If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

质心是什么?

学习质心的定义,并学习如何计算它。

什么是质量中心?

质量中心(简称质心) 是相对于物体或者物体系统定义的位置。它是一个系统的所有部分根据质量进行加权的平均位置。
对于密度均匀的简单刚性物体,质心位于其几何中心。例如,均匀圆盘的质心位于其正中心。有时质心不在物体上。例如一个圆环的质心位于其中心,而其中心不在圆环上。
图例 1: 一些简单几何形状的质量中心(红点处)。
对于更复杂的形状,我们需要一个更普遍的质心的数学定义:它是 一个唯一位置,使得系统中所有部分的加权位置矢量总和为零。

质心有什么作用?

物体或系统的质心的有趣之处在于,物体上任何均匀力等效作用于这一点。此特性使得我们可以很容易地解决包含不规则形状的物体和复杂系统的运动的力学问题。
为了计算简便,我们可以假设一个奇怪形状的物体的质量全部集中在一个位于质心的极小的物体上。我们称这个虚构的物体为 质点
如果我们在一个刚性物体的质心推动该物体,那么这个物体将会像质点一样移动。无论其实际形状如何,它都不会绕任何轴旋转。如果物体在其它一点受到不平衡的力,那么它就会开始围绕质心旋转。

我们如何寻找任何物体或系统的质心?

一般来说,质心可以通过对指向系统中每个物体的位置矢量进行 矢量相加 来找出。一个可以让我们避免进行矢量运算的小技巧是分别找出质心在每个坐标轴上的位置。 即:
对于质心的 x 轴位置:
x=m1x1+m2x2+m3x3+m1+m2+m3+
同样的,y 轴位置:
y=m1y1+m2y2+m3y3+m1+m2+m3+
合在一起,它们提供了系统质心的完整坐标 (x,y) 。例如,考虑图二所示的三个密度均匀的扁平物体组成的系统。
图例 2: 一个由三个扁平物体组成的系统。
质心在 x 方向上的位置是:
14+16+2121+1+2=8.5
y 方向:
15+112+28.51+1+2=8.5
复杂的物体通常可以被表示为质量均匀的简单形状的集合。然后,每个组成形状可以被表示为位于其几何中心的质点。物体的中空部分甚至可以通过负质量来表示。
考虑图例 3a 所示的不规则形状的扁平均匀密度物体。
图例 3: (a) 一个不规则形状的扁平物体。(b) 物体被划分为简单的形状。
我们可以将这个物体分成四个矩形和一个圆形,如图例三所示。在这里我们只关心质心在图中的相对位置。这个材料具有均匀的密度,因此质量与面积成正比。为了简单起见,我们可以用“单位正方形”表示每个部分的质量,如图所示。
x 方向中,质量中心位于:
1610+524+127.5+1610+(7.1)4.516+52+12+167.1=6.6
注意,圆形中空部分的面积是 π1.527.1。它需要用负质量表示。
y 方向:
1613+527.5+127.0+162+(7.1)7.516+52+12+167.1=7.4

什么是重心?

重心 是重力等效作用于物体或系统的点。在大多数力学问题中重力场被认为是均匀的,因此重心与质心的位置完全相同。术语重心和质心往往可以互换使用,因为他们通常处在同一位置。

如何确定一个真实物体的质心位置?

有几个有用的实验可以用来寻找刚性物体的质心。
桌沿法(图例4)可用于寻找至少有一个平面的小型刚性物体的质心。在不转动物体的情况下将物体缓缓推向边缘。当物体悬空即将坠落时,在物体上画出与桌子边缘接触的线。将物体旋转90°,然后重复此过程。两条线的交点就是物体质心在桌子所在平面的质心位置。
图例 4: 用桌沿法寻找形状不规则物体的质心。
铅锤法(图例5)对于可以自由悬挂在一点的物体很有用。一个穿了线挂在墙上的不规则纸板就是一个很好的例子。纸板可以在重力作用下绕线孔自由旋转直到达到一个稳定的姿态。在针孔处用线悬挂一个重物(铅锤),在纸板上标记线的位置。扎一个新的针孔重新悬挂纸板并画线。然后,质心就位于两条线的交点下方。
图例 5:用铅锤法寻找形状不规则物体的质心。

质心与倾覆稳定性

质心的一个重要应用是确定物体在倾覆之前的最大倾斜角度。
图例6a 显示了一个卡车的横截面。卡车糟糕地在左侧装载了过多重物。卡车的质心用红点表示。从质心向下延伸的红线代表重力,重力全部沿这条线作用。
如果卡车倾斜的角度是 θt (如 图例6b 所示) ,那么卡车的所有重量都将由左车轮的最左边缘支撑。如果角度进一步增加。那么支撑点将移动到任何路面接触点之外,到时卡车一定会翻倒。此时角度 θt倾覆极限.
图例 6: 被错误装载的卡车的倾覆极限。
练习 1: 求出图7所示的均匀密度物体向右倾斜的倾覆极限。
图例 7: 练习1的翻倒物体。

质心参考系

物理学中 参考系 一词指的是被用于计算的坐标系。参考系有一组轴和一个原点(零点)。在大多数问题中选取相对实验室静止的坐标系,并且原点选取最方便计算的点(可以任意选取)。这就是所谓的 实验室参考系.。在经典物理学中。也可以使用其他任何参考系,并且物理学定律也理应成立。这包括选取相对于实验室运动的参考系。
质点的一个非常有用的性质是它可以当作一个系统的运动中的参考系的原点。这个参考系有时被称为 质心参考系(COM 系)。质心参考系在解决碰撞问题中特别有用。事实证明,在质心参考系中测量的的系统的 动量 永远是零。这意味着在质心参考系中的计算通常会比实验室参考系的计算简便得多。让我们来考虑一个简单的例子:
设想两个小车在轨道上同向运行,如 图例9 所示。左侧的小车运行得更快,所以两个小车不可避免地会发生碰撞。假设碰撞是弹性的。碰撞后小车的速度分别是多少?
图例 9:两个运动的小车即将碰撞:在质心参考系中分析碰撞将非常简单。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Learn the definition of center of mass and learn how to calculate it.

What is the center of mass?

The center of mass is a position defined relative to an object or system of objects. It is the average position of all the parts of the system, weighted according to their masses.
For simple rigid objects with uniform density, the center of mass is located at the centroid. For example, the center of mass of a uniform disc shape would be at its center. Sometimes the center of mass doesn't fall anywhere on the object. The center of mass of a ring for example is located at its center, where there isn't any material.
Figure 1: Center of mass for some simple geometric shapes (red dots).
Figure 1: Center of mass for some simple geometric shapes (red dots).
For more complicated shapes, we need a more general mathematical definition of the center of mass : it is the unique position at which the weighted position vectors of all the parts of a system sum up to zero.
A weighted position vector is a vector which points from the origin to an object and has magnitude mm, where mm is the mass of the object. I.e. (mr)(m\cdot \mathbf{{r}}) where r\mathbf{{r}} is a position vector pointing from the origin to the object.
For a system of nn objects, the center of mass is the point where
i=1nmiri=0\sum_{i=1}^n m_i \mathbf{{r}}_i = 0
If the origin we have chosen for our vectors happens to already be at the center of mass, then the sum will come to zero. Otherwise, the vector sum S\mathbf{S} will point us to the center of mass. Here MM is the total mass of the system.
S=1Mi=1nmiri\mathbf{S} = \frac{1}{M} \sum_{i=1}^n m_i \mathbf{{r}}_i

What is useful about the center of mass?

The interesting thing about the center of mass of an object or system is that it is the point where any uniform force on the object acts. This is useful because it makes it easy to solve mechanics problems where we have to describe the motion of oddly-shaped objects and complicated systems.
For the purposes of calculation, we can treat an oddly-shaped object as if all its mass is concentrated in a tiny object located at the center of mass. We sometimes call this imaginary object a point mass.
If we push on a rigid object at its center of mass, then the object will always move as if it is a point mass. It will not rotate about any axis, regardless of its actual shape. If the object is subjected to an unbalanced force at some other point, then it will begin rotating about the center of mass.

How can we find the center of mass of any object or system?

In general the center of mass can be found by vector addition of the weighted position vectors which point to the center of mass of each object in a system. One quick technique which lets us avoid the use of vector arithmetic is finding the center of mass separately for components along each axis. I.e:
For object positions along the x axis:
COMx=m1x1+m2x2+m3x3+m1+m2+m3+\mathrm{COM}_x = \frac{m_1 \cdot x_1 + m_2 \cdot x_2 + m_3 \cdot x_3 + \ldots}{m_1 + m_2 + m_3 + \ldots}
And similarly for the y axis:
COMy=m1y1+m2y2+m3y3+m1+m2+m3+\mathrm{COM}_y = \frac{m_1 \cdot y_1 + m_2 \cdot y_2 + m_3 \cdot y_3 + \ldots}{m_1 + m_2 + m_3 + \ldots}
Together, these give the full coordinates (COMx,COMy)(\mathrm{COM}_x, \mathrm{COM}_y) of the center of mass of the system. For example, consider the system of three flat objects of uniform density shown in Figure 2.
Figure 2: A system of three flat objects.
Figure 2: A system of three flat objects.
The location of the center of mass in the xx direction is:
14+16+2121+1+2=8.5\frac{1\cdot 4 + 1\cdot 6 + 2\cdot 12}{1+1+2} = 8.5
and in the yy direction:
15+112+28.51+1+2=8.5\frac{1\cdot 5 + 1\cdot 12 + 2\cdot 8.5}{1+1+2} = 8.5
Complex objects can often be represented as collections of simple shapes, each with uniform mass. We can then represent each component shape as a point mass located at the centroid. Voids within objects can even be accounted for by representing them as shapes with negative mass.
Consider the irregularly-shaped flat, uniform density object shown in Figure 3a.
Figure 3: (a) An irregularly shaped flat object. (b) Object divided into simple shapes.
Figure 3: (a) An irregularly shaped flat object. (b) Object divided into simple shapes.
We can break this object up into four rectangles and one circle as shown in figure 3b. Here we are only interested in the position of the center of mass in the relative units shown in the figure. The material has uniform density so the mass is proportional to the area. For simplicity we can represent the mass of each section in units of 'squares' as shown in the diagram.
In the xx direction, the center of mass is at:
Note that the area of the circular void is π1.527.1\pi \cdot 1.5^2 \simeq 7.1. This is accounted for as a negative mass.
In the yy direction:

What is the center of gravity?

The center of gravity is the point through which the force of gravity acts on an object or system. In most mechanics problems the gravitational field is assumed to be uniform. The center of gravity is then in exactly the same position as the center of mass. The terms center of gravity and center of mass tend to often be used interchangeably since they are often at the same location.

What about determining the center of mass for a real object?

There are a couple of useful experimental tests that can be done to determine the center of mass of rigid physical objects.
The table edge method (Figure 4) can be used to find the center of mass of small rigid objects with at least one flat side. The object is pushed slowly without rotating along the surface of a table towards an edge. At the point where the object is just about to fall, a line is drawn parallel to the table edge. The procedure is repeated with the object rotated 90°. The intersection point of the two lines gives the location of the center of mass in the plane of the table.
Figure 4: Table edge method used for finding the center of mass of an irregular object.
Figure 4: Table edge method used for finding the center of mass of an irregular object.
The plumb line method (Figure 5) is also useful for objects which can be suspended freely about a point of rotation. An irregularly shaped piece of cardboard suspended on a pin-board is a good example of this. The cardboard pivots freely around the pin under gravity and reaches a stable point. A plumb line is hung from the pin and used to mark a line on the object. The pin is moved to another location and the procedure repeated. The center of mass then lies beneath the intersection point of the two lines.
Figure 5: Plumb line method being used to find the center of mass of an irregular object.
Figure 5: Plumb line method being used to find the center of mass of an irregular object.

Center of mass and toppling stability

One useful application of the center of mass is determining the maximum angle that an object can be tilted before it will topple over.
Figure 6a shows a cross section of a truck. The truck has been poorly loaded with many heavy items loaded on the left-hand side. The center of mass is shown as a red dot. A red line extends down from the center of mass, representing the force of gravity. Gravity acts on all the weight of the truck through this line.
If the truck is tipped at an angle θt\theta_\mathrm{t} (as shown in figure 6b) then all the weight of the truck will be supported by the left-most edge of the left wheel. Should the angle be further increased then the point of support will move outside of any point of contact with the road and the truck is guaranteed to topple over. The angle θt\theta_\mathrm{t} is the topple limit.
Figure 6: Topple limit of a poorly loaded truck.
Figure 6: Topple limit of a poorly loaded truck.
Exercise 1: Determine the topple limit for the uniform density object shown in figure 7 as it is tipped to the right.
Figure 7: Exercise 1 toppling object.
Figure 7: Exercise 1 toppling object.
We first find the center of mass of the shape by dividing it into three rectangles:
In the xx direction : 247+246+125.524+24+12=6.3\frac{24\cdot 7 + 24\cdot 6 + 12\cdot 5.5}{24+24+12} = 6.3
In the yy direction : 2411+247+12224+24+12=7.6\frac{24\cdot 11 + 24\cdot 7 + 12\cdot 2}{24+24+12} = 7.6
Figure 8: Calculation of topple angle.
Figure 8: Calculation of topple angle.
Finding the topple limit θt\theta_\mathrm{t} is now a matter of using trigonometry to find the interior angle of the triangle shown in Figure 8.
The rightmost point of contact is located at x=7x=7 and the center of mass is located at x=6.3x=6.3. This leaves a difference of 0.7 which is the opposite side of the triangle.
The angle θt\theta_\mathrm{t} indicated on the diagram must be equal to the interior angle of the triangle because θt+α=90\theta_\mathrm{t} + \alpha = 90^\circ. From the trigonometry of right-angled triangles:
θt=tan1(0.77.6)=5.26\theta_\mathrm{t} = \tan^{-1}\left( \frac{0.7}{7.6} \right) = 5.26^\circ

Center of mass reference frame

When the term reference frame is used in physics it refers to the coordinate system used for calculations. A reference frame has a set of axes and an origin (zero point). In most problems the reference frame is fixed relative to the laboratory and a convenient (but arbitrary) origin point is chosen. This is known as the laboratory reference frame. However, in classical physics it is also possible to use any other reference frame and expect the laws of physics to hold within it. This includes reference frames which are moving relative to the laboratory.
One very useful property of the center of mass is that it can be used to define the origin of a moving reference frame for a system. This reference frame is sometimes called the COM frame. The COM frame is particularly useful in collision problems. It turns out that the momentum of a fully-defined system measured in the COM frame is always zero. This means that calculations can often be much simpler when done in the COM frame compared to the laboratory reference frame. Let us consider a simple example:
Consider two trolleys running along a track in the same direction as shown in Figure 9. The left trolley is traveling faster so there will inevitably be a collision. Let's assume the collision is elastic. What are the velocities after the collision?
Figure 9: Two moving trolleys about to collide : the collision is much easier to analyze in the COM frame.
Figure 9: Two moving trolleys about to collide : the collision is much easier to analyze in the COM frame.
We first need to find the velocity of the center of mass in the laboratory frame. Since velocity is distance/time, we can simply put velocity in the place of position in the center of mass equation and proceed just as for a stationary center of mass. The result will be (position of the center of mass) / (second): i.e., the velocity of the center of mass, vCMv_\mathrm{CM}:
vCM=(215+43) kgm/s(2+4) kg=7 m/s\begin{aligned} v_\mathrm{CM} &= \frac{(2\cdot 15 + 4\cdot 3)~\mathrm{kg\cdot m/s}}{(2 + 4)~\mathrm{kg}} \\&= 7~\mathrm{m/s}\end{aligned}
We can now find the initial (subscript i) velocities and momenta for the trolleys a and b from the point of view of the center of mass reference frame. This is done by subtracting the velocity of the COM frame. Quantities in this frame will be denoted with a ' (prime symbol) to distinguish them from the laboratory frame.
vai=157=8 m/sv'_{ai} = 15 - 7 = 8~\mathrm{m/s}
vbi=37=4 m/sv'_{bi} = 3 - 7 = -4~\mathrm{m/s}
pai=82=16 kgm/sp'_{ai} = 8 \cdot 2 = 16~\mathrm{kg\cdot m/s}
pbi=44=16 kgm/sp'_{bi} = -4 \cdot 4 = -16~\mathrm{kg\cdot m/s}
As can be seen, the momenta of the two colliding objects is equal in magnitude and opposite in direction. This is always the case for such a collision in the COM frame. In this example, we know that the collision is elastic and therefore the momenta simply swap signs after the collision.
paf=16 kgm/sp'_{af} = -16~\mathrm{kg\cdot m/s}
pbf=16 kgm/sp'_{bf} = 16~\mathrm{kg\cdot m/s}
The final velocities are then:
vaf=16/2=8 m/sv'_{af} = -16/2 = -8 ~\mathrm{m/s}
vbf=16/4=4 m/sv'_{bf} = 16/4 = 4~\mathrm{m/s}
Which can be converted back to the laboratory reference frame by adding the velocity of the frame relative to the laboratory:
vaf=8+7=1 m/sv_{af} = -8 + 7 = -1 ~\mathrm{m/s}
vbf=4+7=11 m/sv_{bf} = 4 + 7 = 11 ~\mathrm{m/s}
Loading