If you're seeing this message, it means we're having trouble loading external resources on our website.

If you're behind a web filter, please make sure that the domains *.kastatic.org and *.kasandbox.org are unblocked.

Main content
Current time:0:00Total duration:4:22

Veterinarian: My budget and planning for the future

Video transcript

so I'm Betsy fighter I'm 32 years old I'm a veterinarian in my annual salary is 85,000 plus production spending four years in vet school and a year an internship it was very much a time not for myself and so now that I am you know out and and making money it's very important to me to be able to you know go out to eat and go to concerts and travel and and save up for those types of experiences I mean I I work to live and so that's that's really I'm trying to save as much as I can but it's also very important to me to enjoy this the playground I live in so living in Denver is definitely expensive I've been here now for five years and every year I see the rent go up it's harder to find a place to live it it is worth it but you know it's I think compared to a lot of other cities around around the nation I think we're right up there in terms of cost of living but it is definitely expensive I think if I had ended up in the Midwest where where I was born and raised I probably would be saving a lot more money my monthly income is around like 7,000 give or take pre-tax so deducted from that of course would be my taxes health insurance contributing to my 401 K which my employer does match 3% um so I try to maximize that every month I'm so I'm end up taking home around like 4,000 to 4,500 my rent right now is about 1,000 which I'm pretty lucky to find a living situation where that's the case a couple years ago I was paying to make get me more than that so that's been a big help TV and internet really just use who Netflix don't really pay for cable or anything like that and split with my roommate it's about $25 a month phone bill yeah around $50 I don't really use it too much so I don't need like one of the bigger plans I have a car payment that's about 350 a month I also don't drive a whole lot I tried to ride my bike and use a lot of like lyft and uber and that sort of thing on the weekend so I maybe averaged about $80 and gas per per months and then $75 a month in in insurance which I try to pay off twice a year to get the cost savings for that I'm extremely fortunate it's not having a loan so that is a huge health otherwise I spend roughly $400 on on food in terms of groceries I usually do like a mail delivery service and that can also be about 75 bucks a month or I'm sorry per week so after that I'm left over with maybe five hundred two thousand kind of depending on the month and how much I spend going to restaurants going out to eat going to concerts traveling I take a lot of little weekend excursions a lot of kind of overnights up in the mountains so that that other category can quickly add up I like to have a lot of fun on my time off so after that I'm also contributing as much as I can to my personal Roth IRA so all being said I'm hoping to save between maybe five hundred to a thousand per month despite what else I spend my money on it is always very important to me to to always contribute to my Roth IRA as much as I can and then my 401 K which gets directed before I see it which is the way I prefer it so I wish when I was younger that I would have just been much more much more aware about saving I think I I'm saving as much as I can now but if I would have had that on my radar even in high school starting to put money away and my spending habits through college and in vet school even it always was important to me to you know buy geared buy go shopping and buy clothes and all of that and I think I could have been a little more frugal and started to to to put money away and even start a Roth IRA you know the first opportunity I I could have if I would have started that in college I think I'd be way ahead of the game now
Careers brought to you with support from Better Money Habits® Powered by Bank of America® Bank of America, N.A. Member FDIC. Equal Housing Lender. Investment Products: Are Not FDIC Insured, Are Not Bank Guaranteed, May Lose Value