如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

动物交往

了解动物如何使用视觉、声音、触摸和化学信号进行交往。

要点

  • 交往是指一个动物向另一个动物传送信息,从而导致获得信息的动物发生某种变化。
  • 交往通常存在于同一种物种的动物间,但也可能发生在不同物种的两个动物之间。
  • 动物使用信号进行交往,其可能是视觉的、听觉的、化学的(涉及信息素)、或是触觉的。
  • 交往可以帮助动物找到配偶、建立支配地位、保卫领土、协调团体行为、照顾幼崽。

介绍

你有没有想过蚂蚁如何通过好似看不见的小径找到食物?当你遛公狗时,为什么它们会在灌木和路灯上尿尿来标记它们的领地?当鸟在你窗外啁啾鸣叫时,它们在说什么?
如果有过的话,你找对了地方!在这篇文章里,我们将了解这些,以及其他很多在动物王国中使用的交往方式。

交往形式众多

交往——当我们谈论动物行为时——可以是任何一个动物将信息传递给另一个动物、导致动物变化或反应的过程。
交往通常在一个物种的成员之间发生,尽管它也可以发生在不同物种之间。例如,你的狗可能会冲你叫,管你要零食!一些物种是十分社会性的,生活在一起并一直互动;而交往对使这些群体保持凝聚力和条理性至关重要。然而,即使是相对独行的动物通常也需要进行一点交往,哪怕只是为了找到配偶。
交往行为以什么形式发生呢?动物们的感觉系统相差很多。例如,狗的嗅觉比我们灵敏40倍2!因为这种感官上的多样性,不同的动物使用很多种刺激进行交往,统称为信号
以下是一些常见的信号类型:
  • 信息素——化学物质
  • 听觉提示——声音
  • 视觉提示
  • 触觉提示
在某些情况下,信号甚至可以是用电的!
这种交往的多样性从何而来?和其他性状一样,交往行为——和/或学习这些行为的能力——通过自然选择产生。能提高生物体存活和繁殖可能性的可遗传的交往行为会倾向于在一个种群或物种中持续存在并变得常见。
在本文的其余部分中,我们将介绍一些例子,来展示动物之间多种形式的交往。

信息素

信息素是一种分泌出的化学信号,用于诱发同物种中其他个体的反应。信息素在社会性昆虫中尤为常见,如蚂蚁和蜜蜂。信息素可以用来吸引异性、发出警报、标记食物踪迹、或引发其他更复杂的行为。
下图展示了蚂蚁为引导蚁群中的其他蚂蚁到食物源而铺设的信息素痕迹。当食物源丰厚时,蚂蚁会在往返两程的路上都留下信息素,建立一条“路径”并吸引更多的蚂蚁。当食物源即将耗尽时,蚂蚁会停止在返程时留下信息素,让痕迹变淡3,4
图片来源: 背包蚂蚁 由 Dake, CC BY 2.5
蚂蚁也使用信息素来交流它们在群体中的社会等级或职能,不同“阶级”的蚂蚁会对相同的信息素做出不同的反应3。被压瘪的蚂蚁也会释放信息素来警告附近蚂蚁注意危险——并可能刺激它们去形成大群或开始叮咬5,6
狗也用信息素交往。它们互相嗅闻以收集对方的化学信息。很多化学物质也被释放在他们的尿中。通过向灌木或路标撒尿,狗可以留下它的身份标记,其可以被其他路过的狗读取,这样就可以“声明”临近领域的所有权7,8

听觉信号

听觉交往——基于声音的沟通——在动物王国中被广泛运用。
听觉交往在鸟类中尤其重要。它们用声音来传递警告、吸引配偶、保卫领地、协调团体行为。一些鸟类会产生类似歌声的,相对较长、有旋律的、且在物种成员间相似的鸣叫。
图片来源: 家燕(Hirundo rustica)鸣叫 由 Charles J. Sharp, CC BY-SA 4.0
很多非鸟类物种也用声音交往:
  • 当捕食者靠近时,猴子会发出警告,让其他种群成员有机会逃跑。长尾黑颚猴甚至会用不同的叫声来表示不同的捕食者。
  • 牛蛙用呱呱的叫声吸引雌蛙作为配偶。在一些青蛙物种,声音可以在一英里(约1.6千米)外被听到!
  • 长臂猿使用叫声来标记它们的领地,使潜在的竞争对手远离。一对雄性和雌性,甚至和它们的后代,可以一起发出叫声。
水,像空气一样,可以传递声波。海洋生物也使用声音进行交往。例如,海豚会产生各种声音(包括哨声、鸣叫声和咔嗒声),并将它们以复杂的模式排列。认为这可能代表一种语言形式的想法是耐人寻味的,但也颇具争议性9

视觉信号

视觉交往涉及可以看到的信号。这些信号的例子包括手势、面部表达、身体姿态和色彩。
手势和姿态是被广泛使用的视觉信号。例如,黑猩猩通过抬高胳膊、拍打地面、或直接注视另一个黑猩猩,来传递危险的信号。手势和姿态通常被用于交配仪式,并可能用来显示其他信号——例如亮色。
某些物种也使用面部表情传达信息。例如,所谓的恐惧微笑——在下面年轻的黑猩猩的脸上能看到——象征屈服。年轻的黑猩猩在接近其种群中占主导地位的雄性时,会使用这种表达方式来表示它们接受雄性的统治地位。
图片来源: 恐惧微笑 由 CK-12 Foundation, CC BY-NC 3.0
着色的变化也可用作视觉信号。例如,在某些种类的猴子中,当雌性处于生殖周期的生育阶段时,雌性生殖器官周围的皮肤会变亮。颜色的变化表明此雌性可以被追求。
生物的一般颜色——而不是颜色的变化——也可以作为视觉信号1。例如,某些有毒物种,例如飞镖蛙,它们的亮色是向捕食者发出的“请勿食用”警示信号。

触觉信号

触觉信号的作用范围比其他类型的信号更加有限,因为两个生物必须相互靠近才能触摸10。不过,这些信号对许多物种交往十分重要。
在昆虫中,触觉信号相当常见。例如,一个发现食物源的蜜蜂将执行一系列复杂的动作,称为摇摆舞,以表明食物的位置。由于这个舞蹈是在黑暗的蜂巢里面完成的,其他蜜蜂大都通过接触来解读它11,12
触觉信号在社会关系中也起着重要的作用。例如,在许多灵长类动物中,一个群体的成员会互相梳理——清除寄生虫和进行其他卫生任务13。这种主要为触觉的行为加强了群体成员之间的合作关系和社会纽带14
触觉刺激在非常年轻的生物的生存中也起着一定的作用。例如,新生的小狗会本能地揉捏母亲的乳腺,导致激素催产素的释放和母乳的产生15

交往的目的是什么?

如上文所述,动物使用多种不同的信号进行交往,而且在许多情况下使用这些信号。以下是交往最常见的几个用处:
  • 获得配偶 许多动物在交配方面都有复杂的交往行为。这些行为可能涉及吸引配偶或与其他潜在追求者竞争交配机会。
  • 建立主导或捍卫领土 在许多物种中,通信行为对于建立社会等级或捍卫领土的主导地位很重要。
  • 协调团体的行为 在社会性物种中,交往是协调集体活动,例如食品获取和防御,以及维护团体凝聚力的关键。
  • 照顾幼崽 在亲代照顾后代的物种中,交往协调父母和子女的行为,帮助确保后代生存。
正如这些例子所示,交往有助于生物体相互沟通以履行基本生活职能,如生存、获得配偶和照顾幼崽。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Learn how animals communicate with visual, sound, touch, and chemical signals.

Key points

  • Communication is when one animal transmits information to another animal causing some kind of change in the animal that gets the information.
  • Communication is usually between animals of a single species, but it can also happen between two animals of different species.
  • Animals communicate using signals, which can include visual; auditory, or sound-based; chemical, involving pheromones; or tactile, touch-based, cues.
  • Communication behaviors can help animals find mates, establish dominance, defend territory, coordinate group behavior, and care for young.

Introduction

Have you ever wondered how ants follow what seem to be invisible trails leading to food? Why male dogs mark their territory by peeing on bushes and lampposts when you take them for a walk? What birds are saying to one another when they chirp outside your window?
If so, you're in the right place! In this article, we'll take a look at these—and many other—forms of communication used in the animal kingdom.

Communication takes many forms

Communication—when we're talking about animal behavior—can be any process where information is passed from one animal to another causing a change or response in the receiving animal.
In some cases, communication is deliberate—one organism sends a message that's received by the target recipient. In other cases, communication may reach an unintended recipient. For example, some predators find their prey based on signals the prey uses to communicate with other members of its group1^1.
Communication most often happens between members of a species, though it can also take place between different species. For instance, your dog may bark at you to ask for a treat! Some species are very social, living in groups and interacting all the time; communication is essential for keeping these groups cohesive and organized. However, even animals that are relative loners usually have to communicate at least a little, if only to find a mate.
What forms can communication behaviors take? Well, animal sensory systems vary quite a great deal. For instance, a dog's sense of smell is 40 times more acute than ours!2^2 Because of this sensory diversity, different animals communicate using a wide range of stimuli, known collectively as signals.
Below are some common types of signals:
  • Pheromones—chemicals
  • Auditory cues—sounds
  • Visual cues
  • Tactile cues—touch
In some cases, signals can even be electric!
Where does this diversity of communication behaviors come from? Like other traits, communication behaviors—and/or the capacity for learning these behaviors—arise through natural selection. Heritable communication behaviors that increase an organism's likelihood of surviving and reproducing will tend to persist and become common in a population or species.
In the rest of the article, we'll look at some examples of the many ways that animals can communicate with one another.

Pheromones

A pheromone is a secreted chemical signal used to trigger a response in another individual of the same species. Pheromones are especially common among social insects, such as ants and bees. Pheromones may attract the opposite sex, raise an alarm, mark a food trail, or trigger other, more complex behaviors.
The diagram below shows pheromone trails laid down by ants to direct others in the colony to sources of food. When a food source is rich, ants will deposit pheromone on both the outgoing and return legs of their trip, building up the trail and attracting more ants. When the food source is about to run out, the ants will stop adding pheromone on the way back, letting the trail fade out3,4^{3,4}.
Image credit: Knapsack ants by Dake, CC BY 2.5
Ants also use pheromones to communicate their social status, or role, in the colony, and ants of different "castes" may respond differently to the same pheromone signals3^3. A squashed ant will also release a burst of pheromones that warns nearby ants of danger—and may incite them to swarm and sting5,6^{5,6}.
Dogs also communicate using pheromones. They sniff each other to collect this chemical information, and many of the chemicals are also released in their urine. By peeing on a bush or post, a dog leaves a mark of its identity that can be read by other passing dogs and may stake its claim to nearby territory7,8^{7,8}.

Auditory signals

Auditory communication—communication based on sound—is widely used in the animal kingdom.
Auditory communication is particularly important in birds, who use sounds to convey warnings, attract mates, defend territories, and coordinate group behaviors. Some birds also produce birdsong, vocalizations that are relatively long and melodic and tend to be similar among the members of a species.
Many non-bird species also communicate using sound:
  • Monkeys cry out a warning when a predator is near, giving the other members of the troop a chance to escape. Vervet monkeys even have different calls to indicate different predators.
  • Bullfrogs croak to attract female frogs as mates. In some frog species, the sounds can be heard up to a mile away!
  • Gibbons use calls to mark their territory, keeping potential competitors away. A paired male and female, and even their offspring, may make the calls together.
Water, like air, can carry sound waves, and marine animals also use sound to communicate. Dolphins, for instance, produce various noises—including whistles, chirps, and clicks—and arrange them in complex patterns. The idea that this might represent a form of language is intriguing but controversial9^9.

Visual signals

Visual communication involves signals that can be seen. Examples of these signals include gestures, facial expressions, body postures, and coloration.
Gesture and posture are widely used visual signals. For instance, chimpanzees communicate a threat by raising their arms, slapping the ground, or staring directly at another chimpanzee. Gestures and postures are commonly used in mating rituals and may place other signals—such as bright coloring—on display.
Facial expressions are also used to convey information in some species. For instance, what is known as the fear grin—shown on the face of the young chimpanzee below—signals submission. This expression is used by young chimpanzees when approaching a dominant male in their troop to indicate they accept the male's dominance.
Image credit: The 'fear grin' by CK-12 Foundation, CC BY-NC 3.0
Changes in coloration also serve as visual signals. For instance, in some species of monkeys, the skin around a female’s reproductive organs becomes brightly colored when the female is in the fertile stage of her reproductive cycle. The color change signals that the female can be approached by suitors.
An organism's general coloration—rather than a change in color—may also act as a visual signal1^1. For instance, the bright coloration of some toxic species, such as the poison dart frog, acts as a do-not-eat warning signal to predators.
Image credit: Ranitomeya amazonica by Vir Vikram Singh, CC BY-SA 3.0

Tactile signals—touch

Tactile signals are more limited in range than the other types of signals, as two organisms must be right next to each other in order to touch10^{10}. Still, these signals are an important part of the communication repertoire of many species.
Tactile signals are fairly common in insects. For instance, a honeybee forager that's found a food source will perform an intricate series of motions called a waggle dance to indicate the location of the food. Since this dance is done in darkness inside the nest, the other bees interpret it largely through touch11,12^{11,12}.
Tactile signals also play an important role in social relationships. For instance, in many primate species, members of a group will groom one another—removing parasites and performing other hygiene tasks13^{13}. This largely tactile behavior reinforces cooperation and social bonds among group members14^{14}.
Image credit: Macaca fuscata, social grooming by Noneotuho, CC BY-SA 3.0
Tactile stimuli also play a role in the survival of very young organisms. For instance, newborn puppies will instinctively knead at their mother's mammary glands, causing the release of the hormone oxytocin and production of milk15^{15}.

What is communication used for?

As the examples above illustrate, animals communicate using many different types of signals, and they also use these signals in a wide range of contexts. Here are some of the most common functions of communication:
  • Obtaining mates. Many animals have elaborate communication behaviors surrounding mating, which may involve attracting a mate or competing with other potential suitors for access to mates.
    Communication behaviors surrounding mating are often highly ritualized. For instance, a male may perform an intricate dance, show off decorative features—such as bright patches or elaborate patterns—or perform a characteristic song to attract a female. Similarly, males may compete with each for mates other using ritualized display behaviors, which usually involve posturing and gestural or vocal "threats" rather than actual fighting.
  • Establishing dominance or defending territory. In many species, communication behaviors are important in establishing dominance in a social hierarchy or defending territory.
    Communication, for example, may allow disputes over status or territory to be settled without the need for fighting. By posturing, vocalizing, or making aggressive gestures, both participants make a relatively honest advertisement of their ability and willingness to fight. This allows both parties to size each other up, and the weaker may voluntarily back down.
  • Coordinating group behaviors. In social species, communication is key in coordinating the activities of the group, such as food acquisition and defense, and in maintaining group cohesion.
    Communication may be used, for example, to direct other group members to a food source. Honeybee foragers use the waggle dance for this purpose, and ants use pheromone trails. Pack-hunting predators, such as wolves, also communicate to capture prey as a group.
    Group members may signal to coordinate defensive behaviors. For example, this is the case when a crushed ant incites other ants to swarm, or when a monkey gives an alarm call upon spotting a predator.
    Communication behaviors can also maintain cohesion within a group or establish social bonds and relationships. For instance, grooming among primates fosters cooperation and cohesion among group members.
  • Caring for young. Among species that provide parental care to offspring, communication coordinates parent and offspring behaviors to help ensure that the offspring will survive.
    Tactile signals exchanged between newborn animals and their mothers, for example, trigger the mother to provide food and may also stimulate the formation of parent-child bonds through hormone release.
    Gull chicks tapping on the red spots on their parents' beaks—see article on innate behavior—is another example of a communication behavior that favors the survival of offspring.
As these examples show, communication helps organisms interact to carry out basic life functions, such as surviving, obtaining mates, and caring for young.

Attribution

The modified article is licensed under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 license.

Works cited

  1. Eric Gillam, "An Introduction to Animal Communication," Nature Education Knowledge 3, no. 10 (2011): 70, http://www.nature.com/scitable/knowledge/library/an-introduction-to-animal-communication-23648715.
  2. Peter Tyson, "Dogs' Dazzling Sense of Smell," Nova, last modified October 4, 2012, http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/nature/dogs-sense-of-smell.html.
  3. Duncan E. Jackson and Francis L. W. Ratnieks, "Communication in Ants," Current Biology 16, no. 15 (2006): R570-R574, http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.cub.2006.07.015.
  4. "Trail Pheromone," Wikipedia, last modified April 11, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trail_pheromone.
  5. "Ant," Wikipedia, last modified June 18, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ant.
  6. "Chemical Pheromone Communication Between Ants," antARK, accessed June 18, 2016, http://antark.net/ant-life/ant-communication/pheromones/.
  7. "Dog Communication," Wikipedia, last modified June 17, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_communication.
  8. "Dog Behavior," Wikipedia, last modified June 9, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_behavior.
  9. "Whale Vocalization," Wikipedia, last modified June 8, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whale_vocalization.
  10. Marina Haynes and Cassandra Moore-Crawford, "Animal Behavior Laboratory Exercise 8 Communication," ANSC 455: Applied Animal Behavior, accessed June 18, 2016, http://terpconnect.umd.edu/~wrstrick/secu/ansc455/lab8.htm.
  11. SparkNotes Editors, “Signal Types: Mechanisms and Relative Advantages (page 2),” SparkNotes, accessed May 27, 2016, http://www.sparknotes.com/biology/animalbehavior/signalingandcommunication/section2/page/2/.
  12. John R. Meyer, "Tactile Communication," General Entomology, accessed June 18, 2016, https://www.cals.ncsu.edu/course/ent425/tutorial/Communication/tactcomm.html.
  13. "Social Grooming," Wikipedia, last modified June 13, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_grooming.
  14. David Krueger and Lanlan Jin, "Adaptive Value," Social Grooming in Primates, accessed June 18, 2016, http://www.reed.edu/biology/professors/srenn/pages/teaching/web_2008/dklj_site_final/adaptive.html.
  15. Beth Vanhorn and Robert Clark, "Instinctive Behaviors," in Veterinary Assisting Fundamentals & Applications (Clifton Park: Delmar/Cengage Learning, 2011), 517.

References

"Animal Communication." Wikipedia. May 12, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Animal_communication.
"Ant." Wikipedia. Last modified June 18, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ant.
"Chemical Pheromone Communication Between Ants." antARK. Accessed June 18, 2016. http://antark.net/ant-life/ant-communication/pheromones/.
"Dog Behavior." Wikipedia. Last modified June 9, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_behavior.
"Dog Communication." Wikipedia. Last modified June 17, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_communication.
Gillam, Eric. "An Introduction to Animal Communication." Nature Education Knowledge 3, no. 10 (2011): 70. http://www.nature.com/scitable/knowledge/library/an-introduction-to-animal-communication-23648715.
Haynes, Marina and Cassandra Moore-Crawford. "Animal Behavior Laboratory Exercise 8 Communication." ANSC 455: Applied Animal Behavior. Accessed June 18, 2016. http://terpconnect.umd.edu/~wrstrick/secu/ansc455/lab8.htm.
Jackson, Duncan E. and Francis L. W. Ratnieks. "Communication in Ants." Current Biology 16, no. 15 (2006): R570-R574. http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.cub.2006.07.015.
Krueger, David and Lanlan Jin. "Adaptive Value." Social Grooming in Primates. Accessed June 18, 2016. http://www.reed.edu/biology/professors/srenn/pages/teaching/web_2008/dklj_site_final/adaptive.html.
Meyer, John R. "Tactile Communication." General Entomology. Accessed June 18, 2016. https://www.cals.ncsu.edu/course/ent425/tutorial/Communication/tactcomm.html.
"Pheromone," Wikipedia, June 5, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pheromone.
Raven, Peter H., George B. Johnson, Kenneth A. Mason, Jonathan B. Losos, and Susan R. Singer. "Animal Communication." In Biology, 1144-1147. 10th ed., AP ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2014.
"Social Grooming." Wikipedia. Last modified June 13, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Social_grooming.
SparkNotes Editors. “Signal Types: Mechanisms and Relative Advantages (page 2).” SparkNotes. Accessed May 27, 2016. http://www.sparknotes.com/biology/animalbehavior/signalingandcommunication/section2/page/2/.
"Trail Pheromone." Wikipedia. Last modified April 11, 2016. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Trail_pheromone.
Tyson, Peter. "Dogs' Dazzling Sense of Smell." Nova. Last modified October 4, 2012. http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/nature/dogs-sense-of-smell.html.
Vanhorn, Beth and Robert Clark. "Instinctive Behaviors." In Veterinary Assisting Fundamentals & Applications, 517. Clifton Park: Delmar/Cengage Learning, 2011.
"Whale Vocalization." Wikipedia, last modified June 8, 2016, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Whale_vocalization.
Loading