如果你看到这则信息,这表示下载可汗学院的外部资源时遇到困难.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

主要内容

渐近符号

到现在为止,我们通过计算可能需要的最大猜测次数,分析了线性搜索和二分搜索。但是我们真正想要知道的是这些算法需要 多久 。我们感兴趣的是 时间 而不仅是猜测次数。线性搜索和二分搜索的运行时间包括进行猜测并验证猜测的时间 ,但又不仅如此。
算法运行时间依赖于计算机花费多久时间去执行算法的代码—这取决于电脑的运行速度,以及采用的编程语言和编译器等因素。
让我们更仔细地思考算法的运行时间。我们能把两种思路结合起来。首先,考虑输入的规模,我们需要确定算法需要运行多久。这个思路很直观,不是吗?我们已经看到,线性和二分搜索中的最大猜测次数随数组长度增加而增加。或者想想GPS,如果他只知道州内的高速公路系统,而不知道小路,他就该更快的找到路线,对吧?所以我们把算法的运行时间看作一个于 输入规模相关的函数
第二个思路是我们必须关注函数运行时间随输入大小增长的速度。我们称之为运行时间的增长率。为了保持简洁,我们需要简化函数,提取出最重要的部分,把不那么重要的事情放到一边。例如,假设有一个算法,它的输入规模为 n,执行 6n2+100n+300 条机器指令。 当 n 变得足够大的时候,比如20,6n2 这一项比其他项,100n+300更大,这张图描述了6n2100n+300 的值随 n 从0到100变化而变化的情况:
我们会说算法的运行时间的增长为n2, 去掉了系数6和剩余项 100n+300。我们用什么系数并不重要;只要运行时间是an2+bn+c, 对于某些数字 a>0, b, 和 c, 总会存在 n ,使 an2 总是大于 bn+c,并且这一差额会随 n 增加而增加。 比如,以下的图表描述了0.6n21000n+3000 的值,我们将n2的系数减少到十分之一,将其他两项的系数增加到10倍:
n增长的时候, 0.6n21000n+3000 增长更快, 但不论常量如何,这里始终存在一个交汇点。
通过去掉不重要的项以及常量系数,我们可以专注于算法的运行时间的重要部分—增长率—而不用陷入把我们搞晕的具体细节。当我们去掉常量系数和不重要的项时,我们会使用渐进符号。我们将会看到三种形式:大 Θ 符号,大 O 符号,和大 Ω 符号。
本内容是 达特茅斯计算机科学 系的教授 Thomas CormenDevin Balkcom 以及可汗学院计算机课程团队合作完成。内容使用获得许可 CC-BY-NC-SA

想加入讨论吗?

尚无帖子。
你会英语吗?单击此处查看更多可汗学院英文版的讨论.

So far, we analyzed linear search and binary search by counting the maximum number of guesses we need to make. But what we really want to know is how long these algorithms take. We're interested in time, not just guesses. The running times of linear search and binary search include the time needed to make and check guesses, but there's more to these algorithms.
The running time of an algorithm depends on how long it takes a computer to run the lines of code of the algorithm—and that depends on the speed of the computer, the programming language, and the compiler that translates the program from the programming language into code that runs directly on the computer, among other factors.
Let's think about the running time of an algorithm more carefully. We can use a combination of two ideas. First, we need to determine how long the algorithm takes, in terms of the size of its input. This idea makes intuitive sense, doesn't it? We've already seen that the maximum number of guesses in linear search and binary search increases as the length of the array increases. Or think about a GPS. If it knew about only the interstate highway system, and not about every little road, it should be able to find routes more quickly, right? So we think about the running time of the algorithm as a function of the size of its input.
The second idea is that we must focus on how fast a function grows with the input size. We call this the rate of growth of the running time. To keep things manageable, we need to simplify the function to distill the most important part and cast aside the less important parts. For example, suppose that an algorithm, running on an input of size n, takes 6, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript, plus, 100, n, plus, 300 machine instructions. The 6, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript term becomes larger than the remaining terms, 100, n, plus, 300, once n becomes large enough, 20 in this case. Here's a chart showing values of 6, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript and 100, n, plus, 300 for values of n from 0 to 100:
6n^2 vs 100n+300
We would say that the running time of this algorithm grows as n, start superscript, 2, end superscript, dropping the coefficient 6 and the remaining terms 100, n, plus, 300. It doesn't really matter what coefficients we use; as long as the running time is a, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript, plus, b, n, plus, c, for some numbers a, is greater than, 0, b, and c, there will always be a value of n for which a, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript is greater than b, n, plus, c, and this difference increases as n increases. For example, here's a chart showing values of 0, point, 6, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript and 1000, n, plus, 3000 so that we've reduced the coefficient of n, start superscript, 2, end superscript by a factor of 10 and increased the other two constants by a factor of 10:
6n^2 vs 100n+300
The value of n at which 0, point, 6, n, start superscript, 2, end superscript becomes greater than 1000, n, plus, 3000 has increased, but there will always be such a crossover point, no matter what the constants.
By dropping the less significant terms and the constant coefficients, we can focus on the important part of an algorithm's running time—its rate of growth—without getting mired in details that complicate our understanding. When we drop the constant coefficients and the less significant terms, we use asymptotic notation. We'll see three forms of it: big-Θ \Theta notation, big-O notation, and big-Ω \Omega notation.

This content is a collaboration of Dartmouth Computer Science professors Thomas Cormen and Devin Balkcom plus the Khan Academy computing curriculum team. The content is licensed CC-BY-NC-SA.