosomes are paired chromosomes that carry the same genes, but may have different alleles of those genes. One member of each homologous pair comes from an organism's mom, the other from its dad.
As illustrated in the diagram below, the homologues of each pair separate in the first stage of meiosis. In this process, which side the "dad" and "mom" chromosomes of each pair go to is random. When we are following two genes, this results in four types of gametes that are produced with equal frequency.
When genes are on the same chromosome but very far apart, they assort independently due to crossing over (homologous recombination). This is a process that happens at the very beginning of meiosis, in which homologous chromosomes randomly exchange matching fragments. Crossing over can put new alleles together in combination on the same chromosome, causing them to go into the same gamete. When genes are far apart, crossing over happens often enough that all types of gametes are produced with 25%25\% frequency.
When genes are very close together on the same chromosome, crossing over still occurs, but the outcome (in terms of gamete types produced) is different. Instead of assorting independently, the genes tend to "stick together" during meiosis. That is, the alleles of the genes that are already together on a chromosome will tend to be passed as a unit to gametes. In this case, the genes are linked. For example, two linked genes might behave like this:
Now, we see gamete types that are present in very unequal proportions. The common types of gametes contain parental configurations of alleles—that is, the ones that were already together on the chromosome in the organism before meiosis (i.e, on the chromosome it got from its parents). The rare types of gametes contain recombinant configurations of alleles, that is, ones that can only form if a recombination event (crossover) occurs in between the genes.
Why are the recombinant gamete types rare? The basic reason is that crossovers between two genes that are close together are not very common. Crossovers during meiosis happen at more or less random positions along the chromosome, so the frequency of crossovers between two genes depends on the distance between them. A very short distance is, effectively, a very small "target" for crossover events, meaning that few such events will take place (as compared to the number of events between two further-apart genes).
Thanks to this relationship, we can use the frequency of recombination events between two genes (i.e., their degree of genetic linkage) to estimate their relative distance apart on the chromosome. Two very close-together genes will have very few recombination events and be tightly linked, while two genes that are slightly further apart will have more recombination events and be less tightly linked. In the next section, we'll see how to calculate the recombination frequency between two genes, using information from genetic crosses.

Finding recombination frequency

Let's suppose we are interested in seeing whether two genes in the fruit fly (Drosophila) are linked to each other, and if so, how tightly linked they are. In our example, the genes are3^3:
  • The purple gene, with a dominant pr+^+ allele that specifies normal, red eyes and a recessive pr allele that specifies purple eyes.
  • The vestigial gene, with a dominant vg+^+ allele that specifies normal, long wings and a recessive vg allele that specifies short, "vestigial" wings.
If we want to measure recombination frequency between these genes, we first need to construct a fly in which we can observe recombination. That is, we need to make a fly that is not just heterozygous for both genes, but where we know exactly which genes are together on the chromosome. To do so, we can start by crossing two homozygous flies as shown below:
These terms describe whether the two alleles (versions) of a gene carried by an organism such as a fly are the same or different.
  • Homozygous means that the organism has two of the same allele. For example: a b b fly would be homozygous.
  • Heterozygous means that the organism has two different alleles. For example: a b b+^+ fly would be heterozygous.
_Image modified from "Drosophila melanogaster," by Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
This cross gives us exactly what we need to observe recombination: a fly that's heterozygous for the purple and vestigial genes, in which we know clearly which alleles are together on a single chromosome.
Now, we need a way to "see" recombination events. The most direct approach would be to look into the gametes made by the heterozygous fly and see what alleles they had on their chromosomes. Practically, though, it's much simpler to use those gametes in a cross and see what the offspring look like!
To do so, we can cross a double heterozygous fly with a tester, a fly that's homozygous recessive for all the genes of interest (in this case, the pr and vg alleles). The purpose of using a tester is to ensure that the alleles provided by the non-tester parent fully determine the phenotype, or appearance, of the offspring. When we cross our fly of interest to a tester, we can directly "read" the genotype of each gamete from the physical appearance of the offspring.
_Image modified from "Drosophila melanogaster," by Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
Below, we can see a modified Punnett square showing the results of the cross between our double heterozygous fly and the tester fly. Four different types of eggs are produced by a double heterozygous female fly, each of which combines with a sperm from the male tester fly. Four different phenotypic (appearance-based) classes of offspring are produced in this cross, each corresponding to a particular gamete from the female parent:
_Image modified from "Drosophila melanogaster," by Madboy74 (CC0/public domain)._
The four classes of offspring are not produced in equal numbers, which tells us that the purple and vestigial genes are linked. As we expect for linked genes, the parental chromosome configurations are over-represented in the offspring, while the recombinant chromosome configurations are under-represented. To measure linkage quantitatively, we can calculate the recombination frequency (RF) between the purple and vestigial genes:
Recombination frequency (RF)=RecombinantsTotal offspring×100%\text{Recombination frequency (RF)} = \dfrac{\text {Recombinants}}{\text{Total offspring}} \times 100\%
In our case, the recombinant progeny classes are the red-eyed, vestigial-winged flies and the purple-eyed, long-winged flies. We can identify these flies as the recombinant classes for two reasons: one, we know from the series of crosses we performed that they must have inherited a chromosome from their mother that had undergone a recombination event; and two, they are the underrepresented classes (relative to the overrepresented, parental classes).
So, for the cross above, we can write our equation as follows:
RF=151+1541339+1195+151+154×100%=10.7%\text{RF} = \dfrac{151 + 154}{1339+1195+151+154} \times 100\% = 10.7\%
The recombination frequency between the purple and vestigial genes is 10.7%10.7\%.

Recombination frequency and linkage maps

What is the benefit of calculating recombination frequency? One way that recombination frequencies have been used historically is to build linkage maps, chromosomal maps based on recombination frequencies. In fact, studying linkage helped early geneticists establish that chromosomes were in fact linear, and that each gene had its own specific place on a chromosome.
Recombination frequency is not a direct measure of how physically far apart genes are on chromosomes. However, it provides an estimate or approximation of physical distance. So, we can say that a pair of genes with a larger recombination frequency are likely farther apart, while a pair with a smaller recombination frequency are likely closer together together.
Importantly, recombination frequency "maxes out" at 50%50\% (which corresponds to genes being unlinked, or assorting independently). That is, 50%50\% is the largest recombination frequency we'll ever directly measure between genes. So, if we want to figure out the map distance between genes further apart than this, we must do so by adding the recombination frequencies of multiple pairs of genes, "building up" a map that extends between the two distant genes.
Comparison of recombination frequencies can also be used to figure out the order of genes on a chromosome. For example, let's suppose we have three genes, A, B, and C, and we want to know their order on the chromosome (ABC? ACB? CAB?) If we look at recombination frequencies among all three possible pairs of genes (AC, AB, BC), we can figure out which genes lie furthest apart, and which other gene lies in the middle. Specifically, the pair of genes with the largest recombination frequency must flank the third gene:
Recombination frequencies are based on those for fly genes v, cv, and ct, as given in D. C Bergmann4^4.
Great question! The directly measured recombination frequency for the outermost pair of genes is a slight underestimate because it does not capture double crossovers (cases where there are two recombination events that occur between the genes, thus restoring the original allele configuration, but with a chunk swapped out in the middle). We'll take a closer look at double crossovers further down in the article.
By doing this type of analysis with more and more genes (e.g., adding in genes D, E, and F and figuring out their relationships to A, B, and C) we can build up linkage maps of entire chromosomes. In linkage maps, you may see distances expressed as centimorgans or map units rather than recombination frequencies. Luckily, there's a direct relationship among these values: a 1%1\% recombination frequency is equivalent to 11 centimorgan or 11 map unit.
Is map distance always the same as recombination frequency? Sometimes, the directly measured recombination frequency between two genes is not the most accurate measure of their map distance. That's because, in addition to the single crossovers we've discussed in this article, double crossovers (two separate crossovers between the two genes) can also occur:
Double crossovers are "invisible" if we're only monitoring two genes, in that they put the original two genes back on the same chromosome (but with a swapped-out bit in the middle). For example, the double crossover shown above wouldn't be detectable if we were just looking at genes A and C, since these genes end up back in their original configuration.
Because of this, double crossovers are not counted in the directly measured recombination frequency, resulting a slight underestimate of the actual number of recombination events. This is why, in the example below, the recombination frequency directly measured between A and C is a bit smaller than the sum of the recombination frequencies between A-B and B-C. When B is included, double crossovers between A and C can be detected and accounted for.
By measuring recombination frequencies for closer-together gene pairs and adding them up, we can minimize "invisible" double crossovers and get more accurate map distances.
This article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

Works cited

  1. Jyoti Madhusoodanan, "Human Gene Set Shrinks Again," The Scientist, last modified July 8, 2014, http://www.the-scientist.com/?articles.view/articleNo/40441/title/Human-Gene-Set-Shrinks-Again/.
  2. "Genomic DNA Sequencing Project FAQ," Berkeley Drosophila Genome Project, last modified October 8, 2015, http://www.fruitfly.org/sequence/faq.html.
  3. Dominique C. Bergmann, Genetics Lecture Notes (Stanford: BioSci 41, 2011), 27.
  4. Dominique C. Bergmann, Genetics Lecture Notes (Stanford: BioSci 41, 2011), 34.

References

Bergmann, Dominique C. Genetics Lecture Notes. Stanford: BioSci 41, 2011.
Campbell, Neil A., Jane B. Reece, Lisa A. Urry, Michael L. Cain, Steven A. Wasserman, Peter V. Minorsky, and Robert B. Jackson. "Linked Genes Tend to be Inherited Together Because They Are Located Near Each Other on the Same Chromosome." In Campbell Biology, 292-296. 8th ed. San Francisco: Benjamin Cummings, 2008.
"Genomic DNA Sequencing Project FAQ." Berkeley Drosophila Genome Project. Last modified October 8, 2015. http://www.fruitfly.org/sequence/faq.html#seq-01.
Kimball, John W. "Genetic Linkage and Genetic Maps." Kimball's Biology Pages. Last modified April 24, 2014. http://www.biology-pages.info/L/Linkage.html.
Madhusoodanan, Jyoti. "Human Gene Set Shrinks Again." The Scientist. Last modified July 8, 2014. http://www.the-scientist.com/?articles.view/articleNo/40441/title/Human-Gene-Set-Shrinks-Again/.
OpenStax College, Biology. "Chromosomal Theory and Genetic Linkage." OpenStax CNX. Last modified May 27, 2016. http://cnx.org/contents/GFy_h8cu@10.53:qdHTV9py@8/Chromosomal-Theory-and-Genetic.
Purves, William K., David Sadava, Gordon H. Orians, and H. Craig Heller. "Genes and Chromosomes." In Life: The Science of Biology, 202-205. 7th ed. Sunderland, MA: Sinauer Associates, 2003.
Raven, Peter H., George B. Johnson, Kenneth A. Mason, Jonathan B. Losos, and Susan R. Singer. "Genetic Mapping." In Biology. 244-248. 10th ed., AP ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2014.
Reece, Jane B., Lisa A. Urry, Michael L. Cain, Steven A. Wasserman, Peter V. Minorsky, and Robert B. Jackson. In Campbell Biology, 10th ed. San Francisco: Pearson, 2011.
Loading