如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

加密 vs 编码

首先,确保我们理解 密码代码 的区别。 实际上,你可以现在就问某人同样的问题。 当你问的时候,我会在这里等一下,欣赏这个洛伦茨 密码机器...
他们很难说出答案吗? 对于大多数人来说,就好像你问他们混合和融合的区别。 是个棘手的问题。 幸运的是,我们有一个关于摩斯代码的视频,它介绍了 代码簿 的想法——看看吧! 在视频中,我们看到电报操作员如何通过将整个句子映射到较短的单词来节省时间。
在这里,会计(accountant)一词的代码是“立刻来。不要拖延(Come at once. Do not delay.)”。 代码是从一些有意义的单元(例如单词,句子或短语)到其他东西的映射——通常是一组较短的符号。 例如,我们可以编写一个代码,其中单词“apple”(苹果)被写为67。 通常,代码是节省时间的方式,当在世界各地发送消息时,时间就是金钱。
一个 代码簿 只是这些映射的列表。 自从我们 开始写作以来,代码簿一直存在。 请记住,一种代码需要一个代码簿
好的,那么 密码 呢?
最重要的是,密码不涉及含义。 相反,它们是称为算法的机械操作,在单个或小块字母上执行。 例如,在凯撒密码中,我们看到了字母表中的每个字母如何映射到不同的字母。 例如,当我们使用四个字母移位时,A→D,B→E和C→F。 这种密码被称为 移位密码
使用下面的交互式工具查看其工作原理:
在这种情况下,我们不需要代码簿。 相反,我们遵循一系列指令——也称为 算法——我们将每个字母移动一定长度。 该算法需要一条称为密钥的共享信息。 在上面A→D的例子中,密钥是四(移动到四位)。 双方都需要此共享密钥来 加密 消息:HELLO→KHOOR,以及 解密 消息:KHOOR→HELLO。
回到我们的问题:代码和密码之间有什么区别? 代码通常使用 语义,而密码使用 语法 符号。 代码被存储为代码簿中的映射,而密码根据算法变换各个符号。
现在,让我们在下一个练习中回顾凯撒密码中涉及的机制。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

To begin, let’s make sure we understand the difference between a cipher and a code. Actually, I dare you to get up and go ask someone the same question right now. While you do that I’ll wait here and admire this Lorenz cipher machine ...


Did they stumble around for an answer? For most people, it’s as if you asked them what the difference is between mix and blend. Tough question. Luckily, we have a video on Morse Code which introduces the idea of a codebookcheck it out! In the video we see how telegraph operators could save time by mapping entire sentences to shorter words.


Here, the word accountant is code for "Come at once. Do not delay." A code is a mapping from some meaningful unitsuch as a word, sentence, or phraseinto something elseusually a shorter group of symbols. For example, we could make up a code where the word apple is written as 67. Generally codes are ways of saving time, and when sending messages around the world, time is money.

A codebook is simply a list of these mappings. Codebooks have been around ever since we began writing. Just remember, a code requires a codebook.

Okay, so what about ciphers?

Most importantly, ciphers do not involve meaning. Instead they are mechanical operations, known as algorithms, that are performed on individual or small chunks of letters. For example, in the Caesar Cipher we saw how each letter in the alphabet was mapped to a different letter: A=D,  B=E, and C=F, according to a specific shift, in this case three. This kind of cipher is known as a shift cipher. Review how this works using the interactive tool below:



In this case, we don’t need a codebook. Instead, we follow a series of instructions—shift each letter by a certain numberalso known as an algorithm. The algorithm requires one piece of shared information known as a key. In the above example the key is 3. This shared key is required for two parties to encrypt, HELLO = KHOOR, and decrypt, KHOOR=HELLO, messages.

So back to our question: What is the difference between codes and ciphers? Codes generally operate on semantics, meaning, while ciphers operate on syntaxsymbols. A code is stored as a mapping in a codebook, while ciphers transform individual symbols according to an algorithm. 

Now, let’s review the mechanics involved in the Caesar Cipher in the next exercise.