If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

Wenn du hinter einem Webfilter bist, stelle sicher, dass die Domänen *. kastatic.org und *. kasandbox.org nicht blockiert sind.

Hauptinhalt

Einführung in die Signalübertragung bei Zellen

Erfahre, wie Zellen miteinander kommunizieren, indem sie verschiedene Arten von Kurz- und Langstrecken-Signalen in unserem Körper verwenden.

Einführung

Denkst du, deine Zellen sind nur einfache Bausteine, unbewusst und statisch wie Ziegelsteine ​​in einer Mauer? Wenn ja, dann denke nochmal nach! Zellen können erkennen, was um sie herum vorgeht, und sie können in Echtzeit auf Signale ihrer Nachbarn und ihrer Umgebung reagieren. In diesem Moment senden und empfangen deine Zellen Millionen von Nachrichten in Form von chemischen Signalmolekülen!
In diesem Artikel werden wir die grundlegenden Prinzipien untersuchen, wie Zellen miteinander kommunizieren. Wir werden uns zuerst ansehen, wie die Signalübertragung von Zelle zu Zelle funktioniert, und dann verschiedene Arten der Signalübertragung über kurze und lange Distanzen betrachten, die in unserem Körper stattfinden.

Überblick über die Signaltransduktion

Zellen kommunizieren typischerweise unter Verwendung chemischer Signale. Diese chemischen Signale, bei denen es sich um Proteine ​​oder andere Moleküle handelt, die von einer Senderzelle erzeugt werden, werden meist von der Zelle abgegeben und in den extrazellulären Raum freigesetzt. Dort können sie – wie eine Flaschenpost – zu benachbarten Zellen treiben.
Senderzelle: Diese Zelle sondert einen Liganden ab.
Zielzelle: Diese Zelle besitzt einen Rezeptor, der den Liganden binden kann. Der Ligand bindet an den Rezeptor und löst eine Signalkaskade innerhalb der Zelle aus, die zu einer Antwort führt.
Nicht-Zielzelle: Diese Zelle besitzt keinen Rezeptor für den Liganden (obwohl sie andere Arten von Rezeptoren haben kann). Die Zelle erkennt den Liganden nicht und reagiert daher nicht darauf.
Nicht alle Zellen können eine bestimmte chemische Nachricht "hören". Um ein Signal zu erkennen (das heißt eine Zielzelle zu sein), muss eine Nachbarzelle den richtigen Rezeptor (Empfänger) für dieses Signal haben. Wenn ein Signalmolekül an seinen Rezeptor bindet, verändert es die Form oder Aktivität des Rezeptors und löst eine Veränderung innerhalb der Zelle aus. Signalmoleküle werden oft als Liganden bezeichnet, ein allgemeiner Begriff für Moleküle, die spezifisch an andere Moleküle (wie Rezeptoren) binden.
Die Nachricht, die von einem Liganden übermittelt wird, wird oft durch eine Kette von chemischen Botenstoffen innerhalb der Zelle weitergeleitet. Letztlich führt sie zu einer Veränderung in der Zelle, wie der Veränderung der Aktivität eines Gens oder gar der Einleitung eines ganzen Prozesses, wie der Zellteilung. Somit wird das ursprüngliche interzelluläre (zwischen zwei Zellen) Signal in ein intrazelluläres (innerhalb der Zelle) Signal umgewandelt, das eine Reaktion auslöst.
Wie das funktioniert, erfährst du in den Artikeln Liganden und Rezeptoren, Signalweiterleitung und zelluläre Antworten.

Formen der Signalübertragung

Die Signalübertragung von Zelle zu Zelle umfasst die Übertragung eines Signals von einer sendenden Zelle zu einer empfangenden Zelle. Nicht alle Sende- und Empfangszellen sind jedoch direkte Nachbarn und nicht alle Zellenpaare tauschen Signale auf die gleiche Weise aus.
Es gibt vier grundlegende Arten chemischer Signalübertragung, die in mehrzelligen Organismen vorkommen: parakrine Signalübertragung, autokrine Signalübertragung, endokrine Signalübertragung und Signalübertragung durch direkten Kontakt. Der Hauptunterschied zwischen den verschiedenen Arten der Signalübertragung ist die Entfernung, die das Signal durch den Organismus zurücklegt, um die Zielzelle zu erreichen.

Parakrine Signalübertragung

Oft kommunizieren Zellen, die nahe beieinander liegen, über die Freisetzung von chemischen Botenstoffen (Liganden, die durch den Raum zwischen den Zellen diffundieren können). Diese Art der Signalübertragung, bei der Zellen über relativ kurze Entfernungen kommunizieren, wird parakrine Signalübertragung genannt.
Die parakrine Signalübertragung ermöglicht es den Zellen, lokal Aktivitäten mit ihren Nachbarn zu koordinieren. Obwohl sie in vielen verschiedenen Geweben und Zusammenhängen verwendet werden, sind parakrine Signale besonders während der Entwicklung wichtig, wenn sie einer Gruppe von Zellen erlauben, einer benachbarten Gruppe von Zellen mitzuteilen, welche zelluläre Identität sie annehmen sollen.

Synaptische Signalübertragung

Ein einzigartiges Beispiel der parakrinen Signalübertragung ist die synaptische Signalübertragung, bei der Nervenzellen Signale übertragen. Dieser Prozess ist für nach der Synapse benannt, der Verbindung zwischen zwei Nervenzellen, an der die Signalübertragung abläuft.
Wenn das sendende Neuron abfeuert, bewegt sich ein elektrischer Impuls schnell durch die Zelle und wandert über eine lange, faserartige Verlängerung, ein sogenanntes Axon. Wenn der Impuls die Synapse erreicht, löst er die Freisetzung von Liganden aus, die Neurotransmitter genannt werden und schnell die kleine Lücke zwischen den Nervenzellen überqueren. Wenn die Neurotransmitter an der Empfängerzelle ankommen, binden sie sich an Rezeptoren und verursachen eine chemische Veränderung innerhalb der Zelle (oft öffnen sie Ionenkanäle und verändern das elektrische Potential über der Membran).
Synaptische Signalübertragung. Ein Neurotransmitter wird aus Vesikeln am Ende des Axons der Senderzelle freigesetzt. Er diffundiert über die kleine Lücke zwischen Sender- und Zielneuronen und bindet an Rezeptoren auf dem Zielneuron.
Abbildung verändert nach "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 2," von OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3,0).
Die Neurotransmitter, die in die chemische Synapse freigesetzt werden, werden schnell abgebaut oder von der Sendezelle wieder aufgenommen. Dadurch wird das System "zurückgesetzt", sodass die Synapse bereit ist, schnell auf das nächste Signal zu reagieren.
Parakrine Signalübertragung: Eine Zelle zielt auf eine benachbarte Zelle ab (eine Zelle, die nicht mit ihr durch Gap Junctions verbunden ist). Das Bild zeigt ein Signalmolekül, das von einer Zelle produziert wird und über eine kurze Distanz zu einer benachbarten Zelle diffundiert.
Autokrine Signalübertragung: Eine Zelle zielt auf sich selbst ab und gibt ein Signal frei, das an Rezeptoren auf ihrer eigenen Oberfläche binden kann.
Abbildung verändert nach "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 1," von OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3,0).

Autokrine Signalübertragung

Bei der autokrinen Signalübertragung sendet eine Zelle sich selbst ein Signal, indem sie einen Liganden freisetzt, der an Rezeptoren auf ihrer eigenen Oberfläche (oder abhängig von der Art des Signals an Rezeptoren innerhalb der Zelle) bindet. Dies mag sich seltsam anhören, aber die autokrine Signalübertragung spielt in vielen Prozessen eine wichtige Rolle.
Zum Beispiel ist die autokrine Signalgebung während der Entwicklung wichtig, um den Zellen zu helfen, ihre korrekte Identität zu übernehmen und zu verstärken. Aus medizinischer Sicht ist die autokrine Signalgebung bei Krebs wichtig, und es wird angenommen, dass sie eine Schlüsselrolle bei der Metastasierung (der Ausbreitung von Krebs von seiner ursprünglichen Stelle in andere Körperteile) spieltstart superscript, 6, end superscript. In vielen Fällen kann ein Signal sowohl autokrine als auch parakrine Effekte haben und an die sendende Zelle sowie andere ähnliche Zellen in der Region binden.

Endokrine Signalübertragung

Wenn Zellen Signale über große Entfernungen übertragen müssen, verwenden sie oft den Blutkreislauf als Verteilungsnetz für die Nachrichten, die sie senden. Bei der endokrinen Signalübertragung über weite Entfernungen werden Signale von spezialisierten Zellen produziert und in den Blutkreislauf abgegeben, der sie zu den Zielzellen in entfernten Teilen des Körpers bringt. Signale, die in einem Teil des Körpers erzeugt werden und durch den Blutkreislauf wandern, um weit entfernte Ziele zu erreichen, werden Hormone genannt.
Beim Menschen gehören die Schilddrüse, der Hypothalamus und die Hypophyse sowie die Keimdrüsen (Hoden und Eierstöcke) und die Bauchspeicheldrüse zu den endokrinen Drüsen, die Hormone abgeben. Jede endokrine Drüse gibt eine oder mehrere Arten von Hormonen ab, von denen viele Hauptregulatoren für Entwicklung und Physiologie sind.
Die Hypophyse setzt beispielsweise das Wachstumshormon (engl. "growth hormone", GH) frei, das das Wachstum insbesondere des Skeletts und des Knorpels fördert. Wie die meisten Hormone beeinflusst GH viele verschiedene Arten von Zellen im ganzen Körper. Knorpelzellen sind jedoch ein Beispiel dafür, wie GH funktioniert: Es bindet an Rezeptoren auf der Oberfläche dieser Zellen und regt sie an, sich zu teilen.start superscript, 7, end superscript
Endokrine Signalübertragung: Eine Zelle wirkt über den Blutkreislauf auf eine entfernte Zelle. Ein Signalmolekül wird von einer Zelle freigesetzt und wandert dann durch den Blutkreislauf, um an Rezeptoren auf einer entfernten Zielzelle an anderer Stelle im Körper zu binden.
Abbildung verändert nach "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 2," von OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3,0).

Signalübertragung durch Zell-Zell-Kontakt

Gap Junctions bei Tieren und Plasmodesmen bei Pflanzen sind winzige Kanäle, die benachbarte Zellen direkt miteinander verbinden. Diese mit Wasser gefüllten Kanäle erlauben es kleinen Signalmolekülen, die interzelluläre Mediatoren genannt werden, zwischen den beiden Zellen zu diffundieren. Kleine Moleküle und Ionen können sich zwischen Zellen bewegen, aber große Moleküle wie Proteine ​​und DNA passen ohne besondere Hilfe nicht durch die Kanäle.
Die Übertragung von Signalmolekülen übermittelt den aktuellen Zustand einer Zelle an ihren Nachbarn. Dies ermöglicht einer Gruppe von Zellen, ihre Antwort auf ein Signal zu koordinieren, das vielleicht nur eine von ihnen empfangen hat. In Pflanzen gibt es zwischen fast allen Zellen Plasmodesmen, die die gesamte Pflanze in ein riesiges Netzwerk verwandeln.
Signalübertragung über Gap Junctions. Eine Zelle wirkt auf eine Nachbarzelle, die über Gap Junctions verbunden ist. Signale wandern von einer Zelle zur anderen, indem sie durch die Gap Junctions wandern.
Abbildung verändert nach "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 1," von OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3,0).
In einer anderen Form der direkten Signalübertragung können zwei Zellen aneinander binden, weil sie komplementäre Proteine ​​auf ihren Oberflächen tragen. Wenn die Proteine ​​aneinander binden, verändert diese Wechselwirkung die Form eines oder beider Proteine ​​und überträgt ein Signal. Diese Art der Signalübertragung ist besonders wichtig im Immunsystem, in dem Immunzellen Oberflächenmarker verwenden, um "körpereigene Zellen" und mit Erregern infizierte Zellen zu erkennen.start superscript, 9, end superscript
_Abbildung verändert nach "Adaptive immune response: Figure 7", von OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3,0)._

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Introduction to cell signaling

AP.BIO:
IST‑3 (EU)
,
IST‑3.A (LO)
,
IST‑3.A.1 (EK)
,
IST‑3.B (LO)
,
IST‑3.B.1 (EK)
Learn how cells communicate with one another using different kinds of short- and long-range signaling in our bodies.

Introduction

Think your cells are just simple building blocks, unconscious and static as bricks in a wall? If so, think again! Cells can detect what's going on around them, and they can respond in real time to cues from their neighbors and environment. At this very moment, your cells are sending and receiving millions of messages in the form of chemical signaling molecules!
In this article, we'll examine the basic principles of how cells communicate with one another. We'll first look at how cell-cell signaling works, then consider different kinds of short- and long-range signaling that happen in our bodies.

Overview of cell signaling

Cells typically communicate using chemical signals. These chemical signals, which are proteins or other molecules produced by a sending cell, are often secreted from the cell and released into the extracellular space. There, they can float – like messages in a bottle – over to neighboring cells.
Sending cell: this cell secretes a ligand.
Target cell: this cell has a receptor that can bind the ligand. The ligand binds to the receptor and triggers a signaling cascade inside the cell, leading to a response.
Nontarget cell: this cell does not have a receptor for the ligand (though it may have other kinds of receptors). The cell does not perceive the ligand and thus does not respond to it.
Not all cells can “hear” a particular chemical message. In order to detect a signal (that is, to be a target cell), a neighbor cell must have the right receptor for that signal. When a signaling molecule binds to its receptor, it alters the shape or activity of the receptor, triggering a change inside of the cell. Signaling molecules are often called ligands, a general term for molecules that bind specifically to other molecules (such as receptors).
The message carried by a ligand is often relayed through a chain of chemical messengers inside the cell. Ultimately, it leads to a change in the cell, such as alteration in the activity of a gene or even the induction of a whole process, such as cell division. Thus, the original intercellular (between-cells) signal is converted into an intracellular (within-cell) signal that triggers a response.
You can learn more about how this works in the articles on ligands and receptors, signal relay, and cellular responses.

Forms of signaling

Cell-cell signaling involves the transmission of a signal from a sending cell to a receiving cell. However, not all sending and receiving cells are next-door neighbors, nor do all cell pairs exchange signals in the same way.
There are four basic categories of chemical signaling found in multicellular organisms: paracrine signaling, autocrine signaling, endocrine signaling, and signaling by direct contact. The main difference between the different categories of signaling is the distance that the signal travels through the organism to reach the target cell.

Paracrine signaling

Often, cells that are near one another communicate through the release of chemical messengers (ligands that can diffuse through the space between the cells). This type of signaling, in which cells communicate over relatively short distances, is known as paracrine signaling.
Paracrine signaling allows cells to locally coordinate activities with their neighbors. Although they're used in many different tissues and contexts, paracrine signals are especially important during development, when they allow one group of cells to tell a neighboring group of cells what cellular identity to take on.

Synaptic signaling

One unique example of paracrine signaling is synaptic signaling, in which nerve cells transmit signals. This process is named for the synapse, the junction between two nerve cells where signal transmission occurs.
When the sending neuron fires, an electrical impulse moves rapidly through the cell, traveling down a long, fiber-like extension called an axon. When the impulse reaches the synapse, it triggers the release of ligands called neurotransmitters, which quickly cross the small gap between the nerve cells. When the neurotransmitters arrive at the receiving cell, they bind to receptors and cause a chemical change inside of the cell (often, opening ion channels and changing the electrical potential across the membrane).
Synaptic signaling. Neurotransmitter is released from vesicles at the end of the axon of the sending cell. It diffuses across the small gap between sending and target neurons and binds to receptors on the target neuron.
Image modified from "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 2," by OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3.0).
The neurotransmitters that are released into the chemical synapse are quickly degraded or taken back up by the sending cell. This "resets" the system so they synapse is prepared to respond quickly to the next signal.
Paracrine signaling: a cell targets a nearby cell (one not attached by gap junctions). The image shows a signaling molecule produced by one cell diffusing a short distance to a neighboring cell.
Autocrine signaling: a cell targets itself, releasing a signal that can bind to receptors on its own surface.
Image modified from "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 1," by OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3.0).

Autocrine signaling

In autocrine signaling, a cell signals to itself, releasing a ligand that binds to receptors on its own surface (or, depending on the type of signal, to receptors inside of the cell). This may seem like an odd thing for a cell to do, but autocrine signaling plays an important role in many processes.
For instance, autocrine signaling is important during development, helping cells take on and reinforce their correct identities. From a medical standpoint, autocrine signaling is important in cancer and is thought to play a key role in metastasis (the spread of cancer from its original site to other parts of the body)start superscript, 6, end superscript. In many cases, a signal may have both autocrine and paracrine effects, binding to the sending cell as well as other similar cells in the area.

Endocrine signaling

When cells need to transmit signals over long distances, they often use the circulatory system as a distribution network for the messages they send. In long-distance endocrine signaling, signals are produced by specialized cells and released into the bloodstream, which carries them to target cells in distant parts of the body. Signals that are produced in one part of the body and travel through the circulation to reach far-away targets are known as hormones.
In humans, endocrine glands that release hormones include the thyroid, the hypothalamus, and the pituitary, as well as the gonads (testes and ovaries) and the pancreas. Each endocrine gland releases one or more types of hormones, many of which are master regulators of development and physiology.
For example, the pituitary releases growth hormone (GH), which promotes growth, particularly of the skeleton and cartilage. Like most hormones, GH affects many different types of cells throughout the body. However, cartilage cells provide one example of how GH functions: it binds to receptors on the surface of these cells and encourages them to dividestart superscript, 7, end superscript.
Endocrine signaling: a cell targets a distant cell through the bloodstream. A signaling molecule is released by one cell, then travels through the bloodstream to bind to receptors on a distant target cell elsewhere in the body.
Image modified from "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 2," by OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3.0).

Signaling through cell-cell contact

Gap junctions in animals and plasmodesmata in plants are tiny channels that directly connect neighboring cells. These water-filled channels allow small signaling molecules, called intracellular mediators, to diffuse between the two cells. Small molecules and ions are able to move between cells, but large molecules like proteins and DNA cannot fit through the channels without special assistance.
The transfer of signaling molecules transmits the current state of one cell to its neighbor. This allows a group of cells to coordinate their response to a signal that only one of them may have received. In plants, there are plasmodesmata between almost all cells, making the entire plant into one giant network.
Signaling across gap junctions. A cell targets a neighboring cell connected via gap junctions. Signals travel from one cell to the other by passing through the gap junctions.
Image modified from "Signaling molecules and cellular receptors: Figure 1," by OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3.0).
In another form of direct signaling, two cells may bind to one another because they carry complementary proteins on their surfaces. When the proteins bind to one another, this interaction changes the shape of one or both proteins, transmitting a signal. This kind of signaling is especially important in the immune system, where immune cells use cell-surface markers to recognize “self” cells (the body's own cells) and cells infected by pathogensstart superscript, 9, end superscript.
_Image modified from "Adaptive immune response: Figure 7," by OpenStax College, Biology (CC BY 3.0)._

Want to join the conversation?

  • piceratops seed style avatar for user puranikedsunil
    Could someone give an example of a
    gaseous plant hormone
    (9 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user bec0056
    Wait, so then whats the feature of a target cell that makes it receptive to a particular signalling molecule? Would this be the shape of the receptor? Was that the second part spoken about in the overview video?
    (11 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user ezhou
    Can a ligand have more than one receptor?
    (7 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user 351420
    How do these types of cell communications apply to the immune system?
    (7 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • winston baby style avatar for user Ivana - Science trainee
      Cell signaling is essential for the functioning of the immune system.


      The first line of defense, the humoral immune system relies on signaling. Leukocytes are being attracted with chemoattractants to come to the place of infection and pass blood barrier via diapedesis.


      Later, when the second line of defense kicks in - B and T lymphocytes, again is influenced by signaling molecules.

      B plasma cells recognize receptors on the surface of the cells of antigens so antibodies can bind to them and neutralize/kill them.

      T killer cells need also receptor recognition in order to work properly and kill the pathogen, not a cell of host.
      (10 votes)
  • blobby green style avatar for user madihahanif823538
    How autocrine signaling is important in cancer, I mean what's the mechanism?
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • marcimus pink style avatar for user SvEhVa
    What happens if a ligand to a paracrine system moves past the binding reception? Does it become part of an endocrine communication? What if the cell is no longer there? For example, a dermis cell sends out a ligand to another dermis cell via paracrine communication but you get a gash (deep cut) in the location of the binding cell at that exact moment in which the gash physically takes out the binding receptor. What happens then?
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user Jacob Masenga
    Is there a distinction between Paracrine signaling and Synaptic signaling?
    Some sources suggest the two are different, kindly clarify for me on that point.
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • winston baby style avatar for user Ivana - Science trainee
      Yes, they are different since synaptic signalling is more precise and specified form of paracrine signalling.


      So to clear out, both are types of paracrine signalling. But paracrine signalling is just broader term, while synaptic is specuiifc for synapses and neuronal tissue.


      Paracrine signalling is any type of signalling where signals bind to receptors and stimulate nearby cells. But in synaptic, those nearby cells involve synapses.
      (5 votes)
  • blobby green style avatar for user saravana23121994
    what is the difference between cell signaling and signal transduction??
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • blobby green style avatar for user Conner Murphy
      Cell signaling is the broad multiple sets of pathways involved in how cells communicate. Signal transduction is one of those pathways. When a cell receives a signal, signal transduction is the multiple sets of processes that happen within the cell for that signal to reach its intended target and to then illicit a response.
      (5 votes)
  • orange juice squid orange style avatar for user Shannon
    I don't understand the last sentence of synaptic signaling. Can someone please explain?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • marcimus pink style avatar for user Nagda, Paree
    Is signaling across gap junctions also known as juxtacrine or is juxtacrine synonymous with synaptic signaling?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • winston baby style avatar for user Ivana - Science trainee
      In juxtacrine interactions, proteins from the inducing cell interact with receptor proteins of adjacent responding cells. The inducer does not diffuse from the cell producing it. There are three types of juxtacrine interactions. In the first type, a protein on one cell binds to its receptor on the adjacent cell.
      In the second type, a receptor on one cell binds to its ligand on the extracellular matrix secreted by another cell. In the third type, the signal is transmitted directly from the cytoplasm of one cell through small conduits into the cytoplasm of an adjacent cell.

      Yes, juxtacrine signalling is direct transmission through gap junctions.

      https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK10072/

      Synaptic signalling has nothing to do with this.
      (1 vote)