If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

等位基因频率和基因库

如何得到等位基因频率以及它和基因型频率的差异在哪里。基因库是什么。

关键点

  • 微进化是种群内的基因变体——等位基因——的频率变化。它通常在较短的时间内发生。
  • 种群遗传学是研究种群中等位基因频率及其如何随时间变化的生物学领域。
  • 等位基因频率衡量一个等位基因在种群中有多常见。它通过计算一个等位基因在种群中出现的次数,然后除以基因的总数来确定。
    start text, 等, 位, 基, 因, end text, A, start text, 的, 频, 率, end text equals start fraction, start text, 种, 群, 中, 等, 位, 基, 因, end text, A, start text, 的, 个, 数, end text, divided by, start text, 种, 群, 中, end text, start text, 基, 因, 总, 数, end text, end fraction
  • 基因库包括种群中的所有基因的所有拷贝。

达尔文遇上孟德尔(非字面意义上的)

当达尔文提出他的进化与自然选择的理论时,他知道这个过程取决于种群中的可遗传差异。即,这些理论依赖种群中生物体特征的差异,以及这些不同特征传给后代的能力。
然而,达尔文并不知道性状是如何遗传的。和他同时代的科学家一样,他认为性状通过融合遗传被继承。在这个模型中,父母的性状应该在后代中永久地融合。此融合模型被奥地利传教士格雷戈尔·孟德尔推翻。他发现性状由不能融合的可遗传单位——基因——决定。
尽管孟德尔在达尔文发表其关于进化的观点的几年后就发表了他关于遗传学的研究,达尔文很可能从未读过孟德尔的研究。如今,我们可以结合达尔文与孟德尔的观点,以便更清楚地了解什么是进化,以及它是如何进行的。

微进化与种群遗传学

微进化,或小规模的进化,被定义为一个种群中基因变体(等位基因)在世代间的频率变化。研究种群中等位基因频率及它们随时间如何变化的生物学领域叫做种群遗传学
微进化经常被拿来与宏进化对比。宏进化涉及较大的变化,比如新种群与物种的形成,且通常发生很长时间。然而,多数生物学家认为微进化与宏进化是发生在不同时间尺度的相同过程。微进化逐渐积累,长期以来便产生宏进化。
让我们来了解三个定义微进化的核心概念:种群,等位基因,和等位基因频率。

种群

种群指同一空间内、可相互交配繁殖、属于同一物种的生物体。种群是可进化的最小单位——换而言之,个体不能进化。

等位基因

一个等位基因指一个基因的一个版本,一个能控制生物体特定性状的遗传单位。
例如,孟德尔研究了一个在豌豆植物中控制花色的基因。这个基因包含一个白色等位基因 w,和一个紫色等位基因 W。每株豌豆植物有两个基因副本,其可能相同也可能不同。当两个等位基因不同时,其中的显性等位基因 W 可以隐藏另外一个隐性等位基因 w。一株植物的等位基因组,被称为基因型,决定了其表型,即其可观察的性状。如在这个例子中,表型为花朵颜色。
表型:花朵颜色 基因型:一对等位基因
W:显性紫色等位基因 w:隐性白色等位基因
WW:紫花 Ww:紫花 ww:白花

等位基因频率

等位基因频率 指种群中特定等位基因出现的频率。例如,如果一个豌豆种群中的所有等位基因都是紫色等位基因 W ,那 W 的基因频率则是100%,或1.0。然而,如果一半的等位基因是 W 而另一半是 w ,每个等位基因就会有50%或0.5的基因频率。
一般而言,我们可以将等位基因频率定义为
start text, 等, 位, 基, 因, 的, 频, 率, space, end text, A equals start fraction, start text, 等, 位, 基, 因, end text, A, start text, 在, 种, 群, 内, 的, 个, 数, end text, divided by, start text, 所, 有, end text, A, slash, a, start text, space, 基, 因, 在, 种, 群, 内, 的, 总, 数, end text, end fraction
有时在种群内可能有多于两种等位基因(例如:可能存在一个基因的等位基因 AaA, start subscript, i, end subscript )。在这种情况下,可以将 所有 不同的等位基因加起来以得到分母。
计算基因型频率——具有特定基因型的个体占比——和表型频率——具有特定表型的个体占比——也同样可行。不过,要注意这些和等位基因频率是不同的概念。我们将在下面看到一个体现这种差异的例子。

示例:计算等位基因频率

让我们来看一个例子。考虑下面这个含有9株豌豆植物的小种群。每株豌豆都有两个花色基因拷贝。
6 WW, 紫色花朵 1 Ww, 紫色花朵 2 ww, 白色花朵
如果我们观察每株植物里的两个基因拷贝并计算有多少份 W 拷贝,我们会发现有13个。如果我们计算有多少份 w 拷贝,我们会发现有5个。种群中基因拷贝的总数为13, plus, 5, equals, 18
我们可以用每个等位基因的拷贝数除以拷贝总数来得到等位基因频率。通常种群中的一个基因有两个等位基因,它们的频率用符号 pq 表示:
p, equals, W, start text, 的, 频, 率, end text equals 13, slash, 18 equals 0, point, 7272, percent
q, equals, w, start text, 的, 频, 率, end text equals 5, slash, 18 equals 0, point, 2828, percent
一个基因的所有等位基因频率相加必须等于1,或100%。
等位基因频率与基因型频率或表型频率不同。基因型和表型频率同样可以被计算,且对于理解种群进化也很重要,但它们不等于等位基因频率。下图展示了它们的区别:
6 WW, 紫色花朵 1 Ww, 紫色花朵 2 ww, 白色花朵
基因型频率:衡量一个等位基因组合(Ww, WW, 或 ww)有多常见
WW的频率 = 6/9 = 0.67 Ww的频率 = 1/9 = 0.11 ww的频率 = 2/9 = 0.22
表型频率:衡量白色和紫色有多常出现
紫色的频率 = 7/9 = 0.78 白色的频率= 2/9 = 0.22
等位基因频率:衡量每个等位基因有多常见
p = W的频率 = 13/18 = 0.72 q = w的频率 = 5/18 = 0.28
现在,假设我们一个世代以后再回来,检查此时构成种群的新豌豆植物的基因型。为了计算基因频率,我们又要观察每个个体的基因型,计算每个等位基因的拷贝数,再除以基因拷贝总数。现在,我们发现 W 的频率降到 8, slash, 18, equals, 0, point, 44,即44%,而 w 的频率升到 10, slash, 18,即56%。
初始世代:
6 WW, 紫色花朵 1 Ww, 紫色花朵 2 ww, 白色花朵
p = W的频率 = 13/18 = 0.72 q = w的频率 = 5/18 = 0.28
老植物死去,其后代成长。
新世代:
p = W的频率 = 8/18 = 0.44 q = w的频率 = 10/18 = 0.56
等位基因频率改变,意味着种群进化。
种群世代间的等位基因频率发生了变化,因此,根据微进化的定义,我们可以说这个种群进化了。如果我们实际上在进行研究,我们可能要用统计测试来确认这些比例确实不同。
我们将在这个课程的其他部分讨论导致种群进化的因素,包括自然选择、遗传漂变(随机变化)和其他因素。

基因库

种群中所有基因的所有拷贝被称为基因库。想象我们实质上在一个种群的个体中获取所有基因拷贝,并将其倾倒到一个大型的公用库中。基因库因此得名。
这看起来是什么样子的呢?在上面的示例中,我们研究了种群中所有九个个体,并查看了他们的花色基因拷贝。一共有18个单独的基因拷贝,每个是 Ww 等位基因。现在,想象我们用同样的过程处理豌豆植物的每个基因,包括其控制高度、种子颜色、种子形状、新陈代谢等的基因。每个基因有18个拷贝被提取并倾倒到公共库中。当这些过程结束时,含有所有基因拷贝的公共库便是这个种群的基因库。
通过研究种群中的所有基因拷贝,我们可以全面地了解种群中遗传变异的多样性的多少。种群的变异多样性越高,其通过自然选择适应环境变化的能力就越强。因为如果变异程度高,那么很可能种群中已经有一些基因能使生物体在新环境下有效生存并繁殖。

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Allele frequency & the gene pool

AP.BIO:
EVO‑1 (EU)
,
EVO‑1.K (LO)
,
EVO‑1.K.1 (EK)
,
EVO‑1.K.2 (EK)
How to find allele frequency and how it's different from genotype frequency. What a gene pool is.

Key points:

  • Microevolution is a change in the frequency of gene variants, alleles, in a population, typically occurring over a relatively short time period.
  • Population genetics is the field of biology that studies allele frequencies in populations and how they change over time.
  • Allele frequency refers to how common an allele is in a population. It is determined by counting how many times the allele appears in the population then dividing by the total number of copies of the gene.
    start text, F, r, e, q, u, e, n, c, y, space, o, f, space, a, l, l, e, l, e, space, end text, A equals start fraction, start text, N, u, m, b, e, r, space, o, f, space, c, o, p, i, e, s, space, o, f, space, a, l, l, e, l, e, space, end text, A, start text, i, n, space, p, o, p, u, l, a, t, i, o, n, end text, divided by, start text, T, o, t, a, l, space, n, u, m, b, e, r, space, o, f, space, end text, start text, c, o, p, i, e, s, space, o, f, space, g, e, n, e, space, i, n, space, p, o, p, u, l, a, t, i, o, n, end text, end fraction
  • The gene pool of a population consists of all the copies of all the genes in that population.

Darwin meets Mendel—not literally

When Darwin came up with his theories of evolution and natural selection, he knew that the processes he was describing depended on heritable variation in populations. That is, they relied on differences in the features of the organisms in a population and on the ability of these different features to be passed on to offspring.
Darwin did not, however, know how traits were inherited. Like other scientists of his time, he thought that traits were passed on via blending inheritance. In this model, parents' traits are supposed to permanently blend in their offspring. The blending model was disproven by Austrian monk Gregor Mendel, who found that traits are specified by non-blending heritable units called genes.
Although Mendel published his work on genetics just a few years after Darwin published his ideas on evolution, Darwin probably never read Mendel’s work. Today, we can combine Darwin’s and Mendel’s ideas to arrive at a clearer understanding of what evolution is and how it takes place.

Microevolution and population genetics

Microevolution, or evolution on a small scale, is defined as a change in the frequency of gene variants, alleles, in a population over generations. The field of biology that studies allele frequencies in populations and how they change over time is called population genetics.
Microevolution is sometimes contrasted with macroevolution, evolution that involves large changes, such as formation of new groups or species, and happens over long time periods. However, most biologists view microevolution and macroevolution as the same process happening on different timescales. Microevolution adds up gradually, over long periods of time to produce macroevolutionary changes.
Let's look at three concepts that are core to the definition of microevolution: populations, alleles, and allele frequency.

Populations

A population is a group of organisms of the same species that are found in the same area and can interbreed. A population is the smallest unit that can evolve—in other words, an individual can’t evolve.

Alleles

An allele is a version of a gene, a heritable unit that controls a particular feature of an organism.
For instance, Mendel studied a gene that controls flower color in pea plants. This gene comes in a white allele, w, and a purple allele, W. Each pea plant has two gene copies, which may be the same or different alleles. When the alleles are different, one—the dominant allele, W—may hide the other—the recessive allele, w. A plant's set of alleles, called its genotype, determines its phenotype, or observable features, in this case flower color.
Phenotype—flower color Genotype—pair of alleles
W—dominant purple allele w—recessive white allele
WW—purple flower Ww—purple flower ww—white flower

Allele frequency

Allele frequency refers to how frequently a particular allele appears in a population. For instance, if all the alleles in a population of pea plants were purple alleles, W, the allele frequency of W would be 100%, or 1.0. However, if half the alleles were W and half were w, each allele would have an allele frequency of 50%, or 0.5.
In general, we can define allele frequency as
start text, F, r, e, q, u, e, n, c, y, space, o, f, space, a, l, l, e, l, e, space, end text, A equals start fraction, start text, N, u, m, b, e, r, space, o, f, space, c, o, p, i, e, s, space, o, f, space, a, l, l, e, l, e, space, end text, A, start text, i, n, space, p, o, p, u, l, a, t, i, o, n, end text, divided by, start text, T, o, t, a, l, space, n, u, m, b, e, r, space, o, f, end text, A, slash, a, start text, space, g, e, n, e, space, c, o, p, i, e, s, space, i, n, space, p, o, p, u, l, a, t, i, o, n, end text, end fraction
Sometimes there are more than two alleles in a population (e.g., there might be A, a, and A, start subscript, i, end subscript alleles of a gene). In that case, you would want to add up all of the different alleles to get your denominator.
It's also possible to calculate genotype frequencies—the fraction of individuals with a given genotype—and phenotype frequencies—the fraction of individuals with a given phenotype. Keep in mind, though, that these are different concepts from allele frequency. We'll see an example of this difference next.

Example: Finding allele frequency

Let’s look at an example. Consider the very small population of nine pea plants shown below. Each pea plant has two copies of the flower color gene.
6 WW, purple plants 1 Ww, purple plant 2 ww, white plants
If we look at the two gene copies in each plant and count up how many W copies are present, we find there are 13. If we count up how many w copies are present, we find that there are five. The total number of gene copies in the whole population is 13, plus, 5, equals, 18.
We can divide the number of copies of each allele by the total number of copies to get the allele frequency. By convention, when there are just two alleles for a gene in a population, their frequencies are given the symbols p and q:
p, equals, start text, f, r, e, q, u, e, n, c, y, space, o, f, end text, W equals 13, slash, 18 equals 0, point, 72, or 72, percent
q, equals, start text, f, r, e, q, u, e, n, c, y, space, o, f, end text, w equals 5, slash, 18 equals 0, point, 28, or 28, percent
The frequencies of all the alleles of a gene must add up to one, or 100%.
Allele frequency is different from genotype frequency or phenotype frequency. Genotype and phenotype frequencies can also be calculated and are important for understanding how populations evolve, but they are not the same thing as allele frequency. The diagram below shows the difference:
6 WW, purple plants 1 Ww, purple plant 2 ww, white plants
Genotype frequency: how often we see each allele combo, Ww, WW, or ww
Freq. of WW = 6/9 = 0.67 Freq. of Ww = 1/9 = 0.11 Freq. of ww = 2/9 = 0.22
Phenotype frequency: How often we see white vs. purple
Freq. of purple = 7/9 = 0.78 Freq. of white = 2/9 = 0.22
Allele frequency: how often we see each allele
p = Freq. of W = 13/18 = 0.72 q = Freq. of w = 5/18 = 0.28
Now, let’s suppose we come back a generation later and check the genotypes of the new pea plants that now make up the population. To find the allele frequencies, we again look at each individual’s genotype, count the number of copies of each allele, and divide by the total number of gene copies. Now, we find the frequency of W has dropped to 8, slash, 18, equals, 0, point, 44, or 44%, and the frequency of w has risen to 10, slash, 18, or 56%.
Original generation:
6 WW, purple plants 1 Ww, purple plant 2 ww, white plant
p = Freq. of W = 13/18 = 0.72 q = Freq. of w = 5/18 = 0.28
Old plants die and their offspring grow up.
New generation:
p = Freq. of W = 8/18 = 0.44 q = Freq. of w = 10/18 = 0.56
Allele frequencies change, meaning that the population evolves.
There has been a change in allele frequencies in the population over generations, so—by the definition of microevolution—we can say that the population has evolved. If we were actually doing research, we might want to use a statistical test to confirm that these proportions were really different.
We’ll examine the factors that cause a population to evolve, including natural selection, genetic drift—random change—and others factors, in the rest of this tutorial.

The gene pool

The total set of gene copies for all genes in a population is referred to as its gene pool. The gene pool gets its name from the idea that we are essentially taking all the gene copies—for all genes—in the individuals of a population and dumping them into one large, common pool.
What would this look like? In the example above, we went through all nine individuals in the population and looked at their copies of the flower color gene. There were 18 individual gene copies, each of which was a W or a w allele. Now, imagine that we went through this same process for every single gene in the pea plant, including genes that control height, seed color, seed shape, metabolism, etc. There would be 18 copies of each gene pulled out and dumped into the common pool. At the end of this process, the common pool of gene copies will be the gene pool of our population.
By looking at all the copies of all the genes in a population, we can see globally how much genetic variation there is in the population. The more variation a population has, the better its ability to adapt to changes in its environment through natural selection. If there is more variation, the odds are better that there will be some alleles already present that allow organisms to survive and reproduce effectively under the new conditions.

Want to join the conversation?

  • blobby green style avatar for user loyjoan295
    In this lesson, there was an explanation of what 'alleles were. I am interested in historical population genetics, and am wondering if the HVR numbers that come with mTDNA are equivalent to the alleles that go with the Y Chromosome. Thank you.
    (7 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • aqualine ultimate style avatar for user Talos
      I assume mTDNA is shorthand for mitochondrial DNA - DNA inside mitochondria and HVR is short for hypervariable region or a place where base pairs are repeated, generally within the mTDNA, but also sometimes in the nucleus. mTDNA is always inherited from the mother and goes into mitochondria in each cell in the child. It does not seem to serve any function as far as I know. The alleles on the Y chromosome are different. They function to change certain processes in the human body to make the offspring male.

      In short, they are not equivalent.
      (4 votes)
  • piceratops seed style avatar for user steveparks0007
    If there are only 2 alleles at a locus and one is at frequency 0.3, what is the frequency of heterozygotes and how do you figure it out?
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • blobby green style avatar for user Debbi1470
      you can figure it out by making use of hardy-weinburg equation which is p+q=1.
      let say p is the frequency of 0.3 and we are looking for the frequency of q.
      p+q=1
      0.3+q=1
      q= 0.7 or 70%
      i don't know maybe this is right but someone else can also answer it and you compare
      (7 votes)
  • marcimus pink style avatar for user rmfontana13
    Could you please further explain how to find allele frequencies of a new generation?
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • male robot hal style avatar for user Daniel Emerick
    How does looking at all the copies of all the genes in a population, How can we can see globally how much genetic variation there is in the population.
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user 19emilydis
    the question I am asking goes like this: these scientists tried to measure frequencies of genotypes in a population and there were like 11,000 individuals. They had about 2,000 homozygous recessive and they gave the amount of individuals with heterozygous and homozygous dom. Then, the scientists took out all of the homozyg recessives and after a long time measured the amount and frequency of each genotype in the population, meaning now it is not in HW equil, and there are only heterozygous and homozyg dom. The question asked me what is the frequency of the recessive allele (q). Please help I am so confused
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • marcimus pink style avatar for user Estrella,Casiano
    how do ways organisms reproduce affect the frequency of genes appearing?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • aqualine tree style avatar for user MLSofa
    What is the difference between genome and genotype?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user amanning08
    why are The more variation a population has, the better its ability to adapt to changes in its environment through natural selection. If there is more variation, the odds are better that there will be some alleles already present that allow organisms to survive and reproduce effectively under the new conditions.
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • winston baby style avatar for user Ivana - Science trainee
      That is self-explanatory.

      The more variation -the more chances that variation which is most desirable already exist in the population.

      Moreover, the more variation, means gene pool is rich. Genes are not 'stiff' tied to only one allele but many of them!


      The more variance the more chances to survive. (alleles meeting environment criteria)
      (0 votes)
  • blobby green style avatar for user Charles Ross
    assuming a given gene is autosomal, wont the denominator of the allele frequency equation always be 2x number of organisms in the population?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user chakroborty20234536
    How can we tell if a population and gene pool have evolved based on the answers from a Hardy Weinberg equation?
    (1 vote)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user