如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

课程摘要: 菲利普斯曲线

在本课总结中,提醒自己注意与菲利普斯曲线有关的关键术语和图表。主题包括短期的菲利普斯曲线(SRPC),长期菲利普斯曲线,以及菲利普斯曲线模型与AD-AS模型之间的关系。

课程摘要

特洛伊的海伦可能有 "发射一千艘船的脸", 但比尔·菲利普斯的曲线却引发了一千次宏观经济辩论。比尔·菲利普斯观察到, 失业和通货膨胀似乎成反比。最初的菲利普斯曲线表明, 当失业率上升时, 通货膨胀率就会下降。
自比尔·菲利普斯最初的观察以来, 菲利普斯曲线模型已经被修改, 既包括短期的菲利普斯曲线 (与最初的菲利普斯曲线一样, 显示了通货膨胀和失业之间的反比关系), 也包括了长期曲线菲利普斯曲线 (这表明, 从长远来看, 通货膨胀和失业之间没有关系)。
AD/AS 模型中的任何更改都将在菲利普斯曲线模型中有相应的变化。我们还可以使用菲利普斯曲线模型来了解自校正机制。也许最重要的是, 菲利普斯曲线帮助我们了解政府在考虑失业和通胀时面临的困境。

关键术语

关键术语定义
菲利普斯曲线模型使用短期菲利普斯曲线和长期菲利普斯曲线展现失业率和通货膨胀关系的图像模型
短期菲利普斯曲线 ("SPRC")说明失业率与通货膨胀率相反关系的曲线
长期菲利普斯曲线 (" LRPC ")说明从长期来看失业率与通货膨胀没有关系的曲线;LRAC在自然失业率下是垂直的

主要模型: 菲利普斯曲线模型

菲利普斯曲线模型中有两个表 (换句话说, "曲线"):
  1. 短期菲利普斯曲线 (SRPC)SRPC 上的每一点都代表着失业和通货膨胀的结合, 考虑到目前对通货膨胀的预期, 一个经济体可能会经历这种情况。例如, 一个在上面图1的点1的经济体有着失业率 5% 和通货膨胀率 2 美元。在点2, 失业率下降到 3%, 通货膨胀率上升到 7% , 沿着 SRPC 向左移动。沿 SRPC 的移动 (如从第1点到第2点的移动) 表明总需求 (AD) 发生了变化。 SRPC的移动, 如从第2点到第3点的移动, 表示短期总供应量的变化 (SRAS)。
  2. 长期菲利普斯曲线 (LRPC)LRPC 按自然失业率计算是垂直的。图1告诉我们, 这个经济体的自然失业率是 5%。

要点回顾

经济总是沿着短期的菲利普斯曲线运行

与生产可能性曲线和 AD/AS 模型一样, 短期的菲利普斯曲线可以用来代表一个经济体的状态。
下表总结了如何将商业周期中的不同阶段表示为短期菲利普斯曲线上的不同点。
在PPC中如何展示在 AD-AS模型中如何展示在菲利普曲线中如何展示
衰退 (UR>URn, 低通货膨胀, Y<Yf)
通货膨胀差额 (UR<URn, 高通货膨胀, Y>Yf)
长期均衡 (UR=URn, Y=Yf)

总需求 (AD) 冲击和菲利普斯曲线

假设经济最初处于长期均衡状态 (如下表所示的两个图表中的A点所示), 但随后它将遇到 AD 冲击。这种冲击如何导致 AD的增加或减少, 我们如何使用菲利普斯曲线模型来说明这一点?
下面的两个图显示了如何使用菲利普斯曲线模型来说明这种影响。
AD (正 AD 冲击) 的增加是如何出现在菲利普斯模型中| AD (负 AD 冲击) 的减少是如何出现在菲利普利普斯模型中 |-123 7
|
从 A 点移动到 B 点表示 AD 的增加。当 AD 增加时, 通货膨胀就会增加, 失业率就会下降。 从 A 点到 C 点的移动表示 AD 的减少。当 AD 减少时, 通货膨胀就会降低, 失业率就会上升。

SRAS和菲利普斯曲线(PC)

在此之前,我们了解到,一个经济体会根据总需求(AD)的长期冲击进行调整。例如,当AD增加时,价格水平也增加。最终,物价水平的上升将导致工资上涨,这将导致短期总供给(SRAS)减少。
这个长期调整机制也可以用菲利普斯曲线模型来说明。当 SRAS 移动时, SRPC相反 方向移动,如下表所示:
SRAS(左移)的减少如何出现在PC模型中?SRAS(右移)的增加如何出现在PC模型中
一个经济体最初在X美元处处于长期均衡状态,但总需求的增加降低了失业率,并加剧了通货膨胀,导致其向Y美元移动。当人们预期会有7的通货膨胀时,SRAS将减少(向左移动),SRPC将向右移动。
一个经济体最初在X美元处处于长期均衡状态,但总需求的增加降低了失业率,并加剧了通货膨胀,导致其向Y美元移动。当人们预期会有3的通货膨胀时,SRAS将增加(向右移动),SRPC将向左移动。
例如,假设经济长期平衡,失业率为4%,通货膨胀率为2%。 如果有增加通货膨胀率的冲击,而且增长是刺激因素,那么人们就会期待通货膨胀永远不会再达到2%。
这意味着,即使经济恢复到4%的失业,通胀率也会更高。不会再出现同样的SPRC且失业率为4%,通货膨胀率为7%。因此,SRPC必须建立在通胀上升预期的基础上而移动。

自然失业率和长期菲利普斯曲线

任何改变自然失业率的事情都将改变长期的菲利普斯曲线。回想一下, 自然失业率是由以下方面组成的:
摩擦失业 结构性失业
例如, 如果摩擦失业率因就业匹配能力的提高而减少, 那么长期的菲利普斯曲线将向左移动 (因为自然失业率下降)。或者, 如果结构性失业因工人的工作技能过时而增加, 那么长期的菲利普斯曲线就会向右移动 (因为自然失业率上升)。

常见的误解

  • 在我们之前看到的许多模型中, 图形中的相关点始终是两条曲线相交的地方。因此, 您可能会认为经济始终处于 SRPC 和 LRPC 的交汇处。然而, 这---假设是不正确的。SRPC 上的任何 点都可能是经济运行的地方。经济处于长期平衡状态的唯一时间是 SRPC 和 LRPC 相交的时刻。
  • 有时新的学习者会在您沿着 SRPC 移动和移动 SRPC 时感到困惑。周期性失业的变化是沿 SRPC 的变化。自然失业率的变化改变了 LRPC。
  • 沿 SRPC 的运动与 AD 的移动相关联。SRPC 的转移与 SRAS 中的移位有关。
  • 周期性失业的变化是沿 SRPC 的变动。自然失业率的变化改变了 LRPC。

复习题

瓦坎达的经济自然失业率为8%。其目前的失业率为 6%, 通货膨胀率为7%。
  1. 使用所提供的关于通货膨胀和失业的信息, 使用正确标记的菲利普斯曲线图, 显示瓦坎达的经济现状。
  2. AD-AS 模型中什么样的冲击会使瓦坎达从长期平衡转向国家的现状?请解释。
  3. 由于目前的失业和通货膨胀状况, 从长远来看, 下列情况会发生什么?
a) 短线菲利普斯曲线 (SRPC)?解释。
b) 长期菲利普斯曲线 (LRPC)?解释。

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Lesson Summary

Helen of Troy may have had “the face that launched a thousand ships,” but Bill Phillips had the curve that launched a thousand macroeconomic debates. Bill Phillips observed that unemployment and inflation appear to be inversely related. The original Phillips curve demonstrated that when the unemployment rate increases, the rate of inflation goes down.
Since Bill Phillips’ original observation, the Phillips curve model has been modified to include both a short-run Phillips curve (which, like the original Phillips curve, shows the inverse relationship between inflation and unemployment) and the long-run Phillips curve (which shows that in the long-run there is no relationship between inflation and unemployment).
Any change in the AD-AS model will have a corresponding change in the Phillips curve model. We can also use the Phillips curve model to understand the self-correction mechanism. Perhaps most importantly, the Phillips curve helps us understand the dilemmas that governments face when thinking about unemployment and inflation.

Key terms

Key termDefinition
Phillips curve modela graphical model showing the relationship between unemployment and inflation using the short-run Phillips curve and the long-run Phillips curve
short-run Phillips curve (“SPRC)a curve illustrating the inverse short-run relationship between the unemployment rate and the inflation rate
long-run Phillips curve (“LRPC”)a curve illustrating that there is no relationship between the unemployment rate and inflation in the long-run; the LRPC is vertical at the natural rate of unemployment.

Key Model: the Phillips curve model

There are two schedules (in other words, "curves") in the Phillips curve model:
  1. The short-run Phillips curve (SRPCSRPC). Every point on an SRPCSRPC represents a combination of unemployment and inflation that an economy might experience given current expectations about inflation. For example, an economy that is on point 1 in Figure 1 above currently has an unemployment rate of 5%5\% and an inflation rate of 2%2\%. At point 2, the unemployment rate decreases to 3% and the rate of inflation increases to 7%7\%, moving along the SRPCSRPC to the left. Movements along an SRPC, such as a movement from point 1 to point 2, indicate aggregate demand (ADAD) has changed. Shifts of the SRPCSRPC, such as a movement from point 2 to point 3, indicate a change in short-run aggregate supply (SRASSRAS).
  2. The long-run Phillips curve (LRPCLRPC). The LRPCLRPC is vertical at the natural rate of unemployment. Figure 1 tells us that this economy’s natural rate of unemployment is 5%5\%.

Key Takeaways

The economy is always operating somewhere along a short-run Phillips curve

Like the production possibilities curve and the AD-AS model, the short-run Phillips curve can be used to represent the state of an economy.
The table below summarizes how different stages in the business cycle can be represented as different points along the short-run Phillips curve.
How this appears in a PPCHow this appears in an AD-AS modelHow this appears in the Phillips curve model
A recession (UR>URn, low inflation, Y<Yf)
An inflationary gap (UR<URn, high inflation, Y>Yf)
Long run equilibrium (UR=URn, Y=Yf)

Aggregate demand (ADAD) shocks and the Phillips curve

Assume an economy is initially in long-run equilibrium (as indicated by point AA in the two graphs shown in the table below), but then it experiences an ADAD shock. How might that shock result in an increase or decrease in ADAD, and how can we use the Phillips curve model to illustrate that?
The two graphs below show how that impact is illustrated using the Phillips curve model.
How an increase in ADAD (a positive ADAD shock) appears in the Phillips modelHow a decrease in ADAD (a negative ADAD shock) appears in the Phillips model
A movement from point A to point B represents an increase in AD. When AD increases, inflation increases and the unemployment rate decreases.A movement from point A to point C represents a decrease in AD. When AD decreases, inflation decreases and the unemployment rate increases.

SRAS and the Phillips curve (PC)

Previously, we learned that an economy adjusts to aggregate demand (ADAD) shocks in the long run. For example, when ADAD increases the price level also increases. Eventually, the increase in the price level will lead to higher wages, which will cause short-run aggregate supply (SRASSRAS) to decrease.
That long-run adjustment mechanism can be illustrated using the Phillips curve model also. When SRASSRAS shifts, the SRPCSRPC shifts in the opposite direction, as summarized in the table below:
How a decrease in SRAS (shift left) appears in the PC modelHow an increase in SRAS (shift right) appears in the PC model
An economy is initially in long-run equilibrium at point XX, but an increase in aggregate demand decreases unemployment and increases inflation, resulting in the move to point YY. When people expect there to be 7%7\% inflation permanently, SRASSRAS will decrease (shift left) and the SRPCSRPC shifts to the right.An economy is initially in long-run equilibrium at point XX, but a decrease in aggregate demand increases unemployment and decreases inflation, resulting in the move to point YY. When people expect there to be 3%3\% inflation permanently, SRASSRAS will increase (shift right) and the SRPCSRPC shifts to the left.
The shift in SRPC represents a change in expectations about inflation. For example, suppose an economy is in long-run equilibrium with an unemployment rate of 4% and an inflation rate of 2%. If there is a shock that increases the rate of inflation, and that increase is persistant, then people will just expect that inflation will never be 2% again.
That means even if the economy returns to 4% unemployment, the inflation rate will be higher. There is no way to be on the same SRPC and experience 4% unemployment and 7% inflation. Therefore, the SRPC must have shifted to build in this expectation of higher inflation.

The natural rate of unemployment and the long-run Phillips curve

Anything that changes the natural rate of unemployment will shift the long-run Phillips curve. Recall that the natural rate of unemployment is made up of:
Frictional unemployment Structural unemployment
For example, if frictional unemployment decreases because job matching abilities improve, then the long-run Phillips curve will shift to the left (because the natural rate of unemployment decreases). Or, if there is an increase in structural unemployment because workers’ job skills become obsolete, then the long-run Phillips curve will shift to the right (because the natural rate of unemployment increases).

Common misperceptions

  • In many models we have seen before, the pertinent point in a graph is always where two curves intersect. So you might think that the economy is always operating at the intersection of the SRPC and LRPC. However, this assumption is not correct. Any point along the SRPC could be where an economy is operating. The only time the economy is at the point where the SRPC and LRPC intersect is when it is in long-run equilibrium.
  • Sometimes new learners confuse when you move along an SRPC and when you shift an SRPC. Changes in cyclical unemployment are movements along an SRPC. Changes in the natural rate of unemployment shift the LRPC.
  • Movements along the SRPC are associated with shifts in AD. Shifts of the SRPC are associated with shifts in SRAS.
  • Changes in cyclical unemployment are movements along an SRPC. Changes in the natural rate of unemployment shift the LRPC.

Questions for review

The economy of Wakanda has a natural rate of unemployment of 8%. Its current rate of unemployment is 6% and the inflation rate is 7%.
  1. Show the current state of the economy in Wakanda using a correctly labeled graph of the Phillips curve using the information provided about inflation and unemployment.
  2. What kind of shock in the AD-AS model would have moved Wakanda from a long run equilibrium to the country’s current state? Explain.
  3. As a result of the current state of unemployment and inflation what will happen to each of the following in the long run?
a) The short-run Phillips curve (SRPC)? Explain.
b) The long-run Phillips curve (LRPC)? Explain.
Loading