Les postulats du modèle atomique de Dalton : quels sont ceux qu'on utilise toujours aujourd'hui et qu'a-t-on découvert depuis ?

Points clés

  • La théorie atomique de Dalton est la première à décrire la matière en terme d'atomes et à préciser ses propriétés.
  • Dalton a fondé sa théorie sur la loi de conservation de la masse et la loi des proportions définies.
  • La première hypothèse de sa théorie stipule que toute matière est composée d'atomes qui sont eux-mêmes indivisibles.
  • La seconde hypothèse de la théorie précise que tous les atomes d'un élément donné possèdent la même masse et les mêmes propriétés.
  • La troisième hypothèse énonce que les composés sont des associations d'au moins deux types d'atomes différents.
  • La quatrième hypothèse de la théorie stipule qu'une réaction chimique correspond à un réarrangement d'atomes.
  • Certaines hypothèse de la théorie ont du être corrigées après la découverte des particules subatomiques et des isotopes.

Les chimistes se posent des questions.

La chimie regorge de questions sans réponse. L'une des premières questions que l'humanité s'est posée était celle-ci : De quoi le monde est-il fait ?
En d'autres termes, si on venait à zoomer 100000000000 fois - c'est 11 zéros ! - sur la peau du bout de votre doigt, qu'est ce qu'on verrait ? Est ce que ce serait différent de ce qu'on observerait pour une pomme, par exemple ? Et si on coupait cette pomme en morceaux de plus en plus petits avec un minuscule couteau imaginaire, est ce qu'on arriverait à un point où les morceaux ne pourraient plus être coupés en plus petites parties ? A quoi ressembleraient ces morceaux ? Conserveraient-ils les mêmes propriétés qu'une pomme ?
Les réponses à ces questions sont essentielles en chimie moderne. Il y a seulement une centaine d'années que les chimistes se sont mis d'accord sur ce sujet. Grâce à des scientifiques comme John Dalton, les chimistes modernes voient le monde comme un immense assemblage d'atomes. Même si on ne peut pas voir les atomes à l'oeil nu, ce sont bien les interactions au niveau atomique qui sont responsables des propriétés de la matière telles que la couleur, l'état (solide, liquide ou gazeux) et même l'odeur. Dans cet article, on va parler de la théorie atomique de Dalton, qui fut la première à décrire la matière en terme d'atomes et à préciser ses propriétés.

Fondement de la théorie de Dalton

Dalton a fondé sa théorie sur deux lois : la loi de conservation de la masse et celle des proportions définies.
La loi de conservation de la masse stipule que dans un système clos la matière ne peut être ni créée ni détruite. Cela veut dire que pour une équation chimique donnée, on doit retrouver la même quantité de chaque élément au niveau des réactifs de départ et au niveau des produits. On utilise la loi de conservation de la masse chaque fois qu'on doit équilibrer une équation !
La loi des proportions définies énonce que tous les échantillons d'un même composé pur ont la même composition. Par exemple, le sel de table, de formule moléculaire NaCl\text{NaCl}, contient toujours les mêmes proportions de sodium et de chlore, peu importe son origine ou sa quantité. Si on fait réagir du sodium métallique et du chlore à l'état gazeux - ce qui n'est pas recommandé de faire chez soi - on obtiendrait du sel de table avec la même composition chimique.
Application : Un scientifique venant du début des années 1700 réalise l'expérience suivante : il prend 10 g d'éthanol (CH3CH2OH\text{CH}_3 \text{CH}_2 \text {OH}) qu'il fait brûler dans un bêcher en présence d'oxygène. A la fin de la réaction, il constate que le bêcher est vide. Le résultat de cet expérience est-il en contradiction avec la loi de conservation de la masse ?

La théorie atomique de Dalton

Hypothèse 1 : Toute matière est faite d'atomes.

Dalton a émis l'hypothèse que la loi de conservation de la masse et la loi des proportions définies pouvaient être expliquées à partir de la notion d'atomes. En effet, il suppose que la matière est constituée de minuscules particules indivisibles appelées atomes. Il pense alors que ces particules sont "solides, massives, dures, impénétrables et mobiles".
Il est important de rappeler que Dalton n'avait pas les appareils nécessaires pour pouvoir observer ou faire des expériences sur l'atome en lui-même. Il ne savait donc pas que l'atome possédait une structure interne. Sa vision de l'atome correspond à la représentation qu'on en fait dans un kit de modélisation moléculaire, où les éléments sont représentés par des sphères de tailles et de couleurs différentes. Ce modèle se révèle pratique pour certaines applications, mais on sait désormais que les atomes sont loin d'être des sphères solides.

Hypothèse 2 : Tous les atomes d'un élément donné ont la même masse et les mêmes propriétés.

Dalton a soumis l'hypothèse qu'un atome donné d'un élément, tel que l'or, était semblable à n'importe quel autre atome de cet élément. Il a ajouté que les atomes d'un même élément étaient différents des atomes des autres éléments. On sait désormais que c'est essentiellement vrai. Un atome de sodium est différent d'un atome de carbone. Deux éléments peuvent partager les mêmes points d'ébullition ou de fusion, ou les mêmes électronégativités par exemple, mais l'ensemble de leurs propriétés se seront jamais semblables.

Hypothèse 3 : Les composés sont des associations d'au moins deux types d'atomes différents.

La troisième hypothèse de la théorie de Dalton suggère que les composés sont des associations d'au moins deux types d'atomes différents. Par exemple, le sel de table est un composé formé par association de deux éléments distincts et qui possède des propriétés physico-chimiques qui lui sont propres. Le premier élément est le sodium, un métal fortement réactif, et le second est le chlore, un gaz toxique. Quand ils réagissent entre eux, les atomes s'associent avec un rapport 1 pour 1 pour former des cristaux blancs de NaCl\text{NaCl}, qu'on utilise pour assaisonner la nourriture.
Les atomes étant indivisibles, ils s'associent toujours les uns aux autres avec un rapport de nombres entiers. Par conséquent, écrire une formule chimique telle que Na0,5Cl0,5\text{Na}_{0,5}\text{Cl}_{0,5} n'a pas de sens puisqu'il est impossible d'avoir la moitié d'un atome !

Hypothèse 4 : Une réaction chimique est un réarrangement d'atomes.

Dans sa quatrième et dernière hypothèse, Dalton suggère que les réactions chimiques ne conduisent pas à la destruction ni à la création d’atomes mais consistent plutôt en un réarrangement de ceux-ci. Par exemple, pour former le sel de table dont on parlait précédemment, le sodium réagit avec le chlore. Mais les atomes de sodium et de chlore eux-mêmes existent toujours. Ils se réarrangent juste pour donner un nouveau composé.

Qu'a-t-on découvert depuis la théorie de Dalton ?

Pour faire court : beaucoup de choses ! Par exemple, on sait maintenant que les atomes ne sont pas indivisibles puisqu’ils sont constitués de protons, de neutrons et d’électrons. La représentation moderne d’un atome est bien différente de la particule « solide et massive » imaginée par Dalton. Les expériences menées par Ernest Rutherford, Hans Geiger et Ernest Marsden ont même montré que les atomes étaient principalement constitués de vide.
La deuxième hypothèse de la théorie de Dalton a dû être corrigée pour prendre en compte l’existence de différents isotopes pour un même élément. En effet, la spectrométrie de masse a permis de montrer que les atomes d’un même élément pouvaient posséder un nombre de neutrons différents et donc avoir des masses différentes. Pour en savoir plus sur les isotopes, consulter la vidéo Numéro atomique, nombre de masse et isotopes.
Malgré ces imprécisions, la théorie atomique de Dalton reste en grande partie exacte et a contribué à fonder les bases de la chimie moderne. Depuis, les scientifiques sont même parvenus à développer la technologie nécessaire pour observer le monde à l'échelle atomique !

À retenir

  • La théorie atomique de Dalton est la première à décrire la matière en terme d'atomes et à préciser ses propriétés.
  • Dalton a fondé sa théorie sur la loi de conservation de la masse et la loi des proportions définies.
  • La première hypothèse de sa théorie stipule que toute matière est composée d'atomes qui sont eux-mêmes indivisibles.
  • La seconde hypothèse de la théorie précise que tous les atomes d'un élément donné possèdent la même masse et les mêmes propriétés.
  • La troisième hypothèse énonce que les composés sont des associations d'au moins deux atomes différents.
  • La quatrième hypothèse de la théorie stipule qu'une réaction chimique correspond à un réarrangement d'atomes.
  • Certaines hypothèses de la théorie ont du être corrigées après la découverte des particules subatomiques et des isotopes.
Chargement

The postulates of Dalton's atomic theory: which points do we still use today, and what have we learned since Dalton?

Key Points

  • Dalton's atomic theory was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.
  • Dalton based his theory on the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
  • The first part of his theory states that all matter is made of atoms, which are indivisible.
  • The second part of the theory says all atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.
  • The third part says compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.
  • The fourth part of the theory states that a chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.
  • Parts of the theory had to be modified based on the discovery of subatomic particles and isotopes.

Chemists ask questions.

Chemistry is full of unanswered questions. One of the first questions people have been asking since ancient times is What is the world made of?
That is, if we were to zoom in ~100000000000 times—that is 11 zeros!—on the skin of your fingertip, what would we see? Would that look any different from zooming in on, say, an apple? If we then cut up the apple into tinier and tinier pieces using an imaginary tiny knife, would we reach a point where the pieces could no longer be cut any smaller? What would those pieces look like, and would they still have apple properties?
The answers to these questions are fundamental to modern chemistry, and chemists didn't agree on the answer until a few hundred years ago. Thanks to scientists such as John Dalton, modern chemists think of the world in terms of atoms. Even if we can't see atoms with our naked eye, properties of matter such as color, phase (e.g., solid, liquid, gas), and even smell come from interactions on an atomic level. This article will discuss John Dalton's atomic theory, which was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.

Basis for Dalton's theory

Dalton based his theory on two laws: the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
The law of conservation of mass says that matter is not created or destroyed in a closed system. That means if we have a chemical reaction, the amount of each element must be the same in the starting materials and the products. We use the law of conservation of mass every time we balance equations!
The crystal lattice of sodium chloride shows the sodium and chloride ions in a 1:1 ratio.
A chemist thinks of table salt as sodium and chloride ions arranged in a crystal lattice structure. Image credit: "Image of salt" by OpenStax Anatomy and Physiology, CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0.
The law of constant composition says that a pure compound will always have the same proportion of the same elements. For example, table salt, which has the molecular formula N, a, C, l, contains the same proportions of the elements sodium and chlorine no matter how much salt you have or where the salt came from. If we were to combine some sodium metal and chlorine gas—which I wouldn't recommend doing at home—we could make more table salt which will have the same composition.
Concept check: A time-travelling scientist from the early 1700s decides to run the following experiment: he takes a 10 gram sample of ethanol (C, H, start subscript, 3, end subscript, C, H, start subscript, 2, end subscript, O, H) and burns it in the presence of oxygen in an open beaker. After the reaction is done, the beaker is empty. Does this result violate the law of conservation of mass?
Many scientists used to believe an experiment such as this one demonstrated that mass could be destroyed, since there was less mass in the beaker after the reaction compared to the starting materials. However, they forgot one important point: the system should be closed if you want to check for conservation of mass! In this case, the products of our combustion reaction are C, O, start subscript, 2, end subscript, left parenthesis, g, right parenthesis and H, start subscript, 2, end subscript, O, left parenthesis, g, right parenthesis, so we would need to be very careful to collect the gaseous products to test if mass is conserved.
In the early 1700s, scientists did not completely agree on the composition of air or even the definition of a gas—since they didn't know about atoms yet.

Dalton's atomic theory

Part 1: All matter is made of atoms.

Dalton hypothesized that the law of conservation of mass and the law of definite proportions could be explained using the idea of atoms. He proposed that all matter is made of tiny indivisible particles called atoms, which he imagined as "solid, massy, hard, impenetrable, movable particle(s)".
It is important to note that since Dalton did not have the necessary instruments to see or otherwise experiment on individual atoms, he did not have any insight into whether they might have any internal structure. We might visualize Dalton's atom as a piece in a molecular modeling kit, where different elements are spheres of different sizes and colors. While this is a handy model for some applications, we now know that atoms are far from being solid spheres.

Part 2: All atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.

Dalton proposed that every single atom of an element, such as gold, is the same as every other atom of that element. He also noted that the atoms of one element differ from the atoms of all other elements. Today, we still know this to be mostly true. A sodium atom is different from a carbon atom. Elements may share some similar boiling points, melting points, and electronegativities, but no two elements have the same exact set of properties.
Atoms of the same element can have different masses because the number of neutrons can vary for different isotopes of a given element. They will still have the same number of protons, though, because that is what identifies them as being a particular element. We can measure the mass of atoms, and isotopes, very precisely using mass spectrometry. For more on isotopes, you can watch this video on atomic number, mass number, and isotopes.
Picture of a molecular modeling kit including multiple types of plastic spheres in different colors that represent elements and stick-like plastic "bonds".
A basic molecular modeling kit, including spherical atoms of different size and color that can be connected by sticks to represent chemical bonds. Image credit: "Photo of modeling kit" by Sonia on Wikimedia Commons, CC-BY 3.0

Part 3: Compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.

In the third part of Dalton's atomic theory, he proposed that compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms. An example of such a compound is table salt. Table salt is a combination of two separate elements with unique physical and chemical properties. The first, sodium, is a highly reactive metal. The second, chlorine, is a toxic gas. When they react, the atoms combine in a 1:1 ratio to form white crystals of N, a, C, l, which we can sprinkle on our food.
Since atoms are indivisible, they will always combine in simple whole number ratios. Therefore, it would not make sense to write a formula such as N, a, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript, C, l, start subscript, 0, point, 5, end subscript because you can't have half of an atom!

Part 4: A chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.

In the fourth and final part of Dalton's atomic theory, he suggested that chemical reactions don't destroy or create atoms. They merely rearranged the atoms. Using our salt example again, when sodium combines with chlorine to make salt, both the sodium and chlorine atoms still exist. They simply rearrange to form a new compound.

What have we learned since Dalton proposed his theory?

The short answer: a lot! For instance, we now know that atoms are not indivisible—as stated in part one—because they are made up of protons, neutrons, and electrons. The modern picture of an atom is very different from Dalton's "solid, massy" particle. In fact, experiments by Ernest Rutherford, Hans Geiger, and Ernest Marsden showed that atoms are mostly made up of empty space.
Image of tungsten diselenide, W, S, e, start subscript, 2, end subscript.
Scanning transmission electron microscopy (STEM) allows us to see the atomic level structure of tungsten selenide, WSestart subscript, 2, end subscript. Image credit: "STEM image" by Kazu Suenaga et al. on Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 4.0
Part two of Dalton's theory had to be modified after mass spectrometry experiments demonstrated that atoms of the same element can have different masses because the number of neutrons can vary for different isotopes of the same element. For more on isotopes, you can watch this video on atomic number, mass number, and isotopes.
Despite these caveats, Dalton's atomic theory is still mostly true, and it forms the framework of modern chemistry. Scientists have even developed the technology to see the world on an atomic level!

Attributions:

This article was adapted from the following articles:
  1. OpenStax College. "Early Ideas in Atomic Theory." OpenStax CNX. October 2, 2014. http://cnx.org/contents/havxkyvS@9.110:HdZmYjzP@4/Early-Ideas-in-Atomic-Theory. CC-BY 4.0
The modified article is licensed under a CC-BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

Summary

  • Dalton's atomic theory was the first complete attempt to describe all matter in terms of atoms and their properties.
  • Dalton based his theory on the law of conservation of mass and the law of constant composition.
  • The first part of his theory states that all matter is made of atoms, which are indivisible.
  • The second part of the theory says all atoms of a given element are identical in mass and properties.
  • The third part says compounds are combinations of two or more different types of atoms.
  • The fourth part of the theory states that a chemical reaction is a rearrangement of atoms.
  • Parts of the theory had to be modified based on the existence of subatomic particles and isotopes.