If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

热力学第一定律是什么?

了解热力学的第一定律是什么以及如何使用它。

热力学第一定律是什么?

很多发电厂与发动机是通过把热能转化为功来运作的。原因是被加热的气体能在机械的汽轮机或活塞上做功,以使其运动。热力学第一定律在一些系统中应用能量守恒定律,这些系统中热能转换和做功是能量进出系统的主要方式。热力学第一定律规定一个系统的内能变化 ΔU 等于传入系统的净能量值 Q,加上在系统上所做功的净值 W。表达为公式,热力学第一定律是:
ΔU=Q+W
在此 ΔU 是系统的内能 U 的变化值。Q 是传入系统的热能的净值 — 也就是说,Q 是所有进出系统的热能的总数。 W 是在系统上所做功的净值。
所以正热能 Q 将增加系统的能量,以及正功 W 增加系统的能量。这就是为什么第一定律以这样的方式表达, ΔU=Q+W。这就是说你可以通过将一个系统加热或者在系统上做功来增加系统的内能。

这些代号 (ΔU,Q,W) 各代表什么意思?

没有什么例子能够比得上气体(例如空气或者氦气)被装入一个带有紧密可移动活塞的容器中更能反映热力学第一定律了(如下图)。我们会假设活塞可以上下移动,压缩气体或者让气体扩张(但是没有任何气体能离开容器)。
被限制在容器中的气体分子就是一个 "系统"。这些气体分子有动能。
我们系统的内能 U 可以被认为单个气体分子的动能的总和。因此,如果气体的温度 T 增加,气体分子会加速,气体的内能 U 会增加(这意味着 ΔU 是正的)。相似的,如果气体的温度 T 降低,气体分子会减速,气体的内能 U 便会降低(这意味着 ΔU 是负的)。
记住内能 U 和温度 T 在气体分子的速度增加时都会增加是很重要的,因为两者其实就是两种方法用于测量同一个东西;即一个系统中有多少能量。因为温度和内能是成比例的 TU,如果内能增倍,温度也会增倍,同样的,如果温度不变,内能也不会变。
增加气体的内能 U (因此也增加温度)的一种方法是将热能 Q 传入气体。以达到这个目的,我们可以将容器放在本生燃烧器上或者将它浸入沸水中。这个高温环境便会通过容器的壁把热能传到气体中,使气体分子动得更快。如果热能进入气体,Q 会是个正数。反过来说,我们能以从气体中传出热能降低气体的内能。以达到这个目的,我们可以把容器放在冰浴中。如果热能离开气体,Q 会是个负数。热能 Q 的这个符号定义如下图所示。
因为活塞可以动,活塞可以 在气体上做功 ,通过往下移动并压缩气体。往下移动的活塞与气体分子的碰撞使气体分子动得更快,并增加总内能。如果气体被压缩,对气体所做的功 W气体 是正数。反言之,如果气体扩张并将活塞往上推, 功是由气体做的。气体分子与往上移动的活塞的碰撞使气体分子减速,减少气体的内能。如果气体扩张,对气体所做的功 W对气体 是负数。功 W 的这个符号定义如下图所示。
以下的表格总结了以上介绍的三种标量 (ΔU,Q,W) 的符号定义。
ΔU (内能的变化)Q (热能)W (对气体做的功)
+ 如果温度 T 增加+ 如果热能进入气体+ 如果气体被压缩
如果温度 T 降低 如果热能离开气体 如果气体扩张
0 如果温度 T 不变0 如果没有热能被交换0 如果体积不变

热量 Q 与温度 T 是一样的吗?

当然不是。这是考虑热力学第一定律时的一个最常见的误会。热量 Q 代表进入气体的热能(例如通过容器壁的热传导)。另一方面,温度 T 是一个与气体的总内能成比例的数量。因此,Q气体增加的能量,通过热传导,但是 T气体有的能量,在某个瞬间,成比例。进入一个气体的热能有可能是零 (Q=0) 如果容器是绝热的,但是,这并不表示气体的温度是零(因为气体可能一开始就有一些内能了)。
为了强调这一点,考虑以下这个事实: 即使热量 Q 离开气体,该气体的温度 T 也可以增加。这听起来和直觉不同,但是因为功和热能都可以改变一个气体的内能,两者都可以影响气体的温度。例如,如果你将一个活塞放在装满冰水的水池中,热能会把能量传到气体外。但是,如果我们压缩活塞以使在气体上做的功大于离开气体的热能,气体的总内能会增加。

关于热力学第一定律的例子是什么样的?

例子 1:氮气活塞

一个容器有氮气和一个密封的可动活塞,不允许任何气体泄漏。在一个热力学的过程中,200 焦耳 的热量进入气体,而气体在过程中做了 300 焦耳 的功。
气体的内能在以上过程中的变化有多少?
解答:
我们会以热力学第一定律开始。
ΔU=Q+W(以热力学第一定律开始)
ΔU=(+200 J)+W(代入 Q=+200 J)
ΔU=(+200 J)+(300 J)(代入 W=300 J)
ΔU=100 J(算出来了,很棒)
注意:因为气体的内能降低了,温度也必须降低

例子 2:加热氦气

四个完全相同的容器有相等数量的氦气,都以同样的温度开始。装载气体的容器都有密封的可动活塞不允许任何气体泄漏。现对每个气体样品进行了不同的过程,如下所述:
样品 1: 500 J 的热量离开气体且气体做了 300 J 的功
样品 2: 500 J 的热量进入气体且气体做了 300 J 的功
样品 3: 500 J 的热量离开气体且对气体做了 300 J 的功
样品 4: 500 J 的热量进入气体且对气体做了 300 J 的功
以下哪个选项正确地排序气体样品在进行以上过程后的最终温度。
A. T4>T3>T2>T1
B. T1>T3>T2>T4
C. T4>T2>T3>T1
D. T1>T4>T3>T2
解答:
哪个气体有最大的内能增加 ΔU 也会有最大的温度增加 ΔT (因为温度和内能成比例)。为了计算内能如何改变,我们将对每个过程用热力学第一定律。
过程 1:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=800 J
过程 2:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(+500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=+200 J
过程 3:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=200 J
过程 4:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(+500 J)+(+300 J)ΔU=+800 J
气体的最终温度的排序跟内能变化的排序一样(例如,样品 4 有最大的内能增加,因此样品 4 最终会有最高的温度)。
ΔU4>ΔU2>ΔU3>ΔU1T4>T2>T3>T1
因此正确的答案是 C。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

What is the first law of thermodynamics?

Learn what the first law of thermodynamics is and how to use it.

What is the first law of thermodynamics?

Many power plants and engines operate by turning heat energy into work. The reason is that a heated gas can do work on mechanical turbines or pistons, causing them to move. The first law of thermodynamics applies the conservation of energy principle to systems where heat transfer and doing work are the methods of transferring energy into and out of the system. The first law of thermodynamics states that the change in internal energy of a system delta, U equals the net heat transfer into the system Q, plus the net work done on the system W. In equation form, the first law of thermodynamics is,
delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W
We have to be very careful with the first law. About half of textbooks, teachers, and professors write the first law of thermodynamics as delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W and the other half write it as delta, U, equals, Q, minus, W.
Both equations are correct, and they say the same thing. The reason for the difference is that in the formula delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript, we are assuming that W represents the work done on the system, and when we use delta, U, equals, Q, minus, W, start subscript, b, y, space, g, a, s, end subscript we are assuming that W represents the work done by the system.
The two different equations are equivalent since,
W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript, equals, minus, W, start subscript, b, y, space, g, a, s, end subscript
When work is done on a system, the work done adds to the internal energy of the system (hence the plus sign in delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript). When work is done by a system, the work done takes away from the internal energy of the system (hence the minus sign in delta, U, equals, Q, minus, W, start subscript, b, y, space, g, a, s, end subscript).
We're going to use the equation delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript with the plus sign on the work since that's the one used by the College Board AP physics 2 exam. This means that when we write W, we will mean work done on the gas
Here delta, U is the change in internal energy U of the system. Q is the net heat transferred into the system—that is, Q is the sum of all heat transfer into and out of the system. W is the net work done on the system.
So positive heat Q adds energy to the system and positive work W adds energy to the system. This is why the first law takes the form it does, delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W. It simply says that you can add to the internal energy by heating a system, or doing work on the system.

What do each of these terms (delta, U, comma, Q, comma, W) mean?

Nothing quite exemplifies the first law of thermodynamics as well as a gas (like air or helium) trapped in a container with a tightly fitting movable piston (as seen below). We'll assume the piston can move up and down, compressing the gas or allowing the gas to expand (but no gas is allowed to escape the container).
The gas molecules trapped in the container are the "system". Those gas molecules have kinetic energy.
Yes. Gas molecules can also have potential energy. Although we typically neglect the small change in gravitational potential energy due to the small changes in height of the gas in a container, a diatomic molecule like O, start subscript, 2, end subscript can have a potential energy associated with the oxygen atoms vibrating toward and away from each other, somewhat like two masses connected by a spring. This vibration "mode" of energy is typically not significant until temperatures get much higher than room temperature. At room temperature there simply isn't enough energy to get the atoms in a diatomic molecule to vibrate much.
Since most of the energy of a gas at reasonable temperatures will be in the form of kinetic energy, we can think of changes of internal energy as mostly being changes in the kinetic energy of the gas molecules (i.e. larger U means faster moving gas molecules).
The internal energy U of our system can be thought of as the sum of all the kinetic energies of the individual gas molecules. So, if the temperature T of the gas increases, the gas molecules speed up and the internal energy U of the gas increases (which means delta, U is positive). Similarly, if the temperature T of the gas decreases, the gas molecules slow down, and the internal energy U of the gas decreases (which means delta, U is negative).
It's really important to remember that internal energy U and temperature T will both increase when the speeds of the gas molecules increase, since they are really just two ways of measuring the same thing; how much energy is in a system. Since temperature and internal energy are proportional TUT \propto U, if the internal energy doubles the temperature doubles. Similarly, if the temperature does not change, the internal energy does not change.
One way we can increase the internal energy U (and therefore the temperature) of the gas is by transferring heat Q into the gas. We can do this by placing the container over a Bunsen burner or submerging it in boiling water. The high temperature environment would then conduct heat thermally through the walls of the container and into the gas, causing the gas molecules to move faster. If heat enters the gas, Q will be a positive number. Conversely, we can decrease the internal energy of the gas by transferring heat out of the gas. We could do this by placing the container in an ice bath. If heat exits the gas, Q will be a negative number. This sign convention for heat Q is represented in the image below.
Since the piston can move, the piston can do work on the gas by moving downward and compressing the gas. The collision of the downward moving piston with the gas molecules causes the gas molecules to move faster, increasing the total internal energy. If the gas is compressed, the work done on the gas W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript is a positive number. Conversely, if the gas expands and pushes the piston upward, work is done by the gas. The collision of the gas molecules with the receding piston causes the gas molecules to slow down, decreasing the internal energy of the gas. If the gas expands, the work done on the gas W, start subscript, o, n, space, g, a, s, end subscript is a negative number. This sign convention for work W is represented in the image below.
Below is a table that summarizes the signs conventions for all three quantities left parenthesis, delta, U, comma, Q, comma, W, right parenthesis discussed above.
delta, U (change in internal energy)Q (heat)W (work done on gas)
is plus if temperature T increasesis plus if heat enters gasis plus if gas is compressed
is minus if temperature T decreasesis minus if heat exits gasis minus if gas expands
is 0 if temperature T is constantis 0 if no heat exchangedis 0 if volume is constant

Is heat Q the same thing as temperature T, question mark

Absolutely not. This is one of the most common misconceptions when dealing with the first law of thermodynamics. The heat Q represents the heat energy that enters a gas (e.g. thermal conduction through the walls of the container). The temperature T on the other hand, is a number that's proportional to the total internal energy of the gas. So, Q is the energy a gas gains through thermal conduction, but T is proportional to the total amount of energy a gas has at a given moment. The heat that enters a gas might be zero left parenthesis, Q, equals, 0, right parenthesis if the container is thermally insulated, however, that does not mean that the temperature of the gas is zero (since the gas likely had some internal energy to start with).
To drive this point home, consider the fact that the temperature T of a gas can increase even if heat Q leaves the gas. This sounds counterintuitive, but since both work and heat can change the internal energy of a gas, they can both affect the temperature of a gas. For instance, if you place a piston in a sink of ice water, heat will conduct energy out the gas. However, if we compress the piston so that the work done on the gas is greater than the heat energy that leaves the gas, the total internal energy of the gas will increase.

What do solved examples involving the first law of thermodynamics look like?

Example 1: Nitrogen piston

A container has a sample of nitrogen gas and a tightly fitting movable piston that does not allow any of the gas to escape. During a thermodynamics process, 200, space, j, o, u, l, e, s of heat enter the gas, and the gas does 300, space, j, o, u, l, e, s of work in the process.
What was the change in internal energy of the gas during the process described above?
Solution:
We'll start with the first law of thermodynamics.
delta, U, equals, Q, plus, W, space, left parenthesis, s, t, a, r, t, space, w, i, t, h, space, t, h, e, space, f, i, r, s, t, space, l, a, w, space, o, f, space, t, h, e, r, m, o, d, y, n, a, m, i, c, s, right parenthesis
delta, U, equals, left parenthesis, plus, 200, space, J, right parenthesis, plus, W, space, left parenthesis, p, l, u, g, space, i, n, space, Q, equals, plus, 200, space, J, right parenthesis
Our convention is that the heat Q will be a positive number if heat enters the gas, since it increases the internal energy of the gas.
delta, U, equals, left parenthesis, plus, 200, space, J, right parenthesis, plus, left parenthesis, minus, 300, space, J, right parenthesis, space, left parenthesis, p, l, u, g, space, i, n, space, W, equals, minus, 300, space, J, right parenthesis
The convention we use is that the work is a positive number if work is done on the gas, since that adds energy to the gas. But since in this problem work was done by the gas, we plug in a negative number for the work done, since this subtracts energy from the gas.
delta, U, equals, minus, 100, space, J, space, left parenthesis, c, a, l, c, u, l, a, t, e, space, a, n, d, space, c, e, l, e, b, r, a, t, e, right parenthesis
Note: Since the internal energy of the gas decreases, the temperature must decrease as well.

Example 2: Heating helium

Four identical containers have equal amounts of helium gas that all start at the same initial temperature. Containers of gas also have a tightly fitting movable piston that does not allow any of the gas to escape. Each sample of gas is taken through a different process as described below:
Sample 1: 500, space, J of heat exits the gas and the gas does 300, space, J of work
Sample 2: 500, space, J of heat enters the gas and the gas does 300, space, J of work
Sample 3: 500, space, J of heat exits the gas and 300, space, J of work is done on the gas
Sample 4: 500, space, J of heat enters the gas and 300, space, J of work is done on the gas
Which of the following correctly ranks the final temperatures of the samples of gas after they're taken through the processes described above.
A. T, start subscript, 4, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 2, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 1, end subscript
B. T, start subscript, 1, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 2, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 4, end subscript
C. T, start subscript, 4, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 2, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 1, end subscript
D. T, start subscript, 1, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 4, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 2, end subscript
Solution:
Whichever gas has the largest increase in internal energy delta, U will also have the greatest increase in temperature delta, T (since temperature and internal energy are proportional). To determine how the internal energy changes, we'll use the first law of thermodynamics for each process.
Process 1:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=800 J\begin{aligned} \Delta U&=Q+W \\ \Delta U&=(-500\text{ J})+(-300\text{ J}) \\ \Delta U&=-800\text{ J} \end{aligned}
Process 2:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(+500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=+200 J\begin{aligned} \Delta U&=Q+W \\ \Delta U&=(+500\text{ J})+(-300\text{ J}) \\ \Delta U&=+200\text{ J} \end{aligned}
Process 3:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(500 J)+(300 J)ΔU=200 J\begin{aligned} \Delta U&=Q+W \\ \Delta U&=(-500\text{ J})+(300\text{ J}) \\ \Delta U&=-200\text{ J} \end{aligned}
Process 4:
ΔU=Q+WΔU=(+500 J)+(+300 J)ΔU=+800 J\begin{aligned} \Delta U&=Q+W \\ \Delta U&=(+500\text{ J})+(+300\text{ J}) \\ \Delta U&=+800\text{ J} \end{aligned}
The final temperatures of the gas will have the same ranking as the changes in internal energy (i.e. sample 4 has the largest increase in internal energy, so sample 4 will end with the largest temperature).
delta, U, start subscript, 4, end subscript, is greater than, delta, U, start subscript, 2, end subscript, is greater than, delta, U, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, delta, U, start subscript, 1, end subscript and T, start subscript, 4, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 2, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 3, end subscript, is greater than, T, start subscript, 1, end subscript
So the correct answer is C.
This article was partially adapted from the following article:
  1. "The First Law of Thermodynamics" from Openstax College Physics. Download the original article free at http://cnx.org/contents/031da8d3-b525-429c-80cf-6c8ed997733a@9.4:109/The-First-Law-of-Thermodynamic