如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

对数和指数增长

当有无限资源时,种群是如何增长的(和资源限制是如何改变此规律的)。

要点:

  • 指数增长中,一个种群的 人均 (每个人)增长率无论种群大小都保持不变,使得种群越大增长速度就更快。
  • 在大自然中,种群可能会成指数增长一段时间,但他们最终会受到资源供应的限制。
  • 自我抑制性增长中,一个种群的 人均 增长率随着人口逐渐接近最大值而变得越来越小。这个人口最大值是因为环境中有限的资源而产生的,被称为 承载力
  • 指数增长形成 J形曲线,而自我抑制性增长则形成 S形曲线

介绍

理论上,任何一种生物都可以仅仅通过繁殖而占领地球。例如,想象一下我们一开始有一对雄性、雌性兔子。如果这两只兔子和它们的后代用最快速度繁殖 7 年,没有任何兔子死去,那么我们会有足够多的兔子来覆盖满整个罗德岛州 1,2,3。这和下面这种生物相比还不够震撼——如果我们用 E. coli 细菌,我们可以从仅仅一个细菌开始,36 小时过后我们就会拥有足够多的细菌来覆盖整个地球表面,足足 1 英尺厚 4
你也许已经注意到了,并没有 1 英尺厚的细菌覆盖着整个地球(至少没有在我家),兔子也没有占据罗德岛。那为什么呢?为什么我们看不到这些种群变得像理论中一样大呢?这是因为 E. coli、兔子以及所有生物都需要某些资源,例如营养物质和合适的环境,来生存并且繁殖。这些资源不是无限的,一个种群的个体数量也只能达到一个与生活环境中可利用资源多少相匹配的大小。
种群生态学家采用各种数学方法来做出 种群动态(种群的大小和组成是如何随时间变化)的模型。其中一些模型代表没有环境限制的增长,而其他模型包括了有限资源确定的“上限”。种群数学模型可以用来准确描述种群中的变化,并且更重要的是,可以预测未来的变化。

人口增长率模型

为了理解用于代表种群动态的不同模型,让我们首先来考虑一下 种群增长率 的一般公式(群体中个体数随时间推移的变化):
dNdT=rN
在这个公式中, dN/dT 是在某一刻种群的增长率, N 是种群规模, T 是时间, r人均 增长率——即平均到群体中已经存在的 每个个体上 ,这个群体增长有多快。(参看 微分 主题来了解更多关于 dN/dT 符号的内容。)
如果我们假设没有个体进出种群, 那么r 只是一个出生率和死亡率的函数。你可以在这里学习更多关于这个方程式的含义和推导:
上面这个方程式非常笼统,不过我们可以写出更具体的形式来描述两种不同的增长模式:指数和自我抑制。
  • 人均 增长率(r)无论种群大小都保持相等的正值时,我们就会得到指数增长
  • 人均 增长率(r)随着种群向最高限度增长而下降时,我们就会得到 自我抑制性增长
在这里我们先偷偷地把预览给你——如果你还看不太明白,别担心:
我们将在下面更详细地探索指数增长和自我抑制性增长。

指数增长

实验室里成长的细菌提供了指数增长的极好的例子。在 指数增长中,种群的增长率随着时间的推移而增加,增长率与种群规模 成比例。
让我们看看这是怎么运作的。细菌用二分裂(分成两半)进行复制,而分裂间隔的时间对于很多细菌种类来说大概是一个小时。为了看看这是如何成指数增长的,让我们首先把 1000 个细菌放在一个有无限供应营养物的烧瓶里。
  • 1 小时后:每个细菌都会分裂,产生 2000 个细菌(增加 1000 个细菌)。
  • 2 小时后:这 2000 个细菌每个都将分裂,产出 4000 个细菌 (增加了 2000 个细菌)。
  • 3 小时后:那 4000 个细菌每个都将分裂,产出 8000 个细菌 (增加了 4000 个细菌)。
指数增长的关键概念是,种群增长率——每代增加的生物数量——随着种群规模的增加而增加。结果可能会是惊人的:在 1 天(24 个分裂周期)之后,我们的细菌数量将从 1000 增加到 16 亿以上!以种群规模 N 为竖轴,以时间为横轴作图时,我们会绘制出一个J 形增长曲线。
图片来源:‘’种群增长的环境限制:图1”,作者 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0
我们如何建立一个种群指数增长的模型?正如我们前面简要提到的那样,当一个种群的 r(人均增长率)保持正值且不变时,它会指数增长。尽管任何正的、恒定的 r 都可以造成指数增长,但你通常会看到其中的 rrmaxr)来表示指数增长。
rmax是某个物种在理想情况下 人均增长率的最大值,并且因物种不同而不同。例如,细菌可比人类更快地复制,人均增长率的最大值更高。有时候一个物种种群增长率的最大值,有时被称为生物潜能,可以用下面这个方程表示:
dNdT=rmaxN

自我抑制性增长

指数增长并不是一个非常可持续的状态,因为它需要无限量的资源来维持(在实际世界里往往并不存在)。
如果有很少的个体和许多资源,那么指数增长可能会发生。但是当个体数量增长到足够多时,资源开始逐渐被消耗,放缓增长速度。最终,增长率将会到达一个平稳期,即增长曲线变平,从而形成一个 S形曲线。到达平稳期的种群规模代表了特定环境可以支持的最大种群规模,这被称为 承载能力,或 K
图片来源:‘’种群增长的环境限制:图1”,作者 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0
我们可以通过调整指数增长的算式来建立自我抑制性增长的数学模型,使用的 r(人均增长率)的大小取决于种群规模(N)和其与承载能力(K)的距离。假定当种群非常小的时候,它的基础增长率为 rmax,我们可以写出以下公式:
dNdT=rmax(KN)KN
让我们花一点时间来分解这个方程式,看看它为什么是这样的。在一个种群增长过程中的任何特定时间, KN 告诉我们在到达承载能力之前还可以增加多少个体。那么 (KN)/K 就是尚未“使用”的那部分承载能力所占的比例。 使用过的承载能力越多,(KN)/K 越会降低增长率。
当种群很小时, NK 相比非常小, (KN)/K 值则很接近 (K/K)1,让我们回到了指数增长公式。这符合我们上面这幅图像:种群一开始近指数增长,但在它越来越接近 K 值时,增长则越发平缓。

哪些因素决定了承载能力?

大体上来说,任何对于物种生存很重要的资源都可以起到一定的限制作用。对于植物来说,水、阳光、养分和生长空间都是一些关键的资源。对于动物来说,重要的资源包括食物、水、栖身之所和筑巢的空间。这些资源有限,会导致同一种群成员之间的竞争,或者说 种内竞争(intraspecific competition;intra- = 内部, -specific = 物种)。
对于资源的种内竞争可能不会影响那些远远低于其承载能力的种群——它们的资源充足,并且所有个体都能获得自己需要的东西。但是随着种群规模的增加,竞争会加剧。此外,废物的堆积可以降低环境的承载能力。

自我抑制性增长的例子

酵母菌,一种用于制造面包和酒精饮料的微观真菌,在试管里生长时可以产生一个经典的 S形曲线。 在下面的图像中,随着种群接近现有营养物的上限,酵母菌的增长水平逐渐延缓 (如果我们关注这个种群更长时间,我们可能会看到它的崩溃,因为试管是一个封闭系统——这意味着营养来源会最终消耗完,废物也可能会达到有毒水平)。
图片来源:“种群增长的环境限制:图2”,作者 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0
在实际世界中的自我抑制性增长曲线会与“理想中”的有差异。我们可以看看下图中的例子,它显示华盛顿州斑海豹种群的增长。在20世纪初期,海豹被一个政府项目视为有害的捕食者而被大量狩猎,大大减少了它们的数量 5。自从这个项目的停止,海豹种群已开始恢复,大致符合一个自我抑制性增长模式6
图片来源:“种群增长的环境限制:图2”,作者 OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0。图中的数据视为来自 Huber and Laake5,在Skalski et al6 中被报告。
如上图所示,当到达承载能力时,人口承载能力也许会来回浮动,有时低于或高于这一值。现实中的种群在承载能力上下来回摆动是一件很正常的事情,而不会保持一条完全平坦的线。

总结

  • 当指数增长发生时,不论种群规模如何,人均 增长率保持不变。因此种群越大,增长速度越快。指数增长由下方这个方程式表示:
    dNdT=rmaxN
    指数增长形成一条J形曲线。
  • 当自我抑制性增长发生时,随着种群规模接近由有限资源限制的最大值(即承载能力 K),人均 增长率下降。自我抑制性增长由下方这个方程式表示:
    dNdT=rmax(KN)KN
    自我抑制性增长形成一条S形曲线。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Exponential & logistic growth

How populations grow when they have unlimited resources (and how resource limits change that pattern).

Key points:

  • In exponential growth, a population's per capita (per individual) growth rate stays the same regardless of population size, making the population grow faster and faster as it gets larger.
  • In nature, populations may grow exponentially for some period, but they will ultimately be limited by resource availability.
  • In logistic growth, a population's per capita growth rate gets smaller and smaller as population size approaches a maximum imposed by limited resources in the environment, known as the carrying capacity (K).
  • Exponential growth produces a J-shaped curve, while logistic growth produces an S-shaped curve.

Introduction

In theory, any kind of organism could take over the Earth just by reproducing. For instance, imagine that we started with a single pair of male and female rabbits. If these rabbits and their descendants reproduced at top speed ("like bunnies") for 7 years, without any deaths, we would have enough rabbits to cover the entire state of Rhode Islandstart superscript, 1, comma, 2, comma, 3, end superscript. And that's not even so impressive – if we used E. coli bacteria instead, we could start with just one bacterium and have enough bacteria to cover the Earth with a 1-foot layer in just 36 hoursstart superscript, 4, end superscript!
As you've probably noticed, there isn't a 1-foot layer of bacteria covering the entire Earth (at least, not at my house), nor have bunnies taken possession of Rhode Island. Why, then, don't we see these populations getting as big as they theoretically could? E. coli, rabbits, and all living organisms need specific resources, such as nutrients and suitable environments, in order to survive and reproduce. These resources aren’t unlimited, and a population can only reach a size that match the availability of resources in its local environment.
Population ecologists use a variety of mathematical methods to model population dynamics (how populations change in size and composition over time). Some of these models represent growth without environmental constraints, while others include "ceilings" determined by limited resources. Mathematical models of populations can be used to accurately describe changes occurring in a population and, importantly, to predict future changes.

Modeling population growth rates

To understand the different models that are used to represent population dynamics, let's start by looking at a general equation for the population growth rate (change in number of individuals in a population over time):
space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, N
In this equation, d, N, slash, d, T is the growth rate of the population a given instant, N is population size, T is time, and r is the per capita rate of increase –that is, how quickly the population grows per individual already in the population. (Check out the differential calculus topic for more about the d, N, slash, d, T notation.)
If we assume no movement of individuals into or out of the population, r is just a function of birth and death rates. You can learn more about the meaning and derivation of the equation here:
To start, let’s think about what a population’s growth rate really means. If we assume that no organisms enter or leave the population, we can define the population growth rate (change in population size over a given time interval) in a pretty straightforward way. It's the number of organisms that are born into the population, minus the number that die, in a given time period:
start fraction, delta, N, divided by, delta, T, end fraction, equals, B, minus, D
In this equation, N is the population size, T is time, B is the number of births in our time period, and D is the number of deaths in our time period.
For population modeling, researchers usually express birth rate and death rate in per capita terms. (This just means “per individual,” or literally, “per head”). So, we can rewrite the equation above to substitute per capita rates for population-level rates:
  • B (population birth rate) = b, N (the per capita birth rate b multiplied by the number of individuals, N)
  • D (population death rate) = d, N (the per capita death rate d multiplied by the number of individuals, N)
    start fraction, delta, N, divided by, delta, T, end fraction, equals, b, N, minus, d, N, equals, left parenthesis, b, minus, d, right parenthesis, N
Finally, ecologists often want to calculate the growth rate of a population at a particular instant in time (over an infinitely small time interval), rather than over a long period. So, we can use differential calculus to represent the “instantaneous” growth rate of the population:
start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, b, N, minus, d, N, equals, left parenthesis, b, minus, d, right parenthesis, N
The ds on the left side of the equation refer to the derivative (in the calculus sense), not to the death rate (also called d, but found on the right side of the equation). This is pretty sloppy of us, but it’ll only be an issue for a moment, because we’ll collapse the b, minus, d term into a separate term (r) in the next step.
Finally, we can simplify the relationship between birth and death rates by substituting the term r (per capita growth rate): r, equals b, minus, d. This gives us a single, compact equation:
start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, N
The equation above is very general, and we can make more specific forms of it to describe two different kinds of growth models: exponential and logistic.
  • When the per capita rate of increase (r) takes the same positive value regardless of the population size, then we get exponential growth.
  • When the per capita rate of increase (r) decreases as the population increases towards a maximum limit, then we get logistic growth.
Here's a sneak preview – don't worry if you don't understand all of it yet:
We'll explore exponential growth and logistic growth in more detail below.

Exponential growth

Bacteria grown in the lab provide an excellent example of exponential growth. In exponential growth, the population’s growth rate increases over time, in proportion to the size of the population.
Let’s take a look at how this works. Bacteria reproduce by binary fission (splitting in half), and the time between divisions is about an hour for many bacterial species. To see how this exponential growth, let's start by placing 1000 bacteria in a flask with an unlimited supply of nutrients.
  • After 1 hour: Each bacterium will divide, yielding 2000 bacteria (an increase of 1000 bacteria).
  • After 2 hours: Each of the 2000 bacteria will divide, producing 4000 (an increase of 2000 bacteria).
  • After 3 hours: Each of the 4000 bacteria will divide, producing 8000 (an increase of 4000 bacteria).
The key concept of exponential growth is that the population growth rate —the number of organisms added in each generation—increases as the population gets larger. And the results can be dramatic: after 1 day (24 cycles of division), our bacterial population would have grown from 1000 to over 16 billion! When population size, N, is plotted over time, a J-shaped growth curve is made.
Image credit: "Environmental limits to population growth: Figure 1," by OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0.
How do we model the exponential growth of a population? As we mentioned briefly above, we get exponential growth when r (the per capita rate of increase) for our population is positive and constant. While any positive, constant r can lead to exponential growth, you will often see exponential growth represented with an r of r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript.
r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript is the maximum per capita rate of increase for a particular species under ideal conditions, and it varies from species to species. For instance, bacteria can reproduce much faster than humans, and would have a higher maximum per capita rate of increase. The maximum population growth rate for a species, sometimes called its biotic potential, is expressed in the following equation:
space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript, N

Logistic growth

Exponential growth is not a very sustainable state of affairs, since it depends on infinite amounts of resources (which tend not to exist in the real world).
Exponential growth may happen for a while, if there are few individuals and many resources. But when the number of individuals gets large enough, resources start to get used up, slowing the growth rate. Eventually, the growth rate will plateau, or level off, making an S-shaped curve. The population size at which it levels off, which represents the maximum population size a particular environment can support, is called the carrying capacity, or K.
Image credit: "Environmental limits to population growth: Figure 1," by OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0.
We can mathematically model logistic growth by modifying our equation for exponential growth, using an r (per capita growth rate) that depends on population size (N) and how close it is to carrying capacity (K). Assuming that the population has a base growth rate of r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript when it is very small, we can write the following equation:
space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript, start fraction, left parenthesis, K, minus, N, right parenthesis, divided by, K, end fraction, N
Let's take a minute to dissect this equation and see why it makes sense. At any given point in time during a population's growth, the expression K, minus, N tells us how many more individuals can be added to the population before it hits carrying capacity. left parenthesis, K, minus, N, right parenthesis, slash, K, then, is the fraction of the carrying capacity that has not yet been “used up.” The more carrying capacity that has been used up, the more the left parenthesis, K, minus, N, right parenthesis, slash, K term will reduce the growth rate.
When the population is tiny, N is very small compared to K. The left parenthesis, K, minus, N, right parenthesis, slash, K term becomes approximately left parenthesis, K, slash, K, right parenthesis, or 1, giving us back the exponential equation. This fits with our graph above: the population grows near-exponentially at first, but levels off more and more as it approaches K.

What factors determine carrying capacity?

Basically, any kind of resource important to a species’ survival can act as a limit. For plants, the water, sunlight, nutrients, and the space to grow are some key resources. For animals, important resources include food, water, shelter, and nesting space. Limited quantities of these resources results in competition between members of the same population, or intraspecific competition (intra- = within; -specific = species).
Intraspecific competition for resources may not affect populations that are well below their carrying capacity—resources are plentiful and all individuals can obtain what they need. However, as population size increases, the competition intensifies. In addition, the accumulation of waste products can reduce an environment’s carrying capacity.

Examples of logistic growth

Yeast, a microscopic fungus used to make bread and alcoholic beverages, can produce a classic S-shaped curve when grown in a test tube. In the graph shown below, yeast growth levels off as the population hits the limit of the available nutrients. (If we followed the population for longer, it would likely crash, since the test tube is a closed system – meaning that fuel sources would eventually run out and wastes might reach toxic levels).
Image credit: "Environmental limits to population growth: Figure 2," by OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0.
In the real world, there are variations on the “ideal” logistic curve. We can see one example in the graph below, which illustrates population growth in harbor seals in Washington State. In the early part of the 20th century, seals were actively hunted under a government program that viewed them as harmful predators, greatly reducing their numbersstart superscript, 5, end superscript. Since this program was shut down, seal populations have rebounded in a roughly logistic patternstart superscript, 6, end superscript.
Image credit: "Environmental limits to population growth: Figure 2," by OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0. Data in graph appears to be from Huber and Laakestart superscript, 5, end superscript, as reported in Skalski et alstart superscript, 6, end superscript.
A shown in the graph above, population size may bounce around a bit when it gets to carrying capacity, dipping below or jumping above this value. It’s common for real populations to oscillate (bounce back and forth) continually around carrying capacity, rather than forming a perfectly flat line.

Summary

  • Exponential growth takes place when a population's per capita growth rate stays the same, regardless of population size, making the population grow faster and faster as it gets larger. It's represented by the equation:
    space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, space, start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript, N
    Exponential growth produces a J-shaped curve.
  • Logistic growth takes place when a population's per capita growth rate decreases as population size approaches a maximum imposed by limited resources, the carrying capacity(K). It's represented by the equation:
    space, space, space, space, space, space, space, start fraction, d, N, divided by, d, T, end fraction, equals, r, start subscript, m, a, x, end subscript, start fraction, left parenthesis, K, minus, N, right parenthesis, divided by, K, end fraction, N
    Logistic growth produces an S-shaped curve.

Attribution:

This article is a modified derivative of "Environmental limits to population growth," by OpenStax College, Biology, CC BY 4.0. Download the original article for free at http://cnx.org/contents/185cbf87-c72e-48f5-b51e-f14f21b5eabd@10.12.
The modified article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

Works cited:

  1. Krempels, D. (n.d.). Why spay or neuter my rabbit? Some scary numbers... In H. A. R. E.. Retrieved from http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/scary.html.
  2. List of U.S. states and territories by area. (2016, May 11). Retrieved May 24, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_U.S._states_and_territories_by_area.
  3. Rabbit.(2016, May 24). Retrieved May 25, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rabbit.
    Calculation of rabbits covering Rhode Island approximates a rabbit as covering a 40 cm x 8 cm area (based roughly on reference 3) and utilizes the rabbit reproduction numbers from reference 1 and the area of Rhode Island from reference 2. When the area of Rhode Island is divided by the number of rabbits multiplied by the average "rabbit area," it yields a value less than 1, indicating that the state would be covered by the rabbits.
  4. Pianka, E. R. (2007, July 7). Exponential population growth. In FS 301: The human overpopulation crisis. Retrieved from http://www.zo.utexas.edu/courses/THOC/ExponentialGrowth.htm.
  5. Huber, H. and Laake, J. (2002). Trends and status of harbor seals in Washington state: 1978-99. In AFSC Quarterly Report, 1-13. Retrieved from http://www.afsc.noaa.gov/Quarterly/ond2002/ond02feature.pdf.
  6. Skalski, J. R., Ryding, K. E., and Millspaugh, J. J. (2005). Figure 7.7. Coastal estuarine harbor seal abundance in Washington state, 1975-1999. In Wildlife demography: Analysis of sex, age, and count data. Burlington, MA: Elsevier Academic Press.

Additional references:

Carrying capacity. (2016, May 24). Retrieved May 24, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Carrying_capacity.
In general, r represents the per capita birth rate minus the per capita death rate for a population (r=b-d). (2003). In Connecting concepts: Interactive lessons in biology. Retrieved from
Kopeny, M. (2002). Lecture #K5 - Population ecology, continued. In BIO 202. Retrieved from http://faculty.virginia.edu/bio202/lectures/LectureK5.pdf.
Population dynamics. (2016, May 5). Retrieved May 24, 2016 from Wikipedia: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Population_dynamics.
Post CALC Project. (1999). The natural growth model. In Population growth models. Retrieved from https://services.math.duke.edu/education/postcalc/growth/growth2.html.
Purves, W. K., Sadava, D., Orians, G. H., and Heller, H. C. (2003). Fluctuations in population densities. In Life: The science of biology (7th ed., pp. 1042-1044). Sunderland, MA: Sinauer Associates, Inc.
Raven, P. H. and Johnson, G. B. (2002). Biotic potential. In Biology (6th ed., pp. 506-507). Boston, MA: McGraw-Hill.
Reece, J. B., Urry, L. A., Cain, M. L., Wasserman, S. A., Minorsky, P. V., and Jackson, R. B. (2011). The exponential model describes population growth in an idealized, unlimited environment. In Campbell biology (10th ed., pp. 1190-1192). San Francisco, CA: Pearson.
Rockwood, L. L. (2006). Density-independent growth. In Introduction to population ecology (pp. 5-32). Malden, MA: Blackwell.
Skalski, J. R., Ryding, K. E., and Millspaugh, J. J. (2005). Figure 7.7. Coastal estuarine harbor seal abundance in Washington state, 1975-1999. In Wildlife demography: Analysis of sex, age, and count data. Burlington, MA: Elsevier Academic Press.
Spooner, A. M. (2016). The environmental science of population growth models. In For dummies: Environmental. Retrieved from http://www.dummies.com/how-to/content/the-environmental-science-of-population-growth-mod.html.
Vandermeer, J. (2010). How populations grow: The exponential and logistic equations. Nature Education Knowledge, 3(10), 15. Retrieved from http://www.nature.com/scitable/knowledge/library/how-populations-grow-the-exponential-and-logistic-13240157.