如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

课程摘要: 短期总供应

本课摘要将带你回顾与短期总供给有关的关键术语和图像. 其中包括粘性工资理论及菜单成本理论, 以及短期总供给冲击的原因.

课程摘要

想想被卡住的东西。它是固定的,如果它在移动的话,它的移动速度也会非常的慢!当事物不能迅速变化或调整时,经济学家通常会称之为“粘性”。比如,如果市场价格或工资不能迅速适应经济变化,它们就被称为粘性价格。当面临像粘性工资和价格等问题时,一个经济体可能无法产生充分的就业产出。
短期总供应曲线(SRAS)使我们能够记录经济体中的所有产业如何对粘性价格作出反应。当价格粘滞时,SRAS曲线将呈上升趋势。
关于SRAS,有两点需要注意。首先,它表示了价格水平与供应产出之间的短期关系。总供给在短期内会上升,因为至少有一种价格是不灵活的。其次,SRAS还告诉我们,通胀和失业之间存在短期权衡。因为更高的通货膨胀导致更多的产出,更高的通货膨胀在短期内也与较低的失业率有关。

关键术语

关键术语定义
短期总供给 (SRAS)一个图形模型,显示一个经济体中总价格水平和总产出供应量之间的正相关关系
短期在宏观经济学中,至少一种生产要素的价格不能改变的时段;例如,如果工资停留在某个水平,我们仍然是在短期内的。
粘性价格或工资(也被称为名义价格刚性)认为某些价格和工资不是完全灵活的,并且不能完全应对通胀或通缩等变化的观点
菜单成本当价格水平发生变化时,公司可能不会改变价格,因为这样做的成本很高;菜单成本被认为是经济中价格“粘性”的原因之一。
SRAS的决定因素任何会改变SRAS曲线的东西,也叫做总供给冲击;如果任何生产要素的价格发生变化,或者企业期望这些价格发生变化,那么SRAS曲线将发生变化。
预期公司认为生产要素的价格会发生什么变化。

要点回顾

SRAS曲线向上倾斜

SRAS曲线显示了价格水平与产出之间的正相关关系。等等,这是否意味着企业通过生产更多的产出来应对通货膨胀?令人惊讶的是,正是如此!
SRAS看起来很像产品市场中的供应曲线,但是一些关键的差异使得SRAS不同于“供应”。在市场模型中,由于个体企业的利润动机,供给呈上升趋势。如果一个公司的价格更高,他们会通过卖出更多来获得更高的利润,所以当价格上涨时,供给量也会增加。SRAS曲线向上倾斜有两个原因:粘性输入价格(如工资)和粘性输出价格(也称为“菜单成本”)。

粘性工资和粘性价格

为什么生产者看到通货膨胀就会想,“让我们生产更多的东西”?毕竟,在通货膨胀期间,生产者难道不应该担心生产更多吗?
让我们从生产者可能在通货膨胀的情况下继续生产的第一个原因开始看:投入价格的粘性。经济学家过去认为所有的价格都是灵活的。这意味着,如果情况发生变化,比如经济衰退,价格将很快适应这种变化。比如,如果出现经济衰退,高失业率将迅速压低工资。较低的工资使得公司更愿意雇佣更多的工人。更多的工人意味着更多的产出,因此灵活的价格(如工资)意味着经济衰退可以自我修复。至少当时是这么想的!
大萧条让我们对所有价格都是灵活的这一观点产生了质疑。毕竟,如果价格调整得这么好,为什么大萧条没有消失呢?经济学家不得不重新思考他们对价格调整有多了解。从长期来看,价格调整可能会奏效,但从短期来看,情况就完全不同了。这就形成了一个叫做“短期名义价格刚性”的概念,这只是经济学家说“价格不会快速调整”的一种方式。
今天,大多数经济学家认为价格是粘性的(至少在短期内)。毕竟,由于劳动合同,工资通常是长期固定的。企业也可能将自己锁定在其他资源的长期购买协议中。如果出现了意料之外的通货膨胀,公司就会从这些长期合同中受益,因为他们用不那么值钱的美元支付工资(和其他资源价格),所以他们支付的实际工资会减少。
“菜单成本”背后的理念是,产出价格也具有粘性。假设你拥有一家名为”粘粘的墨西哥卷“的餐厅。你做生意的众多成本之一就是打印纸质菜单。当通货膨胀发生时,你可以通过提高价格来应对。但要做到这一点,您将不得不承担打印写着更高价格的新菜单的成本。所以也许你不会提高价格。现在,你的墨西哥卷的价格似乎相对便宜,并且你卖了更多的墨西哥卷。总的效果是,你和其它保持价格粘性的公司,在通胀上升时,会卖出更多东西。不提高价格是个好决定!

是什么原因导致SRAS发生了变化?

当价格水平变化,公司生产更多时,我们沿着SRAS曲线移动。但是,任何在每个可能的价格水平上让生产数量改变的改变都会使SRAS曲线产生变化。像这样的事件被称为“冲击”,因为它们没有被预料到。
例如,想象一下劳动力的价格出乎意料地变得更贵。面对这种冲击,SRAS曲线会减小(向左移动)。有趣的是,如果公司希望这种情况发生,这种情况也会发生。如果你预见到它的到来,你要相应地调整你的预期!如果生产要素变得更便宜,或者生产者认为他们会变得更便宜,那么SRAS就会增加。
你可以很容易地记住所有让SRAS发生变化的冲击,SPITE(英文口诀):
对企业的补贴 (Subsidies for businesses)
生产力(Productivity)
输入价格(Input prices)
商业税(Taxes on businesses)
对通货膨胀的预期(Expectations about inflation)

通货膨胀和失业之间的短期权衡

SRAS曲线告诉我们,企业将通过生产更多产品来应对通胀。如果你想生产更多,你就需要雇佣更多的工人,这样失业率就会下降。通过这种方式,SRAS捕捉到了通胀和失业之间的权衡。
当价格水平上升时,生产者愿意生产更多的产品,雇佣更多的工人,因为粘性工资使他们变更划算。另一方面,当价格水平下降时,生产者愿意赚得更少,因为粘性工资会让工人变得不划算,而生产者的销量也会下降。

关键的图表

短期总供给曲线(SRAS)

图1:SRAS的增加
SRAS曲线显示,随着价格水平的上升,你会沿着SRAS移动,一个经济体的实际GDP将会增加。
SRAS的增加表现为向右移动。
记住标记这个模型的重要性:价格水平(PL)在纵轴上,而实际GDP(或rGDP)在横轴上。SRAS表明了价格水平和总产出之间的短期关系是正相关的,因此这条曲线应该总是向上倾斜的。

常见的误解

  • 不要忘记SRAS的变化。任何使生产变得更昂贵或更困难的事情,或任何公司相信这种情况会发生的时候,都将导致SRAS向左移动。另一方面,任何降低生产成本或降低生产难度的因素都会导致SRAS曲线向右移动。
  • 在第一次学习经济学的时候,一些人认为宏观上的不同模型之间没有任何关系,但事实并非如此。通常一个模型与另一个模型密切相关。(剧透警告:我们将看到SRAS曲线所反映的通胀和失业之间的短期关系再次出现!在以后的课程中,您将学习到一个新的模型(称为菲利普斯曲线),它也显示了在短期内的这个逆关系。现在,你只需要知道这个关系的存在,并且我们可以在SRAS曲线中看到它)。

讨论问题

  • 在正确标记的短期总供给曲线图中,显示资本价格上涨的影响。
  • 描述为什么失业率和通货膨胀之间存在短期关系。你能想出为什么长期来看这可能行不通吗?
  • 向从未听说过粘性工资理论的人描述粘性工资理论。你会怎么描述它?

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Lesson summary: Short-run aggregate supply

AP.MACRO:
MOD‑2 (EU)
,
MOD‑2.C (LO)
,
MOD‑2.C.1 (EK)
,
MOD‑2.C.2 (EK)
,
MOD‑2.C.3 (EK)
,
MOD‑2.D (LO)
,
MOD‑2.D.1 (EK)
In this lesson summary review and remind yourself of the key terms and graphs related to short-run aggregate supply. topics include sticky wage theory and menu cost theory, as well as the causes of short-run aggregate supply shocks.

Lesson Summary

Think of something that is stuck. It’s fixed in place and, if it’s moving, it’s doing so really slowly! When things don’t move or adjust quickly, economists will often refer to them as “sticky.” For instance, if market prices or wages don’t adjust quickly to changes in the economy, they are called sticky prices. And when faced with things like sticky wages and prices, an economy might not produce its full employment output.
The short-run aggregate supply curve (SRAS) lets us capture how all of the firms in an economy respond to price stickiness. When prices are sticky, the SRAS curve will slope upward. The SRAS curve shows that a higher price level leads to more output.
There are two important things to note about SRAS. For one, it represents a short-run relationship between price level and output supplied. Aggregate supply slopes up in the short-run because at least one price is inflexible. Second, SRAS also tells us there is a short-run tradeoff between inflation and unemployment. Because higher inflation leads to more output, higher inflation is also associated with lower unemployment in the short run.

Key Terms

Key termDefinition
short-run aggregate supply (SRAS)a graphical model that shows the positive relationship between the aggregate price level and amount of aggregate output supplied in an economy
short-runin macroeconomics, a period in which the price of at least one factor of production cannot change; for example, if wages are stuck at a certain level, we would still be in the short-run.
sticky prices or wages(also called nominal price rigidity) the idea that some prices and wages are not fully flexible and cannot completely respond to changes such as inflation or deflation
menu coststhe idea that firms might not change their prices when there is a change in the price level because it is costly to do so; menu costs have been proposed as one of the reasons that prices are “sticky” in an economy.
determinants of SRASanything that will shift the SRAS curve, also called an aggregate supply shock; if the prices of any of the factors of production change, or firms expect those prices to change, then the SRAS curve will shift.
expectationswhat firms believe will happen to the prices of the factors of production

Key Takeaways

The SRAS curve is upward sloping

The SRAS curve shows the positive relationship between the price level and output. Wait a minute, does that mean that firms respond to inflation by producing more output? Surprisingly, it does!
SRAS might look a lot like a supply curve in a product market, but some key differences make SRAS different than "supply." In the market model, supply slopes up because of the profit motive of individual firms. If a firm gets a higher price, they will make a higher profit by selling more, so quantity supplied increases when price increases. The SRAS curve slopes up for two reasons: sticky input prices (like wages) and sticky output prices (also called “menu costs”).

Sticky wages and sticky prices

Why would producers see inflation and think, “let’s all make more stuff”? After all, during inflation, shouldn’t producers be scared to produce more?
Let’s start with the first reason producers might continue despite inflation: sticky input prices. Economists used to believe that all prices were flexible. That means that if conditions change, like a recession happens, prices will quickly adapt to that change. For example, if there is a recession, high unemployment will quickly drive down wages. Lower wages make firms more willing to hire more workers. More workers mean more output, so flexible prices (like wages) mean that recessions should mostly fix themselves. Or so the thinking was at the time!
The Great Depression made us question the idea that all prices are flexible. After all, if prices adjust so well, why wasn’t the depression going away? Economists had to rethink what they thought they knew about how well prices adjust. Price adjustment might work well in the long run, but the short run is a different story altogether. This developed into an idea called “short-run nominal price rigidity,” which is just an economist’s way of saying “prices don’t adjust quickly.”
Today, most economists believe that prices are sticky (at least in the short run). After all, wages are usually set for long time periods because of labor contracts. Businesses might lock themselves into long-term purchase agreements for other resources too. If there is unanticipated inflation, firms benefit from those long-term contracts because they are paying wages (and other resource prices) using dollars that aren’t worth as much, so the real wages they are paying decrease.
The idea behind “menu costs” is that output prices are sticky too. Suppose you own a restaurant called Sticky’s Tacoland. One of your many costs of being in business is printing paper menus. When inflation occurs, you could respond by raising prices. But to do that, you would have to incur the cost of printing new menus that reflect the higher prices. So maybe you don’t raise your prices. Now, your taco prices seem relatively cheaper, and you sell more tacos. The aggregate effect of this is that you, and every other firm that kept their prices sticky, will sell more stuff when inflation goes up. Good decision not to raise your prices!

What causes shifts in SRAS?

When the price level changes and firms produce more in response to that, we move along the SRAS curve. But, any change that makes production different at every possible price level will shift the SRAS curve. Events like these are called “shocks” because they aren’t anticipated.
For example, imagine the price of labor unexpectedly gets more expensive. In response to that shock, the SRAS curve decreases (shifts to the left). Interestingly, this happens if firms expect that this will happen too. If you see it coming, you adjust your expectations accordingly! If factors of production get cheaper, or producers think they will get cheaper, then SRAS increases.
You can easily remember all of the shocks that shift SRAS by thinking of SPITE:
Subsidies for businesses
Productivity
Input prices
Taxes on businesses
Expectations about inflation

The short-run tradeoff between inflation and unemployment

The SRAS curve tells us that firms will respond to inflation by producing more. If you want to produce more, you will need to hire more workers, so the unemployment rate decreases. In this way, the SRAS captures the tradeoff between inflation and unemployment.
When the price level increases, producers are willing to make more and hire more workers because sticky wages make them a better bargain. On the other hand, when the price level decreases, producers are willing to make less because sticky wages make workers not as good of a deal and producers sell less.

Key graphs

The Short-Run Aggregate Supply Curve (SRAS)

Figure 1: An increase in SRAS
The SRAS curve shows that as the price level increases and you move along the SRAS, the amount of real GDP that will be produced in an economy increases.
An increase in the SRAS is shown as a shift to the right.
Remember the importance of labeling this model: price level (P, L) is on the vertical axis, and real GDP (or r, G, D, P) is on the horizontal axis. SRAS shows that the short-run relationship between price level and aggregate output is positive, so this should always be an upward sloping curve.

Common misperceptions

  • Don’t forget what shifts SRAS. Anything that makes production more expensive or more difficult, or any belief by firms that this will happen, will cause the SRAS to shift to the left. On the other hand, anything that makes production cheaper or easier to produce will cause the SRAS curve to shift to the right.
  • When learning economics for the first time, some learners think that the different models in macro have nothing to do with each other, but this is not the case. Often one model is closely related to another model. (Spoiler Alert: We will see the short-run relationship between the inflation and unemployment that captured by the SRAS curve come up again! Much later in the course, you will learn about a new model (called the Phillips Curve) that also shows this inverse relationship in the short run. For now, though, you just need to know that this relationship exists, and we can see it in the SRAS curve.)

Discussion Questions

  • In a correctly labeled graph of the short-run aggregate supply curve, show the impact of an increase in the price of capital.
  • Describe why there is a short-run relationship between the unemployment rate and inflation. Can you think of a reason why this might not hold up in the long run?
  • Describe sticky wage theory to someone who has never heard of it before. How would you describe it?

Want to join the conversation?