Congratulations to the Winners of the 2016 Breakthrough Junior Challenge

2016-12-08 17:36:55 GMT

Congratulations to Deanna See, 17, and Antonella Masini, 18, winners of the 2016 Breakthrough Junior Challenge. Deanna and Antonella submitted short videos about big ideas to win the international science and math competition. We love their videos and hope you do too!

Superbugs! And our race against resistance

Deanna See, 17, Singapore

Quantum Entanglement

Antonella Masini, 18, Peru

The Breakthrough Prize honored Deanna and Antonella Sunday at a gala ceremony in Silicon Valley. Each student receives a $250,000 post-secondary scholarship. The science teachers who inspired the winning students receive $50,000. The winners’ schools receive a state-of-the-art science lab valued at $100,000.

The Breakthrough Junior Challenge is an annual global competition for students to inspire creative thinking about science and mathematics. Students ages 13 to 18 from countries across the globe are invited to create and submit original videos (five minutes in length maximum) that bring to life a concept or theory in the life sciences, physics or mathematics. This year 6,000 students from 146 countries entered the competition. The submissions are judged on the student’s ability to communicate complex ideas in engaging, illuminating, and imaginative ways. The Challenge is organized by the Breakthrough Prize Foundation. Khan Academy is a proud partner and helped judge the submissions.

The Breakthrough Prize – Silicon Valley’s premiere science and math prize – honors paradigm-shifting research and discovery in the fields of fundamental physics, life sciences and mathematics. This year, across all categories, the Breakthrough Prize Foundation awards $25 million to honor both outstanding career achievement and emerging talent.

A one-hour, edited version of the gala ceremony honoring winners airs on FOX Sunday, Dec. 18, at 7:00-8:00 PM ET/PT and globally on National Geographic in 171 countries and 45 languages.

The Breakthrough Prizes were founded by Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan, and Yuri and Julia Milner. Selection committees composed of previous Breakthrough Prize laureates choose winners. Additional information on the Breakthrough Prizes is available at