If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content

Unit: East Africa and the Horn of Africa

About this unit

Brought to you by Smarthistory. East Africa is a huge region with Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia to the north, Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi to the south and the Indian Ocean Islands of Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles, Réunion and Mayotte.