If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

转录概述

在转录过程中,基因的DNA序列被转录(复制)成RNA分子。

关键点

  • 转录是基因表达的第一步。它涉及基因的DNA序列的复制,以生成RNA分子。
  • 转录由被称为RNA聚合酶的酶催化,其将核苷酸连接形成RNA链(使用一个DNA链作为模版)。
  • 转录包含三个阶段:起始,延伸,和终止。
  • 在真核生物中,RNA分子必须在转录后被处理:它们被剪接,并在末端被加上5‘帽子多聚-A尾巴
  • 你基因组中每一个基因的转录都被分别控制。

介绍

你曾经抄写过东西吗?也许有人在你的语音信箱里留言,而你得把它写在纸上。或者也许你在课堂上记笔记,然后重新将它们整齐地写好,帮助你复习。
正如这些例子所示, 转录 是一个信息被重写的过程。转录是我们日常生活中的一项工作。我们的细胞也必须进行转录,以一种更特异、被更狭窄定义的方式。在生物学中,转录是指将一个基因的DNA序列复制到相似的RNA“字母表”。

转录概述

转录是基因表达的第一步,其中来自一个基因的信息被用来构造一个起作用的产物,例如蛋白质。转录的目的是产生一个基因的DNA序列的RNA副本。对一个编码蛋白的基因,其RNA副本,或转录物,携带构建多肽(蛋白质或蛋白质亚基)所需的信息。真核转录物在被翻译成蛋白质之前需要经历一些处理步骤。
在转录中,DNA的一个区域打开。其中一条链,模版链,作为合成互补的RNA转录物的模版。另一条链,编码链,其序列与RNA转录物相同,除了它在原有胸腺嘧啶(T)的位置使用尿嘧啶(U)。
示例:
编码链:5'-ATGATCTCGTAA-3' 模版链:3'-TACTAGAGCATT-5' RNA转录物:5'-AUGAUCUCGUAA-3'
对一个编码蛋白的基因,其RNA转录物携带构建多肽(蛋白质或蛋白质亚基)所需的信息,其位于一个特定的氨基酸序列。在这个例子中:
RNA转录物(作为信使RNA):5'-AUGAUCUCGUAA-3' 多肽:Met-Ile-Ser-STOP

RNA聚合酶

转录中涉及的主要的酶是RNA聚合酶,其使用一个单链DNA模版去合成一个互补的RNA链。特别地,RNA聚合酶由5‘到3’方向构建RNA链,在链的3‘末端添加每一个新的核苷酸。
RNA聚合酶合成一个与DNA模版链互补的RNA链。它从5‘到3’的方向合成RNA链,同时从3‘到5’读取DNA模版链。DNA模版链与RNA链是反向平行的。
RNA转录物:5'-UGGUAGU...-3' (点表示核苷酸仍在3‘端被添加) DNA 模版链:3'-ACCATCAGTC-5'

转录的阶段

一个基因的转录氛围三个阶段:起始,延伸,和种植。在这里,我们将简要地了解这些步骤是如何在细菌中发生的。你可以在文章转录阶段中学习更多关于每一阶段的细节(以及真核转录是如何不同的)。
  1. 起始 RNA聚合酶与一段称为启动子的DNA序列结合。该序列被发现离基因的开头很近。每个基因(或在细菌中,每组被同时转录的基因)都有它们自己的启动子。一旦结合,RNA 聚合酶分离 DNA 链,提供转录所需的单链模板。
    启动子区域在转录特别制定的转录区域之前(并且稍微重叠)。它包含 RNA 聚合酶或其辅助蛋白的识别位点。DNA在启动子区域打开,以便 RNA 聚合酶可以开始转录。
  2. 延伸 一条DNA模版链作为RNA聚合酶的模版。当聚合酶一个一个地“读取”这个模板的碱基时,它用互补的核苷酸建立RNA分子,产生一个从5‘到3’生长的链。RNA转录物与非模版的DNA(编码)链带有相同的信息,但它含有碱基尿嘧啶(U)而不是胸腺嘧啶(T)。
    RNA聚合酶沿3‘到5’方向合成与DNA模版链互补的RNA转录物。它沿着模版链的3‘到5’方向向前移动,一路打开DNA双螺旋。合成的RNA只与模板链结合很短一段时间,然后会作为悬空的链退出聚合酶,使DNA能够闭合并形成双螺旋。
    在这个例子里,编码链,模版链,和RNA转录物分别是:
    编码链:5'- ATGATCTCGTAG-3'
    模板链:3'-TATAGAGAATT-5'
    RNA:5'-AUGAUC..-3'(点表示核酸仍在被添加到RNA的3‘末端)
  3. 终止 被称为终止子的序列标志着RNA转录的完成。一旦它们被转录完,转录物被从RNA聚合酶释放。一个终止的机理涉及在RNA发夹的形成,如下所示。
    DNA终止子编码一段RNA,其可以形成发夹结构,以及一串U核苷酸。转录物中的发夹结构导致RNA聚合酶抛锚停下。在这之后的U核苷酸则与DNA模版的A核苷酸形成弱键,使转录物从模版上分离,结束转录。

真核生物中的RNA修饰

在细菌中,RNA转录物可以立即成为信使RNAmRNA)。在真核生物中,编码蛋白基因的转录物被称为mRNA前体,在被直接翻译前必须经历额外的处理。
  • 真核mRNA前体的末端必须被修改,通过添加一个5'帽子(在开头)和3‘多聚-A尾巴(在末尾)。
  • 许多真核mRNA前体会经历剪切。在这个过程中,mRNA前体的一些部分(叫内含子)被切掉,而剩下的(叫外显子)被粘回在一起。
    图片顶部:一个有5‘帽子和3’多聚-A尾巴的mRNA前体。在mRNA前体的5‘末端的5’帽子是一个修改过的G核苷酸。3’多聚-A尾巴是在mRNA前体的3’末端,含有一长串A核苷酸(仅显示1其中一些)。
    RNA前体依旧包含外显子和内含子。在mRNA上,外显子和内含子以交替的模式排列:外显子1—内含子1—外显子2—内含子2—外显子3。每组都包含一段RNA核苷酸。
    在简洁中,内含子被从mRNA前体中删除,而外显子被粘在一起,形成一个成熟的mRNA。
    图像底部:成熟的不含有内含子序列的mRNA(只有外显子1—外显子2—外显子3)。
末端修饰提高了mRNA的稳定性,而剪切带给mRNA正确的序列。(如果内含子没有被移除,它们会与外显子一起被翻译,产生“胡言乱语”的多肽。)
想了解更多关于mRNA前体修饰,请查看文章mRNA前体处理

发生于个别基因的转录

不是所有基因都在所有时间被转录。相反,每个基因的转录都被单独控制(或者,在细菌中,在同一小组内基因被同时转录)。细胞仔细地调控转录,只转录那些其产物在特定时刻被需要的基因。
例如,下图显示了一个想象的细胞的RNA在一定时刻的“快照”。在这个细胞中,基因1、2和3被转录,而基因4没有。另外,基因1、2和3被不同程度地转录,意味着每个基因都有不同的RNA分子数。
显示每个基因被不同程度地转录的图。
一段显示含有四种基因的DNA区域,且每个基因被转录的区域用黑蓝色标出。每一基因的转录物数量显示在DNA之上(在Y轴上)。基因1有六个转录物,基因2有一个,基因3有12个,而基因4没有。
此图不表示任何实际的一套基因及其转录水平的例子,而是表明,基因和其他转录单位的转录是被单个调控的。
在接下来的文章中,我们将更深入地了解RNA聚合酶,转录的阶段,和在真核生物中的RNA修饰。我们还会考虑细菌和真核生物转录之间的一些重要差异。

In transcription, the DNA sequence of a gene is transcribed (copied out) to make an RNA molecule.

Key points:

  • Transcription is the first step in gene expression. It involves copying a gene's DNA sequence to make an RNA molecule.
  • Transcription is performed by enzymes called RNA polymerases, which link nucleotides to form an RNA strand (using a DNA strand as a template).
  • Transcription has three stages: initiation, elongation, and termination.
  • In eukaryotes, RNA molecules must be processed after transcription: they are spliced and have a 5' cap and poly-A tail put on their ends.
  • Transcription is controlled separately for each gene in your genome.

Introduction

Have you ever had to transcribe something? Maybe someone left a message on your voicemail, and you had to write it down on paper. Or maybe you took notes in class, then rewrote them neatly to help you review.
As these examples show, transcription is a process in which information is rewritten. Transcription is something we do in our everyday lives, and it's also something our cells must do, in a more specialized and narrowly defined way. In biology, transcription is the process of copying out the DNA sequence of a gene in the similar alphabet of RNA.

Overview of transcription

Transcription is the first step in gene expression, in which information from a gene is used to construct a functional product such as a protein. The goal of transcription is to make a RNA copy of a gene's DNA sequence. For a protein-coding gene, the RNA copy, or transcript, carries the information needed to build a polypeptide (protein or protein subunit). Eukaryotic transcripts need to go through some processing steps before translation into proteins.
In transcription, a region of DNA opens up. One strand, the template strand, serves as a template for synthesis of a complementary RNA transcript. The other strand, the coding strand, is identical to the RNA transcript in sequence, except that it has uracil (U) bases in place of thymine (T) bases.
Example:
Coding strand: 5'-ATGATCTCGTAA-3' Template strand: 3'-TACTAGAGCATT-5' RNA transcript: 5'-AUGAUCUCGUAA-3'
For a protein-coding gene, the RNA transcript contains the information needed to synthesize a polypeptide (protein or protein subunit) with a particular amino acid sequence. In this case:
RNA transcript (acting as messenger RNA): 5'-AUGAUCUCGUAA-3' Polypeptide: Met-Ile-Ser-STOP

RNA polymerase

The main enzyme involved in transcription is RNA polymerase, which uses a single-stranded DNA template to synthesize a complementary strand of RNA. Specifically, RNA polymerase builds an RNA strand in the 5' to 3' direction, adding each new nucleotide to the 3' end of the strand.
RNA polymerase synthesizes an RNA strand complementary to a template DNA strand. It synthesizes the RNA strand in the 5' to 3' direction, while reading the template DNA strand in the 3' to 5' direction. The template DNA strand and RNA strand are antiparallel.
RNA transcript: 5'-UGGUAGU...-3' (dots indicate where nucleotides are still being added at 3' end) DNA template: 3'-ACCATCAGTC-5'

Stages of transcription

Transcription of a gene takes place in three stages: initiation, elongation, and termination. Here, we will briefly see how these steps happen in bacteria. You can learn more about the details of each stage (and about how eukaryotic transcription is different) in the stages of transcription article.
  1. Initiation. RNA polymerase binds to a sequence of DNA called the promoter, found near the beginning of a gene. Each gene (or group of co-transcribed genes, in bacteria) has its own promoter. Once bound, RNA polymerase separates the DNA strands, providing the single-stranded template needed for transcription.
    The promoter region comes before (and slightly overlaps with) the transcribed region whose transcription it specifies. It contains recognition sites for RNA polymerase or its helper proteins to bind to. The DNA opens up in the promoter region so that RNA polymerase can begin transcription.
  2. Elongation. One strand of DNA, the template strand, acts as a template for RNA polymerase. As it "reads" this template one base at a time, the polymerase builds an RNA molecule out of complementary nucleotides, making a chain that grows from 5' to 3'. The RNA transcript carries the same information as the non-template (coding) strand of DNA, but it contains the base uracil (U) instead of thymine (T).
    The two ends of a strand of DNA or RNA strand are different from each other. That is, a DNA or RNA strand has directionality.
    • At the 5’ end of the chain, the phosphate group of the first nucleotide in the chain sticks out. The phosphate group is attached to the 5' carbon of the sugar ring, which is why this is called the 5' end.
    • At the other end, called the 3’ end, the hydroxyl of the last nucleotide added to the chain is exposed. The hydroxyl group is attached to the 3' carbon of the sugar ring, which is why this is called the 3' end.
    Many processes, such as DNA replication and transcription, can only take place in one particular direction relative the the directionality of a DNA or RNA strand.
    You can learn more in the article on nucleic acids.
    RNA polymerase synthesizes an RNA transcript complementary to the DNA template strand in the 5' to 3' direction. It moves forward along the template strand in the 3' to 5' direction, opening the DNA double helix as it goes. The synthesized RNA only remains bound to the template strand for a short while, then exits the polymerase as a dangling string, allowing the DNA to close back up and form a double helix.
    In this example, the sequences of the coding strand, template strand, and RNA transcript are:
    Coding strand: 5' - ATGATCTCGTAA-3'
    Template strand: 3'-TACTAGAGCATT-5'
    RNA: 5'-AUGAUC...-3' (the dots indicate where nucleotides are still being added to the RNA strand at its 3' end)
  3. Termination. Sequences called terminators signal that the RNA transcript is complete. Once they are transcribed, they cause the transcript to be released from the RNA polymerase. An example of a termination mechanism involving formation of a hairpin in the RNA is shown below.
    The terminator DNA encodes a region of RNA that forms a hairpin structure followed by a string of U nucleotides. The hairpin structure in the transcript causes the RNA polymerase to stall. The U nucleotides that come after the hairpin form weak bonds with the A nucleotides of the DNA template, allowing the transcript to separate from the template and ending transcription.

Eukaryotic RNA modifications

In bacteria, RNA transcripts can act as messenger RNAs (mRNAs) right away. In eukaryotes, the transcript of a protein-coding gene is called a pre-mRNA and must go through extra processing before it can direct translation.
  • Eukaryotic pre-mRNAs must have their ends modified, by addition of a 5' cap (at the beginning) and 3' poly-A tail (at the end).
  • Many eukaryotic pre-mRNAs undergo splicing. In this process, parts of the pre-mRNA (called introns) are chopped out, and the remaining pieces (called exons) are stuck back together.
    Top of image: Diagram of a pre-mRNA with a 5' cap and 3' poly-A tail. The 5' cap is on the 5' end of the pre-mRNA and is a modified G nucleotide. The poly-A tail is on the 3' end of the pre-mRNA and consists of a long string of A nucleotides (only a few of which are shown).
    The pre-mRNA still contains both exons and introns. Along the length of the mRNA, there is an alternating pattern of exons and introns: Exon 1 - Intron 1 - Exon 2 - Intron 2 - Exon 3. Each consists of a stretch of RNA nucleotides.
    During splicing, the introns are removed from the pre-mRNA, and the exons are stuck together to form a mature mRNA.
    Bottom of image: Mature mRNA that does not contain the intron sequences (Exon 1 - Exon 2 - Exon 3 only).
End modifications increase the stability of the mRNA, while splicing gives the mRNA its correct sequence. (If the introns are not removed, they'll be translated along with the exons, producing a "gibberish" polypeptide.)
To learn more about pre-mRNA modifications in eukaryotes, check out the article on pre-mRNA processing.

Transcription happens for individual genes

Not all genes are transcribed all the time. Instead, transcription is controlled individually for each gene (or, in bacteria, for small groups of genes that are transcribed together). Cells carefully regulate transcription, transcribing just the genes whose products are needed at a particular moment.
For example, the diagram below shows a "snapshot" of an imaginary cell's RNAs at a given moment in time. In this cell, genes 1, 2 and 3, are transcribed, while gene 4 is not. Also, genes 1, 2, and 3 are transcribed at different levels, meaning that different numbers of RNA molecules are made for each.
Diagram showing that individual genes are transcribed in different amounts.
A region of DNA containing four genes is shown, with the transcribed region of each gene highlighted in dark blue. The number of transcripts of each gene is indicated above the DNA (on a Y- axis). There are six transcripts of gene 1, one transcript of gene 2, twelve transcripts of gene 3, and no transcripts of gene 4.
This is not an illustration of any actual set of genes and their transcription levels, but rather, illustrates that transcription is controlled individually for genes and other transcription units.
In the following articles, we'll take a more in-depth look at RNA polymerase, the stages of transcription, and the process of RNA modification in eukaryotes. We'll also consider some important differences between bacterial and eukaryotic transcription.
This article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

References:

3'-end cleavage and polyadenylation. (2016). In Nobelprize.org. Retrieved from http://www.nobelprize.org/educational/medicine/dna/a/splicing/splicing_endformation.html.
Alberts, B., Johnson, A., Lewis, J., Raff, M., Roberts, K., and Walter, P. (2002). Posttranscriptional controls. In Molecular biology of the cell (4th ed.). New York, NY: Garland Science. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK26890/.
Berger, Shanna. (2006). Eukaryotic transcription. In Transcription and RNA polymerase II. Retrieved from http://www.chem.uwec.edu/Webpapers2006/sites/bergersl/pages/eukaryotic.html.
Brown, T. A. (2002). Assembly of the transcription initiation complex. In Genomes (2nd ed., Ch. 9). Oxford, UK: Wiley-Liss. Retrieved from www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21115/.
Griffiths, A. J. F., Miller, J. H., Suzuki, D. T., Lewontin, R. C., and Gelbart, W. M. (2000). Transcription and RNA polymerase. In An introduction to genetic analysis (7th ed.). New York, NY: W. H. Freeman. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK22085/.
Inverted repeat. (2016, February 13). Retrieved February 13, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverted_repeat.
Lodish, H., Berk, A., Zipursky, S. L., Matsudaira, P., Baltimore, D., and Darnell, J. (2000). Bacterial transcription initiation. In Molecular cell biology (4th ed., section 10.2). New York, NY: W. H. Freeman. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21612/.
Lodish, H., Berk, A., Zipursky, S. L., Matsudaira, P., Baltimore, D., and Darnell, J. (2000). RNA polymerase II transcription-initiation complex. In Molecular cell biology (4th ed., section 10.6). New York, NY: W. H. Freeman. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21610/.
Lodish, H., Berk, A., Zipursky, S. L., Matsudaira, P., Baltimore, D., and Darnell, J. (2000). Transcription termination. In Molecular cell biology (4th ed., section 11.1). New York, NY: W. H. Freeman. Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK21601/.
Moran, L. A. (2008, September 16). How RNA polymerase binds to DNA [Web log post]. In Sandwalk: Strolling with a skeptical biochemist. Retrieved from http://sandwalk.blogspot.com/2008/09/how-rna-polymerase-binds-to-dna.html
Polyadenylation. (2016, January 24). Retrieved February 11, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyadenylation.
Purves, W. K., Sadava, D. E., Orians, G. H., and Heller, H.C. (2004). Transcription: DNA-directed RNA synthesis. In Life: the science of biology (7th ed., pp. 237-239). Sunderland, MA: Sinauer Associates.
Raven, P. H., Johnson, G. B., Mason, K. A., Losos, J. B., and Singer, S. R. (2014). Genes and how they work. In Biology (10th ed., AP ed., pp. 278-303). New York, NY: McGraw-Hill.
Reece, J. B., Urry, L. A., Cain, M. L., Wasserman, S. A., Minorsky, P. V., and Jackson, R. B. (2011). Transcription is the DNA-directed synthesis of RNA: A closer look. In Campbell biology (10th ed., pp. 340-342). San Francisco, CA: Pearson.
Saunders, A., Core, L. J., and Lis, J. T. (2006). Nature Reviews Molecular Cell Biology, 7, 557-567. http://dx.doi.org/10.1038/nrm1981.
Webb, S. Witte, L., Wong, K., Woreta, T., and Yoo, E. (2002, May 8). TFIIH. In RNA polymerase II in eukaryotes and prokaryotes. Retrieved from http://www.biochem.umd.edu/biochem/kahn/molmachines/newpolII/TFIIH.html.
Loading