If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Official LSAT Practice frequently asked questions

Are all of the questions in Official LSAT Prep developed by the LSAC and from actual past exams?

Yes! All practice questions (including the full exams and timed mini-sections) are from past, official LSAT exams developed by the LSAC.

I’m seeing questions repeat while I practice—what do I do?

We’ll continue to work with the LSAC over time to add more content, so you see fewer repeat questions within a skill. In the meantime, you can select a different difficulty level using the dropdown menu next to the “Start task” button to access new questions.

How can I review my past exams and diagnostics?

All past work is reviewable at any time! Scroll up on the left side menu in the Practice tab to locate past tasks. When you’ve found the relevant task to review, click on it, and then select review in the right menu to go back to it!

How can I skip between questions in a full exam?

At the top of the screen in a full exam, you’ll see an option to “See all questions”. Select that to drop down a menu of the questions in the section - clicking on any of those questions will jump you straight to that question!

Can I print and/or import tests I’ve taken in the past?

Unfortunately, there is currently not a way to print tests and take them on paper, or import tests you may have done previously.

What practice tests do the questions come from?

While all questions are from LSAC, and are official test questions, not all of them are necessarily from a published prep test. We also have questions sets that span multiple practice tests.

I’m not ready to take a practice test, but that’s the next thing on my plan. What should I do?

If you still want to practice, but don’t want to take the practice exam yet, you can add more practice by selecting the plus icon (+) in your left hand menu.

How does the system determine what I should work on?

The system will always order your top recommended skills from top to bottom on the practice tab. The recommendations are based on your past performance in the task and how frequently the skill shows up on the exam. The recommendations are updated after every single practice task you do!

What is the difference between the diagnostic, the practice sets, the full exams, and the timed mini sections?

There are four types of tasks you will see on Official LSAT Prep:
Diagnostics: These may taken once at the beginning of your practice to initialize the system. You can choose to take a full exam, or a series of shorter tests. We encourage you to answer each question to the best of your ability to give the system a good understanding of where your strengths and weaknesses are. You can pause these at any time, and come back to them with all of your progress saved. Diagnostics do not cut you off when you’ve reached the allocated time for the section, although you can choose to time yourself if you’d like! You will be able to review what you got correct or incorrect and why after you’ve submitted the diagnostic.
Practice sets: Practice sets are short tasks based on a specific topic you might see within the LSAT. If you’re ever stuck or need additional guidance in how to approach these questions, you can access help material relevant to that question directly below the question. You will also see whether you got the answer correct or incorrect after each question, so you can take the time to review the materials and learn that concept.
Timed mini-sections: Timed mini-sections are typically half-section long, timed practice sets. They may cover a range of topics in the case of Logical Reasoning, and warn you when you’ve run out of time. At that point, you have the option of trying to finish the questions untimed before receiving the answers.
Practice tests: Practice tests are meant to simulate the actual experience of taking the test on Test Day. Practice tests do not let you go over time, though you can pause them and come back to them later.
On Test Day, you will see four sections: three scored sections and one unscored section. You won't know which section is unscored, and you'll need to complete all four sections in order to receive a score.
Because our practice LSATs were originally administered before the recent change from five sections to four sections, each of them contains four scored sections, including two Logical Reasoning sections. Your performance on both will contribute to your scaled score. Remember that on Test Day, though, your unscored section might be Reading Comprehension, Analytical reasoning, or Logical Reasoning. Just do your best on all four sections!

Want to join the conversation?