如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

大θ (大Theta) 符号

让我们看一下线性搜索的简单实现:
var doLinearSearch = function(array, targetValue) {
  for (var guess = 0; guess < array.length; guess++) {
    if (array[guess] === targetValue) { 
        return guess;  //找到啦!
    }
  }
  return -1;  //没找到
};
让我们用n表示数组的大小 (array.length)。for 循环可以运行的最大次数为n,当数组中不存在要搜索的值时, 就会出现这种最坏的情况。
每次for循环迭代时,它必须做几件事:
  • guessarray.length进行比较
  • array[guess]targetValue进行比较
  • 返回guess的值
  • guess自增。
这些小计算中的每一个在每次执行时都会花费常量时间。如果for循环迭代 n 次,则对于所有n次循环来说运行时间是c1nc1是所有单次循环中所需计算时间的和。我们无法说c1 究竟是多少,因为他取决于计算机的计算速度,编译器或解释器将程序解释成可执行代码的时间,或者其他的一些因素。
代码有一点额外开销用来进行for循环(包括将guess初始化为0) ,结果可能返回-1。 让我们来将这个额外开销的时间记为 c2, 他是个常量。因此,线性搜索最坏情况的总运行时间是c1n+c2
正如我们讨论的, 系数常量c1 和低阶项c2无法告诉我们运行时间的增长速率。重要的是,线性搜索的最坏情况运行时间会随着数组大小n的增长而增长。我们使用符号 Θ(n)来标识这个运行时间。 它是希腊字母 "theta", 我们将之记作"big-Theta of n" 或者仅仅是 "Theta of n."
当我们说一个特定的运行时间是 Θ(n)时, 我们说,一旦n变得足够大, 存在某些常量k1k2,运行时间至少是k1n,至多是k2n。下面是如何思考 Θ(n):
n很小时, 我们不在乎运行时间 k1n 比起 k2n 谁更快。但是,一旦n变得足够大——在虚线上或右侧——运行时间必须处于 k1nk2n 之间。只要这些常量 k1k2 存在, 我们就说运行时间是 Θ(n)
我们并不限制 big-Θ符号中的 n。我们可以使用任何函数, 如 n2nlog2n,或者关于n的任何其他函数。下面是如何思考一些函数 f(n)的运行时间Θ(f(n)):
一旦 n 足够大, 运行时间处于 k1f(n)k2f(n)之间。
实际上, 我们只是去掉了常量和低阶项。使用 big-Θ 标记的另一个优点是, 我们不必担心使用的是哪些时间单位。例如,假设计算的运行时间为6n2+100n+300秒。或者也可能是毫秒。当使用big-Θ 标记时,你不用管它。你也可以去掉系数和低阶项100n+300,你只需要说,运行时间是 Θ(n2)
当我们使用big-Θ符号时, 我们说的是我们在运行时间上有一个 渐近紧约束 。"渐近"是因为它只对n起作用。"紧约束",因为我们已经将运行时间约束在常量系数的上限和下限中。
本内容是 达特茅斯计算机科学 教授 Thomas CormenDevin Balkcom,与可汗学院的计算课程团队合作完成。内容获得许可 CC-BY-NC-SA

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

Let's look at a simple implementation of linear search:
var doLinearSearch = function(array, targetValue) {
  for (var guess = 0; guess < array.length; guess++) {
    if (array[guess] === targetValue) { 
        return guess;  // found it!
    }
  }
  return -1;  // didn't find it
};
Let's denote the size of the array (array.length) by n n . The maximum number of times that the for-loop can run is n n , and this worst case occurs when the value being searched for is not present in the array.
Each time the for-loop iterates, it has to do several things:
  • compare guess with array.length
  • compare array[guess] with targetValue
  • possibly return the value of guess
  • increment guess.
Each of these little computations takes a constant amount of time each time it executes. If the for-loop iterates n n times, then the time for all n n iterations is c1n c_1 \cdot n , where c1 c_1 is the sum of the times for the computations in one loop iteration. Now, we cannot say here what the value of c1 c_1 is, because it depends on the speed of the computer, the programming language used, the compiler or interpreter that translates the source program into runnable code, and other factors.
This code has a little bit of extra overhead, for setting up the for-loop (including initializing guess to 0) and possibly returning -1 at the end. Let's call the time for this overhead c2 c_2 , which is also a constant. Therefore, the total time for linear search in the worst case is c1n+c2 c_1 \cdot n + c_2 .
As we've argued, the constant factor c1 c_1 and the low-order term c2 c_2 don't tell us about the rate of growth of the running time. What's significant is that the worst-case running time of linear search grows like the array size n n . The notation we use for this running time is Θ(n) \Theta(n) . That's the Greek letter "theta," and we say "big-Theta of n n " or just "Theta of n n ."
When we say that a particular running time is Θ(n) \Theta(n) , we're saying that once n n gets large enough, the running time is at least k1n k_1 \cdot n and at most k2n k_2 \cdot n for some constants k1 k_1 and k2 k_2 . Here's how to think of Θ(n) \Theta(n) :
For small values of n n , we don't care how the running time compares with k1n k_1 \cdot n or k2n k_2 \cdot n . But once n n gets large enough—on or to the right of the dashed line—the running time must be sandwiched between k1n k_1 \cdot n and k2n k_2 \cdot n . As long as these constants k1 k_1 and k2 k_2 exist, we say that the running time is Θ(n) \Theta(n) .
We are not restricted to just n n in big-Θ notation. We can use any function, such as n2 n^2 , nlog2n n \log_2 n , or any other function of n n . Here's how to think of a running time that is Θ(f(n)) \Theta(f(n)) for some function f(n) f(n) :
Once n n gets large enough, the running time is between k1f(n) k_1 \cdot f(n) and k2f(n) k_2 \cdot f(n) .
In practice, we just drop constant factors and low-order terms. Another advantage of using big-Θ notation is that we don't have to worry about which time units we're using. For example, suppose that you calculate that a running time is 6n2+100n+300 6n^2 + 100n + 300 microseconds. Or maybe it's milliseconds. When you use big-Θ notation, you don't say. You also drop the factor 6 and the low-order terms 100n+300 100n + 300 , and you just say that the running time is Θ(n2) \Theta(n^2) .
When we use big-Θ notation, we're saying that we have an asymptotically tight bound on the running time. "Asymptotically" because it matters for only large values of n n . "Tight bound" because we've nailed the running time to within a constant factor above and below.

This content is a collaboration of Dartmouth Computer Science professors Thomas Cormen and Devin Balkcom, plus the Khan Academy computing curriculum team. The content is licensed CC-BY-NC-SA.
Loading