West Africa

Overview: 0 / 4 complete
Sika dwa kofi (Golden Stool), Asante people
Seated Figure (Djenné peoples)
Ife uncovered
Bundu / Sowei Helmet Mask (Mende peoples)

By Dr. Christa Clarke, for The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York

The Republic of Mali is part of West Africa and has a varied geography. In the south and west are verdant river valleys while the north and east jut into the Sahara Desert. It is a French speaking nation though dozens of languages are spoken there. Islam was introduced in the 11th century and is the dominant religion.