If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

染色体

DNA、染色体和基因组。同源染色体,姊妹染色单体以及单倍体/二倍体。

介绍

当细胞分裂时,其主要工作之一是确保两个新细胞中的每一个都能够获得完整且完美的基因材料副本。在复制过程中出现的错误,或细胞之间遗传材料的不平等分配,都可能产生不健康或功能失调的细胞(可能进一步导致癌症等疾病)。
但这种遗传物质究竟是什么,以及它在细胞分裂过程中是如何运作的?

DNA 和基因数

DNA (脱氧核糖核酸) 是生物的遗传材料。在人类中,几乎在所有细胞中都能发现DNA。它为细胞提供了所需的指令,来指挥细胞生长、运作并对环境作出反应。
当身体中的细胞分裂时,它会将其DNA副本传给其每一个子细胞。在生物体的层面上,DNA也在进行着遗传过程:精子细胞和卵细胞中的DNA合并,形成一个具有父母双方遗传材料的新生物体。
从物质角度而言,DNA是一长串配对的化学单位(核苷酸),有四种不同类型,分别缩写 A、T、C、G。它们携带着的遗传信息组成的片段,被称为 基因。基因通常控制蛋白质的合成,使细胞和生物体具有功能特性。
此图为真核细胞的图片,包含有细胞核DNA(在细胞核内)、线粒体DNA(在线粒体基质中)和叶绿体DNA(在叶绿体的基质中)。
在真核生物中,比如动物和植物,绝大多数DNA存在于细胞核中,被称为 细胞核 DNA。线粒体(作用是为细胞提供生长能量)中含有它们自己的 线粒体 DNA。叶绿体(作用是在植物细胞中进行光合作用)中也有 叶绿体 DNA。在线粒体和叶绿体中的DNA数量比细胞核中的DNA数量少很多。在细菌中,大部分 DNA 存在于细胞的中间区域,称为 拟核,其功能与细胞核类似,但周围没有膜包裹。
一个细胞的整套DNA被称为 基因组。由于生物体的所有细胞(除少数例外)都含有相同的DNA,你也可以说,一个生物有自己的基因组。而且由于同属一个物种的生物通常具有类似的基因组,你也可以描述一个物种的基因组。一般来说,当人们提到人类基因组或任何其他真核生物基因组时,人们指的是细胞核中的DNA组。线粒体和叶绿体被认为是拥有它们自己独立的基因组。

染色质

在一个细胞中,DNA通常并不单独存在,而是与特殊的蛋白质结合在一起才能组织起来,形成结构。在真核生物中,这些蛋白质包括 组蛋白,一组碱性(带正电荷的)蛋白质。它们形成“线轴”,让带负电荷的酸性DNA链可以缠绕在它周围。除了组织DNA并使其更加紧凑,组蛋白还在决定基因活性方面发挥重要作用。DNA、组织蛋白以及其它结构蛋白共同构成了 染色质
该图为一条长长的、双螺旋DNA聚合物,它缠绕着一群群组蛋白,进一步形成更高级的结构,最后形成染色体的形状。
在细胞大部分的生命中,染色质都是 松散的,这意味着在显微镜下看,它看上去就是又细又长的波浪线。在这种情况下,细胞机制(如读取和复制DNA的蛋白质)可以比较容易地获取DNA,这对于细胞生长和发挥作用十分重要。
松散的 来描述这个状态可能有点奇怪——为什么不管它叫做“链式”? 不过当你知道染色质也可以是 紧密的 时候就能理解了。染色质的凝集发生在细胞要开始分裂的时候。当染色质变紧密时,你可以看到真核细胞的DNA不仅是一条长链。相反,它被分离成了的单独的线性片段,称为 染色体 。细菌也带有染色体,但它们的染色体通常是环状的。

染色体

每个物种都有其特有的染色体数量。比如,人类的典型细胞中的染色体有46条, 而狗的染色体是 781条。与很多种类的动植物相似,人类是 二倍体 (2n),说明大部分染色体都是配对出现的同源染色体对。 人体细胞的46条染色体分成了23 对,每一对的两条染色体相互是 同源的 (除了一个小小的例外, X 和 Y 染色体;见下文)。
人类的精子和卵子都只含有每对同源染色体中的一个,被称为是 单倍体 (1n)。当精子和卵子结合时,他们的遗传材料结合起来,形成一个完整的、双倍染色体。所以,在你的基因组中的每一对同源染色体中,一条来自于你的母亲,另一条来自你的父亲。
一组人类男性的染色体组型,来自母亲和父亲的染色体用紫色和绿色标示。
图像基于 "染色体组型," 源自全国健康研究所 (公共部分).
每一个同源染色体对中的两条染色体非常相似,有着相同大小和形状。最重要的是,它们携带同样类型的基因信息:也就是说,它们在同一位置拥有相同的基因。但是,它们不一定拥有相同的基因版本。这是因为你可能继承了两种不同的基因版本,分别来自于你的父亲和母亲。
举个真实的例子,让我们来考虑一个位于第9组染色体上的基因,它确定了我们血型(A、B、AB、O)2。一个人可能拥有两个完全一样的基因副本,各位于一条同源染色体上——例如,你可能会有双份的血型A基因。另一方面,你的两条同源染色体可能拥有两种不同的血型基因,比如A型和B型(你的血型就是AB型)。
性染色体,X和Y,决定了一个人的生物性别:XX 表明女性,XY表明男性。这些染色体不真正同源,是“同一位置的基因相同”这个规则的例外。除了在减数分裂或者制造性细胞中所需的一小部分基因相似之外,X和Y染色体是不同的,携带着不同的基因。其余44条非性染色体被称为 常染色体

染色体和细胞分裂

正在进行DNA复制的细胞(细胞核中的所有染色体都复制)和染色体凝集图像(所有的染色体都成为紧凑的)。在第一个图像中,细胞核中有四条松散的、线状染色体。DNA复制后,每个染色体现在由两个的相连的染色单体组成。染色体凝集后,形成染色体凝集结构(仍然由两个染色单体组成)。
在一个细胞准备分裂时,它必须先为每一个染色体制造一个副本。这个染色体的两个副本被称为 姐妹染色单体,姐妹染色单体完全相同,之间由一种称为 粘连蛋白的蛋白质连接。姐妹染色体相连最紧的位置被称为 着丝粒。着丝粒是DNA的一个区域,这对于细胞分裂的后半阶段中分离染色体十分重要。
只要姐妹染色体还连接在着丝粒,它们仍然被认为是一个染色体,但是,一旦它在细胞分裂过程中被分开,每个单体就被视为一个单独的染色体。
当细胞准备分裂时,染色体会出现什么变化。
  1. 染色体由一个单一的染色单体组成,并且是松散的(长且呈线状)。
  2. DNA 被复制。染色体现在由两个姐妹的染色单体组成,这两条染色单体由粘连蛋白连接在一起。
  3. 染色体凝集。它仍由两条姐妹染色单体组成,但现在却很短,并且很紧密,不再是长长的线状物。它们由着丝粒区域连接着,即染色体向内收的“腰”部。
  4. 染色单体被拉离。每个单体都被视为独立的染色体。
为什么细胞要使染色体经过这种复制、凝集和分离过程?最简短的答案是:确保在细胞分裂过程中,每个新细胞都能够正好得到每个染色体的一个副本。
要得到更加满意的答案,请查看细胞周期的文章和视频,以及 有丝分裂。在这里,您可以看到染色体行为是如何帮助细胞在分裂过程中将完整的DNA组遗传给每一个子细胞的。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Chromosomes

AP.BIO:
IST‑1 (EU)
,
IST‑1.C (LO)
,
IST‑1.C.1 (EK)
DNA, chromosomes, and genomes. Homologous chromosomes, sister chromatids, and haploid/diploid.

Introduction

When a cell divides, one of its main jobs is to make sure that each of the two new cells gets a full, perfect copy of genetic material. Mistakes during copying, or unequal division of the genetic material between cells, can lead to cells that are unhealthy or dysfunctional (and may lead to diseases such as cancer).
But what exactly is this genetic material, and how does it behave over the course of a cell division?

DNA and genomes

DNA (deoxyribonucleic acid) is the genetic material of living organisms. In humans, DNA is found in almost all the cells of the body and provides the instructions they need to grow, function, and respond to their environment.
When a cell in the body divides, it will pass on a copy of its DNA to each of its daughter cells. DNA is also passed on at the level of organisms, with the DNA in sperm and egg cells combining to form a new organism that has genetic material from both its parents.
Physically speaking, DNA is a long string of paired chemical units (nucleotides) that come in four different types, abbreviated A, T, C, and G, and it carries information organized into units called genes. Genes typically provide instructions for making proteins, which give cells and organisms their functional characteristics.
Image of a eukaryotic cell, showing the nuclear DNA (in the nucleus), the mitochondrial DNA (in the mitochondrial matrix), and the chloroplast DNA (in the stroma of the chloroplast).
In eukaryotes such as plants and animals, the majority of DNA is found in the nucleus and is called nuclear DNA. Mitochondria, organelles that harvest energy for the cell, contain their own mitochondrial DNA, and chloroplasts, organelles that carry out photosynthesis in plant cells, also have chloroplast DNA. The amounts of DNA found in mitochondria and chloroplasts are much smaller than the amount found in the nucleus. In bacteria, most of the DNA is found in a central region of the cell called the nucleoid, which functions similarly to a nucleus but is not surrounded by a membrane.
A cell’s set of DNA is called its genome. Since all of the cells in an organism (with a few exceptions) contain the same DNA, you can also say that an organism has its own genome, and since the members of a species typically have similar genomes, you can also describe the genome of a species. In general, when people refer to the human genome, or any other eukaryotic genome, they mean the set of DNA found in the nucleus. Mitochondria and chloroplasts are considered to have their own separate genomes.

Chromatin

In a cell, DNA does not usually exist by itself, but instead associates with specialized proteins that organize it and give it structure. In eukaryotes, these proteins include the histones, a group of basic (positively charged) proteins that form “bobbins” around which negatively charged DNA can wrap. In addition to organizing DNA and making it more compact, histones play an important role in determining which genes are active. The complex of DNA plus histones and other structural proteins is called chromatin.
Image of a long, double-stranded DNA polymer, which wraps around clusters of histone proteins. The DNA wrapped around histones is further organized into higher-order structures that give a chromosome its shape.
For most of the life of the cell, chromatin is decondensed, meaning that it exists in long, thin strings that look like squiggles under the microscope. In this state, the DNA can be accessed relatively easily by cellular machinery (such as proteins that read and copy DNA), which is important in allowing the cell to grow and function.
Decondensed may seem like an odd term for this state – why not just call it “stringy”? – but makes more sense when you learn that chromatin can also condense. Condensation takes place when the cell is about to divide. When chromatin condenses, you can see that eukaryotic DNA is not just one long string. Instead, it’s broken up into separate, linear pieces called chromosomes. Bacteria also have chromosomes, but their chromosomes are typically circular.

Chromosomes

Each species has its own characteristic number of chromosomes. Humans, for instance, have 46 chromosomes in a typical body cell (somatic cell), while dogs have 78start superscript, 1, end superscript. Like many species of animals and plants, humans are diploid (2n), meaning that most of their chromosomes come in matched sets known as homologous pairs. The 46 chromosomes of a human cell are organized into 23 pairs, and the two members of each pair are said to be homologues of one another (with the slight exception of the X and Y chromosomes; see below).
Human sperm and eggs, which have only one homologous chromosome from each pair, are said to be haploid (1n). When a sperm and egg fuse, their genetic material combines to form one complete, diploid set of chromosomes. So, for each homologous pair of chromosomes in your genome, one of the homologues comes from your mom and the other from your dad.
Image of the karyotype of a human male, with chromosomes from the mother and father false-colored purple and green, respectively.
Image modified from "Karyotype," by the National Institutes of Health (public domain).
The two chromosomes in a homologous pair are very similar to one another and have the same size and shape. Most importantly, they carry the same type of genetic information: that is, they have the same genes in the same locations. However, they don't necessarily have the same versions of genes. That's because you may have inherited two different gene versions from your mom and your dad.
As a real example, let's consider a gene on chromosome 9 that determines blood type (A, B, AB, or O)squared. It's possible for a person to have two identical copies of this gene, one on each homologous chromosome—for example, you may have a double dose of the gene version for type A. On the other hand, you may have two different gene versions on your two homologous chromosomes, such as one for type A and one for type B (giving AB blood).
The sex chromosomes, X and Y, determine a person's biological sex: XX specifies female and XY specifies male. These chromosomes are not true homologues and are an exception to the rule of the same genes in the same places. Aside from small regions of similarity needed during meiosis, or sex cell production, the X and Y chromosomes are different and carry different genes. The 44 non-sex chromosomes in humans are called autosomes.

Chromosomes and cell division

Image of a cell undergoing DNA replication (all the chromosomes in the nucleus are copied) and chromosome condensation (all the chromosomes become compact). In the first image, there are four decondensed, stringy chromosomes in the nucleus of the cell. After DNA replication, each chromosome now consists of two physically attached sister chromatids. After chromosome condensation, the chromosomes condense to form compact structures (still made up of two chromatids).
As a cell prepares to divide, it must make a copy of each of its chromosomes. The two copies of a chromosome are called sister chromatids. The sister chromatids are identical to one another and are attached to each other by proteins called cohesins. The attachment between sister chromatids is tightest at the centromere, a region of DNA that is important for their separation during later stages of cell division.
As long as the sister chromatids are connected at the centromere, they are still considered to be one chromosome. However, as soon as they are pulled apart during cell division, each is considered a separate chromosome.
What happens to a chromosome as a cell prepares to divide.
  1. The chromosome consists of a single chromatid and is decondensed (long and string-like).
  2. The DNA is copied. The chromosome now consists of two sister chromatids, which are connected by proteins called cohesins.
  3. The chromosome condenses. It is still made up of two sister chromatids, but they are now short and compact rather than long and stringy. They are most tightly connected at the centromere region, which is the inward-pinching "waist" of the chromosome.
  4. The chromatids are pulled apart. Each is now considered its own chromosome.
Why do cells put their chromosomes through this process of replication, condensation, and separation? The short answer is: to make sure that, during cell division, each new cell gets exactly one copy of each chromosome.
For a more satisfying answer, check out the articles and videos on the cell cycle and mitosis. There, you can see how the behavior of chromosomes helps cells pass on a perfect set of DNA to each daughter cell during division.

Want to join the conversation?

  • aqualine ultimate style avatar for user Sean Cozart
    So cells go under mitosis and meiosis. DNA is copied and split, but wouldn't that mean the other organelles in the cell have to copy too? It is never mentioned and I wonder if there is a reason or something.
    (50 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leafers ultimate style avatar for user Neil Chaudhary
      There is a production of cellular organelles and proteins during the life of the cell prior to replication. And, in fact, some of the cellular organelles DO contain genetic material (for example, mitochondria and chloroplasts contain their own DNA specifying mitochondrial and chloroplastic proteins) which must be replicated during the process of organelle reproduction.
      (10 votes)
  • leaf green style avatar for user sriram krishna
    sperms have 1 sex determining chromosome x or y or it has 2 both x and y?
    (20 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user Macie
    The general concept of mitosis is one cell splitting into two. But, the text does not discuss how any cell dies. It appears to me that the amount of cells in a certain organ would just keep increasing and increasing. It does not seem that the cells die to balance out the amount of cells, they just keep increasing by spitting into two. How does that work for the body?
    (10 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • leafers ultimate style avatar for user Neil Chaudhary
      In addition to what Aleksandr has said here, you may also wish to consider that mature organs contain many cells which no longer reproduce, but simply serve their function until they die and are replaced. These cells are said to be in "G-zero." You can think of them as done with reproduction and simply doing their job... like many humans at an advanced age!
      (7 votes)
  • duskpin ultimate style avatar for user keeyan000
    How many DNA are there in a chromosomes?
    (5 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • leafers seed style avatar for user 231434
    how does DNA get to the cells in the body?
    (6 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • mr pink red style avatar for user Bushi
    chroma means colored and soma means body. . . It means chromosomes are colored, right?
    (3 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • leafers sapling style avatar for user Faith Idleviewer
    In the first paragraph (DNA and Genomes), it says that almost all cells in the human body have DNA. There are some cells without DNA?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user sarayubatta
    Can you explain me the basic understanding about mitosis and meiosis?

    I am always getting confused between them.
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user 23ancap1
    what are chromosomes made out of
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
  • blobby green style avatar for user Parsa Payandeh
    How do proteins,exactly,indicate the functions of cells and organisms?like how do they know if a certain gene is responsible for blonde hair or dark hair and how do they help these characterestics show themselves?
    (2 votes)
    Default Khan Academy avatar avatar for user
    • piceratops ultimate style avatar for user RowanH
      I don't know about human eye colour, but proteins carry out many functions in the body, from regulating what gets into or out of the cell, keeping the cell's structure, and catalysing reactions that make other molecules in the cell (this is the job of enzymes). I don't know about the human eye colour, but it will be something to do with whether a pigment gets made. In fruit flies, which normally have red-brown eyes, there are mutants with white eyes with mutations in a transporter which means a precursor for certain pigments can't enter the cell.
      Finding out which genes do what is what genetics is all about. There are lots of experiments that go into actually finding out what the gene encodes in terms of protein.
      (2 votes)