If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

如果你被网页过滤器挡住,请确保域名*.kastatic.org*.kasandbox.org 没有被阻止.

主要内容

矩阵变换

学习 2X2 的矩阵如何做平面变换的。

介绍

如果我们把矩阵看做空间的变换,它就会给我们带来对矩阵运算更深的理解。这个视角有助于我们对矩阵运算,如乘法,的定义。同时,它给我们一个很好的借口去画漂亮的图片。这些材料和线性代数有重合之处(通常为大学内容)

乘法作为变换

"变换" 的想法最初看起来可能会比真正的情况复杂得多,所以在开始讲解 2×22-维空间的变换,或者 3×3 矩阵在 3-维空间变换前,我们先看看简单的数字 (即 1×1 的矩阵) 可以被看做 1-维空间上的变换。
"1-维空间"只是一个简单的数轴。
数轴
当你把整个数轴上的数都乘以一个值,例如 2, 会发生什么呢?以下是一种可能的可视化方法:
可汗学院视频播放器
我们保留原本的数轴作为参考,然后把所有的数字沿着数轴滑动到 2 倍原本的数值。
类似地,可以这样可视化乘以 12
可汗学院视频播放器
同时,不忽略负数,这是乘以 3 的结果:
可汗学院视频播放器
对于那些喜欢花哨术语的人来说,这些动画化的变化可以被称作 "1-维空间下的线性变换“。“变换” 这个词和 “函数”指的是同样的东西:一种输入是数字,输出也是数字的东西,就像 f(x)=2x。但是,虽然我们通常以画图的方式可视化函数,人们倾向于使用 “变换” 一词来表示你应该用一些东西的移动、伸展、挤压等可视化这个变化。所以,函数 f(x)=2x 以变换的形式可视化便带来了上面这个 "乘以 2" 的视频。 它把数轴上的 1 移动到了 2 开始的位置,把 2 移动到了 4 开始的位置,以此类推。
在我们开始讨论 2-维空间之前,有一个简单但重要的事实我们应该一直记住。假设你看了某个变换,知道这只是关于一些数字的乘法,但是并不知道具体的数字是多少,像这一个例子:
可汗学院视频播放器
你可以通过 顺着 1 的方式轻松地找出这个数字。在这个情况下,1 落在 3 开始的位置,所以你可以判断这个动画表示了乘以 3的情况。

线性变换在 2 维空间是什么样子?

一个 2-维空间线性变换是一个特殊的将 2-维向量转换成 [xy] 另一个 2-维向量的函数。和之前一样, “变换” 一词表明我们应该想想将某些东西在空间中滑动,在这个例子中是 2-维空间。下面是一些示例:
可汗学院视频播放器
为了我们的目的,变换被称作线性变换前必须满足下面的几何规则:原点必须固定,同时所有直线必须保持直线。因此以上动画中所有的变换都是线性,但是接下来这个例子不是:
可汗学院视频播放器
可汗学院视频播放器

关注线性变换中的特定向量

想象你正在观察某一个变换,就像这个
可汗学院视频播放器
你要怎么样把他描述给你的另一个没有看相同动画的朋友?你无法继续使用一个数字去描述它,就像之前我们之前用 1 在一维空间中一样。 为了不跟丢任何东西,让我们把一个绿箭头放在 [10]之上, 把一个红箭头放在 [01], 同时把原本的格子的一个副本固定在背景上。
可汗学院视频播放器
现在在去看东西坐落的地方就容易多了。例如,再看一次动画,并将注意力集中在 [11]上,我们可以更容易地跟着它并注意到它落在了 [42]上。
我们可以用以下的符号表示上面的变换:
[11][42]
练习题:如果平面经过视频中所示变换,点 [10] 最终落在哪里?
选出正确答案:

练习题:即使屏幕已经显示不了这个点, 你能预测[30]最终落在哪了吗?
选出正确答案:

注意到向量[20], 起点在 2 倍原本的绿箭头外,在变换后仍然落在 2 绿箭头两倍之外。因为绿箭头落在了 [12],我们可以以此推断
[20]2[12]=[24].
在一般情况下
[x0]=x[10]x[12]=[x2x]
相似地,整个 y-轴的落点由红色箭头 [01] 的落点决定,在这个变换下是 [30]
练习题:在平面经历了上面的变换之后,[0y] 这个在 y-轴上的一般点会落在哪?
选出正确答案:

事实上, 一旦我们知道 [10][01] 落在哪,我们可以推断任何点会落在哪。例如,让我们在动画中跟着这个点 [12]
可汗学院视频播放器
它起始于 1 乘以绿箭头加上 2 乘以红箭头,但它也结束在 1 乘以绿箭头加上 2 乘以红箭头在变换之后的落点,这意味着
1[12]+2[30]=[52]
这种可以在变换前后按照其部分分解向量的特殊性质便是 线性 变换的特殊之处。
练习题:用相同的策略计算 [11] 的落点。
选出正确答案:

用矩阵表示二维线性变换

一般情况下,因为每个向量 [xy] 可以被分解为
[xy]=x[10]+y[01]
如果绿箭头 [10] 落在某个向量 [ac]上, 同时红箭头 [01] 落在 [bd]上, 那么向量 [xy] 一定会落在
x[ac]+y[bd]=[ax+bycx+dy]
一个描述线性变换的非常优美的方式便是用矩阵
A=[abcd]
在这里第一 告诉我们 [10] 的落点同时第二 告诉我们 [01] 的落点。现在我们可以以矩阵向量乘积的方式,表示任何向量 v=[xy] 的落点
Av=[ax+bycx+dy]
事实上,这便是矩阵向量乘积的定义的源头
所以,与 1-维线性变换可以被某些数字的乘积所表示,即任意 1 的落点表示的,2-维线性变换也可以用同样的方式被表示为 2×2矩阵,即一个第一列表示 [10] 的落点,同时第二列表示 [01] 的落点的东西。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Learn how exactly 2x2 matrices act as transformations of the plane.

Introduction

If we think about a matrix as a transformation of space it can lead to a deeper understanding of matrix operations. This viewpoint helps motivate how we define matrix operations like multiplication, and, it gives us a nice excuse to draw pretty pictures. This material touches on linear algebra (usually a college topic).

Multiplication as a transformation

The idea of a "transformation" can seem more complicated than it really is at first, so before diving into how 2, times, 2 matrices transform 2-dimensional space, or how 3, times, 3 matrices transform 3-dimensional space, let's go over how plain old numbers (a.k.a. 1, times, 1 matrices) can be considered transformations of 1-dimensional space.
"1-dimensional space" is simply the number line.
Number Line
What happens when you multiply every number on the line by a particular value, like 2? One way to visualize this is as follows:
We keep a copy of the original line for reference, then slide each number on the line to 2 times that number.
Similarly, multiplication by start fraction, 1, divided by, 2, end fraction could be visualized like this:
And so that negative numbers don't feel neglected, here is multiplication by minus, 3:
For those of you fond of fancy terminology, these animated actions could be described as "Linear transformations of 1-dimensional space". The word “transformation” means the same thing as “function”: something which takes in a number and outputs a number, like f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, equals, 2, x. However, while we typically visualize functions with their graphs, people tend to use the word “transformation” to indicate that you should instead visualize some object moving, stretching, squishing, etc. So the function f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, equals, 2, x visualized as a transformation gives us the "Multiplication by 2" video above. It moves the point 1 on the number line to where 2 starts off, moves 2 to where 4 starts off, etc.
The technical definition of a “linear” transform is a function f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis that satisfies the two properties
  • f, left parenthesis, x, plus, y, right parenthesis, equals, f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, plus, f, left parenthesis, y, right parenthesis
  • f, left parenthesis, c, x, right parenthesis, equals, c, f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis
Here, in 1 dimension, x and y are numbers, as opposed to, say, vectors. In this special case of 1 dimension, the only functions satisfying these properties look like multiplication by a constant, i.e. f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, equals, k, x for some constant k.
Why? Plug in x, equals, 1 to the second property, and we see f, left parenthesis, c, right parenthesis, equals, c, f, left parenthesis, 1, right parenthesis. If we interpret c as a variable and f, left parenthesis, 1, right parenthesis as some constant, the entire function is just multiplication by f, left parenthesis, 1, right parenthesis. For instance, if f, left parenthesis, 1, right parenthesis, equals, 8, then f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, equals, 8, x. In fact, we don't even need the first property, since once we know f looks like f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, equals, k, x, the fact that f, left parenthesis, x, plus, y, right parenthesis, equals, f, left parenthesis, x, right parenthesis, plus, f, left parenthesis, y, right parenthesis follows from the distributive law: k, left parenthesis, x, plus, y, right parenthesis, equals, k, x, plus, k, y.
This might seem like an awfully complicated way to describe multiplication, especially given that the first property above is pointless. However, the importance of linearity comes when f is a function of vectors. The fact that in 1-dimension f is completely determined by where it takes the number 1 has a much more interesting analog in higher dimensions.
Before we move on to 2-dimensional space, there's one simple but important fact we should keep in the back of our minds. Suppose you watch one of these transformations, knowing that it's multiplication by some number, but without knowing what that number is, like this one:
You can easily figure out which number is being multiplied into the line by start color goldE, f, o, l, l, o, w, i, n, g, space, 1, end color goldE. In this case, 1 lands where minus, 3 started off, so you can tell that the animation represents multiplication by minus, 3.
Thinking of numbers as transformations gives an alternate interpretation of multiplication.
If we apply two transformation in a row, for instance multiplication by 2, then by 3,
the total action is the same as some other single transformation, in this case multiplication by 6:
This gives a convoluted understanding of multiplication, which will be surprisingly useful as an analogy for matrix multiplication.
Person A: What is 4, times, 5?
Person B: Well, consider the unique linear transform which takes 1 to 4, as well as the unique linear transform which takes 1 to 5, then apply each of these transformations, one after the other, and 4, times, 5 will be whatever number 1 lands on.
Person A: ...that's the stupidest thing I've ever heard.

What do linear transformations in 2 dimensions look like?

A 2-dimensional linear transformation is a special kind of function which takes in a 2-dimensional vector [xy]\left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ y \end{array} \right] and outputs another 2-dimensional vector. As before, our use of the word “transformation” indicates we should think about smooshing something around, which in this case is 2-dimensional space. Here are some examples:
For our purposes, what makes a transformation linear is the following geometric rule: The origin must remain fixed, and all lines must remain lines. So all the transforms in the above animation are examples, but the following are not:
As in 1 dimension, what makes a transformation “linear” is that it satisfies the two properties
f, left parenthesis, v, plus, w, right parenthesis, equals, f, left parenthesis, v, right parenthesis, plus, f, left parenthesis, w, right parenthesis
f, left parenthesis, c, v, right parenthesis, equals, c, f, left parenthesis, v, right parenthesis
where v and w are now vectors instead of numbers. While in 1-dimension the first property was useless, it now plays a more important role, because in some sense it determines how the two different dimensions play together during a transformation.

Following specific vectors during a transformation

Imagine you are watching one particular transformation, like this one
How could you describe this to a friend who is not watching the same animation? You can no longer describe it using a single number, the way we could just follow the number 1 in the one dimensional case. To help keep track of everything, let's put a green arrow over the vector [10]\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]}, put a red arrow over the vector [01]\redD{\left[\begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right]}, and fix a copy of the grid in the background.
Now it's a lot easier to see where things land. For example, watch the animation again, and focus on the vector [11]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 1 \end{array} \right], we can more easily follow it to see that it lands on the vector [42]\left[\begin{array}{c} 4 \\ -2 \end{array} \right].
We can represent this fact with the following notation:
[11][42]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 1 \end{array} \right] \rightarrow \left[ \begin{array}{c} 4 \\ -2 \end{array} \right]
Practice Problem: Where does the point at [10]\left[ \begin{array}{c} -1 \\ 0 \end{array}\right] end up after the plane has undergone the transformation in the above video?
Choose 1 answer:
Choose 1 answer:

Practice Problem Even though it has gone off screen, can you predict where the point [30]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 3 \\ 0 \end{array}\right] has landed?
Choose 1 answer:
Choose 1 answer:

Notice, a vector like [20]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 2 \\ 0 \end{array} \right], which starts off as 2 times the green arrow, continues to be 2 times the green arrow after the transformation. Since the green arrow lands on [12]\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ -2 \end{array} \right]}, we can deduce that
[20]2[12]=[24]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 2 \\ 0 \end{array} \right] \rightarrow 2 \cdot \greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ -2 \end{array} \right]} = \left[ \begin{array}{c} 2 \\ -4 \end{array} \right].
And in general
[x0]=x[10]x[12]=[x2x]\begin{aligned} \left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ 0 \end{array} \right] = x \cdot \greenD{\left[\begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array}\right]} &\rightarrow x \cdot \greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ -2 \end{array} \right]} = \left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ -2x \end{array} \right] \\ \end{aligned}
Similarly, the destination of the entire y-axis is determined by where the red arrow [01]\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right]} lands, which for this transformation is [30]\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 3 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]}.
Practice Problem: After the plane has undergone the transformation illustrated above, where does the general point [0y]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ y \end{array}\right] on the y-axis land?
Choose 1 answer:
Choose 1 answer:

In fact, once we know where [10]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right] and [01]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right] land, we can deduce where every point on the plane must go. For example, let's follow the point [12]\left[ \begin{array}{c} -1 \\ 2 \end{array} \right] in our animation:
It starts at minus, 1 times the green arrow plus 2 times the red arrow, but it also ends at minus, 1 times the green arrow plus 2 times the red arrow, which after the transformation means
1[12]+2[30]=[52] -1 \cdot \greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ -2 \end{array} \right]} + 2 \cdot \redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 3 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]} = \left[ \begin{array}{c} 5 \\ 2 \end{array} \right]
This ability to break up a vector in terms of its components both before and after the transformation is what's so special about linear transformations.
Practice Problem: Use this same tactic to compute where the vector [11]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ -1 \end{array}\right] lands.
Choose 1 answer:
Choose 1 answer:

Representing two dimensional linear transforms with matrices

In general, since each vector [xy]\left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ y \end{array} \right] can be broken down as
[xy]=x[10]+y[01] \left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ y \end{array} \right] = x\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]} + y\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right]}
If the green arrow [10]\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]} lands on some vector [ac]\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} a \\ c \end{array} \right]}, and the red arrow [01]\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right]} lands on some vector [bd]\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} b \\ d \end{array} \right]}, then the vector [xy]\left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ y \end{array} \right] must land on
x[ac]+y[bd]=[ax+bycx+dy] x \cdot \greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} a \\ c \end{array} \right]} + y \cdot \redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} b \\ d \end{array} \right]} = \left[ \begin{array}{c} \greenD{a}x + \redD{b}y \\ \greenD{c}x + \redD{d}y \end{array} \right]
A really nice way to describe all this is to represent a given linear transform with the matrix
A=[abcd]\textbf{A} = \left[\begin{array}{cc} a & b \\ c & d \end{array} \right]
where the first column tells us where [10]\greenD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right]} lands and the second column tells us where [01]\redD{\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right]} lands. Now we can describe where any vector v=[xy]\textbf{v} = \left[ \begin{array}{c} x \\ y \end{array} \right] lands very compactly as the matrix-vector product
Av=[ax+bycx+dy]\textbf{Av} = \left[\begin{array}{c} ax + by \\ cx + dy \end{array}\right]
In fact, this is where the definition of a matrix-vector product comes from.
So in the same way that 1-dimensional linear transforms could be described as multiplication by some number, namely whichever number 1 lands on top of, 2-dimensional linear transforms can always be described by a 2, times, 2 matrix, namely the one whose first column indicates where [10]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 1 \\ 0 \end{array} \right] lands, and whose second column indicates where [01]\left[ \begin{array}{c} 0 \\ 1 \end{array} \right] lands.